The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: kerosinkanisterDate: 2007-05-29
Reviewid: 148121Chapter: 1
I liked this story. I think it this could be close to what actually happened with Parvati conspiring with Hermione to make Ron jealous with her "date" with McClaggen.

The humor worked, and I liked that the end was a bit ironic, given that plan basically fails and Parvati has to put up with Won-Won and Lav for another couple months.

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2006-03-09
Reviewid: 140726Chapter: 1
This is wonderful. I laughed out loud at Parvati's description of the anonymous roommates as The Others (do you watch Lost?). And I love your version of Parvati: she's the perfect combination of shallow and deep. Your explanation of her alliance with Hermione fits flawlessly with canon and with what we know of both characters. My favorite line was: "Blast her for being so quiet and antisocial. She might have saved herself a bit of pain." Ha!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140597Chapter: 1
Delightful Puff. You know quite well that girls can create and sink to or jump great abysses.

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2006-03-04
Reviewid: 140526Chapter: 1
I absolutely love how true to the book this is, and I love your Parvati. You know, before reading this, I never connected the dots and realized that Parvati might have been behind the whole Hermione asking out McLaggen thing, but now you've brought it up, it makes so much more sense than Hermione coming up with it on her own. That's always struck me as ... not quite right for Hermione. So this was really great. :)

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-03-03
Reviewid: 140486Chapter: 1
This is one among many clever and enjoyable pieces of fluff that I've read here at the quill--and I'm glad this piece was accepted. It is a perfectly female story without being femininely "pink". Your Parvarti has a very Jane Austin heroine intelligence about her. Telling the story from her point of view is a wonderful idea. Thank you for a pleasant read, and I look forward to more of your work.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-03-03
Reviewid: 140444Chapter: 1
I think this is a really interesting idea especially since it shows how similar Parvati and Padma are underneath, with their gift for strategy. Not that Parvati realises it. ;D And even though the plan is great in theory, the execution, as Hermione realised, is just too much. My favourite part was the interaction between Parvati and Hermione. Hermione's defence of Ron was amusing and adorable.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-03-02
Reviewid: 140438Chapter: 1
This is brilliant. :)

I'm a very staunch defender of Lavender, as well as R/Hr (and no, I don't think they are mutually exclusive). But I think you've handled this missing moment perfectly. I've seen a fic or two that have Parvati and Hermione join forces, but all the rest I've read were far-fetched and extremely OOC.

I've always admired your writing since joining the Quill, and I'm so glad you decided to write this. :)

Great job!

Jules

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2006-03-02
Reviewid: 140430Chapter: 1
I liked it this a lot. I rather thought it was staged when I read this part in book six. I couldn't quite see Hermione squealing if it wasn't and Parvati knowing exactly what to ask. Excellant fic. It indeed showed the links girls will go...

Reviewer: PigWithHairDate: 2006-03-02
Reviewid: 140426Chapter: 1
I've been looking for good fics on the whole Ron/Lavender/Hermione thing. Of course, I'm a big Ron/Hermione fan, but I like to torture myself. This was a very different approach and a much nicer one than I've found in awhile in regards to Lavender. It fits very nicely into canon and gives a different perspective on the whole thing. Nicely done.

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2006-03-02
Reviewid: 140425Chapter: 1
I spent half this story giggling and the other half thinking "maaaaaw!"

What a great peek into Parvati's character! I love her reaction to Hermione's predicament. In fanfic, Parvati is usually portrayed as shallow and ditzy, but I think your characterization is much more accurate: she's perceptive and clever, but not ashamed of her girly, gossipy inner-self. Hermione was also right on :D

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140422Chapter: 1
Great Collaboration! This is well written; the characters are, well, in character. I always wondered where Hermione had gotten that idea...

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140419Chapter: 1
Yay! What an excellent story! You don't get many Parvati fics, and when you do, they usually portray her as a) part of LavenderandParvati, b) plotting some way to grab a boy's attention or c) commiting suicide/crying over Padma after SHE commits suicide.

So, this is nice and refreshing! "And perhaps, along the way, she had proven herself a friend to more than one." Something elsa that reminds us that Ms Patil can have more friends than Lavender.

Great story, really well done,
-Angelina

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140417Chapter: 1
This was really well done- the dialogue flowed beautifully, and it all seemed very natural and unforced. It's always interesting to look at events from one of the other characters' point of view, and you really seemed to have found Parvati's voice.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140411Chapter: 1
An interesting idea, since I've felt that Hermione's declaration at dinner that night seemed quite catty and a little out of character for her, since it was motivated by revenge, something we haven't seen much of in the Ron/Hermione relationship. I liked Pavarti's perspective, especially how much she felt the loss of Lavender's friendship, and how most of the dorm was already tired of the Ron/Lavender relationship. I also laughted when Romilda turned Cormac down. I loved Hermione's reluctant admission of her feelings, the fact that she's not up with the gossip of the dorm, and how she seized the action that would make Ron realize his true feelings as well. Excellent.

Reviewer: ComplessatissimaDate: 2006-03-01
Reviewid: 140408Chapter: 1
This was a joy to read. It was too fun to see the whole situation from Parvati's point of view, not least of all because you show that you understand her perfectly. You have nailed the nuances of her personality! And you blended the attitudes of adolescents anywhere with specific ties and references to the magical world, to great effect. Thanks for contributing this piece!
Lorie

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --