The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Essense of Chivalry
Review(s): 26

Reviewer: MagicDustDate: 2007-01-05
Reviewid: 146746Chapter: 1
Beautiful Reviwers--
I love you all to peices for reading my work! I have to tell you what is happening.
My real life has been proving very difficult. It's been almost a WHOLE year and I haven't updated. This is all my fault. Problems with my home, and then my computer was hacked, and my stories had to be retrieved. But, I won't bore you with the details.
I need a new betareader, but I have one I think I can get. The next chapter, believe it or not, is ready. And should be ready by this weekend!
xoxo
Magic

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146519Chapter: 4
I planned to stay to the end; but I am getting older.
Ready for more please.

Reviewer: Lily06Date: 2006-06-10
Reviewid: 143342Chapter: 1
very good story. The only thing is, when Harry turned 17, didn't the Dursleys' lose its protection?

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-04-29
Reviewid: 142373Chapter: 3
Good so far, and I'll admit that I was able to figure out what was going (well, pretty much, at least) just from your narrative, rather than depending on your notes at the end of the chapter. :-) So -- that would be a good thing, yes? After all, the story ought to be able to "stand on it own," I think -- and your is doing that for me, certainly. :-)

Reviewer: wonderwolfDate: 2006-04-20
Reviewid: 142089Chapter: 3
Hey, don't forget to take out the stuff Pirate Queen marks. And... good chapter, but I'm kinda confused. That might just be me though.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142034Chapter: 2
Bloody hell... what a cliffhanger! Well, at least I'm fortunate enough to have chapter three waiting for me at the click of a left mouse-button. -_^

Picked up a few rogue beta's notes that had been left in (well that what I assume they are because I recognise them all too well) and, along with a few of your other reviewers, the very existence of Godric's Hollow, but apart from that your story was lovely.

The lily, in particular, was a nice touch... ^_^

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142033Chapter: 1
The title drew me into your story, I must admit. I've been reading a lot of the Arthurian Cycle lately, and because long lists of the countless virtues of chivalry are fresh in my mind, it sparked my curiosity. Little did I know that your story would be much better than any Arthurian text I've read thus far - more entertaining at least! :)

There are lots of little things I like about this story. Firstly, the way you describe objects and surroundings with just enough detail and flair as to not become encumbersome. Secondly, the way you hint at the closeness of the Weasley family but don't dwell on it for too long (it not being the main focus of your story). And thirdly, how've you've managed to totally nail the tone and the pace of this chapter.

Loving your writing style.

- Ada.

Reviewer: Sean KellyDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142022Chapter: 3
O.K..... More Ginny please! Why is the Minister suddenly so concerned the donkey. Lol. Besides that brilliant, brilliant, brilliant! Though I don;t have a clue about the necklace..... All well, write the next chapter soon!

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2006-04-09
Reviewid: 141795Chapter: 2
My impression, even from the first Book, was that the house was destroyed. Did I miss something? Otherwise, you have a very good story going; the characters are, well, in character, and it's well paced. Continue writing.

The Highwayman

Reviewer: KarawayDate: 2006-04-07
Reviewid: 141743Chapter: 2
very nice :) Just one tiny quibble though - I'm sure someone else already said this (can't see comments right now) - , but what about James' Invisibility Cloak ? Definitely "something of his parent's".

This is very nice and I look forward to reading more !

K

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-03-11
Reviewid: 140813Chapter: 2
*Hanging tightly to cliff* Update again soon! I really love the way you write Harry when he's looking around his old room, it's very poignant...I'm still confused though, because wasn't Lily and James' cottage destroyed when Voldemort attack them?

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-03-11
Reviewid: 140808Chapter: 1
Good job - some really nice touches of humour and striking imagery. I loved this bit:
"The box was small, and rectangular, a deep midnight blue, dotted occasionally with white pin points of light. He held it up so its surface caught the rays of the moon; it was as if someone had cut a piece of the sky out and pasted it onto the box."

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140667Chapter: 2
Ooh, intersting. This fic is getting intriguing; I wonder what's underneath the board? You do a really good job of revealing information slooooowly.

Reviewer: wonderwolfDate: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140586Chapter: 2
Nice chapter. You didn't even tell me you were posting this one. *is insulted*

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140584Chapter: 2
Interesting & well done. Wonder how it is that "Helen" (if that's her name) came to claim the property?
I look forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-03-05
Reviewid: 140571Chapter: 2
The part about Gabrielle jumping onto a table singing "I'm a happy elf, you're a happy elf" cracked me up. Great story!

Reviewer: TroviaDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140119Chapter: 1
Awesome start for the story. I do normally not read seventh year fics, but the remark about Sirius attracted me and I think I'll come back :-). I especially like your Harry and your Remus. Well, we could start discussing if it's even *possible* for a couple that only started dating a few month ago to argue, but I gladly leave the Ginny interpretations to the Ginny fans out there ;-).

>>People were always crying, clinging to others out of fear and grief.

>>?So I am safer at Hogwarts? Dumbledore is dead, Harry, no one is safe anymore!?

Oh, wow. Dumbledore patriotism here, he? :-). I can't help it, I don't like him, I can only silently think "Come on! He was just a headmaster!" Not your problem, of course, only my problem.

Reviewer: SillyGillieDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140077Chapter: 1
Brilliant job. I loved it!

Reviewer: wonderwolfDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140065Chapter: 1
Completely irrevelant: Forget the second thing. Why would he have his dad's medicine though???

Reviewer: wonderwolfDate: 2006-02-19
Reviewid: 140035Chapter: 1
Hey, buddy. First, awesome story, but I've already told you that part. Second, and this has nothing to do with this, does Whitney die (gracias for the discs, I'm on number 3)? And third, Anna said, "Napkins looks like a monkey." I thought she said, "Napkins looks like a lard of geese." So, I said, "Napkins looks like a lard of geese?" And then, we sang... etc, etc, etc... You know the rest. *grins stupidly* Good job, btw. You've gotten awesome reviews.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140021Chapter: 1
Whoa, excellent story so far. Please keep going!

-Angie W

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140020Chapter: 1
A good first chapter! I liked all the funny test questions they have to ask one another. I especially liked Harry's observations as Remus counted them down; You could tell he was thinking it was possibly his last time at the Burrow. You missed a couple of words, and put in some extra ones, but that's just style and grammar; you can fix that with proofreading; your story flows nicely and your imagery is great! That's somthing that's hard to learn, either you've got it, or you don't. I'm looking forward to your next chapter!

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140017Chapter: 1
Good start; well-written -- though after Ginny made her intentions known, I'll be a bit (more) surprised if she actually does stay away from the Trio. [Looks as if you elided the word "girl" in what should have read "Harry Potter, I am not a little girl; I can take care of myself!"]

And the challenge/response protocol was well done, too (though I note that it wasn't followed between Harry & Ginny).

Your story shows a great deal of promise; I look forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140012Chapter: 1
People have already reviewed! Wow.
I had just one thing to say:

To Cartman_joo: Thanks! And Congrats, you are the first reviwer on a series story!

To Mary Ellis: Thanks for your kind words! The Lard of Geese was actually made up by one of my friends, you see one friend (she has reviewed here before: wonderwolf) said something and my other friend was like "You think Lard of Geese?" so then we started singing aboit it. Funny how things come 'bout,eh?

Chapter Two is nearly finished!
Cheers~

Magicdust

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140001Chapter: 1
Nice one! You have a way with a turn of phrase. I especially like:

--"most people laughed, drank and ate, making ridiculously long toasts to the happy couple *that became more and more random and general as all the good ones were taken.*
(How many weddings have I been to where that happened? But you gave it a neat, wry twist.)

--All the little hidden character revelations in the answers the friends have to give to the 'security questions' to prove their identities. (Remus and his pet rabbit; Dudley as the Lard of Geese; Ron as 'Roberta'. Haha!)

Reviewer: cartman__jooDate: 2006-02-18
Reviewid: 140000Chapter: 1
Kewl !!! Nice one. Can't wait for the next chapter. Go, go , go !!!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --