The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: Geena WatersDate: 2006-06-05
Reviewid: 143230Chapter: 1
You know.....it would be really funny to write a bunch of Mary Sue stories in all kind of fandoms all over the place, but name them all Tonks instead of Mary Sue. I liked this. Back in the days when I read LOTR fanfiction and HP fanfition on fanfiction.net I ran into so many Mary Sue's I was ready to puke....the sad thing was, that at the time I was young enough to almost consider writing a Mary Sue (but I was new to the world of fanfiction and didn't as of yet know what a Mary Sue or Gary Stu was).

*sigh* Oh those by-gone days of innocene, shattered beyond all recognition by those who wish our demise....

Okay, so that was a little over the top :P, lol. This was clever, and it gave me a laugh...I really like laughing :D. Thanks!

~GW

Reviewer: ThessalyDate: 2006-05-29
Reviewid: 143103Chapter: 1
Rolls on floor. Never thought of Tonks as a Sue, but when you put it that way...

Nice writing. Funny without being self-conscious, which is unfortunately all too easy.

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-05-29
Reviewid: 143093Chapter: 1
I think a lot of people missed your disclaimer about "slight exaggeration". I happen to like this fic a lot, what I get from it is that Tonks really does have a lot of qualities that would be Sue-ish in others but because she's so fun and down-to-earth, just make her personality that much more colorful. Great ficlet!

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-05-22
Reviewid: 142950Chapter: 1
nah. ron or harry even talk about tonks being silly to the point of annoying during HBP and i don't believe she wears makeup or artful clothing. THATS the beauty of tonks. shes silly and clumsy and fun but not everyone loves her, even if ONE guy does.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-05-18
Reviewid: 142879Chapter: 1
Cute.

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2006-05-17
Reviewid: 142872Chapter: 1
I'm not really sure what a Mary Sue is, but if your description is acurate, i.e. beautiful, fashionable, smart, mysterious, etc, etc, then literature is filled with them. All of Jane Austen's heroines are Mary Sues; I could list others. So what's the problem with them? They don't get in the way of the plot... ;-). This bit is well-written and witty, albeit sarcastic, which I love. I think you may have drawn a firestorm, though... Good luck!

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-05-16
Reviewid: 142864Chapter: 1
"And the very best thing about Mary Sue is that she is 100% canon. Her name? Nymphadora Tonks."

Oh, God. I think I love you. But, really, now. Has anyone else ever thought this? 'Cos I know I have.

Great one.

-AW

Reviewer: GeorgieDate: 2006-05-16
Reviewid: 142857Chapter: 1
Is this a fic?
And maybe a larger font?
And anyway, I don't think Tonks is described as looking fabulous at any point in canon... Ever read HBP??

Finally:
"Her hair can change from flowing crimson tresses to a layered russet-coffee-chocolate mane with toffee-cream highlights. Her glittering, glowing, glorious, grand orbs, which reflect the pain she feels from unrequited love for an as-yet-unspecified major character, can change from jade to aqua-marine to lavender in the blink of an eye (no pun intended)."
I think the point is that yes, she can do that - but she doesn't. At all. Ever.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-05-16
Reviewid: 142853Chapter: 1
To be honest... I wasn't sure I understood the purpose of the fic. Is it to make fun of Tonks bashing, or making a point that Tonks is a Sue?

Also, you need to work on formatting just a little bit. Double space, make sure nothing is centered, etc/

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --