The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Leaving Tomorrow
Review(s): 25

Reviewer: ladytalksalot17Date: 2007-08-30
Reviewid: 149093Chapter: 1
amazing...

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2007-07-09
Reviewid: 148480Chapter: 1
"His accent is thicker than wool socks around his tongue"

Great imagery!

"They stink from Potions yesterday, but one of the other sets was torn by a fanged geranium and the other is stiff with mud from an older boy shoving me down by the lake."

Great touches--it's the sharp details like this that make the story seem real. Teenagers--even if they have an army of house elves to help with chores--just aren't that great when it comes to laundry and they often don't quite grasp the finer points of personal hygene.

I like how you thought Myrtle might want to study science or math. Although she seems overly emotional, maybe something logical like math and science would help her develop some critical thinking skills and stop being such a mopey mess. (Of course, if I had been teased and then died in a toilet stall at 15, I'm sure I'd be no ray of sunshine either.)

Poor Myrtle. You really capture her misery and, which makes it all the more heartbreaking because we know the outcome, her hope that she'll leave Hogwarts and return to a world where she fits in. Lovely, but sad. And the last line is chilling.

Reviewer: Nimbus 2000Date: 2007-06-25
Reviewid: 148359Chapter: 1
I really like it,fits in well with the story please write more!

Reviewer: Wee_Little_MeDate: 2006-09-29
Reviewid: 145528Chapter: 1
Ah yes. A very poetic piece from Myrtals perspective. I both enjoyed and hated reading this. I admire the fact that you could keep the story moving rather than dwelling on certain issues.

Reviewer: TroviaDate: 2006-07-28
Reviewid: 144513Chapter: 1
Wow. This is a great story. And it actually makes me *like* Myrtle. Thanks for sharing :)

Reviewer: sinbinDate: 2006-06-18
Reviewid: 143497Chapter: 1
That was haunting (excuse the pun!). I've never felt sorry for Myrtle before, but this story's changed the way I look at her.

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-04-08
Reviewid: 141754Chapter: 1
Wow. I am in awe of your skills! That was, BRILLIANT! WICKED!You captured her sadness and charecter well and I LOVED the repeat of "I am going home tomorrow." Ending suberb:
And then someone speaks.

It is not Olive.

Loved it, all of it

Ciao,
*Magic*

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2006-03-31
Reviewid: 141477Chapter: 1
Oh, wow that was wonderful. I don't think anyone has ever written Myrtle like that. It was wonderfully done and very sad and rather brave somehow. It's helpless irony that she never does get to "leave tomorrow" as she always "planned" on. Oh. That one almost brought tears. A wonderful look into the mind of a character usually taken for granted.

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2006-03-22
Reviewid: 141205Chapter: 1
I really like this, and I think you show us Myrtles thought and feelings so well!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-20
Reviewid: 141104Chapter: 1
Quite Nice

Reviewer: bradDate: 2006-03-18
Reviewid: 141036Chapter: 1
Wonderful little story. I know this because, while reading it, half of me earnestly wanted to be there with Mrytle and be her friend, help her out. The other half of me identified with her misery, having been a loner at school myself. And all of me felt sorry for her. When an author can do that to a reader - making me feel sorry for her, and a bit sorry for myself! - I guess that's the sign of excellent writing.

So can you write something now to cheer me up? :-)

By the way, since I'm here ... count me in as one more fan waiting/hoping for a new chapter of 'Of a Sort'. Great story you have going (slowly!!!) there.

Thank you for writing this little story about Mrytle!

Reviewer: McGonagall's CatDate: 2006-03-17
Reviewid: 141034Chapter: 1
Excellent study of an outcaste! Thank you!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-03-16
Reviewid: 140982Chapter: 1
Wow, Fern! I'd never thought about Myrtle's life, which is probably pretty sad. I overlooked her, just like everyone else did. You wrote a great contrast to Myrtle's ghost existance that we see in the books. She is always taunting Harry, but it makes so much sense that her life was that quiet and sad and Olive would've had to have been horrible for Myrtle to stay and haunt her. This is extremely well-written, and the end is chilling. Thanks for writing it!

Jules

Reviewer: Pink SunflowerDate: 2006-03-16
Reviewid: 140980Chapter: 1
This was a real gem, brilliantly written and very interesting. I've never read a fic from Myrtle's point of view, so it was fascinating to hear your views on her. It certainly puts her in a very different light. Thankyou for giving me something to think about next time I read one of the books!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2006-03-16
Reviewid: 140979Chapter: 1
You did a great job of describing what Myrtle's life was probably like at Howgwarts. I can just imagine her last minutes spent in the girls' room. And was that Hagrid she ran into? You captured his speaking quite weill. Again, great job!

Reviewer: MallaryroseDate: 2006-03-16
Reviewid: 140976Chapter: 1
I wish I could give every middle school girl this story to read. I can think of a few high school girls that ought to read it, too.

As always, a great job. A very heartbreaking, but very effective story.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140973Chapter: 1
Oh, that is so tragic. :(

She never did go home.

Very well written, especially the way you did at the end.

I'm all sad now, but I suppose I never thought this would be happy. ;)

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140971Chapter: 1
I've read this before, but it was worth a repeat read. How sad and tragic all around! Poor Myrtle doesn't leave until too late.

Reviewer: MyKarmaRanOverMyDogmaDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140967Chapter: 1
Ooh, very good! I can feel the tension in the last two sentences! Very good work!

Reviewer: CamryDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140965Chapter: 1
Oh, Fern, I love this. I know I commented on your LJ when I read it, but this is one of my favorite pieces. I think we all feel like Myrtle sometimes-- that no one sees us, that we don't exist. You feel how desperately lonely she is with: "the truth seems like a very small thing to give up, if I could just exist again." It's a really great backstory for her.

Reviewer: skruvstaDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140964Chapter: 1
I never really considered Myrtle as a human, just as a slightly irritating ghost. My mistake. Your Myrtle is brilliant - you've created a real depth to her, and the first person narrative suits this fic completely. I thought you were writing as Hermione for a paragraph or two, but the ambiguity got me interested!

*is thoroughly impressed*

Reviewer: Harriet WimseyDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140962Chapter: 1
Hey, cool! I'd forgotten about this fic, so I'm glad you decided to post it at the Quill. It's very good--it's nice to see Myrtle's side of things, before all the years of personality-warping that comes from being a petulant ghost. Very nicely done.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140956Chapter: 1
Wow. That was increadibly depressing. I don't think I've ever read a fic about Myrtle, but it's definatley interesting thinking about why she's always crying, and what her life was like. I liked this, even though it nearly made me cry for Myrtle!

Reviewer: SuzanneDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140954Chapter: 1
This is absolutely excellent! I couldn't stop reading even though it was sad and even though I knew I wouldn't be any happier at the end. So well written. It really made me feel so bad for poor Myrtle. It reminds me of an old church movie called "Cypher in the Snow," where a boy was so ignored, by everyone, that he finally just gave up on life and died. Sad movie, sad story, but excellent. I enjoyed it. (Like I enjoy all of your work!) Thanks for writing it.

Reviewer: MycroftDate: 2006-03-15
Reviewid: 140953Chapter: 1
Ooohhh...NICE! We're so used to only seeing the petulant side of Myrtle, I think many of us forget that miserable souls usually get that way because they've been subjected to a miserable existence. *happy sigh* I do so love your way of filling in the "back story" of various characters--I'm really enjoying Shades, as well--and when JKR made Remus/Tonks canon at the end of HBP, I didn't feel a moment of shock, since you had already done such an excellent job of connecting the dots for us in "Shifts". More excellent work from Fernwithy!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --