The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Sky High
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-11-05
Reviewid: 146074Chapter: 7
A most excellent read. Really quite well done. Thanks.

Reviewer: Seedy BeaDate: 2006-10-25
Reviewid: 145919Chapter: 2
"Her fellow Beater, McCallum Aiken" what about beau? and fabula? it means story. i don't see how that charm would work.

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145683Chapter: 1
Hooray! Someone's writing Charlie and dragons. I'm enjoying this so far and wondering where it's going next...

Reviewer: Joke RiddleDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145668Chapter: 1
oh

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145122Chapter: 4
That was good. I was starting to wonder if you were going to update at all! glad you did, though. wonderful work.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145094Chapter: 1
Nice! A promising start. This first chapter has good energy. I liked the dynamics between Charlie and his friend, and with Tonks. You provide us with vivid descriptions and show an interesting creativity. I think it's about time someone's written about Charlie, too! As I'm finishing up my Oliver Wood story, AIR, I am looking forward to your future chapters, to see how you describe the Quidditch matches and the emotion that goes along with that.

I'm not sure if you like reviewers to point out little things, but you have a couple of POV shifts:
"Tonks walloped him over the back and stared straight ahead, determined not to suffer an accident."
Charlie wouldn't know what Tonks was determined to do there.
And:
"Charlie closed his mouth, disappointed. Hagrid took notice of the Seeker next to him and made a move to pat him on the back, but declined to do so." Charlie prob couldn't see Hagrid do that behind his back. Ooh, I'm picky, LOL!

But those are such little things. Great job with this first chapter!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-06-20
Reviewid: 143559Chapter: 3
keep it comming! i just told St Margarets about your story! it's really lovely. cant wait for more!!!

Reviewer: TarsieSDate: 2006-05-18
Reviewid: 142883Chapter: 2
You have the ages right - but I believe Harry was supposed to start school in 1991 (he was 1 year old in 1981 which puts his birth year as 1980 so his first year at HW would've been 1991) not 1990 which should make Charlies graduation year 1989 not 1987.

Reviewer: izoomzoomDate: 2006-05-16
Reviewid: 142856Chapter: 2
It's good, keep going!

According to the Lexicon, Tonks (http://www.hp-lexicon.org/wizards/tonks.html) and Charlie are in the same year. Her house is unknown so being in Gryffindor is cool. However, 1986/87 was their 3rd year. Seventh year was 1990/91.

Reviewer: CharleyDate: 2006-05-13
Reviewid: 142770Chapter: 2
I love the way you portrait Charlie. He is a true Weasley, yet still his own person, with the twins' cheek but definately a streak of his own.
But I think your timeline isn't exactly right. Charlie was born on December 12th in 1972, which makes him a seventh year in 1990. Assuming he was 12 in his first (and 18 in his seventh), due to his late birthday, just like Hermione. Oliver was born in 1976, which makes him 11 in 1987, and 14 in 1990. I don't know which month Tonks was born, since her age was guessed through her Aurortraining, but she was born in 1973, and assuming she was 11 in first, she was seventh in 1990, landing her in Charlie's year. Percy was born on August 22 1976, so he is Olivers age.
I could be wrong though, I'm horrible with maths. If I'm wrong I'll just slap myself and shut up. I don't want to be mean or antything, I admire your writing. AARG I'm confused.
But do continue writing!

Charlie (really)
PS: You could check http://www.hp-lexicon.org/wizards/a-z/w.html, to see if I deserve slapping.

Reviewer: sheepstamperDate: 2006-05-12
Reviewid: 142743Chapter: 2
Very good story - please keep writing - I want to know what happens next..

Reviewer: HarrietMckDate: 2006-05-11
Reviewid: 142739Chapter: 1
Great POV! I generally don't read fanfics that aren't H/G, R/Hr or J/L but yours is nicely done. Look forward to reading the rest!

Reviewer: Ara KaneDate: 2006-05-04
Reviewid: 142517Chapter: 1
This is promising to be a very good story :) I noticed a couple of Americanisms, e.g., the reference to the dollar, "quit reading," etc., but I think you have an interesting plot going here. It should be good to find out why Charlie defied everyone's expectations of him and ran off to Romania instead of achieving Quidditch superstardom. I look forward to reading more!

Reviewer: ModwinDate: 2006-05-02
Reviewid: 142446Chapter: 1
Finally! Another story about Charlie! He's my favorite, too (s'why I write about him), and I think this is a great look into his Hogwarts days. I'm going to be looking for the next chapters of this, bet your life.

-Eurydice

Reviewer: DSmurfDate: 2006-04-29
Reviewid: 142375Chapter: 1
I like your writing, and this is no exception, very nice! I enjoy reading plots I haven't seen before. I like that you write how people would normally talk, not too formal. My only suggestion (and it's a personal thing) is that you have a lot of conjunctions that aren't really common- kids'll, scouts've, robes'd etc, that sort of throw me when I read. I think full words are ok in that sense and still don't seem like formal conversation. Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: izoomzoomDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142342Chapter: 1
Great start. I too like well written Charlie stories. Sassenach on PS.net is writing one called Dragon Riders that I like.

One 'beta' comment, beware of your Amaricanisms... Charlie wouldn't know a dollar from a peso. Try "knows the value of a Galleon" instead?

Good start, keep going!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142338Chapter: 1
This looks like an excellent story so far. Poor Charlie, not knowing what he wants to do. Good thing he has plans for Selda!!

Can't wait till the next chapter!!
~Angie

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142324Chapter: 1
A lot of fun to read. I always thought the eldest Weasley boys were pretty hot! Great to have some detail about Charlie. Interesting that you mention Moody - so he was a teacher during this period? I'll look forward to reading more chapters of this when they are up.

"Kettleburn called out, “I would like to introduce you to Selda, this gorgeous little Swedish Short-Snout—six months old, she is, just a newborn, really"

Sounds like the Crocodile-Hunter on TV!

Just a couple misspellings.

Reviewer: AureliaDate: 2006-04-28
Reviewid: 142311Chapter: 1
This was great! I loved the fact that Charlie is covertly giving up his Quidditch opportunities for the dragons. It was fun to read and I can't ait for more!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --