The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Colin's First Love
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: LiadanDate: 2007-01-30
Reviewid: 147044Chapter: 1
oh dear, I could see that coming but couldn't stop it!!!

A very clever idea and I really appreciate the way you ended it. Good job.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-09-27
Reviewid: 145514Chapter: 1
Poor Colin. I hope it works out with the *real* Lucinda.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141189Chapter: 1
Oops! Thank you, Mag. Forgot all about Colin being in the DA, and darn it, I thought Dennis was a year behind Colin. Should have checked. I fixed the mistakes.

Reviewer: Magnolia_MamaDate: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141147Chapter: 1
This was a sweet, enjoyable fic. You did a lovely job conveying Colin's photogeekery -- I appreciated the blending of wizarding and Muggle technology -- and the build-up to the climactic moment was nicely paced.

I have a couple of nitpicky questions. You say that Dennis told Colin about the Valentine's Day card Harry got when Colin was Petrified. However, since Colin was a first year when that happened, and Dennis is two years younger than him, how could Dennis could have told him about the card? Secondly, when Draco emerges from the Room of Requirement, Colin seems to be unfamiliar with it other than as a passing rumor. As a member of the D.A., though, Colin would not only know of it, he would have been there himself several times (it's perfectly understandable why he might not have realized where he was before then; young lust tends to nibble away at the brain).

Those are minor issues, though, and didn't detract from my overall enjoyment of this. Good job!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141060Chapter: 1
Hi guys, I tied for second place. Yay!!! The first place winner was really good--a songfic from Phantom of the Opera, featuring Ginny and Tom Riddle--mwa-hahaha!

Reviewer: A_Wash1979Date: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141029Chapter: 1
That was great! You worked in all of the phrases seamlessly. Poor Colin; I'm glad Draco erased the episode from Colin's memory, even though he did it to serve his own purposes.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-10
Reviewid: 140764Chapter: 1
Great funny tale. So… What did you win?

Reviewer: anyaDate: 2006-03-09
Reviewid: 140735Chapter: 1
"Keepers have all the fun. They get to dive for the ball, and slam it into a bloke's face or his gut, and if a Chaser gets too close there are lots of ways, they can take them down, like clotheslining or throwing Stye-Eye Powder in their faces or kicking them in the 'nads, or…"
-*-
Ohhh the insights into the brain of that Goyle, Slytherin-about-town! If ever I wondered what his true desires were, now I know! I love this it's brilliantly quirky! :D I love the photographers view of the Wizaring world, and all the detailed processes of making photos come to life and Colin's artist's eye for the beautiful details of Hogwarts Castle and his...lady love.
-*-
As his lips pressed against hers, soft, yielding, lips, he felt tingly, and not just in the place where he usually did when he had such powerful thoughts as he now was having.
-*-
THAT Is a brilliant teenage boy perspective kiss! But I think I like this summation of Colin's cultivated artists air! I burst out laughing at work imagining him at his mirror practicing interview poses!
-*-
He turned to answer her question with what he hoped was a weary artist's detachment. He'd practiced the look in front of the mirror: one hand in his pocket, the other touching his camera—gently, almost negligently, speaking shyly of his love for the lens that never lies. Well, that last part was easy to duplicate.
-*-
I sheiked with uncontained laughter at that because it SO perfectly describes nearly every photographer I've worked for! Tres Ansel Adams! And of course... "Professor Snape abusing the no-forcing-Potions-pupils-to-drink-their-classwork policy." <3 That's my boy! And making them clean out nasty buckets filth! Ohhh he's a dreamboat!

Reviewer: elvenprincess688Date: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140715Chapter: 1
Oh, this was great. It took me a surprising amount of time to figure it out, but... Poor Colin!

It actually reminded me a little of Jack Ichijouji's "The Dangers of Miscommunication." Just from your description of Lucinda. Not at all a bad thing, both stories made me laugh hysterically. And I needed that today, thanks!

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140655Chapter: 1
This is incredibly sweet, and it fits all of your targets!

It was a clever jaunt. It took me a while to figure out what was going on with the dropping things, but once I got it, ... you did a good job.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140624Chapter: 1
Very funny, and I love Colin's perserverance and dedication with his photography, even though it might be hard to get recognition for it, which is too bad. I loved Goyle, and was wondering myself who he was transforming into. Draco was menacing, and I loved the last line, about him being friends with Lucinda for a long time.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140617Chapter: 1
Aw. You gots to love the Creeveys.
That was very smart of you. I mean, I realised that the corridor was where the Room of Requierment was, but I totally forgot for a moment that Crabbe and Goyle had been standing guard for Malfoy outside of it. And, I noticed when you said that "Lucinda" had been dropping her scales, etc, and I did think of that, but only fleetingly.
This was an excellent story! I really enjoyed Colin's point of view. You don't get much of that.
Keep on writing!
Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-03-05
Reviewid: 140564Chapter: 1
wow this was really brilliant. not only do you obviously know your way around a dark room but a keyboard as well! just the colin story was great but suddenly everything clicked in the middle and i was covering my mouth in horror and delight, poor colin! i have to say, peeves was really hilarious. and the ending was just perfect, now i dont have to feel too bad for mr. creevey.

really, really, well written, i look forward to reading more of your stuff. *-*

Reviewer: Falling DampsDate: 2006-03-05
Reviewid: 140562Chapter: 1
Genius, mary ellis. I can honestly say that I missed all the hints and was completely blindsided. Poor Colin!

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2006-03-05
Reviewid: 140553Chapter: 1
Alarm bells went off in my head at the first mention of that set of scales. I thought, "Oh no, she wouldn't really do THAT." But you did! haha. This is a hilarious story.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --