The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: A Pensieve Affair
Review(s): 61

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145684Chapter: 23
I've loved this story. The 'Next Generation' is one of my favourite things to read (and write!) and I love the way you have Harry and Ginny with Hope.

I thought I saw somewhere there was an epilogue still to come? I'd love to read it soon!!!

Reviewer: HPlovaforeva16Date: 2006-07-28
Reviewid: 144506Chapter: 1
omg this is such a good storyyyy!!!!! plzpzlpzlplzpzlplz finish it!!!! thank youuuuuu!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143730Chapter: 22
Ha! That was really and truly totally hiliarious! Especially the bit about the seats, and Hope's confusion as to whether or not the movie was actually happening. Priceless. :) Nice ending, too. ;)

Reviewer: TarsieSDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142907Chapter: 18
Ok, I have to say it - I love the character of Hope Potter. I was really hoping to see more stories of her years at HW, especially going up against Snape, but this story is fantastic. Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-05-17
Reviewid: 142877Chapter: 18
Have you forgotten us!?!? What happened?!?!

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-05-01
Reviewid: 142438Chapter: 18
I love where you're going with this. The way you're making this an experience of the less pleasant aspects of life for sheltered Hope (the loniless apparent in the house) is fantastic. And that she's slowly but surely coming to terms with what her actions have meant and the reasoning behind her rebellion all those years is perfect. I'm 22 and I'm going through much the same kind of self evaluation with my actions toward my parents over the years, it brings the story home a bit for me. I love the interaction with Kingsley! His dialogue is hilarious! "Mad as a teapot!" HA! The best line though is the last one, no more than professionally necessary, I cracked up! Your descriptions of Tintagel and the magic that's happening there are beautiful, I can see the place and what's going on. You are a Very talented writer Imogen. Fantastic story and I cannot wait to find out what happens!

Did I mention that Matthew is adorable?

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-04-30
Reviewid: 142388Chapter: 17
Well, this was an awesome chapter, but you're way behind! What happened!? Come on Imogen!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-04-22
Reviewid: 142149Chapter: 17
Ooh! Yay! Hope and Matthew together, hurrah, that made me so happy. You've developed the characters and their relationship so well. And now there's a mystery in Cornwall. I'm very intrigued. Post again soon!

Reviewer: RavenSnapeDate: 2006-04-20
Reviewid: 142101Chapter: 17
Ohhh what a surprise! I just assumed their reunion was the ending. Such a treat for us that you are finishing the story arch.

A question for you? Why the use of the term coven? It is most certainly not a term you would find in cannon and I was curious as to why you chose that particular term. Truly, the term didn’t come into popular use until the 1920’s. It’s origins is Scotts-fourteenth century-meaning a gathering, yet not in the negative connotation.

Looking forward to seeing Harry’s reaction to Matthew, and whether the couch is offered or not.

Elizabeth

Reviewer: hannah_88Date: 2006-04-20
Reviewid: 142098Chapter: 17
your fic's great,but i don't understand where Sam (Hope's younger brother)disapeared he's never mentioned!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-04-16
Reviewid: 141973Chapter: 16
Ah. I see from your responses to other reviews that you have yet to finish off the earlier story. We're looking forward to a real treat then! I shall be in touch...

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-04-16
Reviewid: 141972Chapter: 16
Hey Imogen
Lovely story, taut with real relational tension. You've been providing my Easter reading (really I should have been reading Ricoeur, but you're much more fun!!!) Is there an ending to the young Hope Potter story somewhere? I'd love to read that too. YOur writing has some beautiful metaphors and very apt similies (See, eg, Hope's first impressions of the Hogwarts Lake from her dormitory window - and I seem to remember some 'fingers of night, reaching between the posts' somewhere too) but your real strenth is in the characterisations you evoke through dialogue. The early Snape/Hope stuff gave us a completely new Snape - I don't think JKR has had more to do with him than his name and appearance - but a wonderfull foil to put against a wrong-headed, out-of-control Hope. In this fic, the delightfuly superficial Flint set off the sensitive Matthew to a 'T', and both made sense of the - still wrong-headed - Hope.
You're still playing in JKRs sandbox, but you've no need of her world to write good fiction. I hope you continue to entertain us here, and keep writing in every context that takes your fancy. Thank you. R.

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-04-16
Reviewid: 141965Chapter: 16
Surely that's not it? They aren't exactly the type of people to just live happily ever after with no reaction from anyone! I sure hope more is forthcoming....

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2006-04-15
Reviewid: 141916Chapter: 16
Finally! Once again, lovely.

Kit Black

Reviewer: AdeleDate: 2006-04-14
Reviewid: 141909Chapter: 16
Oh I just love this story. Love it. I haven't read the other Hope Potter stories, but I've caught on so quickly and now I can't wait to read what came before this!

It's about time they worked everything out!

Reviewer: fizzjamsDate: 2006-04-14
Reviewid: 141903Chapter: 16
finally!! i was literally tired of waiting for them to get together

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-04-14
Reviewid: 141898Chapter: 16
WOOOOOO!

Reviewer: skruvstaDate: 2006-04-14
Reviewid: 141895Chapter: 16
This is just so perfect! I love their teasing, and I like Matthew taking care of her :) It all came together brilliantly, well done! :D

Reviewer: RavenSnapeDate: 2006-04-14
Reviewid: 141894Chapter: 16
Thank you, thank you, thank you. God and Goddess above, thank you.

Oh? And the plague of frogs and the killing off of all the first-borns in the land, just brilliant. Bloody brilliant.

Reviewer: jeda_lawsonDate: 2006-04-12
Reviewid: 141846Chapter: 15
I enjoyed reading this chapter, like all the others, but this is the 1st time I've reviewed it. Congratulations on writing such an engrossing story, I really hope Hope and Matt end up together, happily ever after.

I've found the Hitchhikers Guide inspired bit

Make sure you don’t conjure any sperm whales or bowls of petunias to plummet onto Milton Keynes,” he added as an afterthought. “That’s always a bad idea.”

Very funny.

Reviewer: RavenSnapeDate: 2006-04-11
Reviewid: 141841Chapter: 15
AAAAARRRRRGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!! Imogen how could you........a cliff hanger? A pox on you, girl. And don't think I can't do it!

Reviewer: ksellersDate: 2006-04-11
Reviewid: 141839Chapter: 15
Yea, Douglas Adams. I've always been a Hitchhiker's fan, so when I skipped the intro to read this chapter I kept jumping up in my seat (quietly, because my roommate and her boyfriend are asleep in the living room.) Hope had better be okay, and I love the books. Keep writing, I love this story.

Reviewer: skruvstaDate: 2006-04-11
Reviewid: 141838Chapter: 15
This is brilliant, as ever. You're building up the tension so well and Hope is really believable :D

I loved the Hitch-hiker's reference!

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-04-11
Reviewid: 141836Chapter: 15
WHAT! Oh please tell me that was Matthew! It's going to take him seeing her almost die to reconcile them, I know it! Oh please hurry with the next chapter!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2006-04-11
Reviewid: 141822Chapter: 14
This is such a great story! Great! Great! Great!

Reviewer: RavenSnapeDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141671Chapter: 14
Oh come on, Imogen! You're killing me here. Let them kiss and make up. I need a happy ever after read so bad right now.............

Elizabeth

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-04-04
Reviewid: 141624Chapter: 14
Yes, well. My. We all saw that one coming, but you really outdid yourself with that row! Lovely fight, and honestly, I have had that same dinner with the ex, and the fight with the potential perfect man, etc. Totally believeable! Well, except for the disappearing thing, that would freak me out a bit. I love that she loses control of her magic, the Every Flavour beans were a nice touch. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: eluannDate: 2006-04-02
Reviewid: 141552Chapter: 11
This may be a bit nitpicking, but I didn't understand Harry's remark "I don't care what she says, she can't be more than twelve." Is he saying Hope's got a mental age of twelve, or is he saying that he still thinks of her as that age? Apart from that, I like this story.

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141525Chapter: 13
Oh this is going to be very very bad. Yeah, I think this is going to make me hurt inside. oh no.

Reviewer: hayhay165Date: 2006-03-28
Reviewid: 141398Chapter: 12
Awww...poor Matthew and Hope, not exactly the way i thought it was going but it was certainly a good twist!!! ...well anywayz I really, really want to know what happens next! Please update soon!!!!

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-03-28
Reviewid: 141397Chapter: 12
She got what she deserved. Though make no mistake, I'm very upset about this! Good grief I can't wait to see what happens next! What did she put in the penseive? Her conversation with her mother? Oh dear. Hurry Imogen, hurry!

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2006-03-27
Reviewid: 141384Chapter: 12
Woohoo! Rhett Butler and Scarlet O'hara!
You did it!
Not that I'm happy the characters are miserable, mind you, but you really pulled it off. Matthew grew a spine. Hope got her comeuppance (here's hoping she now gets a clue, and Matthew can forgive her). Here I was all afraid you'd end it with a cheap 30-minute sitcom sleeping-together-solves-everything cliche. Silly me.

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2006-03-26
Reviewid: 141355Chapter: 11
Erg. More excellent writing, and very appropriate parental responses, I must say (though the 'my little girl??!?' bit was a wee bit over the top). And more idiocy from Hope. I may disapprove of the character's choices and decisions, but you done of great job of making her consistent. All the same, if I were Matthew, and Hope showed up on my doorstep with my wand saying, "Oh Matt, I'm so sorry, give me another chance", I'd respond a la Rhett Butler to Scarlet: "Frankly my dear, I don't give a d@@n. (This assumes Matt grows a stronger spine).

Which is appropriate, since as Ginny says, "You’re not in an irredeemable position, you know." So as Matthew slams the door in her face, Hope should sigh, "Tomorrow IS another day."

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141331Chapter: 11
Hhmm, not exactly what I was expecting, but I like it! I'm seriously PO'd at Hope though. I love Harry's reaction! The best line in the chapter though is Holly and the squeaking bed! Next?

Reviewer: einDate: 2006-03-24
Reviewid: 141275Chapter: 11
I'm not sure this is the emotion i'm suppose to feel, but I feel incrediably sad for almost everyone in this fiction. Sad and disappointed(not disapointed in the plot, just for the characters).

I think you did a great job protraying the future daughter of Harry Potter. I can definitely believe her being very rebelious against a very protective Harry.

Reviewer: gijane7702Date: 2006-03-24
Reviewid: 141273Chapter: 11
*sigh*

It seems that Hope's inherited the Weasley thickness when it comes to love!! But I understand. Going from friends to lovers is...rough. My husband and I did it. Oh....did I give away the ending? ;)

Poor Harry, coming face to face with the fact that his little girl is all grown up. Ginny took it well. And LOL at Holly--"Your bed was so squeaky for ages. I thought it was never going to stop." I choked on my tea I laughed so hard, picturing Harry and Ginny's faces!!

Update soon...can't wait!

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-03-24
Reviewid: 141265Chapter: 10
Ooooh! Hurry! It's been four days! I know I'm impatient but I really want to know what happens!

Reviewer: ImogenDate: 2006-03-22
Reviewid: 141197Chapter: 1
Just replying to the reviews - hope you get this. I think I've just discovered one of the limitations of the abridged version of this fic. In the other version you get to see more of what Hope's relationship had been like with Flint: physical and lacking emotion. She's completely out of depth with her feelings here, so she's trying to find something familiar and well tested, where she knows the ground she's standing on. It's not a clever decision in the slightest, but I genuinely don't think she's thinking straight right now. What she really needs is time out to think about things, but she's far too impulsive to do that.

Sorry you find it cliched, Fellytone, but it was only ever written for fun. It was my NaNoWriMo effort last year. As far as I'm aware I don't know that the Pensieve's been used like this before in a fanfic, but I apologise if it's an overused device. I hadn't realised. As for the trials and turbulations of moving from being friends to being lovers, it's one of the oldest stories in the book. Hopefully my explanations above will explain why Hope's reacting the way she is. I'll look and see if I can add something in to the edited version to show her past background with Flint, because that really does set it in context.

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141187Chapter: 10
Erm. I was greatly enjoying this fic up until the very last line. Waiting patiently for Hope to realize that the feeling in her chest wasn't indigestion. Your writing is fabulous, sensational. I'm very impressed, through and through. But what can I say? Matt deserves better. He has just poured out his heart to Hope, and all she can say is "I'm so touched and shocked that you love me, I'm totally confused and partially afraid, but sleep with me, because I want you." I would have been a bit happier if the last line had been "Because I think I love you too." Unless, of course, Hope either still doesn't know how she feels about Matthew (as if sleeping with him will help her make her mind up), OR she really doesn't love Matthew after all. In which case, this isn't as romantic as it is selfish. Sorry to be critical, because I love your writing. Guess there's always the chance Hope will come to her senses before they jump in bed as a solution?

Reviewer: fellytoneDate: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141185Chapter: 10
Hmm...I really enjoyed your Carpe Diem series, but this one is just striking me as unrealistic. I don't that Matthew's monologue was something any guy or person would say. It seems he went from not wanting to say anything to pouring out his soul oh so poetically way too quickly. To me it didn't mesh with the rest of the story. Nor did Hope's reaction. If she was so wierded out from his confession, why would she want to sleep with him? It seems out of character. Especially for someone who left without speaking to Matthew for four months after the last time.

I do think you have great talent as a writer, and I've very much enjoyed your other works, it just seems you went a little cliche for this one.

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141160Chapter: 10
Great ending line. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Kit Black

Reviewer: bradamanteDate: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141143Chapter: 9
I'm enjoying this story enormously! The first chapters inspired me to go back and read your other fics set in this universe; I hope I'll sound properly impressed rather than rude when I say that I'm struck by how much you've grown as a writer. I love the characterizations of Hope and Matthew in this fic, and your presentation of their relationship through Hope's eyes rings true. I hope you'll keep updating frequently!

Reviewer: skruvstaDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141078Chapter: 9
Wow! This is amazingly romantic and sweet - I love Matthew to pieces! Please update quickly!! :D I love their playful relationship, it's realistic.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2006-03-18
Reviewid: 141044Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful story! I can't wait to see the next chapter!

Reviewer: Kalliope TanithDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141017Chapter: 9
This is positively the MOST romantic thing I have EVER read! I want my man to be that incredibly sweet! I am sighing all over myself right now, you really have a way with words! I cannot wait until the next chapter comes out! Hurry hurry!

Reviewer: lau3rieDate: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140863Chapter: 8
I'm really loving this story. I think this chapter really shows why Hope's in Slytherin, all the bravery combined with sneakiness. I'm really going to be on tenterhooks waiting for the next chapter to see what Matthew's memory will be, I have a few suspicions but I guess I'll have to wait and see!

I've actually gone back and read everything you've posted for this universe in the past week or so, and I just wanted to tell you that I think you've done an absolutely amazing job, and you've had me completely absorbed. I know this is the last new story you'll be writing for this universe, but I really hope that you'll either finish writing and posting the incomplete fics you have or at least post a synopsis of what has gone before...for those of us who are curious or, who knows, might get struck with the odd plotbunny or five. ;D

Reviewer: ImogenDate: 2006-03-11
Reviewid: 140802Chapter: 1
Ravensnape - good to see you! I haven't finished Nil Desperandum - yet. I know, I know, I feel really guilty about that and I WILL get it done. This is almost a standalone fic (the bunny bit hard and the whole of 'A Pensieve Affair' is finished - it's just going through the beta-ing and editing process now) - the only spoilers from Nil are the arrival of Holly and a few hints about what's going to be happening at the end of Nil.
Because this is all taking place about 11 years after Nil Desperandum ends, it doesn't connect very much at all - but it's nice to see how the characters end up. There are hints about what's happened recently between Hope and Matthew, but I'll tell you more about that in the next couple of chapters.
Hope that helps and makes everything less confusing. It seemed a shame to sit on this story just because I'd not got round to finishing the last one.

Reviewer: RavenSnapeDate: 2006-03-11
Reviewid: 140798Chapter: 1
Imogen, help me out here. Did you finish Nil Desperandum? I've been reading you since Alpha and Omega but thought you had never finished ND. Now I'm reading this one and am confused. What happened between Matthew and Hope and did it occure in a section I missed somehow?

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140668Chapter: 6
What is it about bad boys? Another good chapter. Keep updating, can't wait to see the next one.

Reviewer: kickballchangeDate: 2006-03-03
Reviewid: 140503Chapter: 5
Great, again :-)
I´m really looking forward to more!

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2006-03-03
Reviewid: 140482Chapter: 5
Yet another review. Excellent chapter. Hilarious...I love Matthew even more.

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140390Chapter: 4
Another fantastic chapter. Cora and Matthew interesting. I love Matt and Hope together. Another great chapter.

Keep updating.
Kit Black

Reviewer: ImogenDate: 2006-02-27
Reviewid: 140329Chapter: 1
Just wanted to thank you all very much for the reviews, and I'm so glad you're enjoying this. I haven't said what happened at Christmas yet, but you're steadily going to get more and more details about it over the next few chapters. Let's just say they've got a bit of sorting out to do!
Next chapter's about ready to post, so you shouldn't have long to wait, and I'm definitely going to be finishing up the other stories (this one's completed)

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2006-02-27
Reviewid: 140311Chapter: 3
I'm really enjoying this. I love your characterizations and the by-play. Also, what a great idea! And, dare I ask what happened a few months ago?

Or did you already say and I missed it?

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140257Chapter: 3
It's been ages since I first read your stories of Hope, but this one makes me want to go back and reread all of them.

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2006-02-24
Reviewid: 140251Chapter: 3
It's official I will now review after every chapter. This is so well written. I understand, how Matthew feels. Fantastically well written. I love Holly, she is fantastic. The next chapter should be very interesting.....

Keep updating!

Kit Black

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2006-02-23
Reviewid: 140181Chapter: 1
I really like this story. It made me go back and
read the story about Hope Potter starting at Hogwarts. Do you plan on finishing that story?

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2006-02-21
Reviewid: 140140Chapter: 2
Would it be horrible if I reviewed after every chapter? I hope not. Very cool chapter. I loved teh image of the reporter and Hope, very possible. Her and Matthew's interaction is wonderful. I can't wait to see more of it.

Thanks again!
Kit Black

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140113Chapter: 1
So nice to see you writing again! This is an interesting story. I had been wondering what happened to Hope and the Gang.

Keep the updates coming!

I'll be watching for updates.

Thanks!
Kit Black

Reviewer: AlphieDate: 2006-02-20
Reviewid: 140068Chapter: 1
Well ~I~ love this, but then you already knew that. I just didn't want your review count to go unchanged, so I thought I would let you know that I'm enjoying the fic just as much the second time around. Can't wait to see how it ends though.

Reviewer: MiaDate: 2006-02-19
Reviewid: 140049Chapter: 1
Ooooh! You're back! This makes me happy! I like the beginning of this, although I have some problems trying to piece together this story and the ten or so years that has gone by since Nil Desperandum. But I'm definitely looking forward to see what's going to happen. Welcome back =)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --