The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Burn Marks
Review(s): 47

Reviewer: CarmenSandiegoDate: 2007-04-03
Reviewid: 147664Chapter: 4
I love this! It's amazing -- the characters don't seem like characters at all -- they seem like real people. NOw it's all I can do to stop from imagining them meeting the current HP people....

Yay you! Thanks!

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2007-03-30
Reviewid: 147638Chapter: 4
Wonderfully put together! I really like the way you've tied them to each other here in the end - almost gives the impression of two Black families, the bigottedly magical and the open mixed. Two sides of a coin, eh?

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-02-02
Reviewid: 147064Chapter: 1
Isla's such a hoot! I enjoyed your take on Victorian England. Very proper and all that.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145719Chapter: 4
Here I am again, just to say: That's such an amazingly cute story, I'm really sorry it doesn't have more chapters. Thanks for a great reading break,
Sara

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145718Chapter: 1
Following the recommendation from the omg-thread I have to say: They were right! Best first sentence ever, nicely written and so wonderfully tied up within a few paragraphs - sorry, can't say more, I'll continue with the next chapter.
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: seastones88Date: 2006-07-14
Reviewid: 144149Chapter: 4
Ahhhh, that's so sweet! I nearly have tears in my eyes because I'm so happy for Marius.

Good job!

Lover of Literature,
SS

Reviewer: TarsieSDate: 2006-07-09
Reviewid: 144067Chapter: 4
I have thouroughly enjoyed reading these vignettes. I'm especially grateful for the way you have brought the story around full circle. Brava!

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2006-07-07
Reviewid: 144017Chapter: 4
Bravo! This is a great story, and the last chapter tied it all up so neatly! You've done such a good job putting faces on those names that have been burnt off the tapestry. I had always wondered if Marius had come to a bad end, those Blacks are ruthless. It's almost as if the family is cursed.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-07-07
Reviewid: 144016Chapter: 4
What a great epilogue, bringing all four characters together for a final meeting. I really liked the interaction between Phineas and Marius, then Bob and the two magical people in his life. Very amusing and touching. I assume Ida didn't claw Marius because he wasn't magic? Forgot to say this before, but I LOVED the nod to Dickens in the partnership name. :D

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-07-07
Reviewid: 144013Chapter: 4
Oh, thank you. We meet Bob and Isla again. I liked them so much in your first chapter. Im really happy for Bob. Raising a non-magical child must be wonderful for him after having all the magical children. The idea of him feeling left out of his childrens education is so very real and it must have been very hard for him. Its good you thought of his well-being ;-)

I also liked the little details: Isla enlarging the newspaper letters,"Phinni", Marcus being called names because of his robes and that "decorative" chrital ball *big grin*.

Marcus is also very well captured: His fear after leaving the house, but also his curiosity for his Muggle "relative".

Im looking forward for your next chapter. Now that you have collected some characters and let them interact, its even going to be more interesting. Keep updating, please.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-07
Reviewid: 144002Chapter: 4
That was a very good idea to use the tree.
From this you have woven a splendid tale.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-07-06
Reviewid: 143993Chapter: 4
What a wonderful ending! I'm glad that you tied all of the stories together like that; it made it rather interesting. I can see all the characters who were burned off the family tree being fairly friendly with each other. Thanks for this wonderful fic.

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-07-06
Reviewid: 143988Chapter: 4
I must have missed your last update because I was away, but oh, poor Marius. And may I just say that Elladora Black is. ugh. EVIL.

I love this story! And the epilogue, having all three 'burn marks' meet up was a stroke of brilliance.

Thank you very, very much for sharing with us this piece of Black history!

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-07-06
Reviewid: 143980Chapter: 4
Oh, how cute! I'm so happy Marius found his place in the end. This was a very enjoyable series, thank you!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-07-02
Reviewid: 143895Chapter: 3
I think this has been the most disturbing of all three of your ficlets. Poor Marius! I got a sinking feeling for the boy as soon as Aunt Elladora appeared on the scene. I think you capture the misery and shame of being born squib in a pureblood family wonderfully and economically - and I loved Phineas Nigellus' contribution to the story. You capture his unsympatheticness and family pride with the hint of softness underneath very well - just like in HP :). Excellent chapter *fangirls*

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-07-01
Reviewid: 143861Chapter: 3
After every one of these little chapters, I find myself wanting to know what will happen to these characters! I do hope you'll continue with them, because you've done a wonderful job with the characters. Thank you for this great read!

Reviewer: HedwigDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143717Chapter: 3
These were all great. Couldn't you expand all three stories??? I would love to read more of everyone of them. And I would looove to see a good long story from a Muggle point of view who marries a witch or wizard. The first chapter was a perfect beginning. But I loved the other two as well. Especially the last one.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-06-18
Reviewid: 143516Chapter: 1
This was a really neat little bit of JKR's world to expand upon, and you did it very plausibly! My favorite was Isla Black - she was both quirky and beautiful and the ending was quite amusing.

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-06-12
Reviewid: 143375Chapter: 3
These are wonderful! My favorite was the first one, but they were all an absolute delight to read (well, maybe not the last one so much *shudder*). I can't wait for the epilogue!

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2006-06-11
Reviewid: 143356Chapter: 3
Ooooooh! Okay, I think I like Marius's story the best, but it's a hard decision to try to make.

*crosses fingers in hopes of more*

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-06-11
Reviewid: 143351Chapter: 3
I really feel for Marius here: he's obviously the odd one out and he knows it. Witnessing that kind of cruelty would be awful, even for a Black. I like Phineas's role, it sounds like just the kind of thing he would do, along with his description of Phineas the Younger as "depressingly idealistic", makes you think of the last Sirius. I also like the younger Phineas living in Cheapside, it seems appropriate somehow, along with the fact that his father kept an eye on his whereabouts.

My favourite line would have to be: I will naturally deny that Ive told you this.

I'm glad you're writing an epilogue, I'd like to hear about what happens to Marius.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-06-10
Reviewid: 143344Chapter: 3
Oooo, an epilogue! Hurrah! I love these little peeks into past Black's. You have brought the names on the tapestry alive. Well done!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2006-06-10
Reviewid: 143338Chapter: 3
An wonderful trilogy, and a very illuminating glimpse of the Black family.

Phineas Nigellus is just as I imagined him from the glimpses we have seen, and I love how you've had him help Marius. Aunt Elladora ... chillingly, superbly Slytherin, one of those frightening old ladies who manage to rule everyone and everything aorund them.

I don't know what you would plan as an epilogue, but the arrival of Marius at Cheapside would be interesting! And if you wanted to continue with those despicable Blacks who 'let down' their family, I'd certainly like to see your take on Uncle Alphard, and how / why he left a legacy to Sirius (and got struck off in turn).

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2006-06-10
Reviewid: 143336Chapter: 3
Yay, epilogue! Those Blacks are a *heatless* bunch. Elladora is especially cruel. Very sad that Marius felt he had to apologize, but maybe "sorry" meant "I know I'm going to be treated very badly for this, and I'm really sorry about that" :D

Very nice, just enough detail, no extraneous stuff.

Reviewer: Pacific RoseDate: 2006-05-24
Reviewid: 143015Chapter: 1
That was excellent! Both characters seem so much like Blacks...they just have that certain mannerism. It's something so hard to capture in writing, and you've managed it perfectly. Is especially liked reading about the younger Phineas...he reminded me a lot of Sirius. Can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2006-05-23
Reviewid: 142986Chapter: 2
Again, great use of the language of the time. You've obviously done your research. Ah, the Blacks. they've needed therapy for centuries!! THose burn marks are absolutely fascinating! I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2006-05-23
Reviewid: 142985Chapter: 1
I really liked this. Your use of archaic language is very good; Bob sounded just like a character in Dickens. "There is something I need to tell you." Indeed! I really enjoyed bob's observations, the "sticks", the strange clothing, the neckline of Isla's dress. Strrange that he would mary an acquantance like that, he's a lawyer; I guess he's smitten :D

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142974Chapter: 2
Aha. I was wondering..."Wasn't Phineas the Headmaster at Hogwarts? Why is he at St Mungo's?"

Thanks for clearing that up.

Can't wait for the next chapter!!

-A

Reviewer: waltzingdementorDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142968Chapter: 2
Wow! You know, I would love to see either of these expanded into a full story. And it's not just that I want more of your writing in general (Although I do)- you have me really wondering what will happen to these people next!
Can't wait for Marius!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142965Chapter: 2
Poor Phineas. I feel really sorry for him; you make him Slytherin but still quite convinced that abuse of power is wrong. I really want to slap Elladora after that last trick, though. I hope Phineas got her back somehow; maybe by changing the law so torturing Muggles was illegal? Is that why he was burned off? Or was it simply because of standing against Elladora in this case?

I'm interested to see why Marius was burnt off.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142958Chapter: 2
Elladora was running circles around the Minister merely by behaving as if she were at some society garden party; it was just such Slytherin behavior. Poor Macmillan didnt stand a chance.

That was priceless! :D

And I'm impressed: Phineas, a Black with principles. It's most interesting how you've taken the idea of 'supporting Muggle rights' and run with it! Keep up the good work. I'm REALLY looking forward to Marius.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142953Chapter: 2
Ah, it's that Elladora again *shakes head*. Again, you drew the character of Phineas brilliantly - his fair mindedness, his sense of humour his Black-like pride in family honour (was he a Ravenclaw by any chance? He's so quietly logical.) And I loved Elladora's antics, refusing to tell her age, acting like she was at a dinner party - lol. A good portrayal of the arrogance of the Black's. I like how you showed the unjustness of Wizarding law as well - it's very interesting to see it through the professional eyes of Phnieas.

Oh, and 'Ebeneezer Macmillan' - great name.

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-05-21
Reviewid: 142940Chapter: 2
Nicely done again! I like the way you stick to the historical background by mentioning laws and the attitude the people have. It gives it much more depth.

Keep on with the good work.

Reviewer: Persephone_KoreDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142929Chapter: 1
Oh, wow, this was great. I love the way you play with the differences between Muggle and Wizard society -- in fashion and the role of women -- and the knitting needles. And I somehow imagine that given how he managed to deal with all the other unexpected things about Isla that Bob took the revelation that she was a witch relatively well.

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142913Chapter: 1
Oh, how wonderful! I saw this fic recommended and am glad I took the time to read it. You create a very good picture of how a witch must look to a Muggle, the little mysteries, the odd habits, etc. I loved Bob's voice in this, as well.

Nice work.

JK

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142912Chapter: 1
Wow. I was hooked from the beginning. I, too, wish this were more than short vignettes - it's simply too irresistible! Great use of language. Great humor. Wonderful subtlety. Extremely well done!

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142910Chapter: 1
"Knitting" indeed--You, my dear, are indeed a "Lorelei" -- This tale is a lovely bit of a Siren's song--I'm was drawn after the second paragraph, like Sinbad to the rocks! True, I'm a sucker for any story about the Black Family, but trust me folks, this is far from a fish tale! Read and enjoy.

Reviewer: HazelleDate: 2006-05-17
Reviewid: 142874Chapter: 1
I love the opening, that first line is really one of a kind! I'll be looking forward to the next parts.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-05-16
Reviewid: 142841Chapter: 1
Oh! I liked this! It's so interesting reading about characters who have been mentioned yet not fully explained. Ilsa sounds interesting, and I hope you do continue with her, even if Phineas is next. Thanks for an interesting read!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-05-15
Reviewid: 142821Chapter: 1
Wonderful! I love how Victorian the voice is, how Bob seems to be both stiff and formal, but also intrigued by Isla - and visa versa. And him working for "Jaggers & Tulkinghorn" - LOL! Isla too is a wonderful character - independent minded with a dash of Luna-ishness to her. Beautifully written - can't wait for part two!

Reviewer: Doctor AichaDate: 2006-05-15
Reviewid: 142818Chapter: 1
Hee! This is so fun. I can't wait to see where you are going with it. I have not left a review in an age but I wouldn't mind talking with you about it if you had time.

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-05-15
Reviewid: 142815Chapter: 1
That was really a catching opening sentence! I liked it very much. Also the way you describe the Blacks from Bobs POV. Keep on with the work; I wait for Phineas.

Ciao

Reviewer: Meucci WarlockDate: 2006-05-15
Reviewid: 142809Chapter: 1
Wow... this story is fantastic. Isla is perfectly Black... I love the way you've portrayed her here. It's unfortunate that these are simple vignettes. I find myself wanting more.

Well done!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-05-14
Reviewid: 142807Chapter: 1
Ooh, very good. I like how you wrote Isla and her 'friend', and how Elladora finds her out and threatens to 'tell Mother'. Somehow I always knew that she was a tattletale.

Can't wait for Phineas!

Angelina Weasley

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-05-14
Reviewid: 142804Chapter: 1
"Afterwards, Robert Hitchens was always ashamed that on their first meeting he had mistaken Miss Isla Black for a drunken prostitute."

I think that has to be one of the best opening sentences I've ever read. This is a lovely snapshot of Isla and her decision to marry a Muggle. You avoid sentiment but I can tell that Isla is gradually growing attached to Robert.

"Miss Black - Isla - held out her hand, and he took it. It seemed very odd to seal such a bargain with a handshake, but he how else could he respond? He certainly didnt think she would appreciate meaningless streams of romantic words." - no, she certainly wouldn't!

"She smiled at him before pointing a knitting needle, the carved one, at his desk where the papers began sorting themselves into orderly stacks. Theres something I need to tell you." - great ending, you make the magic seem so normal that it's quite easy to miss it during the first reading.

I'm looking forward to Phineas's Tale.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2006-05-14
Reviewid: 142797Chapter: 1
This is such a cute beginning! I especially enjoyed how you portrayed Robert's thoughts about his feelings. Looking forward to Part Two!

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-05-14
Reviewid: 142788Chapter: 1
Wow! I think you've captured the essence of the Black flavour perfectly here. And Isla is certainly an interesting character! It's wonderful to read this spin-off from a small burn mark on the Black tapestry.
Will come back for more when Phineas's part comes along, this story promises to be interesting!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --