The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Lavender's Term
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2007-11-19
Reviewid: 149957Chapter: 1
Aww, too cute and too good. Great job with the Brit voice - I wouldn't have guessed it wasn't yours except for your comment on the spelling. I read so much where people get the idiom wrong, but this is really good.

Poor Lavender. I actually feel rather sorry for her.

Reviewer: tykoDate: 2007-10-14
Reviewid: 149625Chapter: 1
Funny... highly amusing. And a very good, logical rendering of what could've happened. I don't know whether to feel sorry for her or just call her an idiot!

Reviewer: ladytalksalot17Date: 2007-07-11
Reviewid: 148519Chapter: 1
I enjoyed that immensely. Fun to get another point of view

Reviewer: EmelyeDate: 2007-06-30
Reviewid: 148393Chapter: 1
Hah! I had a sneaking suspicion I would never want to see inside Lavender's head, and I was right! This was a great piece; definitely well-done and exactly what I would expect to hear if I was doing some mental eavesdropping. And I love the line: "Does he think I can't SEE him if he's hiding under the table?" *laugh*

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2007-04-07
Reviewid: 147698Chapter: 1
Well, I just sat down and read everything on your authorpage (except Asking for Roses, because that's Long). It's all great, and I love how all the little stories are actually interconnected, but this one was definitely my favorite. It's so clever and funny, but it's not just funny. Lavender does grow, and you gave her a very strong voice. Thanks for a nice afternoon!

Reviewer: FennyDate: 2006-12-08
Reviewid: 146403Chapter: 1
I really like this fic - you create the Lavender voice very well: she's so delightfully-horribly teenage.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2006-11-01
Reviewid: 146028Chapter: 1
You captured all the sides of Lavender and made me more aware of how she must feel as Ron struggles with their relationship. Well done.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-05-15
Reviewid: 142820Chapter: 1
This was so clever, Dogstar! Hilarious! I was smirking from the start. It was brain-teasing at times too, as I tried to remember what exact canon passage was being referenced. Comprehension would slowly dawn... then laughter! A very engaging process for the reader.

Great use of capitals and punctuation. I loved Lavender's candid thoughts... the Boy Who Bloody lived, frizzy-haired cow, frivolously pondering marriage, the necklace, her mum, her dad, "Yes, you bloody should look shifty", "Does he think I can't SEE him if he's hiding under the table?". HA to it all! Did I mention the wonderfully comical self-righteous indignation at the end?

Nice hint of Seamus's interest too - and Lavender missing it completely. I vow to read more of your stuff now. Thanks for the laughs. Well done.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-04-07
Reviewid: 141741Chapter: 1
Awww--I like this very much. Takes me back to my high school days. Crushes and jealousy and gossip and let-downs and crying for dear old dad--love it!!

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2006-03-27
Reviewid: 141371Chapter: 1
See this is what I'm talkin' bout. I read this, and didn't review like a horrible person! I love frentic!Lavender who isn't going to sit around and take Ron Weasleys gaddabouting lying down! Even if she thinks she might! Tough as old boots indeed (that's what people neglect about Lavender, *she* isn't in Gryffindor for no reason!)

And when we kiss he always pulls away first. Thatís a really bad sign Ė thatís what Mum says-**- AH! I feel awful for her here, poor Lavender it's not her fault Ron hasn't got the guts to go with Hermione straight away (I'm admittedly a latecomer to the sympathetic!Lavender party but still!)

Also: I burst out laughing at work at the first "Frizzy-haired cow" because we ALWAYS see Hermione through rose colored, soft focus glasses. It's nice to see Lavender think *differently*

Reviewer: witchy-witchDate: 2006-03-10
Reviewid: 140756Chapter: 1
hehe! lav-lav is so girly and clueless! *giggle,giggle, squee!* *luv*

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-03-05
Reviewid: 140548Chapter: 1
Just reviewing this... again... to tell you how much I enjoyed it. It really made me laugh, second time round. Poor girl, she really is SO out of the picture. I liked the part you added - Lavender's fury at "the smug git" trying to pair Ron off with his "cast off" was really funny. Oh, and Ron hiding under the table which I didn't notice before - ROFLMAO.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-03
Reviewid: 140449Chapter: 1
Excellent

Reviewer: dunsirnDate: 2006-02-28
Reviewid: 140398Chapter: 1
Went off her a bit didn't you? I loved it.

Reviewer: July31Date: 2006-02-27
Reviewid: 140343Chapter: 1
Um, wow. This was awesome! You have seriously captured the spirit of Lavender--your portrayal was perfect! It reminded me exactly of a few people I know...I'm currently a witness to a giant high school drama involving my friends. Oh dear, teenage girls.

Anyways, supertastic job. =)

Reviewer: MrRobertsIIIDate: 2006-02-27
Reviewid: 140335Chapter: 1
Poor girl.

Thatís a really bad sign Ė thatís what Mum says. And she should know, now that Dadís buggered off aní all.
-gone or dead? (Where are you Dad Ö)

Does he think I canít SEE him if heís hiding under the table?
-made me laugh.

Excellent job showing LavLav's possessiveness. Any chance for another chapter?
-Ouch.

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2006-02-27
Reviewid: 140307Chapter: 1
Dogstar, I beleive you have captured dear Lav-Lav quite well. I mean, how she puts everything on looks, how much she is obsessed with dear Won-(sorry, still funny) Ron, how jealous she is of Frizz. And slow to get that Ron doesn't like her. Story's funny, too. Great job, dearie.

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2006-02-26
Reviewid: 140286Chapter: 1
Loved this! I can SO imagine her thinking like that.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-02-26
Reviewid: 140284Chapter: 1
I like how you show a different side of Lavender, and another perspective of the disinagrating relationship. While still being girly and a little bit of an airhead, she does show genuine concern and you can tell that she did really like Ron. I do feel a little bit of sympathy for her, since Ron never really liked her, and was just going out with her to make Hermione jealous. I also loved the line about hanging onto her eyebrows. :)

Reviewer: jazookabebeDate: 2006-02-26
Reviewid: 140280Chapter: 1
Whoa...very interesting take on Lavender's feelings. a bit scary in the beginning, but by the end I was thinking "good for her":)brilliant!

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140273Chapter: 1
Woah. THAT WAS BRILLIANT!

ďWhat were you doing up there with HER? Thatís IT, Ron Weasley. You. Are. History. History Ė Ha! Well, that should please YOU Hermione Ė you boring, frumpy, FRIZZY-HAIRED COW!Ē

Poor 'Mione!
Cheers!
*Magic*

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140271Chapter: 1
I was torn between being amused by Lavender's clueless/shallowness or being sad for her. Either way, good job channeling her!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140269Chapter: 1
Very cool, very funny. Nice to see this through Lav-Lav's eyes.

Reviewer: HelenHDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140268Chapter: 1
Dogstar, you *are* Lavender - or maybe you're an exceptionally good Legilimens! This was fab, and so funny, and so in character, and so *perfect*. Well done.

Thank you!
Helen

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2006-02-25
Reviewid: 140265Chapter: 1
Well... That was scary!Lavender. I think she might need...counseling? Very well written, your Lavender made my skin crawl. Wow.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --