The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Forget
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: ShadowRainDate: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144695Chapter: 1
From Agatha Christie:
"Murder was so easy.
But afterward,
You went on remembering..."
This is how Jo Rowling should end the series. Thank you for one more great piece of work in the troves of Potter fanfiction.

Reviewer: silver_blaiseDate: 2006-04-14
Reviewid: 141897Chapter: 1
oh my god. scary. and cool :)

Reviewer: wonderwolfDate: 2006-04-04
Reviewid: 141605Chapter: 1
Oops. I meant to put all of your fics. Sorry!

Reviewer: wonderwolfDate: 2006-04-04
Reviewid: 141604Chapter: 1
All of her fics are very good but this one's my favorite... It's an amazing idea and you wrote the fic very well.

Reviewer: hahahaveryfunEDate: 2006-03-16
Reviewid: 140978Chapter: 1
This almost works so short. There are a few missing pieces, to this, it seems to me, and I can't really explain why. But that seems to fit, too, somehow.

I do love the ending. So sad- so happy. :( :) *sigh*

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140940Chapter: 1
I think a lot of reviewers have missed the theoretical nature of the situation in this story. Maybe Harry's never been shown to be suicidal in canon, but he's never lost everyone close to him and thought himself a murderer in the books, either. It's also not fair to use the fact that the subject matter is dark as a strike against it.
I really like this, the characterizations are all wonderful. Even Draco coming to pay Harry a civil visit doesn't seem at all out of place the way you wrote it. The pacing is perfect and you delivered the final lines perfectly. Wonderful work!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-14
Reviewid: 140916Chapter: 1
A bit grim.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140903Chapter: 1
Ooh. Nice one.

Good old Draco. He makes things better for EVERYone.

-Angie

Reviewer: Grim LupineDate: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140900Chapter: 1
Thank you to all my reviewers.
To explain the presence of angsty!Harry:
Yes, he moved on after Sirius' death, but all in all how long did he actually know him for? This is the death of the three closest people to him, and to top it all off, he ends it by killing someone himself. Basically it's trauma and grief and guilt all mixed up in one.
I imagine it's enough to throw anyone over the edge.
The name difference is mainly because, even though it's in third person, it's more from Draco's point of view.
Thanks!

Reviewer: jeda_lawsonDate: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140880Chapter: 1
This is good, really short but I think that just makes it more intense. Is there some significance in calling Harry, Potter and Malfoy, Draco, usually people stick to 1st names or surnames.

It's more book 5 Harry than book 6 but that doesn't really matter because the whole point of fan fic is to have a play around with the characters. I think that the death of his 3 closest friends would push him over the line, all that angst he's suffered is just buried waiting to be triggered again. Some insane people do have moments of lucidity so that works well. Don't worry about getting your head checked, you just have a vivid imagination!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2006-03-13
Reviewid: 140862Chapter: 1
This was an emotionally intense and well-written story.

However, I think you have missed Canon Harry, who has not shown himself to be angsty, suicidal or anything like that in the 6 books so far. He feels guilty about Sirius, but he moves on with Life.

Reviewer: MyKarmaRanOverMyDogmaDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140861Chapter: 1
Wow, that was... short. I'd say short and sweet, but it really wasn't all that sweet, if you know what I mean. But, it was good, I'll tell you that!

Reviewer: discordant_harmonyDate: 2006-03-12
Reviewid: 140851Chapter: 1
Wow, that was really intense. It is sad, but good in a way. Many different fanfic-authors try to write a depressed Harry, and it is rarely done well. This Harry, however, was good. Farther than I have read him before. I don't think I've ever sat down and contemplated what would happen to him if Ron, Hermione, and Ginny died, and he lived. It's a very interesting concept. Harry has always blamed himself for the deaths of those who died at Voldemort's hand. With those three, he might very well go insane. Or appear to be insane. Or maybe both.

I liked that in this story. Yes, Harry said he wasn't insane, and I admit, he was speaking with his own twisted, hero logic, but was he really? Would the deaths of his three best friends cause him to go over the edge, at least, in one way? And that is the beauty of this short little ficlet. Is Harry insane? I don't know, but I do understand why he did what he did.

What I didn't understand was the presense of draco. Why was he there? Is he a healer, or just visiting? Now, looking back at the story, I see he is a visitor, but really why? I gather he wanted to thank Harry, but hmmm. It's a little confusing.

Other than that, this little snippet of a fic is....not delightful, because of it's subject matter, but a good read.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --