The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Second
Review(s): 13

Reviewer: EmelyeDate: 2007-03-05
Reviewid: 147367Chapter: 1
Wow, Arya. This is beautiful and so emotional and so sad. It really got me very emotionally involved. Excellent.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-02-02
Reviewid: 147055Chapter: 1
Wow! How did I miss this? Your idea just blew me away. And you got into the story quickly with deft touches highlighting the history and motivations, it made the whole piece seem all the more urgent and demanding of close attention.
I don't know when you first wrote this, Arya but I couldn't help wondering if it was precipitated by what Dumbledore said in OotP about The Prophecy: that, up to the point where Harry was scarred, it fitted Neville equally well. It made me think that perhaps--because 'marked' can also mean 'recognized'-- the Prophecy could have included both Harry and Neville, and that perhaps Hermione realized that. And that brought me to another possibility, lurking under your overt plot: the possibility that Harry consciously decided to use himself as bait to lull Voldemort into a false sense of security, just as Dumbledore did when he let Snape kill him.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145985Chapter: 1
My heart breaks for Neville.

Reviewer: KylaDate: 2006-07-21
Reviewid: 144328Chapter: 1
Wow, that was really good! You did a really good job writing from Neville's POV. It was a great story. I never thought of the prophecy working out that way, Harry defeating the Dark Lord but not Tom Riddle, that was really smart. I'm worried now that it could happen that way in the books! Anyway, good job!

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-03-31
Reviewid: 141479Chapter: 1
Great, great one-shot. Neville is one of my favorite characters anyway - I loved having this written in his POV. The conversation between Ginny and Neville almost made me cry.

The only criticism I have is with:
“You’ve been in all the papers,” Hermione informed him.  “Did you really talk to all those reporters?" For me, the canon Hermione is more intuitively kind and sensitive than this.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-03-30
Reviewid: 141456Chapter: 1
Well, I've read The Second just now.

And absolutely loved it.

I like the character development; Neville's anguish is so sad, but it's great that he was the one.

My only problem was that Hermione and Ron somehow seemed to lack the sadness I'd pictured them having. I can't see them wanting to attend a ball or discuss the papers - remember, Harry was the one their lives had centered around. I expect they'd be rather displaced.

Also, it's not real clear why there's a ball at St. Mungo's. A charity ball?

Otherwise, very good. I also liked the Neville/Susan. As they say on LJ, OTP! ;)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141170Chapter: 1
Quite Excellent. Thanks.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141075Chapter: 1
Whoa, this was a strange twist! And maybe it's true, that Harry is to stop Voldemort but not be the one to finish Riddle. It's something to consider; good story!

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141073Chapter: 1
I cried. This is beautiful. Poor Neville.

Good job.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: Khar'pernDate: 2006-03-19
Reviewid: 141065Chapter: 1
Ugh. Harry died? I hated it. Well, the writing itself was good, but Harry cannot die. He is the BOY WHO LIVED. The boy who lived does NOT die. Ugh.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-03-18
Reviewid: 141057Chapter: 1
Yes. VERY good. Brilliant story, Arya. I forgive you for killing Harry off. And, you redeemed yourself with the "eighty-seven children" comment. I'll just go add that to the thread.

Neville's a great guy. We all love him.

-Angie W

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-03-18
Reviewid: 141051Chapter: 1
Very cool concept, although I will be ruined if Harry really does die! And how very like Voldy to not want a second. Nice keeping with the theme of ordinary-people-who-are-heroes. Nice job.

Reviewer: Princess SerenaDate: 2006-03-18
Reviewid: 141049Chapter: 1
I really liked your fanfiction involving Neville, it was a different take on the normal 'harry the hero' theory, very sad though! Well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --