The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: An Offside Romance
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2006-10-31
Reviewid: 146013Chapter: 1
Arthur is so right for Molly.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-07-08
Reviewid: 144048Chapter: 1
HA! Of course Arthur would choose to go to a Muggle football match for a first date! He's exactly the same. However, I see Molly as being less popular and more into sports, but you've written her well like this. Thanks for the great read!

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-07-03
Reviewid: 143912Chapter: 1
Red team scores. Very cute.

Reviewer: Pineapple QueenDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140138Chapter: 1
So cute! I love it. =)

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140005Chapter: 1
I'd like to rebut Reader 2's comments: Sorry, mate, lots of girls become snobby and selfish and stuck on themselves during their teen years. But if they were basically good people, they go back to being the more generous persons they once were when they find the right guy. I think thi story shows molly, warts and all. (And after all, she's not Miz Perfect in JKR's stories either--pushy and irascible and unwilling to see the non-academic talents of the twins, etc.)

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140004Chapter: 1
Aw, this is reeeeeelllly cute. I get a strong sense of Arthur's and Molly's histories and characters. Seeing the Muggle world from Molly's POV is something new and enlightening for me.

BTW 'decollete' is the adjective. I think you meant 'decolletage'. (Sorry I don't know how to put in the accents.)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 139990Chapter: 1
She is offended by the fact that someone is poor. She thinks of muggles as stinking / smelly. She is really upset at not getting complements (warranted or not) at very regular intervals, and likes Arthur for his hair, his smile, and his bum (in opposite order). This is supposed to be Molly?
What a waste of my reading time. And ANY blokes dating time; real or not.

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139950Chapter: 1
I love Arthur/Molly stories, and this was no exception :) I'm glad you made Molly a popular girl - I enjoyed reading about her various swains, and her reaction to the rowdy football stadium was priceless! And Arthur was adorable as always. I love how his Mugglemania and Molly's reaction to it are depicted here. It's heartwarming to think that, many years and children later, they're still like that.

Good job!

Reviewer: AureliaDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139948Chapter: 1
Ahh, this was so sweet. Very in-character, nearly perfect. I adored every quintesentially Weasley line of it.

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139902Chapter: 1
Permit me, if you will, a SQUEEEEE of delight to see that this grew from a Fluffy tidbit into a warm fuzzy little story! I LOVE your Molly and Arthur seperatley and together.

Molly is so deliciously Molly, you can definetly see how Ginny will take after her Mum <3 and Arthur, so enthusiastic and sweet and eager to share the things he finds exciting with someone he cares about.

And shut up, brain, it’s not endearing. <- Golden!

All in all a wonderful, sweet, cheerful little fic to read, made me grin like mad! I hope you write more about these two when you've had your fill of Blacks!

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2006-02-16
Reviewid: 139887Chapter: 1
Love love love it! There simply isn't enough Molly/Arthur fan fic out there. I'd love to see the secong date, should you be so inclined to do it.

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139877Chapter: 1
*grins* I love that!
"He was staring at the ground, looking genuinely sorry, but still grinning that maddening smile. He caught her looking at her, slowly raised his head and broadened his smile.

Oh, sod it, Molly thought, and she lightly placed her hands around his neck, stood on tip-toes, and kissed him."

A-ma-zing. As Arthur would say *grins*

Cheers!
Magicdust

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139871Chapter: 1
Aww. What cute Molly/Arthur fluff....
Although, I don't know if molly would be that snotty as a kid. But, I dunno, as Arthur's wife sometimes she just seems to grin and bear it.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139864Chapter: 1
I've always wondered how Molly and Arthur got together. I love Molly's outburst, and Arthur's shy hesitation, as well as his enthusiasm about the game. I could also see Molly making the first move, and although she is perplexed about why Arthur is endearing, that just makes it more realistic, because when is attraction ever totally rational? :)

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-02-15
Reviewid: 139863Chapter: 1
Yay! Offside Romance is here!

I really like the snappy argument with Fabian and the mirror conversation at the beginning. Molly may seem preoccupied with her appearance but her superficial concerns are masking the fact she can't stop thinking about strange, awkward Arthur Weasley - and she doesn't like it!

I also like the way you subtly show why Molly might have slight concern about Arthur’s ‘suitability’ (compared to other more conventional boys) without her making into any kind of snob. And how, despite these misgivings, the girl just can’t help herself where he’s concerned - even before she sees him all dressed up and gorgeous. Your description of Arthur in his muggle attire is very cute - I totally get what she sees in him. I also think it’s a nice touch that her Mum likes him – it shows that Arthur is very keen to make a good impression and capable of doing so: that he’s respectable and well-mannered, even if he isn’t well-off.

I love the way you develop Molly’s character throughout the story. I really get a sense of her struggle with herself, and her excitement at being with this guy who just that little bit different and intriguing. She likes him enough to be putting up with his Muggle fascination right from the start – it gives their relationship a very solid foundation from Molly’s point of view. It foreshadows exactly how much she loves him in canon - enough to want a big family and not grumble about being poor or about his lack of interest in climbing the career ladder. As long as he's happy, she's happy. Bless.

Yes, so I like this story - a LOT. So much so, I may now have to go off and write a Molly / Arthur one myself as you've got me thinking about them. Or maybe I'll just wait for the sequel!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --