The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 21

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-11-03
Reviewid: 146056Chapter: 1
LOL! So fantastic! I particularly love Fred and George's additions. Absolutely hilarious.

Reviewer: kodamaDate: 2006-09-23
Reviewid: 145460Chapter: 1
*giggles uncontrollably* that was funny. you had me laughing throught out the whole thing!

Reviewer: Jo a la modeDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140142Chapter: 1
I have loved the original for years, but this was even better. I still love the timing in the second scene, with "Well... figuratively... yes" and "Not sex dad... sex education." Fred and George are hilarious, and very in canon. :)

Reviewer: BelphegorDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140130Chapter: 1
Thanks for re-writing this story in the light of OotP and HbBP, Alphie - aside from the fact that the new version includes updated data, it's the sheer pleasure of re-reading it - it makes me laugh, squeal, gasp, and brings tears to my eyes because you just have to suppress laughter when reading in a library :)

"Hey, did Dad explain that if you stick your finger in an outlet, your hair will stand on end?"

...Well :D

Thanks for making my day!! It's gloomy and rainy and windy and it was exactly what I needed :)

Love,
Belphegor :]

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140078Chapter: 1
I didnít re-read the original but I liked this new edition. Funniest line:
"Hey, did Dad explain that if you stick your finger in an outlet, your hair will stand on end?" George said.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140002Chapter: 1
I don't hink I've laughed so hard in a long time. I'm breathless! Thanks for a great piece, especially:

"...Violet something or other."

"Mandatory? Since when are all students required to have sex?"

"Ömake sure you never force a plug into an outlet. You may end up with bent prongs."

"Thatís rightÖyouíve got yourself an outlet now!" (Love the double entendre.)

"Hey, did Dad explain that if you stick your finger in an outlet, your hair will stand on end?"

I wish my mother's own 'birds-and-the-bees' talk (and my comparing of notes afterwards with my sisters) had been half so entertaining.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 139980Chapter: 1
Well, I am particular about my 'classics' but you've done a wonderful job of updating this one! Absolutely brilliant, as always!

Reviewer: Poppy PDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 139976Chapter: 1
Okay, I have to admit it; I was really wary when I read the summary for this. I mean, you altered the great "Plugs & Outlets"!!! It seemed like a sacrilege. But after I read this version, I have to concede, no harm done and it goes so much better w/ canon. Honestly, I still laugh outloud at this no matter how many times I read it.

And may I just toot my horn a little and brag that I am the one that 'discovered' you over at FF.Net and recommended the story at SQ and well, the rest is history! One of my proudest SQ moments ;)

Hugs from one 'SQ oldie' to another!

Reviewer: magicdustDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139972Chapter: 1
ROTFL! I LOVED THAT! I love all your stories, including the orginal one! You are such a good writer and I think it sounds just like Mrs. rowling would write.

I was sad and shocked, however, when I relized that you aren't re-doing the other ones; will the orginal was great, I would love to have seen how you would have changed it.

Aww well, can't wait to read more!
Cheers!-
Magicdust

Reviewer: discordant_harmonyDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139971Chapter: 1
Wonderful! It retains all the"classic" moments from the orginal, but is shaped up more. *high fives*

Reviewer: cuddlybearDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139963Chapter: 1
hehe but i'd like the one with quills and ink bottles! =)

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139962Chapter: 1
Oh Alphie, you are genius. And so is your husband.

" "Sure, we all did. Itís mandatory for all fifth year students."

"Mandatory? Since when are all students required to have sex?" "

" "Hey, did Dad explain that if you stick your finger in an outlet, your hair will stand on end?" George said. "

Oh, I love dirty humor. I couldn't call this dirty... I don't know how to describe it. Ecklectric humor, perhaps.

Thanks for the P&O: Remix! Made my day.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139961Chapter: 1
sadfjalskfjdalskfjdalksfjdlaskfjd

Pefection!!! It was downright hilarious the first time and now...even better!

Wonderful!

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139960Chapter: 1
I love it! I laughed out loud at George's comment about making your hair stand on end.

Paragraph four (Molly's comment) has a typo thatt is a real word so snuck by the spell check- quiet, rather than quite.

Reviewer: Red MonsterDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139959Chapter: 1
Please, not the quite/quiet mixup! The two words are not interchangeable.

Reviewer: arloDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139957Chapter: 1
Always one of my favs! Thanks for a good laugh this morning!PS I still like the original;)

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139955Chapter: 1
YAY! Plugs and Outlets, Version 2.0!

Of course, the original is a classic, but if you felt that it could be better, then it's not complaining.

Great revision!
-Angie W

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139954Chapter: 1
He, he, he! I liked the original, but this is funnier. Wicked!

Reviewer: gijane7702Date: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139953Chapter: 1
Excellent, as usual!

Best line: "Itís not polite to plug in and tell about it!"

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139952Chapter: 1
This one is just as funny as the last one. Good job!

Reviewer: SuzanneDate: 2006-02-17
Reviewid: 139951Chapter: 1
First of all, I should tell you that I am one of those who considers your original stories true classics. I even referred to them in one of my "novel-length" stories when Arthur got an extension cord for Christmas and kept plugging the two ends together which made the twins laugh uproariously, saying that for some reason it looked obscene! I don't know that anyone else got the joke, but I thought it was hilarious!

Anyway, this is a nice update and I think the twins' comments here are also great. I really liked the "It's not polite to plug in and tell about it!" That was so cute.

Not to be too grouchy, but I did notice one small error that I think could be fixed easily. In the fourth line down, Molly's comments, you have her saying that the house is "too quite" when everyone is gone. Obviously, you mean quiet. That is such a difficult typo to pick up because they are both correctly spelled words, just with very different meanings.

Again, this was a wonderful update and I am going to send my husband to read it immediately. He loved the originals so much. I always enjoy your writing.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --