The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: 99 Red Balloons
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: frankie beeblebroxDate: 2008-05-29
Reviewid: 150872Chapter: 1
Simply beautiful. Heartfelt, elegant and touching. Wonderful story!

Reviewer: LavenderDate: 2006-08-11
Reviewid: 144764Chapter: 1
This was a beautiful one-shot, the kind that I've been looking for for quite some time. I really like and am intrigued by Luna's character, but I can't usually find stories that portray her well. Your story takes the Luna that I know and love, and shows a snapshot of her childhood that is truly believable. Additionally, it quite nearly made me cry. It's rare to have such powerful emotion in such a short story. You're so good! I can't wait to read more stories by you.

Reviewer: hemhemDate: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142457Chapter: 1
Your story was pretty good, but a bit confusing at parts.

Reviewer: Sagacious CDate: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142453Chapter: 1
This is so, so beautiful. It made me kind of weepy... I'm not even a big Luna fan, but this is just so sweet, like you've truly tapped into the mind of an ethereal, intelligent, empathetic child... Luna.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-04-23
Reviewid: 142176Chapter: 1
Thanks. You make the narration sound just like Luna, a little fey, a little determinedly detached. I do love this character.
And you make the atmosphere of The Quibbler office so real, with all those earnest volunteers and the Lovegood family stuggling mightily to get out the truth as they see it every week.
Please write more.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-04-22
Reviewid: 142145Chapter: 1
Thank you all for your lovely reviews! In reply to Lizard Phobia ~ it's true the message of the piece cannot be directly extrapolated from the song - I was more the imagery I took from the song :the dust of a city (Diagon Alley), the balloons and the idea of letting one go, and Luna's different theories I though corresponded to the paranoid reactions to the balloons in the song. Also I think the tone of the song which is dreamy and a bit Luna-ish. I'm not an expert on the song, so I can't pretend this is really an accurate interpretation of it - it's more my reaction to it, connected to my perception of Luna. It's a good question, though, and thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: silver_blaiseDate: 2006-04-22
Reviewid: 142142Chapter: 1
beautiful story. the last line is especially poignant - sometimes balloons burst and sometimes they have to be let go. Finally a Luna story that i love.

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2006-04-21
Reviewid: 142122Chapter: 1
That was the best thing I have read for SO LONG.

I must congratulate you IMMENSELY.

This story is truly deserving of Caps Lock Praise...which, obviously, I'm quite willing to dish out.

Wonderful, just lovely. I love this so much. I'm going to show this to like, everyone I know. And I assure you, they will love it too.

They'd better...

Peace forever
bennedetto

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142085Chapter: 1
I can sing that song in English and German. Great title. :)
Very good moral, but how did you get that out of '99 Red Balloons'?

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142070Chapter: 1
Sad and sweet. This was beautifully written!

'Sometimes balloons burst, and sometimes they have to be let go.'

This really just sums up everything so perfectly. Luna is so in character, and everything she does or thinks in this story really shows how she turns out the way she does when JKR introduces her into OotP.

I love Luna stories, and this has got to be one of the best I've read. Well done, and thank you!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142066Chapter: 1
A very cute piece

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142063Chapter: 1
Wow, this was amazing. I haven't read many Luna fics, but this was definately the best. It's so sad, I almost wanted to cry, yet sweet when she wanted to tell the little girl about the balloon. Thank you for this gem of a story.

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-04-19
Reviewid: 142062Chapter: 1
*sobs and sobs* That was so bittersweet. *dries tears* The title attracted me, the text bade me stay and the story held me there with thrilling and shivering plot and emotion. Poor Luna, oh the poor dear. Now,dear Seaspray, I beg you, CONTINUE WRITING!You have such major talent!

Ciao,
*Magic*

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142043Chapter: 1
Chills down my spine - this is so beautifully written and makes me feel so sad for Luna. This line especially gets me:

~It was a message from her mother beyond the veil, telling her how angry she was Luna hadnít finished the magazine.

I love the warm life-filled picture you draw of the Quibbler printing room and the contrast between this and Luna's loneliness at Hogwarts. The reason the balloon was still around a week later seemed clearer to me this time - I'm not sure why. Luna's mother is beautifully characterised, through Luna's memory of her and her father's agony. The pain of the paper cut is a startling image but not overdone and Luna feeling that the room is hostile to her would make perfect sense to a grief-stricken little girl.

I would love it if you'd write a full-length Luna story just for me. But I know you're busy with Fenrir and possibly Regulus too, so I'll just have to be patient. *sulks*

Reviewer: MullvaneyDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142040Chapter: 1
Seaspray, I've always loved this fic. Your imagery and thoughtfulness shine. Truly beautiful!

Reviewer: RetaDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142039Chapter: 1
Beautifully done. You struck an excellent balance between the sorrow of Lunaís memory and the distance from it that the years have brought her. Lunaís a hard character to try to portray, and you managed to capture both her battiness and her rationality. I enjoyed it very much, and look forward to reading more of your work.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142023Chapter: 1
That was lovely, very poetic. I really liked the line about Luna's mum knowing when she was sad before she even knew.

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-04-18
Reviewid: 142017Chapter: 1
You have an amazing way of eloquently putting into words some very deep and complex feelings. "The whole room was angry with her for trying to take her motherís place, and suddenly Luna was too frightened to stay." You've captured Luna's quirky view of the world, too. Very, very well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --