The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Henry
Review(s): 16

Reviewer: ileneDate: 2006-10-27
Reviewid: 145954Chapter: 1
Whoa. That was definitely a Hitchcock moment (or series of moments). Even though I'd figured out by the time Amanda misplaced her wand that Henry must have been the culprit, and that he was probably the Imperiused nine-year-old from canon, the rest of the story still had me on the edge of my seat, wondering where he was and when he was going to actually strike.

Also, quite apart from the immediate suspense aspect...the part where Henry thinks "he always did as he was told" was especially chilling for me, for unfortunately there are many cases in RL of children brought up that way who wind up being lured into some trap set by an adult with evil intent. Now usually the children aren't lured into committing crimes themselves, but have the crime committed against them. But it was still scary.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-09-01
Reviewid: 145136Chapter: 1
Oh... my... god. I cannot express how much I love this story. You are so right when you say there isn't much of this genre of fic on the Quill, but you've more than made up for it with this. Perhaps the most brilliant thing about "Henry" is that you've fleshed out one little line - one line! - from canon and turned it into a bloody vignette masterpiece! It rocks. It bloody rocks my socks and the socks of the Quill and the fandom. Yes. It *is* that good. The tone was just spot-on *shiver* and the pacing was fabulous: it was actually like a horror movie, the terror creeping up on you in fits and starts and then the crescendo effect just at the end before the muted, bone-chilling revelation at the end.

Genius, Falling Damps. Genius. If I were wearing a hat right now, I would take it off to you. But I'm not, so you'll have to settle for my proverbial hat I use for just such occasions. =)

More of this stuff, please! =D

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2006-04-08
Reviewid: 141758Chapter: 1
C for Creepy indeed!

It's good...BUT CREEPY.

-is haunted-

Peace forever
bennedetto

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-04-07
Reviewid: 141744Chapter: 1
Oh, you really wound this out beautifully. Just the merest hint here and there and then the acceleration to the climax. Deliciously scary, like the best of Hitchcock--or Poe. Thanks. Wait a minute. What am I saying? I won't sleep a wink tonight!

Reviewer: LesleyDate: 2006-04-07
Reviewid: 141722Chapter: 1
Godallmighty thats creepy. Think Ill go and lock the back door, not that it would help............

Brilliant! Inspired! Is there more?

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141706Chapter: 1
Oh my God...

That was brilliantly horrifying.

Reviewer: GeorgieDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141704Chapter: 1
Absolutely excellent. I could feel a shiver running down my spine when I read the laat sentance!

For me, the best bit about it was the way, in the last section, you described events from the little boy's point of view - very chilling...

"...he tried to keep his trainers out of the blood. They were new. He had just got them last week."

Reviewer: Te arohaDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141700Chapter: 1
Creeeeeepy.... very creeeepy... definetely not bedtime reading!

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141698Chapter: 1
...and I can hear Alfred Hitchcock's infamous violin screeches in the background at the end of this little fic. Creepy this fic certainly is, and well written too.

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-04-06
Reviewid: 141688Chapter: 1
Really good story. Any time small children are mixed with evil: very creepy!

The quote from the book says "trying to kill", but Henry actually killed them - you couldn't resist, could you? <grin>

Who made the thud upstairs, the Imperius'er? (Henry was with Grandma.)

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141666Chapter: 1
Eeeep! That WAS creepy! Excellent work bringing out the horror in that minor, tidbit of a line. I think I was just as spooked as Amanda was. . .

I liked this line especially: "Henry always did as he was told – Mummy had taught him that. She said that when he followed instructions so well it made her proud."

What a scary concept!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141665Chapter: 1
OK, this was scary, Falling Damps. Very well done. You set the scene quite vividly - I felt like I was there with Amanda, the poor dear. You built the tension steadily throughout. The Floo scene was very effective. And the last scene, from Henry's POV, was chilling.
I have only one tiny question. You have Amanda describing John's grin:
"“Hello, love,” he said, appearing through the doorway with his trademark grin, still the same even after more than twenty years of marriage. “What’s the fuss?”"
Are you sure you didn't mean more than thirty, or even forty years of marriage? She sounds a little older to me, with the hip problems and all. I imagine she's at least in her sixties. :) But this was really a good read. Thanks!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141662Chapter: 1
Wonderfully done.
In all seriousness -- MORE Please.

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141652Chapter: 1
This was perfectly paced and absolutely chilling...Very well done!

Reviewer: AnyaDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141649Chapter: 1
From her position on the floor, Amanda felt an uncomfortable prickling behind her neck – she set her jaw and tried to ignore it. -***-

This, I loved especially! That captures that perfect "somethings off and I can't pinpoint it" chill especially (and I LOVE that feeling! You don't even need the music the movies have to use to give the effect! Ahhh the written word!) You already know how much I adore this story and your writing of course but it just keeps getting better. I love the spinning out of one small line into a tale that gives us a MUCH better scope on the world at war!

Reviewer: ValaDate: 2006-04-05
Reviewid: 141647Chapter: 1
Oooo...CREEEEEPY! You did a very good job with this, especially raising the tension level the grandmother was feeling. And that last line was SOOOO bone chilling.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --