The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Clockwork Valentine
Review(s): 22

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141071Chapter: 1
Tender and utterly endearing, as usual. Love your Neville, your Prof. Sprout, and for even so brief a moment, your Luna.

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141033Chapter: 1
I just read this again - and I loved it even more than the first time.

~Nothing with thorns, of course. Nothing blood red. Nothing alarmingly bright or cloyingly fragrant. Nothing toxic.

*heart breaks* Beautiful.

Reviewer: the_sound_applesDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141031Chapter: 1
Quietly beautiful from start to finish - I love how many feelings you've conveyed without any angst whatsoever.
"You couldn’t even buy yourself a decent bit of chocolate in the shops because it was all packaged in velvet heart-shaped boxes that read poetry to you when you took the lid off, and the prices were three times higher than usual, and everything was stuffed with cherries."
"He looked down into the basket, considering the one white Butterfly Orchid slowly opening and closing its petals as it clung to the wicker side. He reached in, let the tendrils wrap around his finger and lifted it out of the basket."
Your careful attention to detail is quite lovely. So is Luna.

Reviewer: jynx67Date: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140698Chapter: 1
*squee* Oh that is so incredibly Neville! And your Luna was perfectly written as well. I love your Professor Sprout. This is so full of fluffy goodness from beginning to end. Brilliantly written!

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140685Chapter: 1
"it was just a pretty day, and a pretty flower, and a pretty girl, and he thought the three of them belonged together."

Fabulous. And I love the Thursday ending. So very Luna!

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140681Chapter: 1
Dear me, how DO you do it? Perfect I loved this:

Still tongue-tied, he simply set the orchid on the open pages of her book, noticing as he did so that it was written in Greek.



“What’s this for?” she asked, in genuine puzzlement.



“It’s Thursday,” he explained.



“Oh,” she smiled in sudden understanding, pleased. “So it is. I’d forgotten.”


That made me so happy. I love your work.
Keep it up!
Cheers!
*Magic*

Reviewer: LizzieAnnDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140141Chapter: 1
This is so sweet, I loved it! Good job!

Reviewer: Meucci WarlockDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140071Chapter: 1
Wonderful li'l story. The ending made me grin like an idiot.

Thanks for the read.

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139857Chapter: 1
Utterly fabulous, Mintha. You seem to have such an affectionate understanding for Neville, you write him so beautifully, and so fondly. You also have a talent for dry observation:

Almost as hard as the actual day itself were the days prior, when everyone seemed to be busy with plans that never included him - plans with friends, with dates, with families.

Hmmm, yes... Neville feeling left out and 'different' again. Poor Neville.

And how brilliantly you introduce Luna, another St Valentine's Day 'refugee':
'...it was just a pretty day, and a pretty flower, and a pretty girl, and he thought the three of them belonged together.'

Loved that her book was in Greek - she may seem away with the fairies at times, but not for nothing is she a Ravenclaw. In that small detail, your characterisation of Luna, though she only featured on a few lines, achieved perfection!

And the closing lines? So Luna! And a gesture I can certainly imagine gentle, sensitive, loyal Neville making for all those reasons.

You are fast becoming a master of the one-shot. Well done and thank you.

Helen

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-14
Reviewid: 139818Chapter: 1
Quite nice. You should do Luna – you seem to understand her.

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2006-02-13
Reviewid: 139739Chapter: 1
"It was just a pretty day, and a pretty flower, and a pretty girl."
"It's Thursday."
"Oh. So it is. I'd forgotten."
That was one of the singular most adorable things I have ever read. Aw! My heart feels happy now. Thanks!

Reviewer: dzennkaDate: 2006-02-12
Reviewid: 139730Chapter: 1
I love this! I want someone to give me a flower because it's Thursday!

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2006-02-12
Reviewid: 139701Chapter: 1
I really like this! Neville and Luna are two of my favorite charecters; I really love to see them together. Great job!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-02-12
Reviewid: 139700Chapter: 1
'It's Thursday.' What a perfect reason to celebrate a lovely friendship.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139690Chapter: 1
This was a very nice story about Neville and how he dealt with holidays. I especially liked the line "it was just a pretty day, and a pretty flower, and a pretty girl, and he thought the three of them belonged together." Very good!

Reviewer: AllyLovesHPDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139688Chapter: 1
i loved this!

"It's Thursday,” he explained.
“Oh,” she smiled in sudden understanding, pleased. “So it is. I’d forgotten.”

that was the best part

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139686Chapter: 1
Oh - this was so sweet. Really good characterisations of Neville and Professor Sprout - I loved this line:

"Face flushing at that last comment, he followed her down the gravel walk between buildings while she rattled on about what his mother might like, from what she could remember of ‘dear little Alice’."

Really well-written - a lovely story!

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139684Chapter: 1
The very last line made me smile and think, "Yes! That IS what Luna would say!" Thank you for sharing this lovely fic with us :)

Reviewer: ksellersDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139677Chapter: 1
I love it... I like how Neville wanted to avoid the holiday, and just give Luna a flower because, just because. It's beautiful, and very well written.

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139663Chapter: 1
Cute ending. Thanks for the Neville fic. There are far too few out there.

Reviewer: shanfawn16Date: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139662Chapter: 1
This was lovely. What a wonderful story, and I love Neville's logic behind putting together the pretty day with the pretty flower and the pretty girl. Well done.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-11
Reviewid: 139660Chapter: 1
So adorable. I love Professor Sprout's understanding. Neville's gift of the flower to Luna is also touching. I love the line about the pretty day, the pretty flower, and the pretty girl. Then Luna's response I'd forgotten is sweet but also somewhat like the abstracted Luna we all know and love. But then she can read Greek, not an easy language to understand, so there's a good reason she's in Ravenclaw.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --