The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 38

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-01-02
Reviewid: 146719Chapter: 5
Oh, I am so glad I read this story. It was delightful and I hope to read more about Cory and Martin.

The Fluff Noir detective story was a hoot.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-01-02
Reviewid: 146718Chapter: 4
Ah, marshmallow fluff- all warm and sticky. It is delicious.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-01-02
Reviewid: 146711Chapter: 3
Oh, this is such good reading. Poor Cory, the winnner of the best smile contest has done her wrong. But she has learned. "A flash goes off like a photographer’s bulb. The photo. Journeys with the Jinn. Not his story. Those were my memories. Gilderoy, that Son of a Bludger. Anger surges up through my chest. I whip the wand around and thrust it in front of me.
“Obliviate!” I yell with every ounce of hatred I possess." Cool!

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2007-01-01
Reviewid: 146708Chapter: 1
I am so glad that St Margarets encouraged people to go and read your Cory Smyth and Martin Louis Lovegod stories. The first chapter was marvelous, full of twists and turns and humor.

I got a big kick out of - "What connection could Mr. Lupin possibly have with the Ministry’s most wanted criminal? My white knight’s armor has certainly taken a tarnishing tonight. My knees wobble and weaken beneath me. How could I have been so stupid?" Real romance prose, indeed.

Reviewer: ScribblerDate: 2006-07-13
Reviewid: 144135Chapter: 5
I just read all or your Cory fics, and I was grinning silly the whole time. (Except for the part when Lupin tells Cory "the news", but I would be a cold, heartless felon if I smiled through that part. Pooor Cory!)

Cory's a great character. Accessible, and definately a personification of the fangirl in all of us. I really enjoyed watching the HP characters through her eyes, because I felt like they were MY eyes. Were Cory a muggle, I feel like she would be lining up at bookstore at midnight to get the next adventure of Harry Potter.

Overall, a magnificent series of fics. The dialogue was consistently good, beleivable, engaging, and very appropriate for each character. Lupin and Snape: I've got to say, you wrote those two superbly. They were entirely in character, using exactly the type of words you would expect them too.

I was having a bad day, up till I read your fics, so I want to thank you for sharing them with all of us.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-07-09
Reviewid: 144073Chapter: 5
*sniff* Sirius lives on in fiction. The perfect tribute to fan fiction writers! My mouth about dropped open when I saw Felicity Lovegood! What a sweetie you are to think of that.

I love the Luna is going to have such a lovely step-mamma. LOL. I can think outside the cauldron too, you know. I love how Cory wanted to feed him up and I love how Martin was as sweet as Luna and that Cory recognized it.

What I really liked about this new ship is that Cory is not all girly swooning - but sees Martin as someone with shared interests and as someone worth admiring.

Such a *satisfying* ending! *Happy Sigh* Thank you for this "fluff noir."

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-07-09
Reviewid: 144071Chapter: 4
Another installment! LOL These lines ring true for this reader who is forty something:

~~She can’t be much more than twenty. My days of eating like that are long past. I can’t deny my jealousy, but it’s hard to dislike such a pleasant young woman.~~

And naughty, naughty:

~~ The large dog cocks his head and stares up at me with a panting, tongue-lolling grin. “Cheeky thing.” ~~

LOL. Love this line:

~~What has the profligate planned this time? ~~

Don't we all want to know? A dress and food delivered!

~~I can just imagine the statuesque, sophisticated Ms. DuSult locked in his embrace. ~~

You know, I think she can imagine it too! *winks*

~~You are a duplicitous rogue.” I snort.~~

Another great line!

I love this:

“I can’t remember how.”

~~Oh, for pity’s sake. I reach for his face and turn it toward me. I’m too far gone. Damn the consequences. My fingers tangle in the thick mass of lustrous black hair. ~~

Miss Cory has so many bad memories and bad luck with men - but she is angst-proof - bless her heart. I'm glad she had her UHK! Well many of them!

I love the way you use vocabulary here - some of it slangy - some sophisticated - but it all has heft and meaning that adds to the characterization and the tone of the scene.

Your use of strong verbs really moves this story along and creates meaning without wordiness. In the last four sentences alone you use such "power" words as:
'smolders,' 'reigniting,' 'succumb,' 'weak,' 'kindling,'and 'heat.'

Cory has served you well as a narrator.

Wonderful writing as always.

Reviewer: Eir de ScaniaDate: 2006-07-07
Reviewid: 144025Chapter: 5
I start to realise why Dumbledore wanted Sirius locked up at GP12 - he certainly was busy when he was on the run. ;-)

Loved the boks in the shop - real Wizworld style! Just as Wanda the Typewriter!

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-07-06
Reviewid: 143989Chapter: 1
How entertaining! I didn't know this was here. I've just read Chapter One, but I'm looking forward to the rest. Your phrasing is so lively. I'm talking about things like this:

"The lamplights turn into flaring pinwheels through the blurred lens of my tears."

and

"My heart pounds with fright like a snidget caught in a net."

Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-07-03
Reviewid: 143927Chapter: 5
That was a nice ending. Your characterization of Mr. Lovegood is very beliveable and he´s so fitting for Cory. I liked the way she started anaylizing him and how she gradually warms up to him. They´ll make a nice couple.

It´s a nice piece of work and although I thought it would go all fluffy at the end of chap 4 it turned out good. Thanks for this piece of work.

btw: Is Icarus some relative of Deadalus. I like his name ;-)

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-07-03
Reviewid: 143926Chapter: 5
what a lovely lovely story! i've read all the others before of course so i always look forward to a new installment. i love you wrote it to read like a romance novel (albeit a mild one) and weaved in all of the other characters. sirius black is just like a hero in a romance novel and i've always loved him, so i'm so glad to seem him being painted as the kind rogue that he is. but the end just broke my heart! i just can't believe that was the only time they had together! sirius deserved so much more life, i'm glad you gave him some.

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-07-03
Reviewid: 143911Chapter: 5
A lovely story! It had a little bit of everything - humor, romance, tragedy, and a hopeful ending. I hope we'll get a chance to visit Cory's bookshop again...

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2006-07-02
Reviewid: 143909Chapter: 5
There's just so much fabulous-ness here. The well-written passion of the last chapter, followed by this most excellent finale. And all the little touches, including 'Icarus son of Dedalus'. And nods to 'The Maltese Falcon'. Sigh. Thanks for a terrific read.

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-07-02
Reviewid: 143908Chapter: 5
Cute! This was such an enjoyable series, thank you for posting it!

Reviewer: LiadanDate: 2006-07-02
Reviewid: 143907Chapter: 5
(sigh) I didn't think it could end well after Sirius died but you did it!

This is definitely going to be one of those fictions that I turn to after a long day at work and when I am in need of a favourite read. An excellent job.

Reviewer: peachpickerDate: 2006-07-02
Reviewid: 143888Chapter: 5
What a fun, amusing, delightful story! I deeply admire your ability to switch genres at appropriate places in the story. I hope you grace Sugar Quill with many more stories.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-02
Reviewid: 143884Chapter: 5
Just found your newest piece.
As good (a little better I think) as the last.
Thank you for a very enjoyable read.
And, Good for Mr. Browne.

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2006-07-02
Reviewid: 143877Chapter: 4
This is, without a doubt, the hawtest Sirius I've ever read. He's so deliciously in character, with his rogue personality, and with just enough of the effects of Azkaban to make him interesting and not just suave and handsome. I LOVE IT!! Very immediate and sensual. Now I'll go to bed and dream of Sirius Black. Thank you.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-06-28
Reviewid: 143804Chapter: 3
~~Cheeky periodicals break into tittering giggles. ~~
Love these little touches!

~~“Fortescue. Ollivander. Every upstanding businessman in Diagon Alley, they’re all in debt to Malfoy. And he wants to close us all down.”~~
The plot thickens!

~~My ex. Gilderoy~~
Cory, Cory you silly girl. I understand her situation now! Love Cory's backstory and how she gave Lockhart a book out of it.

Cory, your heart has sprouted wings after the wrong guy. Sigh. Poor dear girl. Where is Mr. Right? *frets*

You've done such a good job weaving so much backstory into such a short snippet. I'm in awe.

Reviewer: LiadanDate: 2006-06-28
Reviewid: 143787Chapter: 3
You can't help it, Cory. Sirius gets to everyone who has a heart.

Fantastic writing. I wait in suspense until the next installment...

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143767Chapter: 3
Please tell me you know that "Well now it's practical" is straight out of 'Romancing the Stone'. A great line, and the lopsided grin is so Sirius. I think JKR's seen all those old films once too often. That bastard Lockhart - taking one memory's bad enough, but a whole childhood? Ah well, Sirius being dashing is always good anyway. Impressively fast updates too; this is good. KUTGW

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143762Chapter: 3
This is fabulous! I like the clever twist with Lockhart, and Sirius transforming/crumbling before Cory's eyes into a very shockingly attractive man indeed. I did get a little confused, though, with who was connected to whom (the whole Hilda/Paul/'ex' triangle..or was it a rhombus?).

Reviewer: Harriet WimseyDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143748Chapter: 3
Oh, Cory. I wonder if she'd have fallen for James and Peter, too, if she'd met them in the old days. This is great--I just read everything in this series today, and I'm enjoying it immensely.

Reviewer: Gabriella Du SultDate: 2006-06-27
Reviewid: 143738Chapter: 2
Sorry I didn't get around to reviewing the first chapter. You write first person present tense like it is the easiest thing in the world (which it certainly isn't for me) and you draw the reader in to Cory's adventures so completely. You are also the queen of the cliff hangar. I'm glad this one isn't a one shot and I hope there is no pressure on you when I say I am anxious for the next installment -- I'm just enjoying the story so very much.

Reviewer: Kit BlackDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143734Chapter: 2
Excellent story! Can't wait for more! Please continue soon with more installments!

Kit Black

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143714Chapter: 2
That cliffhanger is just evil. PURE evil! How could you?

That piece about the R/S slash was funny. Nice of you to put it into your story. And even if Cory seems a bit simple about politcs and stuff, she certainly has an eye for upcoming romance. It´s funny to see how Remus is struggling. I´m looking forward to more. Keep on with the work.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143712Chapter: 2
And I had such hopes for Remus and Cory...

But now I can't wait to find otu who is behind door number 2! :) I loved this line, "His hardened exterior crumbles away, revealing a rugged handsomeness that leaves me breathless." But really the whole chapter was just great. I love how you have captured the suspended disbelief of a romance novel with more than a touch of afternoon soap opera. :) Thanks for sharing!

OSUSprinks

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-06-26
Reviewid: 143705Chapter: 2
Shades of "Romancing the Stone!" This romance-novel-written-about-a-romance-novelist is awesome. Add to the fact that you've got the genre down pat, and it's so much fun. Great work, can't wait to see who's on the other side of the door!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-06-25
Reviewid: 143677Chapter: 2
Hey, great cliffie!

So many good passages in this story. This is my favorite because it sums up the fan fic writer's hell perfectly after OotP and HBP:

~~I want to bury myself within the pages of a fantasy. I stroke the picture of the hunky hero on the cover and think of the novel that Wanda and I are writing together, On the Wings of Love. What high-flying adventures we had planned for Heath. Swashbuckling action and, of course, a new lady love. Wanda had wanted to model the hero of our novel after the man who had rescued her from the rubbish bin. Some dashing rake. But no, I had to have the gallant Heath. I glance over at Mr. Lupin. What hopes I’d had for this new romance. But that’s all gone now too. ~~

Yes, like Wanda, I enjoy a dashing rescue - but the courteous gentleman also has appeal. I'm glad you cleared up that slashy matter with Sirius and Lupin as well. :)

You do such a great job with all the "cliches" of Potter fandom, but you also have managed to write a story with heart - no mean feat. I can't wait to see who is on the other side of the door. Cory's true love, I hope?

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-06-24
Reviewid: 143668Chapter: 2
Dah Dah Daaaah! A knocking comes at the door in the dead of night. Lockhart is found to have a secret past (I wonder if she knows where he is now) and Sirius wrote a romance novel for a joke. Good for Sirius - have you been reading the Dangerverse by any chance? I wonder who the Egyptian was?

Reviewer: LiadanDate: 2006-06-24
Reviewid: 143664Chapter: 2
AARGH!!! Who's at the door?!

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-06-22
Reviewid: 143588Chapter: 1
My vision is about to fade to black also! How could it all go so wrong so quickly!?! That said, wonderful chapter. I loved the dress/robes (and wonder where I can get one) and her reaction to them! Can't wait for the next update!

OSUSprinks

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-06-21
Reviewid: 143579Chapter: 1
I just discovered this series today and read every part in a row! These are fantastic, please post the next chapter soon!

Reviewer: Lady TehanuDate: 2006-06-20
Reviewid: 143554Chapter: 1
Whoa, now, this looks like fun. I like Wanda. With someone/something like her I would write far more and longer reviews. It´s a pity I haven´t. So you have to get along with this short thing ;-)

Please update soon.

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-06-20
Reviewid: 143548Chapter: 1
Oooh, looks like fun. Sirius, romance writers, little-black-dress, Lupin being innocent, Malfoy and Snape up to dark deeds... me like. LOL for slapping mass murderers, and putting Arthur in a romance novel. Will Molly approve? KUTGW, update soon.

Reviewer: LiadanDate: 2006-06-20
Reviewid: 143547Chapter: 1
More! Give me More!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2006-06-20
Reviewid: 143546Chapter: 1
Oh Eudora, I just can't get enough of this story. I love feeling like I'm right there, inches away from the delectable Mr. Black. You are so wonderfully expressive and the characters are so alive. And Cory is human and quirky and brave and damn funny. Your descriptions of the men increase my fangirlishness by several degrees, LOL. Where is the next chapter?? Great job.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-06-20
Reviewid: 143540Chapter: 1
Oh, this is so much *fun*! Love Wanda the mechanical typewriter and Heath - LOL is he a cleaned-up version of Heathcliff? And of course, the first likely hero is Arthur Weaslesy since Wanda is a typewriter and wishes to be appreciated by a wizard who knows all about her.

I like how you set the date within the HP timeline with the Quibbler Article and of course, the Stubby Boardman/Sirius thing is too funny. I remember a story/drabble about Cory being duped by a large black dog. Oh, those bedroom eyes are the only thing saving him now.

Love the fainting at the end. A perfectly fluffy way to end a chapter and no one does it any more!

I must say, I'm impressed by Gabby's cameo. She really is an awesome character and I'm still thrilled her robes come in red. Love the way you describe that good feeling of looking your best. Sigh. This is so much fun.

Please tell me you have a suitable man (unattatched or not dead) stashed away for Cory. We don't want those robes to go to waste. ;)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --