The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Rising from Embers
Review(s): 47

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-03-16
Reviewid: 147496Chapter: 10
How very dramatic and terror-full! I couldn't stop reading. Excellent idea of Lily's to use the Reductor Curse to seal the entrance. I guess that's why that passage to Hogsmeade no longer exists.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-03-04
Reviewid: 147354Chapter: 9
You use short brittle clauses to great effect to make us feel Lily's numbness and Petunia's estrangement.

Lily's friends' comfort is touching, and it is easy to see why Petunia will turn out as she does with no similar affectionate companions or family surrounding her.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-02-26
Reviewid: 147305Chapter: 15
There's a SEQUEL? *squees* And you thanked me in your final Author's Note! You're very welcome - I love this story, of course I've been reading and reviewing it! And I'll be there for the sequel, too!

This is just such a wonderful glimpse into the lives of the older generation, their terrors and joys, so similar to Harry's on some level, but then again totally different because they feared the unknown instead of a past horror. I look forward to following their lives out of Hogwarts and into a world at war.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-02-26
Reviewid: 147304Chapter: 14
YES!!!!!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-02-23
Reviewid: 147286Chapter: 15
Wow. This is a terrific final chapter. I don't have words for it, really. The encounter with Petunia is heartbreaking and chilling. And James waiting for Lily in her old home is very fitting.

I also loved the canon reference, how Petunia found out what Dementors are. It doesn't fit entirely, though: the awful boy is telling Petunia, not Lily in your story. But I'll happily blame that on Petunia's memory or Petunia not daring to admit to Vernon that she actually talked to a wizard.

I really should say more about the Lily-Petunia confrontation, but all that comes to mind is that it's probably the best scene you have ever written (and that's saying something!).

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-02-17
Reviewid: 147225Chapter: 8
Ooh, chilling. So much more realistic than the 'Death Eaters got her parents and that's why her sister hates her' fanon.

And Petunia's rant-so believable, especially:
‘You selfish bitch,’ said Petunia hoarsely. ‘You let her die and you won’t even bring her back, and what’s the use of all that magic if you bastards won’t even lift a finger to help people who can’t do it?’

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-02-13
Reviewid: 147199Chapter: 14
Oh, hang on, I just saw you said "two more chapters" in your PM. So I suppose there's another chapter coming before the sequel. Well, the more chapters, the better!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-02-13
Reviewid: 147198Chapter: 14
Nice ending. I'm a bit scared about this fighting, though, but we'll see what happens in the sequel!

I think it makes sense for the NEWTs to be held in London, actually. I don't think they would be in canon, but on the other hand from the description of the OWLs and Snape's Worst Memory it doesn't seem like NEWTs could be held at the same time at Hogwarts.

I'll be eagerly awaiting the next part!

Reviewer: phoenix4everDate: 2007-02-10
Reviewid: 147162Chapter: 13
I sooooo wanted to be the first to drop review!!!! But my account kept creating problems (namely, it just kept getting defunt). Anyway.

Great chapter! Loved the way Lily is thinking about the Killing Curse. I will say it again, this is the most believable LJ fic. And I see it's coming to an end since we already have enter into May :(

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-02-10
Reviewid: 147160Chapter: 13
Well well! This just gets better and better! I love the hints of the future that you're weaving in, like Lily's desire to defend against the Killing Curse. Yikes. I also wanted to mention how much I appreciate your characterization of Peter. I know he's only a side character, but so many authors dismiss him as . . . well, a rat, not to put too fine a point on it. But there must have been some reason he was a Marauder, and his surprising humor and sweetness, as well as his studiousness, makes their friendship more plausible than I've ever seen it portrayed before.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-02-09
Reviewid: 147158Chapter: 13
Another great chapter, although it seemed a bit short. Maybe that's just me wanting *more*. ;-)

Oh dear, Lily can't concentrate on her essays when James is just looking at her -- and she still thinks she doesn't love him? *rolls eyes*

I hope you're not going with the idea that Lily actively did someting to counter the Killing Curse on Harry. It's rather clear in canon as well as in interviews with JKR that Lily didn't do anything special.

That said, I love your description of Lily's special lessons with Flitwick. It seems very real, and that ability of Lily's is really fascinating.

Reviewer: NaazjuDate: 2007-02-05
Reviewid: 147103Chapter: 12
I just wanted to write and say how much I enjoyed this chapter! I have loved this fanfic since the beginning and every time you update, I'm worried it will be the end.
This chapter was beautiful, my favorite part being the last bit through McGonagall's eyes. It helps us have a little bit of an outside view on how the Marauder's are doing and reminds us of how far they have come. Very clever to have that little snippet at the end. Can't wait for the next chapter! Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-02-05
Reviewid: 147097Chapter: 12
Happy birthday to you!

I like this chapter very much. Especially the style. As Lily is blind, there is almost only dialogue, no description and sometimes not even dialogue tags. And yet it's not hard to keep track of who is saying what and what is going on. That's really good writing.

I also like it that Lily is starting to trust James and James is helping Lily out. This way, Lily is bound to fall in love with him soon, but she doesn't know that yet herself.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: phoenix4everDate: 2007-01-19
Reviewid: 146923Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful fanfic from Marauders era! The story of Lily-James is so believable! Is there going to be any update soon? I have been checking almost daily now :) Please keep up!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-01-14
Reviewid: 146868Chapter: 7
Poor Peter, he never has any fun.

Love the Marauder banter, especially:

Sirius winked at her. ‘I’m psychic, Lily dear. Divination and all, you understand.’
"You don't take Divination," said Remus.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-01-14
Reviewid: 146867Chapter: 6
I can actually like this James Potter and see how Lily might warm to him. He's growing in character, maturing slowly, naturally.

Love the names of the Quidditch team members: Theseus, Atticus, Flora Summerled. So original.(Just had a brainstorm: Spinnet> Linnet>Finch>Atticus)

Nice description of the Quidditch match--exciting but not overlong.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-01-14
Reviewid: 146866Chapter: 5
Aww...this is really fun...and natural...much better than most Marauder stories where it takes some huge rescue or adventure to get Lily and James together.

Reviewer: NaazjuDate: 2007-01-06
Reviewid: 146768Chapter: 11
Thank you for updating! I have loved reading this fanfic because you have captured what I think the spirit of the Marauder Era is. I love the backstory you have created for James and Lily getting together, how the war affected their school years, everything. Thank you for being willing to take the time to share your imagination and talent with the rest of us.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-01-03
Reviewid: 146730Chapter: 11
So this is the first time James defied Voldemort? I would have liked to see more of that -- but you're the author after all! I really like James' thoughts about joining Voldemort. I also think you did James' character very well in this chapter.

I'm worried about Lily, though. It must be awful to wake up and be blind. And then finding out that someone else was killed because you dodged the curse...

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-01-03
Reviewid: 146729Chapter: 10
Wonderful. This is really a great chapter. Fast action, and everything is very realistic. The last bit, with Lily thinking about her mother, is just heart-breaking. Very good.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2007-01-03
Reviewid: 146728Chapter: 9
I somehow got a few chapters behind -- I'm not sure how it happened. But never mind that.

Your writing is still excellent. I think this chapter is very good. Due to some odd coincidence, I'm reading this on the very day that I heard that someone I know passed away -- a mother of two sons. I can only hope that her sons have friends that help them pull through just like Lily has in your story.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-01-03
Reviewid: 146727Chapter: 11
... somehow I've missed the last three chapters up to now - what a luck I'm not sure I could have stood the cliffhangers from the previous ones ... great chapters, again, and unfortunately so much despair and death, I hope (against knowing better) things will lighten up a bit ...
Yours,
Sara

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2007-01-01
Reviewid: 146704Chapter: 11
Ohhhh . . . oh, poor Lily. And poor James. I must admit, I'm surprised to hear that James was the only student with a clear head. You'd think that others - like Alice or Lily at least - would have the same Gryffindor courage as James. Then again, he's brave to the point of recklessness and that was probably the only reason he didn't let his fear control him like the others did. Thanks for the quick updates, too! I'm glad you didn't leave us in suspense for too long!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-12-25
Reviewid: 146610Chapter: 9
Lovely! What a nice Christmas present! Now I feel fortified to head back downstairs and join my family as a real human being again.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146576Chapter: 9
Excellent -
I'll wait

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146569Chapter: 9
I liked how realistically you depicted Lily emerging gradually from her grief. Very good. :)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146484Chapter: 8
More?

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146483Chapter: 7
More?

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-11-05
Reviewid: 146079Chapter: 4
Some really nice sketches of Lily's feelings:

"But even considering all this, she couldn’t help being wary, as though this new and improved Potter was a trap she might fall for, like one of his uncountable pranks."

"She had forgiven many people over the years. Petunia, whose refusal to accept that she belonged at Hogwarts hurt her everyday. Severus Snape, who called her a Mudblood. Why was her heart so hardened against James?"

"The smile that lit up his face was beautiful to behold."

And James' mother being involved in Ash Christmas--startling and scary!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 146005Chapter: 8
Oh no. Oh, please, no! Poor Lily! And Petunia! What are they going to do? Oh, I hope James finds out soon, because Lily really, really needs him RIGHT NOW!!!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 146002Chapter: 8
What a sad chapter ... but really, that's the most believable "explanation" I've ever read about how Lily's parents died and why she and Petunia had fallen apart. It would have been to easy to just claim "Death Eater Attack", wouldn't it? And it fits with the story the Dursleys fed Harry about his parents' death.

Reviewer: madelynnDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145976Chapter: 8
oh! i really can't wait until you write the next chapter!... becuase you will i hope?
you are a rwally good writer, and i really want to read more of this story.

Reviewer: madelynnDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145972Chapter: 2
wonderful. if you gave me this outprinted, i would dare say that i would have thought that JK Rowling had given out a small book about Harrys parents in school. i have read many storys here on the site, but yours is one of the finest and best written i ever stumbled over. a clear 10-out-of-10! keep writing

Reviewer: Snidget05Date: 2006-10-19
Reviewid: 145801Chapter: 1
I really love this fic. I can't wait to read the next chapter. James and Lily are so real.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-10-11
Reviewid: 145659Chapter: 7
Yay! Lily is learning to relax! My only complaint was that the update was far too short. I look forward to reading more.

Reviewer: BirgitDate: 2006-10-01
Reviewid: 145570Chapter: 6
Nice chapter! I loved the part with James trying his best to do his share of Head Boy duties, despite the fact that he still thinks he doesn't deserve the position. It's really sweet that he's doing it just for Lily.

As I can't help but be your beta: keep an eye out for sentence fragments. It's OK to use them every once in a while as a stylistic means, but make sure that you use them consciously, not accidentally.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145562Chapter: 6
Awwww! She cares! And my goodness, those Slytherins play dirty!

Reviewer: mirldaDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145536Chapter: 6
I really enjoy this story. I think it captures the spirit of fear and the personalities of Lily and James just like I imagine it. I look forward to the next update!

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-09-28
Reviewid: 145527Chapter: 5
Yay! An update! I just love your characterizations of James and Lily, and I can't wait to see where you go with Lily's talent in Charms. Mr. Olivander is truly special. I wonder if he gives every student a glimpse into their futures?

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2006-08-14
Reviewid: 144792Chapter: 4
I've been doing summer traveling of my own, or else I would have replied sooner! This is wonderful. I just love reading the development of these characters. I also love that it took Lily awhile to see that James was serious about her: real trust only comes with time. I can't wait to see what comes next!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144680Chapter: 4
Good chapter--wonderful touches--dialogue was great--some surprises in there, not formulaic although fluffy. Definitely now one of my favorite James-asking-out-Lily scenes.

I hope you have a good trip to wherever for six weeks! :)

Reviewer: starfisherDate: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144679Chapter: 4
This is a great story, love everything going on! Keep it up!

Reviewer: ViperXIVDate: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144676Chapter: 4
Wonderful story, I'm sorry to hear that we might not be getting updates for a while.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144563Chapter: 3
I applaud your tackling of the painful maturation of James Potter. Lily's dilemma as Head Girl during a war started by the worst-ever hater of Muggleborns is such an intriguing plot-thread. You've captured the tension in the school and at prefect meetings perfectly. And your Marauders are much more realistic than most fics I've read. Bravo! I look forward to more.

Reviewer: SillyGillieDate: 2006-07-08
Reviewid: 144054Chapter: 1
Amazing job. I loved From Ashes, I'm so glad you wrote a sequel! Brilliant job thus far!

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-07-05
Reviewid: 143975Chapter: 1
‘What, and miss your expressions?’ said Sirius. ‘Prongs looked like a deer caught in headlights when he got the letter …’

LOL. Wow, the ending was a tiny bit sad... *sniffle* Anyways, that was a great story and I BEG you to post the chapters soon!

Reviewer: Machiavelli JrDate: 2006-07-05
Reviewid: 143974Chapter: 1
Hey, I never realised you were the author of 'Ashes'. One of ths first and best L/J fics I read, and I think I left an embarrassingly fanboy-ish review then. This looks like a worthy successor - poor Lily never will be able to play politics with the Slytherins, will she? Well done BTW for avoiding the cliche of Lily assuming James' appointment is a fake. You have a knack for Dumbledore's speeches too. This one was very good; dignified and convincing, but suitably short. KUTGW

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --