The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 79

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146579Chapter: 6
Oh!
You sent some very clear signals in the last chapter that you were going down the "Harry is a Horcrux" route, but I never expected anyone to find so much textual evidence for the position, or make it so believable! Right at this moment I have to believe that its very likely that JKR will actually go down that path!
The scariest part about this was also forshadowed - all the way through - with Harry moving closer and closer to actually cutting his friends out of his life; leaving himself with only followers, making himself more like Voldemort. It's true; in himself Harry has reasserted his 'Harryness' - his love for his friends when he refuses to 'give' Hermione to Volshebnik but in his relationship with them he has a lot of patching up to do, and how is he going do that in the emotional turmoil he has now?
Your writing is fantastic. You blend an intensly relational plot into frantic action and realistic, taut dialogue, and set it all in the light of a thoroughly thought-through concept. More?

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146578Chapter: 6
Oh!
You sent some very clear signals in the last chapter that you were going down the "Harry is a Horcrux" route, but I never expected anyone to find so much textual evidence for the position, or make it so believable! Right at this moment I have to believe that its very likely that JKR will actually go down that path!
The scariest part about this was also forshadowed - all the way through - with Harry moving closer and closer to actually cutting his friends out of his life; leaving himself with only followers, making himself more like Voldemort. It's true; in himself Harry has reasserted his 'Harryness' - his love for his friends when he refuses to 'give' Hermione to Volshebnik but in his relationship with them he has a lot of patching up to do, and how is he going do that in the emotional turmoil he has now?

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146574Chapter: 1
I said it in April, I'll say it again now; this is the very best beginning to a fan-fic I've ever read.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146498Chapter: 6
More Please.

Reviewer: wendelin_the_weirdDate: 2006-12-05
Reviewid: 146373Chapter: 6
WHOOOAAAA..

My stomach has collapsed to my ankles and my heart's crowding my throat. This is insane. This is insanely good. I said in my last review that this is the best trio fic I've read - but scratch that - this is THE BEST fic I've ever read. I've never been so caught up in a story before... the only rivals are JKR's own stupendous climaxes of GoF and OotP.

The imagery in chapter 6 is breathtaking. The people encased in ice, all with Harry's own scar...*shiver*... Another reviewer said you must have read gothic horror a lot, and I suspect the same. And Volshebnik! Oh God, that raving madman! From the very beginning he reminded me of Voldemort - I sort of thought of him as a Tom Riddle gone good, you know? But he turned out to be as twisted as any of them... crazy, scary bugger. *shiver*

Oh, God. I will now go and try to get my heart rate down to below a thousand, thank you very much.

Reviewer: wendelin_the_weirdDate: 2006-12-05
Reviewid: 146372Chapter: 2
Last year, around this time, I stopped reading fanfic because of the utterly depressing mediocrity of the work I kept coming across. And now, the first fic I read after all this while turns out to be THE best trio story I've ever read.

I'm only just starting on Chapter 3, but I already want to slow down and savour every little bit of this marvellous story. I think you have your suspense-building, dialogue, characterisation and even the "authentic JKR voice" down pat. Particularly loved the Lupin bit at the end of Chapter 2 - burying his nose in a book, his face a mask of disapproval. That was genius.

Kudos on this really great piece of writing.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-11-09
Reviewid: 146128Chapter: 2
Well, for once I'd really love to have a portable library, actually you made some more fine inventions in this chapter. What a pity that Ginny didn't get the answer she was hoping for ... And maybe it's time for Hermione to visit some old friends on the continent?

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-11-09
Reviewid: 146127Chapter: 1
This was a very well-written chapter, truly realistic - which makes it a very promising beginning! I like how you showed Harry's feelings towards Ginny, that's just him. And starting off just after a successful Horcrux hunt was a very clever idea, I immediately felt inside the story - nevertheless, I hope you'll present some flashbacks of these missing scenes ;-)

Reviewer: parakletosDate: 2006-09-10
Reviewid: 145280Chapter: 1
I like it so far, keep writing.

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2006-07-02
Reviewid: 143896Chapter: 1
This rox. Plenty of people have already gone on about the generally pro writing, the plot, and the character of Volshebnik, all of which are definitely impressive, but what I love about this (and why I'm reading it, and not all the millions of other fics out there) is the dynamics among Harry, Ron, and Hermione, which I find heartwarming, satisfying, and spot-on.

Someone else commented about a lack of logic in Volshebnik's attempt to get Harry to "give" him Hermione, but I actually thought that part was quite good. Yes, they both logically should comprehend that it doesn't matter in the slightest whether Harry "agrees" to it or not, but the fact that they both ignore that is true to character. Harry is that loyal, and that reviled by the mere suggestion of it, and that *Harry*. And Volshebnik's that messed up. I did rather hate the bit with the teeth-churning. But I wanted to read more awesome trio friendship, so I kept going. Please keep it up!

Reviewer: LizzieAnnDate: 2006-07-02
Reviewid: 143874Chapter: 6
By the goddess this story has held me in a grip! I can't wait for it to continue, you are doing a great job!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2006-07-01
Reviewid: 143871Chapter: 6
You must have read a bunch of Gothic novels in your time, or watched a long list of horror movies. Either that, or you have a natural talent for creating chilling scenes. Very creepy and well done, though a bit sad that you tipped your hand so soon. I was enjoying the build-up and the guessing game. :-)

Still, there's one thing I didn't like: by giving Volshebnik that particular back story, you made him simply evil. He was way more complex when it looked like he was amoral - more mad scientist than vengeful husband. I understand you needed to give him a motivation for those experiments, but you probably could have come up with more subtle reasons. Still, since he's presumably out of the story, it doesn't make much of a difference. I also felt that the deal V. was trying to make about Hermione was a bit of a stretch, and not so necessary for your story line. He could have simply informed Harry about his plans for her, rather than try to "buy" her - and it still should have been enough motivation for Harry to resist him. Hermione certainly never came across as willing to take orders from Harry without question, and even if V. truly thought her a "servant", that's not the same as a *slave*. Anyway, it's not a big issue, but I do tend to grumble about logical discrepancies, especially when the story would have worked fine without them. Otherwise, though, an outstanding chapter again.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-06-29
Reviewid: 143822Chapter: 6
Pleased and still reading. Keep it coming.

Reviewer: eluannDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143772Chapter: 6
Very exciting climax. I don't like the "Harry is a horcrux" thing, but I love the story - especially the doubt about which side Volshebik was on. Will carry on reading.

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143759Chapter: 6
Oh my. This chapter is definitely a cut (or two or three) above the rest. "He clutched at every word as if each was a floating bit of wood that could save him from drowning in this strange, thoughtless sea in which he had lost himself." Absolutely fabulous. J.K. herself hasn't ruled out the possibility that Harry is a Horcrux, and this chapter explains beautifully (and horrifyingly) how that could be possible. This chapter flows from suspense to relief and back to suspense again, with a powerful ending. I'm glad you mentioned that there's more!

Reviewer: Ylime101Date: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143757Chapter: 6
AHHHHHHH!OMG FREAK OUT!!*deep breaths*OMG! well written though

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143751Chapter: 6
Wow...just wow.

I've wondered about the whole Harry is a horcrux theory and now after reading this I'm convinced he must be. Cannot wait to see where you will take this.

Great job!

Reviewer: JengloryDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143743Chapter: 1
Wow. I mean... wow. This was amazing. I found myself sucked in, where I was racing to read each paragraph to see what the next would bring. Excellent storyline, excellent writing. I'm impressed with how you write the characters and how _real_ this seemed. I'm sorry it took me so long to find this!

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143740Chapter: 6
I must have stared at the screen for a full minute after finishing this chapter, and I'm still quite sure it hasn't sunk in. Amazing ... absolutely phenomenal. I've never subscribed to the Harry-is-a-Horcrux theory myself, but I think you've just made it register with me as a distinct possibility. Volshebnik is so completely twisted, which I should have seen coming, but you made me like him for about a chapter and a half. Gah, I'm rambling. Still kinda brain-frazzled after that chapter, I tell ya.

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: LeiselilyDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143739Chapter: 6
WOW. Just WOW!

Reviewer: AminDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143735Chapter: 6
A brilliant story so far. I'd like t read the rest aswell as i just cant stop reading it once I start. I hope you write more soo!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143729Chapter: 6
First of all, thank you for updating so fast. I'm really happy that I didn't have to wait for long after that cliffhanger. Moreover, I'm very happy with this AMAZING chapter. Sorry for the caps, but really, I've never read anythink like it in fan fiction. It felt like a rollercoaster ride, and I'm not quite sure I managed to breathe all the way through.

This chapter was everything I didn't expect. I never expected Volshebnik to be insane like that, though in hindsight, it makes sense. The moment I read about the people encased in the ice, the nice, friendly, grandfatherly image of Volshebnik was gone from my mind. And then he explained about trying to find true love by making a human Horcrux, and I realised that he was utterly insane.

And I also realised that Harry was in great danger! I could have kicked him for showing his scar, but I understand that he was confused and just wanted help and explanations. Fortunately, as you've emphasised a few times already, Ron and Hermione are not Harry's followers, but his friends. It doesn't matter that he didn't want them to follow him -- they did it anyway, and they saved his life!

In short, your plot is amazing, your characterisation of canon characters is spot-on, and Volshebnik is an incredibly well fleshed-out original character. Not to mention that your writing is flawless and you managed to keep me on the edge of my seat during the entire chapter. Brilliant.

Now, about the plot. I don't think Volshebnik is right: Harry might be very much like Voldemort, in other ways he's the complete opposite. Volshebnik himself told Harry that he isn't dark, and I definitely believe that. Besides, by the prophecy Harry has "a power that the Dark Lord knows not", so he can't be just like Voldemort.

However, it's going to be very interesting to see how you will deal with destroying the Horcrux that is inside Harry. I'm inclined to believe Volshebnik (who has, after all, plenty of experience in the matter) that transferring the Horcrux will destroy Harry's own soul. But I'm sure you'll find some ingenious solution for it (and hopefully you won't simply kill Harry off).

I've got one question, though. You mentioned three steps in making a Horcrux, and if I'm not mistaken, the first step is preparing the object. But then how is it possible that Harry became a Horcrux accidentally? Surely Voldemort cast the first spell on an object different from Harry.

I don't think I have a favourite line this time. This whole chapter is one big favourite line. Your author's note seems to imply that you put a lot of effort in this chapter, and the result is fabulous. If the other chapters are half as good, I'll definitely keep reading this story.

Reviewer: PakismithDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143727Chapter: 6
Very good written the final scene between Volshebnik and Harry.
Very thriller story, can't wait to read next chapter.
Thanks

Reviewer: Frivolous PinkDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143726Chapter: 6
I like how the author's note lapses into Volshebnik-speak.

Go Ponderous! The story is the cat's pjs.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143722Chapter: 6
Very good. Getting Harry out of this crisis in self-confidence would seem to be a significant part of what's to come.

I did notice one typo [as if all the bones had disappeared from him body -> as if all the bones had disappeared from his body], and as a Brit, would Hermione have directed Ron to "Put your foot on the gas and run them down?" [I know the terms for the fuel are different -- "gas/gasoline" vs. "petrol" -- don't know about the terms for the controls.] And under the circumstances, the phrase "put your foot on" seems rather loquacious compared to, say, "hit." :-)

Those are, however, miniscule nits: excellent story so far. :-)

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-06-25
Reviewid: 143692Chapter: 5
Ouch. Very, very well-written indeed. One of the more chilling 'realistic' Harrys I've read (the super!independent!Stus don't count). I have to say I hope Harry isn't a Horcrux - how do you kill your POV character? It certainly tends to finish off the story.
The revelation of Harry's identity was very sensible and perfectly IC, because Harry just *isn't* a good liar, but also isn't stupid. Bring on the next chapter - I have a feeling whatever Volshebnik says is going to be very interesting. KUTGW

Reviewer: harrietmckDate: 2006-06-25
Reviewid: 143681Chapter: 5
Excellent story...can't wait to read the next chapter!

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-06-25
Reviewid: 143680Chapter: 5
Volshebnik looked very thoughtful. "After Voldemort left, I had the golems comb every inch of my home. I peered into every nook and corner, even stuck my head inside the stove."

"Errr, why?" Ron asked, his eyes wide.

LOL. Typical Ron. Great story..I wonder if Hermione and Ron gets mad?? I don't want them to split apart...

Reviewer: TarsieSDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143647Chapter: 5
I am highly impressed by the craftmanship of this story. Well thought out, incisively written, imagery is quite imaginative. The characters, as well, are true to form. (Even if I hope Ginny does NOT give up on Harry, no matter what she told him ;) )

I am looking forward to reading the rest of this story. It is definately one of the best I have read, so far.

Reviewer: Ylime101Date: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143642Chapter: 5
this story is really good, really well written. i'm hooked on it! keep writing!! updates make my day

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143635Chapter: 5
You do realise that it's totally unfair to leave us hanging like this, don't you? I want to know what Volshebnik is going to show Harry! *grumbles*

Well, anyway, fascinating chapter. Wonderful writing, and the plot makes perfect sense. Of course Volshebnik should at one point suspect that Harry was actually working for Voldemort, and the way you wrote that is truly brilliant and absolutely terrifying.

That scene, and the one where Volshebnik showed Harry that being able to do Dark spells doesn't make you a Dark wizard, finally made me trust Volshebnik. I'm sure he won't harm Harry while they're alone, though I'm sure you'll have some more surprises up your sleeve.

Maybe I'm just obsessed with the Horcrux!Harry theory, but it seems to me that you're hinting at Horcrux!Harry in this chapter a lot. First there is the spell that allows you to create a Horcrux simultaneously with a murder, then there's Volshebnik's doubt about Nagini being a Horcrux, and now there's something about recognising living Horcruxes. Will Volshebnik identify Harry as a Horcrux, or has he already done that?

I suppose I'll have to wait for the next chapter for the answers. *pouts* Oh well, maybe this huge review will motivate you to write it soon?

I'll finish this with my favourite line (though about every scene in this chapter is also my favourite):
>>Volshebnik had the strangest moral compass of anyone Harry had ever met, a compass that was not broken exactly; it was just that when Volshebnik said “north,” he actually meant “southwest.” <<

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143634Chapter: 5
Hmmm... interesting developments, there. But perhaps progress will be a bit faster now that at least one level of deception is no longer needed.

Well done!

Reviewer: leiselilyDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143629Chapter: 5
Wow, that was definitely worth the wait! I love that Hermione got a chance to show off, and the bit at the end when Harry had to choose has me on the edge of my seat. This is so well written, I really enjoy it.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143625Chapter: 5
Well, you done did it. You managed to surpass yourself by about a dozen miles! I'm not sure about all the directions you plan on going to from here (though I can see you're laying the foundation that Nagini is not really a Horcrux - I had trouble believing it, too; and possibly that Harry IS a Horcrux; and that the final non-living one is at Hogwarts, where Ginny is). But... that's really not even important, b/c this is a psychological thriller more than anything else. It gave me chills, and not b/c of some made-up device like those silly zombies in HBP, but b/c of the very realistic human emotions in it. I think the scariest thing in the world is what lies inside of us, our own potential for evil under great stress. Certainly the recent news in the real world bear this out. And you depicted it incredibly poignantly (say this fast 3 times :-) ) in this chapter. Harry is sliding down a very slippery slope inside his own mind. His moral compass is not yet unscrewed, but how far will he go in the name of defeating evil? When will the end stop justifying the means? It was the old Harry who thought he'd have to leave Ron and Hermione behind for their own good. But was it an act, or a new Harry who said "That's an order"? And when does the act become reality? Perhaps the greatest role his friends will serve is to keep him human.

What I absolutely like about all this, though, is that you're not preaching - you're showing. Not asking questions - just pointing them out. You really should be a published author (maybe you are?). I do wish you could update more frequently, though. Not that I don't know how long it takes, just.. you know, if possible...

Congrats!

Reviewer: eluannDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143622Chapter: 5
At last! Worth waiting for. Look forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143619Chapter: 5
Even though I've heard that Jo Rowling says Harry now knows (by the end of HBP) everything he needs to know to destroy the Horcruxes, I can't help feeling that Dumbledore left him woefully unprepared with so much more to be taught. Your story provides a bridge for that gap, and the vehicle for the trio to be "three parts of the whole" - Harry, Ron and Hermione working together with their individual skills to bring about the victory. Another great chapter! Please bring Harry back to Ron and Hermione unscathed . . .

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-06-23
Reviewid: 143617Chapter: 3
This is beautiful. Just beautiful. Especially this: “It’s odd for you, isn’t it?” Hermione asked quietly, her eyes glittering in the firelight.

“Very,” said Harry. “I might not like my scar, but I suppose it’s who I am in the end.”

“Oh, you’re more than that, mate,” said Ron offhandedly." Wonderful writing, wonderful plot progression!

Reviewer: eluannDate: 2006-06-19
Reviewid: 143536Chapter: 4
I have reviewed this before, but am anxious to know when the next instalment is coming.

Reviewer: eluannDate: 2006-05-17
Reviewid: 142869Chapter: 4
I don't know whether I already reviewed this, but I'm looking forward to more.

Reviewer: slate_oneDate: 2006-05-11
Reviewid: 142725Chapter: 4
Dear Ponderous:

I was wondering if you knew that there is another HP story with the same name as yours on the Fan Fiction.net website. It appears to be a different storyline than yours.
http://www.fanfiction.net/s/2664841/1/

I just thought you ought to know.

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142694Chapter: 4
This is a very interesting story. I am intrigued by Volshebnik's behaviour. I can't wait until you have more!! They are so close! Lol.

~GW

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2006-04-30
Reviewid: 142419Chapter: 4
I wrote you a review for chapter 3, as well, but the system ate it up and I didn't have time to re-write it. So I'll sum up my impressions of both chapters here.

First of all, Volshebnik's characterization. Like I said a while ago, I was curious how you'll handle an OC, and you have far exceeded my best hopes. Chapter 3 was intriguing enough, but this one is truly spectacular. It is so very hard to create an amoral character (at least, he looks amoral thus far), b/c we all tend to imprint our own morality on anything we write about. V. is as ambiguous as Snape, only richer - imo - b/c this isn't about whose side he's on, or whether he is good or evil. The fact that you compared him with Dumbledore was very striking. They are both extremely smart, except Dumbledore had humor and love, besides wisdom. However, even Dumbledore was ruthless or amoral on occasion.

I was a little disappointed in chapter 3 by the action sequence. It was well written, but frankly, I was expecting something longer. I thought they'd have more trouble finding the entrance to V.'s place, and face more dangers along the way (based on your buildup to it). Still, after chapter 4, I realize that you have a different focus, although I'm still not sure what that is. Will Harry have to play more mind games, will it be more action, but only between him and V.? One thing has become clear: whatever direction you plan to go in, I won't be disappointed. This fanfic is already more polished than many published books.

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-04-29
Reviewid: 142368Chapter: 4
Quite remarkable; excellent!

One tiny nit to pick: "Harry could not bare to even look at his." should read "Harry could not bear to even look at his."

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2006-04-29
Reviewid: 142360Chapter: 4
Wow. Another great chapter. I'm not quite sure what to think of this Volshebnik, but the story so far is certainly very intriguing. I'm sort of glad to see that Harry's plan to pretend to be a Dark Wizard failed. The plan wasn't very well thought-out after all, and Volshebnik is supposed to be quite smart, so it wouldn't have been very realistic if Volshebnik hadn't realised that Harry was pretending.

Also interesting is that Volshebnik apparently regrets making a Horcrux. It makes me more optimistic that Ron, Harry and Hermione will get out of here alive.

A funny thing is that whenever Volshebnik said "Mr Malfoy", I reacted similarly to the way Harry apparently reacted. Halfway the chapter, I was cursing Harry inwardly for choosing that name; couldn't he just have chosen "Brown" or something? So it was a nice surprise to find out that Harry was showing disdain at the name as well.

I'm looking forward very much to the next chapter!

Reviewer: eluannDate: 2006-04-29
Reviewid: 142353Chapter: 4
I'm on tenterhooks. This is really convincing. Hope you post another chapter soon.

Reviewer: sheepstamperDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142339Chapter: 4
Excellent story - please continue....

Reviewer: leiselilyDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142336Chapter: 4
Great stuff, I am really enjoying this story. Volshebnik is so intriguing, as if he used Harry's torture of him to torture Harry. I can't wait to find out what happens next, and I have no clue where this is going. Brilliant!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142334Chapter: 4
“Not a Dark wizard, eh? Of that...you’ve not convinced me.”
Urgh. Well, we're really taking Harry to his extreme here aren't we? This is the Harry who would curse Bellatrix and now can. Yes. It works. I can't say I like it, but it works and I want to know where its going. It may well be that this the best speculative Harry I've yet come across - all the nobility and tortured past coming together. More.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142333Chapter: 3
Better and better. Malfoy, Grabbe and Coyle?! Here's trouble coming! Ratcheting up the relational tension very nicely - and somwhat inspired to have Harry push it further by requiring R and H to be "minions". The writing is magnificent as usual.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142332Chapter: 2
"And then she turned, her lip trembling, and she slowly walked out the door. Harry clutched at the edge of the bed, his whole body shaking."
AAArggggh! This is killing!
Superb writing in a tricky arena.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142331Chapter: 1
Delighted to find a decent stab at book 7. Grabbed me at the start with the motor-bike ride and the danger to Hermione - her ramblings were heart-breaking! Love the emotional tension - illustrated more than told and completely in character. Not over-dramatic, but very real. Excellent pacing. Moving from bike to kitchen to bedroom and back to kitchen convincingly, carried along by informative, natural dialogue. Now on with the show...

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142320Chapter: 3
There is a reason I avoid fan fictions that anticipate the events of the next book and this fabulous story is a perfect example. This fiction is so wonderfully realized, moves fast, very full emotionally, I'll probably look at Jo's Book Seven and say "it" is not canon. I love the tension between Harry, Ginny and Ron--Harry's changing attitude.

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142312Chapter: 4
Oh, dear, this is getting intense! I'm afraid that I'm completely hooked now. Volshebnik gives me the creeps, but he's an amazing character. I'm intrigued by his statement that he made a horcrux and now regrets it.

Tiiiiny nitpick. "The golems re-entered the chamber, bearing brick-like pieces of cake with blood-red filling. Harry could not bare to even look at his."

The correct word here is 'bear', synonymous with 'stand' as in 'I can't stand him!' 'Bare' is synonymous with 'naked', or in its verbal form, 'to make naked'.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-04-23
Reviewid: 142183Chapter: 3
The plot of this story is off to an intriguing and exciting start! I can only hope that Harry will learn that he can't hope to succeed by shutting everybody out. Looking forward to more...

Reviewer: oybolshoiDate: 2006-04-22
Reviewid: 142138Chapter: 3
What a lovely story thus far...I'm really enjoying it and very much looking forward to more.

I thought when I first read the name Volshebnik that you were playing with the term Bolshevik and using it to make a reference to the politics of early 20th century Russia. But then I noticed the "n" in his name...so now I've just realized that I'm still a history geek... heh heh heh.

Keep up the wonderful work!

Reviewer: leiselilyDate: 2006-04-21
Reviewid: 142127Chapter: 3
Very good, still very much enjoying this story. I love the tensions between the trio, and the way Ron is standing up to Harry. Your writing of the characters is spot on.

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2006-04-20
Reviewid: 142113Chapter: 3
I love the tension you have between the trio, and the fact that they still work seamlessly together dispite it. And Volshebnik intrigues me. He intrigues me very muchly.

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: sticky bunDate: 2006-04-20
Reviewid: 142109Chapter: 3
I love seventh year fics, so when I saw your title on the list of latest fics I immediatly clicked on it. As I read the beginning, I thought it was interesting and read more. But then, when they arrived at the burrow, Ron carrying Hermione and Harry banging on the door, I was immediatly drawn in. Your writing is so suspensful and other times, so endearing. Soon I began muttering, "This is brilliant!" at diffent intervals in the story! The story is great and the writing definitely reminds me of JKR. I anxiously awaited chapter 3 and it came! It definitly filled my expectations! I'm so excited to see what happens with Svargas Volshebnik (how do you pronounce that?). I'm a little afraid of Harry acting like a dark wizard though *please don't make him too scary*, although I love the idea of Harry and co. going under cover.
So, anyway, I finished the ch. and decided to reveiw, and that's saying something because I hardly ever reveiw. So, there you go! To you ;)!

~Stick

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2006-04-20
Reviewid: 142096Chapter: 3
This is a really cool story. The summary doesn't really appeal to me, but I ended up reading the first chapter and found that it was awesome. So despite the summary, I returned for the second and third chapter and now I'm afraid that I'm hooked. This story is extremely well written. Very canon-ish, brilliant characterisations and a fascinating plot.

Interesting that Volshebnik reminds Harry of Dumbledore. Very interesting. I'm looking forward to reading more about him. In fact, I can't wait for the next chapter. Keep it up!

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2006-04-03
Reviewid: 141601Chapter: 2
This is getting very intriguing indeed. You have a good feel for building up suspense, and as before, you're keeping the characters consistent with the books. I can't wait to see how you handle an original character, though. This Russian bloke sounds like a great opportunity for you. And also, I'm curious to see how you write an action sequence - and hope it'll live up to the prelude.

I do have a small complaint, though: the Carpathians are not that high in the Ukraine (Google them: the tallest peak is 2062 m - about 6700 feet), so I doubt they're covered in snow except for winter. But I won't let my compulsive need for accuracy get in the way of enjoying your story. :-) Great job.

Reviewer: Ms CrookshanksDate: 2006-04-02
Reviewid: 141574Chapter: 2
I cannot begin to tell you how much I enjoy this fic. The plot has got me hooked, and the little romantic allusions are keeping my fluff-lovin' heart happy. Wonderful stuff! Churn out that next chapter asap! x

Reviewer: ReynaDate: 2006-04-02
Reviewid: 141567Chapter: 2
I'm really enjoying this. Your characters are great. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Reviewer: LeiselilyDate: 2006-04-02
Reviewid: 141566Chapter: 2
Totally brilliant. I am hooked and I can't wait to read more. Very realistic characters

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141548Chapter: 2
Gah! No! Ginny isn't allowed to move on, darn it!

I'll have you know that I'm officially addicted to this fic. Amazing stuff!

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141536Chapter: 2
Very well written so far. I can't help but hope that Ginny doesn't let herself get hurt (even more), though.

Reviewer: King of PainDate: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141534Chapter: 2
Very nice start to begin with, am anxiously awaiting further developments(very anxiously, so hurry up already;).
Well written, and I have my fingers crossed for H/G (please don't be too cruel to Harry)
James(KoP)

Reviewer: cloudDate: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141532Chapter: 2
cant wait for the rest

Reviewer: Frivolous PinkDate: 2006-04-01
Reviewid: 141526Chapter: 1
YAY PONDEROUS!!!!!!!!! Three cheers for chapter two!

Reviewer: HexnutDate: 2006-03-27
Reviewid: 141359Chapter: 1
Intriguing start. I like the way you start in the middle of the action instead of taking a lot of time to set it up. I'll be looking forward to reading more...

Reviewer: outofthecupboardDate: 2006-03-26
Reviewid: 141335Chapter: 1
I love this story and how it starts off reminding us of cherished moments from the first through third books, dear Hermione just wanting to be liked--how the boys need (and love?) her now--and Mr. Weasley's reminder of Harry's Floo mishap. They show how the perspective has changed--somehow Harry dueling a basilisk with a sword at age 12 was a magical fantasy, while the 17 year old Harry pursuing the scattered bits of an evil lord's soul seems to have grown into something as gritty and realistic as our front page news reports. Even though Hermione is hurt, Ginny is scorned, and Harry is tortured and guilty over leading his friends into danger, the story is as warm as the Burrow, as dedicated as Mrs. Weasley, as cool as Bill, and has all the promise of a good time that you can count on Fred and George to provid. I've read some stories where Ron carries Hermione over a threshold, but none I've liked so much as this, and I hope it is a prelude for more romance! It was so satisfying to read the smart, fresh things Ginny had to say, and to read Harry's thoughts on the wall he built between them. I loved everything from the title to "cake for breakfast?" to Harry's realization that he has outgrown yet another haven. I can't wait to find out what will happen next!

Reviewer: inara223Date: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141316Chapter: 1
Amazing start, Ponderous! You've done a great job here; excellent characterization, action, drama, comedy...all the goods. I am looking forward to seeing where this story is headed and also to reading more fics from you, as you are quite the talent. :)

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2006-03-25
Reviewid: 141285Chapter: 1
Oh my ....

This whole chapter had me on the verge of tears! So painful, yet so necessary. In all seriousness, I would not be at all surprised if something very much like this turns up somewhere in the middle of the seventh book. You've got everything from extrapolation to characterization down so perfectly. Bravo!

Much love,
'Terna

Reviewer: Ras93Date: 2006-03-24
Reviewid: 141271Chapter: 1
I was sucked into this story immediately, it's very exciting. I can't wait for more so I will be on the look out for updates. Thanks for writing.

Reviewer: MeganDate: 2006-03-24
Reviewid: 141259Chapter: 1
This is an exceptional start for a series. I rarely see a first chapter that looks so polished. While reading the first part (before they arrive at the Burrow), I even remarked to myself that you have succeeded in creating lots of drama and keeping a very alert pace, while also writing a Ron/Harry dialogue that is completely in keeping with the characters. The part at the Burrow kicks it up a notch in terms of characterization. I particularly liked your Mrs. Weasley ("bank robbers!" while she cuts them cake), and the little bit of Ginny we've seen. Even Fleur, with her trilling voice, looked in grand form, though we only glimpsed her for a moment. Very nice start!

Reviewer: Ms CrookshanksDate: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141252Chapter: 1
Fantastic start. I'm very intrigued by this story and hope you post a new chapter v. soon. It has a very canon-like tone to it, and it is clear that you've put a lot of time, energy and thought into the plotline and characterisation. Nice work.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141239Chapter: 1
Excellent start. I like the way you give the back story in fits and starts, keeping us guessing. And you make us experience a bit of Harry's feelings, kind of rushed and frantic and pulled in all directions.

Love the Weasley humor (Ginny and the twins--ditto Ron. Bank robbers! Great!

Reviewer: Sinopa2Date: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141236Chapter: 1
Oooh ooooh, more please!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141233Chapter: 1
Wow...really very good. I forgot for a moment that I wasn't reading canon! Thank goodness Hermione's going to be okay. Post again soon!

Reviewer: Frivolous PinkDate: 2006-03-23
Reviewid: 141228Chapter: 1
What a great beginning! I can really picture Book 7 sounding a lot like this fic. The characters are spot on, and the tone is very faithful to the books.
Also, there is so much Ron-related cuteness! Yay for his blushing ears as he carries Hermione to safety!
Keep writing. Four Stars.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --