The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: One Minute
Review(s): 18

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-05-31
Reviewid: 148149Chapter: 1
"This is a fight few would attempt and one even fewer could hope to win. It is not a sense of arrogance or pride that leads Snape to draw his wand and prepare the incantations in his mind, nor a sense of compassion or sacrifice. Good and evil have no part in his actions here. There is only the challenge and the win that must be forced."

Great paragraph. You always find the right words, simple yet accurate and not overdrawn!

Reviewer: Cat FeralDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145691Chapter: 1
Wow! This is good and effectively done! Bravo!

Reviewer: Rachael DuBoisDate: 2006-06-03
Reviewid: 143194Chapter: 1
bennedetto, thank you for your comments.

About the monkshood . . . great question. Made me go back and look at it a lot more critically. My justification was that, since I was making up the curse, monkshood was used in the preparation of the curse, many hundreds of years ago, by a woman pissed at her husband's mistress. True, Katie didn't ingest the curse, but it did pass into her, and as a result she expresses some "essence" of the monkshood as a symptom. Snape can pick up on that and make the connection. Perhaps that is a weak point in the story, and thank you for pointing it out. For now, I guess it's all magic anyway!

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2006-06-01
Reviewid: 143160Chapter: 1
Whoajeez.

Good.

Very good, and deep, as well.

But with the monkshood bit: I am confused.

You make it sound like she somehow ingested it. Didn't she just touch the necklace? ...Yeah...I'm still confused as to how she was exposed somehow to monkshood.

Whatever.

Good story! Very mysterious and captivating, especially great how it all took place, as the title implied, in one minute. Once again. Good story. I loved it.

Peace forever
bennedetto

Reviewer: AzaeliaDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142908Chapter: 1
This is wonderful. It's so intense! You had me literally on the edge of my seat, and my heart still hasn't slown down. This is a great study in how to use time in fanfic, and the constant "tick"s and "tocks" only serve to heighten the urgency.

Snape is lovely, too. And I never thought I'd use that particular word to describe him! In this brief moment you have chosen to share with us, you have made Snape the hero. He's now someone whom I could not help but cheer for, no matter what his conduct is later on. You've made me respect one of my least favorite characters, so kudos to you.

Rock on, and keep writing! Beautiful work.
~Azaelia

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2006-05-19
Reviewid: 142896Chapter: 1
Excellent!

Reviewer: CendrillonDate: 2006-05-18
Reviewid: 142888Chapter: 1
This is quite good. And very unusual. You've done such a great job with your choice of words that it's almost more of a poem (minus the rhyme) than a story. The imagery of the curse is also very compelling. Great job!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-05-11
Reviewid: 142732Chapter: 1
Very tense piece, amazing attention to detail. Snape's coolness is almost frightening as he assesses the situation and very effective set against the ticking of a clock. It's even more amazing when you realise he's realised all this in less than a minute.

Favourite Part: "This is a fight few would attempt and one even fewer could hope to win. It is not a sense of arrogance or pride that leads Snape to draw his wand and prepare the incantations in his mind, nor a sense of compassion or sacrifice. Good and evil have no part in his actions here. There is only the challenge and the win that must be forced."

Very Slytherin: all about the personal implications.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142699Chapter: 1
Ooh, very good. Snape's so creepy....but in a good way.

Hope you write more!!

Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142692Chapter: 1
You have your finger on Snape's pulse, that's for sure. Love this, oh relative of the wretched Blanche.

Reviewer: EleonorLilyPotterDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142691Chapter: 1
I just wanted you to know that I found your work indescribably amazing. And any word I can find to try to describe will be worthless. It reminded me somehow of "Betty's death" in HULK. The time, the clock... I won't babble anymore.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142689Chapter: 1
Intense!
You had me right in there with Snape, with the mixture of calm resolve and urgency that goes with attending an emergency. The bracketing of the fic with the beating of the clock, its interuptions of the narrative flow for those few seconds, and the mixing of its ticking with her heart-beats structure the fic between the two states. The superb narrative voice, that surety in his competence that is so Snape, that disregard for questions of good and evil and the rise to the challenge give us a psychology that is canonically justified and satisfying, and this makes the fic swing sweetly within that structure. Well done you!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142688Chapter: 1
...it shor..

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142686Chapter: 1
Very good - it characterizes Snape the way I see him - he doesn't help Katie due to compassion but because he can.

Liked this excerpt:
"Good and evil have no part in his actions here.  There is only the challenge and the win that must be forced. 
"

Reviewer: CarolTSDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142683Chapter: 1
I loved this idea of Snape - powerful, intelligent, blank as to morals, the win being more important than anything. I would have never thought of this time period like this - but after reading - I totally agree with your take of him. The complete Slytherin.

Reviewer: Pennifold Z. LumosnoxDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142681Chapter: 1
Beautiful and Frightening. I also liked the musicality of it and your insight into Snape's powerful brain, unlimited by morals. Again, frightening and beautiful. :)

Well done.

-Pennilux

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142679Chapter: 1
I really like this, the way you describe the curse is esepecially wonderful: "Of course this curse could be capable of convincing a young girl to want to die. An enchantment of passion is most persuasive, and the hardest to remove once it has penetrated the soul." Very well done!

Reviewer: AeternaDate: 2006-05-09
Reviewid: 142678Chapter: 1
Intense. I like the rhythm of it. I like the fact that you have entire paragraphs between 'tick's, showing just how quickly Snape is capable of thinking. You have a very intriguing insight into his thought process. My favorite part (due no doubt to my musical geekishness) is him counting the heartbeats. It really brings the situation to life more powerfully than description would have.

Much love,
'Terna

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --