The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Prison Visit
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2006-05-29
Reviewid: 143096Chapter: 1
Wow.

This is such good writing...

I love the way you capture the voice of Stan, and exactly how his being locked up happened and the like.

I, personally, believe that if Regulus were to come back--ghost or otherwise--it would indeed be quite a large help to Harry and thusly love your plotline, puzzling as it may be.

The only thing I'm still wondering, though, is this: how did you get the idea for this story? Must've taken a fair bit of brainstorming for you to do so.

Well.

Lovely, this is.

Peace forever
bennedetto

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2006-05-10
Reviewid: 142708Chapter: 1
A standard ghost story with all the right Harry Potter touches; very well executed. You got Stan Shunpike's character down very well. But JKR did say that anyone with even a smidgen of magic (above Squib level of course) is eligible for Hogwarts --even someone like Stan. Outside of that deviance from Canon, you wrote a very good story that fits very well with continuity. Thanks for a very good fic.

Reviewer: Amick_woodsDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142695Chapter: 1
AWESOME! What a neat little theory about how Regulus comes back! And you've got Stan nailed, I'm really impressed! Keep writing.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142685Chapter: 1
Quite excellent for a little feel good story.

Reviewer: St. Row-a-CheckDate: 2006-05-08
Reviewid: 142661Chapter: 1
This story was absurdly, bizarrely wonderful. I've never read something as artful about somebody like Stan. Wonderful, beautiful. The best portrayal of Sirius-in-Azkaban I've EVER read. Your style - objective, really, and very story-teller-ish - was perfect for this kind of story. Regulus was perfectly sweet, unearthly and unreal - the part with the pleased gasp about Lily and James... Oh, just simply perfect. Best of all, this won't ever be canon-balled. Even if Harry never meets Regulus's pseudo-ghost in Book 7. He probably won't, really. Doesn't matter. The atmosphere, the vagueness makes it very dream-like, so it really might have not been more than Stan's imagination (influenced somehow by the residual of Sirius's thoughts during his very long stay in the cell).

...

Oh, I just reread and there are so many things I like about this story, I couldn't possibly name them all. The dogs, the Sunless place. The spoon-drawings reminded me somewhat of The Chronicles of Amber, by Roger Zelazny - have you ever read them? Your Regulus would fit in there perfectly - anyway.

One thing I think could be added is just a little final note on Stan's old ma - you know, just one extra sentance on his post-Azkaban life - perhaps on getting married, or something. Otherwise, the ending is as perfect as everything else, or moreso. (Esp. the very last sentance).

Thank you, all in all, for this excellent, uplifting one-shot - it truly made my week.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-05-08
Reviewid: 142655Chapter: 1
Nice bit of story telling this--I love that it was Regulus not Sirius haunting his ole cell. Very clever angle.

Reviewer: AaragogDate: 2006-05-08
Reviewid: 142653Chapter: 1
A compact and well-executed fic. Nicely done.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-05-08
Reviewid: 142651Chapter: 1
Whoa, nice one. I especially like your reasons for Stan being incarcerated in the first place and explanation at the end. It all fits. And Stan is so--Stan, trying to impress 'bords' with his DE trappings. I almost wish this could go on. I'd like to see "Reg" finally meet his brother.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142644Chapter: 1
Wow, what an excellent story. As soon as I saw "the prisoner had been in for...twelve years" I went 'Sirius!!' Stan was very well written, and it would be just like him to want to make the occasional young lady believe that he was a Death Eater to 'impress' them.

Great writing, I hope we see you again!

Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: cendrillonDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142630Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this very much! Thank you for writing and sharing it.

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142605Chapter: 1
Very well-written and wonderful look at RAB through the eyes of Stan Shunpike. Creative way to bring RAB back to help in LV's defeat. Effortless reading!

I did feel a little let-down at the end - it was a very quick wrap-up. I would have loved this to be the first of several chapters telling us more about RAB, his past, and how he helps to defeat LV. Its not too late!

Reviewer: ScribblerDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142604Chapter: 1
I really liked this. It was an interesting perspective, and a very unexplored standing point. There are few fics abour Stan and his experience in Azkaban, so this was a delight to read. I like how everything sort of fit together- the cell, the star, Regulus's ghost, the "secret of Grimmauld place." If anything, I thought the ending was a bit rushed, but the fic was very original and well written.

Reviewer: MyKarmaRanOverMyDogmaDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142602Chapter: 1
Wow, that was really good. I can tell that you put a lot of work into writing this.

Cheers.

Reviewer: PonderousDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142601Chapter: 1
I love the imagery of the interior of Sirius's cell, so spirited and upsetting and just plain right. Also the (canonically accurate!) inclusion of the window through which Stan can see the sky -- that was a great detail, and the Regulus star's cameo was very very clever indeed.

You captured Stan's voice very accurately, too. This story really drives Dumbledore's point home that it was an inexcusable thing the Ministry did locking up poor Stan in Azkaban.

Reviewer: Annie_jayeDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142598Chapter: 1
I happen to like this story very much. But erm, how did Regulus help Harry? Or did I miss it?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --