The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 39

Reviewer: kodamaDate: 2007-11-24
Reviewid: 149991Chapter: 10
yay! i've been waiting so long for this chapter! great job arya!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-09-02
Reviewid: 145145Chapter: 9
Oh, how horrible and sad. I listened to that sweet little girl wrestle with her conscience about helping her friend, and then she was struck down for her bravery. I was irritated a little at Merot (though I laughed too at his officiousness), but his advice turned out to be wryly right.
Now I'm fearing for Sorrow all the more, and dreading that perhaps she will be either corrupted or murdered by her implacable father. We all know that there will be a Basilisk imprisoned in the Chamber of Secrets. I am on tenterhooks to know just how.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-08-30
Reviewid: 145092Chapter: 9
Gah! A student dies! EREN dies.

Good chapter, though.

'Looking down, she saw a small red mark on the girl’s cheek. ... this girl’s death had not been an accident.'

Arya, Queen of Cliffies! Can't wait for the next chapter...

Angie

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-08-30
Reviewid: 145072Chapter: 9
Holy cow, that sure took a dark turn! So whodunit (I can guess)? A very tense, short chapter. Still unresolved-- Gryffindor's reactions. Hoh boy. It's going to get mighty interesting! Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145015Chapter: 8
I like the centaurs, and their split on whether to listen to Rowena. Now I have to wonder what Rowena will do, now that her worst fears are confirmed...

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-10
Reviewid: 144729Chapter: 8
Is this it? There is no more?

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144564Chapter: 8
How I do love your names: Roam, Flynn, Delebeth, Aine, Greille. And range of feeling you attribute to the centaurs is so true to their volatile natures, suspicion, dignity, sudden anger, devotion, passivity, wisdom. And Helga and Rowena together are charming. Reading this chapter, I can truly believe they were friends long past.

And Roam's concern for Sorrow...awwww...

Reviewer: kodamaDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144409Chapter: 8
another good chapter! i love the names you came up with for the centaurs! :) i liked this, but some of the things the centaurs said and acted like didn't seem quite right... but other then that, great story!!

Reviewer: kodamaDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143764Chapter: 7
keep writing! please!! i really like this story and you need to keep it up. great story!!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-06-13
Reviewid: 143425Chapter: 7
Oh, poor Rowena. But, we finally begin to see the rift between Godric and Salazar, and between the two Houses. Great chapter, Arya, girl!
Update soon!
-Angie

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-06-13
Reviewid: 143390Chapter: 7
Wow, you do a great job with the tension! I don't know if I said this before, but interesting twist having Salazar looking down at Rowena because of her heritage. I have a feeling Rowena's going to find out... that is going to be interesting!

Reviewer: fan_club_pres.Date: 2006-06-06
Reviewid: 143247Chapter: 6
i liked this, even though there were some spelling mistakes. you need to finish it tho!! you've got a good story goin, keep writing!

Reviewer: Angelic_ButterflyDate: 2006-05-27
Reviewid: 143070Chapter: 6
Wow! This is a great story, and Salazar is so much how I would have expected him to be if we ever actually never what he was like.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-05-17
Reviewid: 142870Chapter: 6
I cannot wait, Arya. Honestly, after all the times you've commanded me to read this story!! I finally looked it up.

Nice one. In fact, it's a Beast. Really.

Like I said, can't wait for Chapter 7!!

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2006-05-14
Reviewid: 142795Chapter: 6
I like the characterisation you have built up for Sorrow, especially now that we get this glimpse of what her mother was like; Sorrow seems to be very like her, but her final thought in this chapter struck me as a very Slytherin one. It'll be interesting to see what happens next.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-05-14
Reviewid: 142775Chapter: 6
Wow, I had wondered about that snake! An interesting question and possibility about basilisks.

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-05-12
Reviewid: 142750Chapter: 6
No...Sorrow....no...! Too late as we know. Very good chapter - I like how you foreshadow Marvolo Gaunt with Sorrow's grandfather's name Marvo. I also like how you portray how controlling Salazar's love is for his wife.

It does seem odd that Sorrow's mom wanted to create a basilisk just to do it - to show it could be an agreeable creature. Seems almost like idle curiosity - and there exists such a big chance for the poor creature to get into trouble/hurt.

Fun to read something about the origins of the school/COS - keep up the good work!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-04-07
Reviewid: 141742Chapter: 5
Oooh...chilling! And I love the names you choose for your characters: Selesseth, Roam, Merot, Sorrow...so evocative. i can't wait to see what happens next.

Reviewer: hpgirl42095Date: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141654Chapter: 5
More! soon! please!

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-03-31
Reviewid: 141478Chapter: 4
I really enjoyed your story, and am looking forward to chapter five. I am curious about what Sorrow's mother's journal will reveal. I also am intrigued by the quotes:

“When your father departed, the serpents were angry,” Roam replied.  “They revolted against the village.  None were spared.”
This sounds like the serpents were angry because Salazar left them, but then you wrote:
 
" The people who had lived here had died because of her father.  Their lives had ended because something had angered him."

So I am curious to find out what really happened - was Salazar angry when he left - did his anger or his departure (or both) cause the snakes to attack? Maybe the journal will tell us more. I also wonder why the people died if they were witches - or maybe just Sorrow's mother was one?

Great work. Good grammar and spelling. Looking forward to reading more.

Reviewer: KharriDate: 2006-03-30
Reviewid: 141469Chapter: 4
I read the first few chapters a while ago, and I have been waiting for the others to come out. All I can say, is KEEP GOING! It's really good. And the snake was an interesting developement. Will he come in again lator?

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-03-30
Reviewid: 141458Chapter: 4
I'm not sure I trust Selesseth, and wonder why Roam brought her there. Perhaps I'm too suspicious. Anywho, another great chapter!

Reviewer: BeatriceEagleDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141084Chapter: 3
A very good chapter. I particularly liked your descriptions of Rowena.

I'm sad I didn't get to read it beforehand, though.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-03-18
Reviewid: 141039Chapter: 3
Hmmm...looks like I called Rowena right on. This is going to be an interesting dilemna for Sorrow. Already, she is having grave doubts about her father and what he wants her to do. Rowena's influence could be the tilting factor. I guess we will see. So I have to wonder -- what was Rowena doing out there, and why did she head into the forest? Did she have the same nightmare?

Reviewer: RonluvshermioneDate: 2006-03-16
Reviewid: 141001Chapter: 3
Oooh... So Rowena is a Seer... Interesting. I like the way she is trying to influence Sorrow. And poor kid, that's really a terrible dream.

Reviewer: discordant_harmonyDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140941Chapter: 3
Interesting....vewy interesting.

I really like Sorrow as a character. She seems very much like a real person. Though I have to say I am intrigued. Hurry up and write more. This is MUCH more important than in stupid novel....z,skghskljglsak.

Reviewer: RonluvshermioneDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140847Chapter: 2
This one's a little confusing, but I'm sure it will unfold in the later chapters. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: serinaDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140827Chapter: 2
I mostly go for comedy famfics but i really like yours please write more.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-03-11
Reviewid: 140818Chapter: 2
more and more interesting! I liked the comment about Longbottom losing her toad -- it runs in the family, eh? Curious about Rowena -- I wonder if she has some Divination talent?

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2006-03-09
Reviewid: 140737Chapter: 1
Ooooh, this is going to be fun.....

Reviewer: Violet WallerDate: 2006-03-08
Reviewid: 140693Chapter: 1
I think i know a girl named Arya. Is that your real name? Just asking. I got a bit shocked when i saw this. Anyway, i thought this was quite interesting.

Reviewer: kickballchangeDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140678Chapter: 1
Poor girl! "Sorrow", hatch a basilisk, no mother. And still I don´t think it´s sure she´ll be a Slytherin - she seems so nice, interested in animals and the forest, caring about Helga...
Very intriguing! Go on...post...post...more chapters...

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140663Chapter: 1
As I told you before, very good! :) I hope you have more up soon.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-03-07
Reviewid: 140659Chapter: 1
You've woven an interesting bit of history, here. Also curious -- will the creatures, snakes or both belong to Sorrow. I'm guessing she can understand Parceltongue.

Reviewer: RonluvshermioneDate: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140622Chapter: 1
Sorrow? Poor kid...

It's great to see a story about the birth of the basilisk! Great writing, very imaginative. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: streeter87Date: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140587Chapter: 1
Arya, Oh my how great a treat it is to see your name pop up here..... You are one of the best fic authors out there, I hope to read more of this... and of little Margot as well... hope all is well with you!!

Reviewer: locked_door998Date: 2006-03-06
Reviewid: 140577Chapter: 1
Love the name "Sorrow" - very clever.

Hatch a basilisk? Poor girl.

I will have time again soon to beta. I'll email you! :)

Great job!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-03-05
Reviewid: 140570Chapter: 1
Riveting! This is a banging good start for what I hope will be a long story. I will look for updates!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-03-05
Reviewid: 140549Chapter: 1
I like 'Sorrow'. That's a unique name in this ficdom. ('course I haven't read that much HP fic.) And Daddy is so--gruesome, making his ten year old daughter hatch a basilisk. (And maybe killing her mother?--Hmmm?) Your writing is straightforward and terse and easy to follow. I like that too. Keep it up.
I don't know if this is a one-shot or not, but the characters are very promising. I hope you'll either add more chapters, or we'll see Sorrow and the irritating Merot and the Founders in another of your stories. I especially like Salazar's take on two of them: "...a Mudblood and [a] near-Squib..." (I am weary unto death of H/G stories...)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --