The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: MagicdustDate: 2006-06-02
Reviewid: 143190Chapter: 1
That was great! I loved your portrayl of Ginny; you really make us readers see childhood innocence and the hurt Ginny held within her. Even though it wasn't her fault, she still blamed herself. I wish you would make a chaptered story of how Hagrid and Ginny became friends throughout her years at Hogwarts....that would show us how Hagrid and Ginny saw what was happening around them and frienships can bloom from teh most unlikely moments.
VERY GOOD!Looking forward to more of your work as always!
Ciao,
*Magic*

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-05-30
Reviewid: 143117Chapter: 1
aww. that was a very pleasant little tale, so very innocent, well done.

Reviewer: bennedettoDate: 2006-05-29
Reviewid: 143095Chapter: 1
Awwww.

I must say, I planned at first to drag myself away from this story because I need to get to work on a story of my own, and then compromised with myself to skim it--perhaps even read it--but not review.

In the end, I decided my story could wait because yours was so fantastic!

I love your portrayal of Hagrid (and his grammar, or lack therof...spot on, I must say), and that sense of responsibility that you have Ginny rather holding as a burden; I often portray her in a similar way around this time period and I must say, it certainly works quite well.

Now. Since you've given me time to procrastinate--thanks, by the way--I have a Goblet of Fire DVD to watch in a bit.


Peace forever
bennedetto

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-05-25
Reviewid: 143024Chapter: 1
Quite good - enjoyable.

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-05-21
Reviewid: 142936Chapter: 1
This is beautiful ... I love how you've written Ginny. And it's a rare find, to have a Ginny and Hagrid interaction written out for us. I think it was brilliant of you to note that Hagrid might feel responsible for Riddle's first escapade with the Chamber, and show how he could therefore identify with Ginny.
Wonderful, wonderful writing! Keep up the good work!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142927Chapter: 1
This is just wonderful! You have the voice of Hagrid perfectly. This delightful piece shows the healing that can come from just a listening ear. Well done.

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142921Chapter: 1
There's some really beautiful description in this story, I love this bit:
~Hogwarts looked so peaceful now that the attacks had been stopped for good, the grounds blooming under the deep blue sky. After weeks of grey walls and greyer thoughts it was like paradise.

Characterisation and information and lyrical (not overdone) description all rolled into one - I like :)

I think the pacing is wonderful. You strike a perfect balance between unfolding the story, adding in little bits of canon background and including your own ideas that flesh out the characters of both Hagrid and Ginny. It's so nice to read a Ginny story as she was at that time, through the eyes of someone other than Harry - we get flashes or mischievous, spirited and determined Ginny that we only really start to get in OOTP in the books. There was just one moment that didn't quite ring true for me - Hagrid noticing that Ginny is really pretty - I'm not sure you needed to say that, but it's a very minor quibble.

Hagrid is great too - I enjoyed the contrast between the almost imperceptibly more adult tone of his internal thoughts and how he speaks - which you got spot-on in the end I think.

And of course I loved using the animals to make Ginny feel better and understand responsibility and where it ends - so appropriate for a child of the age she is in this story.

Great to see this up here.

Reviewer: skruvstaDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142903Chapter: 1
Yay! I really like this, but I said that before. I love your characterisation of Hagrid in this, he's just so full of love, and he's so trusting and kind :D

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-05-20
Reviewid: 142901Chapter: 1
Very sweet! I liked your Hagrid - both innocent and wise. And Ginny. Your characterization is very good.

Actually, the story reminded me a bit of The Chronicles of Narnia, with Lucy and Mr. Tumnus... I don't know if you have any idea what I'm referring to.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --