The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 45

Reviewer: Ellie PotterDate: 2008-03-25
Reviewid: 150660Chapter: 7
This story is so realistic, its just how I would imagine life for Harry to be like had Sirius not been sent to Azkaban. I've written a short selection of stories following the same line as yours, but they were for my younger siblings' enjoyment only. I'm glad someone else had the imagination and dedication to write good stories like this. Please continue! I may even post one of my own!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-11-03
Reviewid: 146055Chapter: 8
This is a very sweet story. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144417Chapter: 4
I was wondering if the Ministry would've tracked Harry's magic. :)

I'm glad Sirius, Lupin, and Ted found him, but I'm sure there will be more Death Eater mischief with Malfoy still on the loose.

Interesting that there is another mention of how strong Harry's magic is...

Great job, Birgit!

:wub:,

Jules

PS - I'm sorry these aren't longer reviews, but with shorter chapters, it's easier for me to read quickly and comment on my thoughts at the end, rather than copy/paste as I read. I really like your story, and I can't wait until Harry gets to Hogwarts. :)

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144416Chapter: 3
I read J's first chapter of his new story (because he bribed me with chocolate), so I knew I needed to come read at least a chapter of yours. I really love this story, Birgit. Like you did with Mark Evans, you've really captured the thoughts of a child perfectly. I love Harry's shock and anger at hearing how Malfoy talked about his parents and "Paddy" (which I also love), and although I'm kind of nervous about all this wandless magic Harry is doing, it really helps show how powerful he is and because he is using it against Death Eaters, what kind of person he is becoming. He's got such a good honest heart, and I want to hug him when he is scared and alone and wishing he were a clever wizard who could get out of that mess. But, look Harry, you did get out of it! :)

Very good chapter!

:wub:,

Jules

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2006-07-22
Reviewid: 144362Chapter: 8
Excellent story as always, birgit! So Lucius Malfoy will be going to Azkaban now. Once again, I wonder what effect, if any, that will have in the future especially if Lucius is unavailable to give Ginny the diary Horcrux in CoS.

The only way to find out, of course, is to wait for the Godfather, Part III, which I hope will come out soon. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-18
Reviewid: 144252Chapter: 1
Well. . . It was good. No question about that.
It was a bit short though.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-07-12
Reviewid: 144128Chapter: 8
I love this story. I am not usually a fan of AU, but who can resist a Sirius who is allowed to raise the godson he so deeply loves? I look forward to part III (and IV and V and VI *looks hopeful*)

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-07-12
Reviewid: 144124Chapter: 8
Thank you, birgit, for this awesome story, I enjoyed it a lot - and I admire the way you developed Sirius' and Harry's relationship, it is very convincing - so have fun with part III, I hope you will share it with us soon!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2006-07-12
Reviewid: 144123Chapter: 8
And thank you so much for a wonderful and sweet story.

Good luck on III.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-07-12
Reviewid: 144120Chapter: 8
Better and Better each time. I look forward to each new chapter as a glass homemade French Stinging Nettle Wine--a perfect tonic and pick me up.

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-07-12
Reviewid: 144119Chapter: 8
:D That was a really nice story. I sometimes the books were this way, instead of harry going with the dursleys! Awesome job!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-06-29
Reviewid: 143834Chapter: 7
This is a very interesting chapter. Harry really shows his curiosity and intelligence and we get to see how Sirius has matured over the last seven years. I particularly liked the discussion over whether Peter or Lucius was more evil. Thought provoking.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-06-28
Reviewid: 143780Chapter: 7
This gets better and better. I loved that Paddy was suffering more than Harry in having to hand out punishment--keep it coming.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-06-28
Reviewid: 143777Chapter: 6
Oh, poor Harry. Even though he shouldn't have gone in there, I understand why he did. It's exactly the same kind of thing I would have done. You show that his determination and his need to find out what's going on remain exactly the same, despite his happier upbringing. I also liked all the dog nods when describing Paddy. :)

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143752Chapter: 7
I know - you wrote this chapter for me, didn't you?? hehe Some things are more easily understood when explained in really simple terms . . . Sirius appears to have been making the same assumptions as Dumbledore, that Harry wouldn't be able to handle some of the more sensitive information until he was older or "ready". (Not a bad assumption, btw.) I suppose we are more ready when we go looking for the answers. Nice portrayal of Sirius' paternal side, and nice view of Harry pre-Hogwarts, giving glimpses of the teenager he will become!

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143747Chapter: 2
Sorry, sorry, sorry!

But here I am! I am really loving this, Birgit. :) Sirius' and Remus' worry and guilt feel very real, and my heart just breaks for Sirius, so afraid of what might have happened to his godson (as we are! :P)

You set the tone from the very beginning of this chapter. What a great literary device, showing how calm and serene everything is and how lovely the day is. Sirius doesn't have a care in the world and is excited to go inside and see Harry. We, of course, already know what he will find (or won't find) inside.

Great job! And I love your descriptions of Diagon Alley and how Sirius knew just what shop Harry would have visited.

Something subtle: I love how Remus sort of steps aside and let's Sirius lead the way in the search. It may seem as if has always let his friends lead him, and I know many people think that, but I see it as his deference toward the "father". Sirius knows Harry best.

Thank you! And I'll catch up on the rest of the chapters as soon as I can!

*hugs*

Jules

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2006-06-21
Reviewid: 143582Chapter: 6
And so no sooner is Harry out of trouble than he's back in it again! I can see why Harry would be so curious about Wormtail, but at least he isn't doing anything dangerous this time. I wonder how much trouble he is in with Paddy.

These lessons with Dumbledore so that Harry can control his mind remind me of Occlumency lessons in OotP canon. I wonder whether, by practicing now, he will be better at Occlumency when he is older.

Great job as always, and I look forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-06-19
Reviewid: 143529Chapter: 6
Poor Harry ... so many revelations at once - but why didn't he just ask Sirious? Of course, especially children don' take the straight way. I'm curious how the magic control lessons will work out with young Harry - since "real" Harry had great difficulties to master them during his fifth year. Hope you update soon!

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-06-19
Reviewid: 143526Chapter: 6
Ohhh--a bit severe there Paddy. I'm intriqued that Sirius would try to hide the truth from Harry. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: yavannaDate: 2006-06-06
Reviewid: 143249Chapter: 5
The story is good, but you have Harry speaking as if he's a five-year old. I know he's only supposed to be about eight, but having Sirius being called "Paddy" just becomes a tad annoying.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-06-03
Reviewid: 143199Chapter: 5
Aww, poor Harry. Once again I'm struck by the difference that Sirius has made to his life (and Remus, too!). He's so much more open and trusting... but more vulnerable, too. And you really bring out how he is a victim of his powers. I'm really interested in the techniques that Dumbledore will teach him. Last thought: Sirius is turning out to be a fabulous godparent.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-06-03
Reviewid: 143196Chapter: 5
This story gets more powerful with each reading, although I had to smile when Sirius reminded Harry that his accidental magic caused Sirius's hair to fall out. If Sirius only knew--children do that to you anyway.... This was a chapter well worth waiting for--I'm looking forwards to lessons with Albus.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-06-01
Reviewid: 143155Chapter: 5
Nice educational chapter, that goes for the Morals, I assume. Is it due to Harry's new traumatic experiences that his memories come back - or do those dreams indicate that Voldemort already tries to gain influence on him? Would be quite early ... Eagerly waiting for the next piece, Sara

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-06-01
Reviewid: 143152Chapter: 5
Oh, my. I got separated from my son once for what felt like an eternity during a trip to the zoo. He was four years old at the time. Other than Lord Voldy himself, there's almost nothing scarier! Really well done. Your story relates the panic of those moments very well. I am enjoying the nurturing side of Sirius a lot, too. I can hardly wait to hear what Dumbledore has to say!

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2006-05-24
Reviewid: 143001Chapter: 4
Another exciting chapter!

It's obvious that the witch who takes Harry is up to no good, and the fact that she knows Lucius Malfoy clinches it. I can only imagine what horrors the Death Eater would've inflicted on Harry.

But then Sirius arrives to save the day! I should've known that Dumbledore, even after he's relinquished control of Harry to Sirius, still finds a way to keep him safe by sending Fawkes after him. And of course Sirius goes to save Harry, even after Dumbledore tells him to stay put. It's good how you capture the impulsiveness of both godfather and godson here. I hope that Harry's learned his lesson about going off on his own.

Excellent chapter as always, and I look forward to reading the next chapter.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142961Chapter: 4
I'm nearly as relieved as Harry that Sirius and Remus found him. That was an interesting cameo from Ted, I hope we're going to see more of him. No prizes for guessing why Lucius Malfoy wanted Harry, but what exactly was he going to do with him? Hopefully, we'll find out.

Little typo here: "he could spend his energy at being angry". I think you mean 'in' or 'on' being angry.

Looking forward to the next chapter,

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142949Chapter: 4
In fact I'm very happy for Harry - but what makes me feel very sorry for him: surely he won't escape Sirius' reprimands to set things right :-)
Well, let's see!

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142932Chapter: 4
But----I loved the cliffhangers. Nice rescue by the way!

Reviewer: skruvstaDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142902Chapter: 4
I'm so glad Harry's ok! You've really made me care this AU world and I really want to know what happens next! You used tension really well in the last couple of chapters, but I'm glad the cliffhangers are over.

Reviewer: WillardDate: 2006-05-08
Reviewid: 142665Chapter: 1
Your Characterization of Sirius both in chaper 2 and in part 1 of this series is very good. Harry seems so very very different from Harry in the books. I am having trouble deciding if this is a good this becaus his whole life has been different or if your characterization is off. I will keep reading.

What bothers me is he seems to have less sense of who he is than he does in the book. I think Sirius would be good at making sure he had a very rooted sense of his place in the world.

P.S. I thought you did a good job of Dumbledore in part 1.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-05-08
Reviewid: 142657Chapter: 3
Hi birgit,
you're very good at describing the story from Harry's childish and confused point of view - what a pity, on the other hand, since also the reader doesn't get to know much - so you just have to keep going on and update soon!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142647Chapter: 3
Oh, poor Harry. How awful for him to be stuck in that place. His confusion over whether Malfoy was good or not was very real. The story about Bad Peter... I can definitely see Sirius telling him that story as a kind of warning and it fits in with the theme of morals. And yay for Harry knocking out Lucius Malfoy, that made me smile for an instant. I hope he's rescued soon, though.

"How could good people be so unfriendly? Good people were supposed to be nice, while bad people were supposed to be scary and unfriendly, like the ugly witch." - my favourite part, it shows how innocent this Harry is, compared to canon Harry.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142612Chapter: 3
Scary, Scary......Poor Harry and poor Paddy as well. Paddy must be going starkers by now--I am. Can't wait until Chapter 4.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-05-03
Reviewid: 142511Chapter: 2
I feel for Sirius, I know what it's like to lose someone; that sickening fear, the way your heart starts pounding.

One thing: "A disgruntled mother was handing one of the owners several coins, while her daughter, looking sheepish, held an empty bag of Dungbombs." Do you mean empty Dungbombs? Otherwise, it doesn't make sense. ^^;

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142468Chapter: 2
Thanks for writing

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142465Chapter: 2
Ok then, with your A/N :-) : Go on!
Sara

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-05-01
Reviewid: 142431Chapter: 2
Yep, still enjoying. Looking forward to updates!

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-05-01
Reviewid: 142429Chapter: 2
Cliffhangers are fine. Marvelous in fact. I hope you don't mind the anxious breathing and number imperious emails you shall get between now and Chapter Three.

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2006-05-01
Reviewid: 142427Chapter: 2
Hello, birgit! I'm glad that you've started Part II!

We see that Harry is older now, and finding ways to get himself into trouble. Sirius won't take him to Diagon Alley. It's ironic that Sirius, like the Dursleys in canon, are both restrictive parents to Harry but for two completely different reasons.

Now, of course, the young Harry knows what will happen to him if his disobeys his godfather. What a scary couple of chapters! It seems as if every time he goes to Diagon Alley -- in both this fic and in canon -- he finds himself at Knockturn Alley. I sure hope that Sirius will be able to find him soon.

The way this cliffie ends, of course I can't wait to read the next chapter -- let's see you make good on your promise to update fast!

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-04-27
Reviewid: 142288Chapter: 1
EEEEEEEEEK!

Okay--yeah, enjoyed is a word--I'm sitting on the edge of my seat and hope I don't have to wait too long to see who this woman is and where they're taking poor Harry.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-04-26
Reviewid: 142254Chapter: 1
Okay, I realize that I'm totally cheating and I should write you a real review for the three chapters that I've read since I've reviewed, but Birgit! You cannot just leaves us hanging like this! :P I know what we're supposed to think is going on. That this is Knockturn Alley and that witch is wanting to take Harry to death eaters or something. I want to know what happensss! /whinge.

:D Sorry this review isn't better. I'm tired and I just wanted to read. But I'll make it up to you, I promise!

Oh! This is something I absolutely loved:

>>Harry had never been to Diagon Alley and he was convinced that he was the only eight-year-old wizard who suffered this fate. Paddy sometimes went to Diagon Alley, but Harry was never allowed to go with him. Instead, Remus or Aunt Andromeda and Uncle Ted would come over to watch over him. This time, though, the roles were reversed. Paddy was having a boring meeting with his boss, while Harry would go to Diagon Alley.<<

It's just such a normal sounding thing for any kid in the wizarding world wiht family and boring meetings, and it's all so homey, and it makes me want to hug Harry because he doesn't have that outside of your AU. He has friends, but no real sense of family (besides the Weasleys, but it's just not the same when they aren't real relations.)

Thanks for keeping this going!

*hugs*

Jules

Reviewer: MysticBluesideDate: 2006-04-25
Reviewid: 142223Chapter: 1
Oh, cliff hangers...they will always keep me coming back for more! I'm glad to see the Second Part of this story up, and I can tell it's going to be as good as Part One.

Reviewer: dunsirnDate: 2006-04-24
Reviewid: 142213Chapter: 1
Glad to see the story continue. I'll be interested to see where this little kidnap goes.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-04-24
Reviewid: 142208Chapter: 1
Pooh, after such a nice and harmless entrance into Part II such an unexpected turn - well, unpleasantly as cliffhangers always are I hope you will update soon!

Reviewer: Professor DaviesDate: 2006-04-24
Reviewid: 142198Chapter: 1
Great sequel, I don't think we ever saw someone succesfully floo to Diagon Alley in the books so I know it must have been hard for you to decide where he would land, in Tom's pub or the actual street however you made a decision and kudos for that. It was well written and I can't wait to see the next chapters.
Cheers,
The Professor

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --