The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Magic Bean
Review(s): 8

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141326Chapter: 1
OK, this is going down as my favourite Sugar Quill story in ages. The tone is perfect. Heart-wrenching and yet elegantly simple.

I like Betie; he is very male. I especially like him wanting to sneak up on Margaret and hug her from behind, and the way he watches her, admiring her curves! Backstory is worked in very well, in a very natural and flowing manner. Indeed, in such a way that one barely notices that it isn't one continuous timeline. And the backstory itself if really wonderful. The first kiss *is* magical. Which is vital, of course, to the rest of your story, but you do it amazingly well. You portray the enhanced sensory perceptions absolutely magestically. I also appreciate the story of the old socks! Very believable and humourous.

And Annette, *shakes head* trust you not to be able to write a fic without sneaking Snape in somewhere. For shame!

Your ending was really, really strong. I adore the simplicity of it so much. She just says one word and reaches for his hand. They embrace gently. And then two simple facts. Love is Magic and Bertie is a forunate man.

Simple and yet incredibly powerful. A perfect story.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139770Chapter: 1
Definitely fluff, and nicely done.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-02-12
Reviewid: 139699Chapter: 1
There is one thing all the teens and fangurls cannot comprehend...the amazingly provocativness of middle aged, well aged love. It is ever so much more satisfying than the frantic fumblings of youngsters. Your story has captured it beautifully.

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139534Chapter: 1
Sublime, moonette! Just - wonderful. A beautifully conceived and constructed story, with a touching and uplifting ending. The closing lines tie the whole story up in a perfect (pink satin) bow.

I loved your descriptions of their first kiss at Giancarlo's and his memory of their meal: '....remembering the cheese melting into little strings as she twirled the spaghetti onto her fork, and the sauce glistening on her lips as she brought it to her mouth..' Mmmmm...pasta for tea tonight I think!

Helen

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139532Chapter: 1
Wonderful, moonette! I loved the humor in the "bean counter" comment and Bertie's run-in with Snape. That first kiss hit every perfect sensual note from the crimson tablecloth to the strings of cheese and the sauce on her lips. And the ending was pure spun confection!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139520Chapter: 1
Wonderful fluff! What a unique idea. Good work.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139518Chapter: 1
Love is magic and so is this story! I still love it and I'm so glad you are sharing it with everyone else.

Reviewer: MirldaDate: 2006-02-08
Reviewid: 139516Chapter: 1
Oh, so sweet! I love it completely. Maybe because this is the first Valentine's Day that I'll actually be with a guy, but I'm especially fluttery over stuff like this. Great job!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --