The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Greater Than Power
Review(s): 43

Reviewer: ghhr2120Date: 2009-02-09
Reviewid: 151391Chapter: 11
This story is stupendous! I just read all 11 chapters in half an hour, and I think I'm going to go back and start it all over again!

Reviewer: IshiDate: 2007-08-17
Reviewid: 148894Chapter: 11
Oh goodness this is amazing! I hope you aren't going to stop this just because of Deathly Hallows! This is way too good to end here!

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2007-05-03
Reviewid: 147934Chapter: 10
I don't know if I've reviewed this before, but I enjoy it very much. Right now, I'm at a loss for constructive criticism, but I hope that encouragement is enough for now.

I really like this fiction. Please continue it!

Thank you.

---Miriam

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-04-28
Reviewid: 147872Chapter: 10
Great chapter. I got a chuckle from the dialog with Minerva-

“Good, you made it. Come with me,” she said crisply, leading the way to her office. They smiled and rolled their eyes—Same McGonagall: no welcome, just straight to business.

“Quaffles, she said distinctly to the statue guarding the stairs.

“That’s her password?” Ron whispered as they ascended to the Head’s office.

“She’s as obsessed with Quidditch as Professor Dumbledore was with sweets,” Harry replied.

“I prefer to call it healthily devoted, Potter,”

Reviewer: meganDate: 2007-04-28
Reviewid: 147867Chapter: 10
I just finished reading all your chapters in one go, and wanted to drop you a quick note to let you know. I like your style a lot, though it is a bit rushed and uneven in a couple of chapters: The episode with Harry and the knife had me rather confused, and I'm not sure what you wanted to say with it. You took a long time describing Harry's depression in Grimmauld place, and rushed over the knife thing afterwards. Also, the recollections of that woman in Godric's Hollow were self-contradictory. First she didn't know that James was dead, then she told Harry that the bodies of his parents were taken to be buried with the family. I think you don't say explicitly that the Potter home is called The Kiln until long after you start using the name (I might have missed it, though). And I find it a bit strange that James would live with Lily in Godric's Hollow, but not in his (empty) ancestral home.

So anyway, it's possible some of these issues were actually explained and I read over them too quickly, but I do believe that at least some are plot holes. You may want to check for consistency. Other than that, though, the story flows so nicely that I did stay rooted in front of the computer for the past 3 hours. You're doing a great job moving the plot along, and an even better job with characterization and dialogue.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-04-27
Reviewid: 147860Chapter: 10
Very good. And Harry now has a reason to take this very seriously indeed.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146794Chapter: 9
I tend to enjoy well-depicted inter-personal interactions, so I enjoyed this chapter very much: thank you!

Reviewer: krumfanDate: 2006-12-29
Reviewid: 146669Chapter: 9
What a lovely and cute story! I'm glad I found it. Nice characterization and character development.

Looking forward to more.

Reviewer: hp4-sauceDate: 2006-12-26
Reviewid: 146616Chapter: 9
Great chapter.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-12-19
Reviewid: 146531Chapter: 9
This fic is so sweet! I love the speculations about the Horcruxes and their endless hours in the library - classic Hermione. And Harry's relationship with Ginny is really special, I think you're approaching it fantastically. I'll be keeping my eye out for an update!

Reviewer: LiadanDate: 2006-11-01
Reviewid: 146029Chapter: 8
just so you know, I think you are writing a fantastic piece of work at the moment. That I am lucky enough to have read this story so far astounds me. Every time you post from now on, I will consider it a gift from a VERY talented author. (i hope you don't find this inappropriate) I really appreciate that you have taken the time to keep us 'in the loop' with this story, it sounds lik that your life hasn't been a bed of roses lately... you should know that your readers recognise this, and won't forget it any time soon.

Please keep up your excellent work. I wait in anticipation for your next post.

Reviewer: rugbygalDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145828Chapter: 7
I loved this story so far!!!! I hope your still writing because I can't wait to read the rest!!!

Reviewer: Kaity PotterDate: 2006-10-17
Reviewid: 145768Chapter: 7
Great story can't wait to read the rest it was really great how he wanted to connected with his parents and grandparents !!

Kaity

Reviewer: EvieStarkDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145699Chapter: 7
I'm just dying for more of this fic! I check nearly everyday to se if it's updated. Please write more! :)

Reviewer: tinabellDate: 2006-09-13
Reviewid: 145325Chapter: 3
I wanted to let you know I just started reading your story today and I'm already hooked.
I think this is a good start. I particularly like the way you have written Ginny. I abhor the cliche of Ginny being mad at Harry for doing what he has to do and chasing after him...so not her. I like how you showed Harry's realization that he knows little of his family.
Love Ron's comment at the end...very Greg and Forge-ish!

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-09-13
Reviewid: 145315Chapter: 7
This is a very powerful piece. It is brilliantly written, and I feel it could have been written by JK Rowling herself.

I specifically like how Fawkes found Harry when Harry thought of himself "Dumbledore's man through and through."

There is a lot to like in your piece. Right now, I look forward to your next installation. Good job!

-----Miriam

Reviewer: jazy108Date: 2006-08-02
Reviewid: 144612Chapter: 6
omg love it!!! keep writeing!!!

Reviewer: chickflick666Date: 2006-07-15
Reviewid: 144184Chapter: 6
beautifully written chapter. keep updating, you've got me on the edge of my seat here! LOL!

Reviewer: lil_munchkinDate: 2006-07-09
Reviewid: 144056Chapter: 5
NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!! Not another cliffhanger!!!!!!! Actually no,I love cliffhangers, but don't leave me hanging for too long!!! Please please please update soon!!!! This is shaping up to be a AMAZING story. I REALLY liked the part when...well pretty much everything in the story! It's really realistic and fantastically written!!! Your a really talented writer, and once again, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE update soon!!! You're awesome!!! Keep on writing!!!

lil_munchkin ;-p

Reviewer: chickflick666Date: 2006-06-29
Reviewid: 143831Chapter: 5
YAY! i love this story! you have the characters down perfect. please keep writing! i HATE cliffhangers!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2006-06-19
Reviewid: 143527Chapter: 5
This story is great! The storyline is great! I can't wait to read what their next step is in the hunt. The characters and their emotions are so realistic. Post again soom!

Reviewer: hp4-sauceDate: 2006-06-18
Reviewid: 143498Chapter: 5
Excellent story. Everyone is well in character. I thought you dealt with the whole issue of leaving Ginny behind initially, with all of the inevitable ambivalence on both sides, about as well as I've seen it done. Also Hermione and Ron in their faltering steps to a romantic relationship. Oh, and the search for the Horcruxes is interesting too. Finally, the writing is very good indeed.

Reviewer: hp4-sauceDate: 2006-06-17
Reviewid: 143488Chapter: 2
Great story. Perceptive observation that Harry would want Ginny to stay behind but would be deflated if she didn't at least want to come with him on the Horcrux hunt. Enjoyed the first two chapters.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142697Chapter: 4
Great job so far. I can't wait to read more. I'll have to make sure I check for updates.

~GW

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142469Chapter: 4
I never know what to sat to that. I hope it was no more wrenching than your pet goldfish.

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142463Chapter: 4
Brilliantly Canon-compliant and very compelling indeed. Your narrative is a little choppy at times: for example, you talk about the wreak of what was Harry's parents' house, but you forgot to mention the ancestral manor home. Mrs. Trent should have mentioned that in the same breath as the family cemetary. Establishing Mrs. Trent's muggle credentials could have been better handled with greater clarity. I had to re-read that passage a few times.

Other than that, you have handled your take on the Horcrux Quest very well indeed.

Continue writing and remember to not leave gaps in your narrative.

Reviewer: DalfDate: 2006-04-24
Reviewid: 142206Chapter: 2
FINALLY! You know I had quit reading post HBP fan fiction because it seemd that the whole H/G ship had totally lost thier F$^*ing minds with the ....... well you know.

But I have three predictions for book 7 and you hit them all. Harry will be at #4 PD on his b-day. Ginny will be going back to Hogwarts. Harry will not. I have about 5 other predictions (the action in the book will eventually arrive at hogwarts etc) but still.

Its good to finally see someone who read thelast chapters of HBP and got the conversation between Harry and Ginny. It amazes me that so many people could have got the H/G thing as obvious for so long and still been unable to understand her character even when explained in the book. Guess it just goes to show .....


Nice start I look forward to reading the rest.

Reviewer: Seedy BeaDate: 2006-04-23
Reviewid: 142194Chapter: 3
nor am I making any money from this story. you ought to be, it's really good. keep going, or i'll strangle you. i loved ginny's letter, it made me laugh.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-04-23
Reviewid: 142173Chapter: 2
Love Hermione's comment: “We’re leaving to protect this. We’ll win, because we know we have days like this to come back.” Sums it all up.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-04-22
Reviewid: 142143Chapter: 3
Really good chapter! I'm a bit suspicious of Elaine Trent, but maybe I'm overreacting. I really like the depiction of Godric's Hollow. Is there something going on with that sword? And the relationship dynamics seem solid and believable so far. Post again soon!

Reviewer: MyKarmaRanOverMyDogmaDate: 2006-04-20
Reviewid: 142107Chapter: 3
I love it SO MUCH so far! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE update, and SOON!


'P.S. Please tell Ron and Hermione to stop bickering and start snogging.'

Brilliant.


“No reason to fight,” Ron said, sticking his chest out. “She knows I’m the master.”

Even more brilliant.

Reviewer: macbeth_mnDate: 2006-04-20
Reviewid: 142103Chapter: 3
I believe that the British use the metric system. Hence, 3 miles would actually be described as about 5 km

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141696Chapter: 2
Nice characterization of Harry and Ginny. "This time, her voice was fierce. Harry instantly relaxed; this was the Ginny he was used to." Hermione's analysis of Voldemort was also quite interesting. A quiet chapter, I'm looking forward to seeing how you put these characters in action. So far, an intriguing take on the Horcrux hunt.

Reviewer: troublemaker-in-chiefDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141692Chapter: 2
VERY well done!
For some odd reason this whole fic kind of made me want to cry. I guess things coming to an end for Harry also means the series is coming to an end for me- and that is a thought I simply can not deal with.
ANYWAY, this story also made me laugh. The characters were actually extremly realistic, something rarely seen in even the best fan fiction- I am impressed!
The quote at the end was perfect.
I'm lovin' this story!
WRITE MORE!(that is an order)

Reviewer: felix FelicisDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141651Chapter: 2
Nice story. I suspected that Harry might see Ginny from the beginning, but it was a nice suspense not to really know until the end. I like the interaction between Harry and Hermione because we don't get a lot of that in the canon. Good work, keep it up!

Reviewer: KeridwenDate: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141253Chapter: 1
“Come on, Hermione, just let me turn him into a newt!”

*dies*

I swear, I was waiting for Ron to mutter, "He'll get better."

This is a great start. I can't wait to read more. :)

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141213Chapter: 1
“Come on, Hermione, just let me turn him into a newt!” Ron yelled, glaring at Dudley, who attempted to hide his large mass in the cushions of the couch.

“No Ronald, it’s against the law,” she said firmly.

Haha! I liked the humor in this piece. Seventh-year fics with a lot of canon characters are so treacherous, but this seemed to be a good start. I'm interested in seeing where you take it. Post again soon!

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2006-03-22
Reviewid: 141203Chapter: 1
I alway thought Harry would feel funny leaving Pivet Drive. This is very good, everyone behaves as they should. You gave the imression that the Dursleys felt strange about Harry leaving; I guess change, even welcome change, is difficult for everyone! LOL!

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-03-22
Reviewid: 141194Chapter: 1
Um, this comes up as "invalid author". You might want to double check that.

Reviewer: marauder4everDate: 2006-03-22
Reviewid: 141191Chapter: 1
Nice story!Can't wait 'til the next update!

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141190Chapter: 1
Lovely! Everyone was so in character. Thank you for not making the Dursleys go all mushy at the end. Interesting bit of insight as well -- Harry's life is truly changing, and his path is a complete unknown.

Reviewer: adahDate: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141188Chapter: 1
A well written piece, but I have an off putting feeling that that really isn't Moody. But I'm probably completely off the mark. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: MyKarmaRanOverMyDogmaDate: 2006-03-21
Reviewid: 141176Chapter: 1
Just one comment: Moody made his threats to the Dursley's only one year ago, as he told them at the end of ootp and this takes place after hbp. great job! can't wait for updates!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --