The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Three Orphans
Review(s): 162

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2008-09-11
Reviewid: 151094Chapter: 62
Oh what a happy ending of this part, especially after all the gloomy and frightening atmosphere throughout the school years - of course, we know LV reign has been terrible an d many had to suffer but to read what happened to "real" characters, all those nasty little things, makes it even worse. How is it for you as a writer, how do you imagine such things? I'm taking it for granted that you aren't an evil person at all … ;-)

And as it was shortly hinted at I thing you've found a very clever way to solve the Grindelwald plot!

What else? I'm so happy that Minerva's mother woke up but I don't understand Minerva's somewhat unfeminine character here: How could she say her mother tricked her father into marrying her? With this attitude Dug will be kissing Gig not before long … Well, after reading the whole chapter I think Minerva'll see the bright side of these feminine schemes. :-)
Still, I'm more than ever curious about what will happen to Dug.

On the one hand it's a pity JKR didn't tell much about Minerva's background - the better for you and us, though!

Yours, Sara

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2008-09-10
Reviewid: 151092Chapter: 52
Looks like a very interesting seventh year … and, from an author's point of view, how convenient that minerva's now given semi-teacher status … :-)

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2008-09-10
Reviewid: 151091Chapter: 51
It's amazing how much can be told by mere letters over the summer :-) I especially liked to read Beelza's story.
Of course, for us, it's very easy to put all the pieces together and shout "Basilisk" when all the signs indicate it – the more it shows how spectacular Hermione's discovery really was!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2008-09-10
Reviewid: 151090Chapter: 50
Oh, that it should be such a fast affair – first I hoped for DD to be there but of course, if he had been at Hogwarts things might be different … but doesn't Tom's memory that he shows to Harry include DD piercing at him? And why does Tom call Minerva Head Girl as he relates his tale? So many questions …

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2008-09-10
Reviewid: 151089Chapter: 48
Great chapter! So much happened and yet I feel so angry about Tom's doings.
The only thing i miss is some insight into Dumbledore's thoughts, does he suspect something or someone? Is he able to see the connections between the facts?
And I feel so ashamed that I didn't cry out "Moaning Myrtle" the first time I read her name …

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2008-09-10
Reviewid: 151088Chapter: 47
Great start of the term! I like it.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2008-09-10
Reviewid: 151087Chapter: 46
Poor Gig … and to know what's going to happen despite all the efforts Minerva's taking …

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2008-09-10
Reviewid: 151086Chapter: 45
Oh, mary ellis, I'm back and so sorry for my delayed reading and writing, I'll try to catch up as soon as possible, thrilled to have so many chapters before me and so much to happen!

Reviewer: AirriDate: 2007-10-18
Reviewid: 149661Chapter: 62
*squeals with happiness* And that is all I have to say about that.

:)

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-10-16
Reviewid: 149650Chapter: 62
I'm glad that Dug and Minerva worked things out. I'll be glad to see their wedding. Thanks for another great chapter, and I look forward to the final book.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-10-15
Reviewid: 149634Chapter: 61
I'm glad that Minerva's Animagus exam went well. This is an interesting development with Dug and Gig, though. I like how you mention that Minerva has a fighting spirit, but she doesn't want to appear too bold. I hope that she can get Dug back, and find out exactly what she wants from the relationship. Thanks for another great chapter.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-10-04
Reviewid: 149506Chapter: 60
This is being really hard on Dug, isn't it? I hope that Dug can find happiness with who he now is, and find a job that makes him happy. It is sad that the old Dug is gone, but I think that Minerva still will care deeply for him. Thanks for updating.

Reviewer: Thorn of BloodDate: 2007-10-01
Reviewid: 149464Chapter: 59
Oh this is brilliant, really, really fantastic. Oh I'm so pleased for them both.

I particularly liked the glimpse into Dumbledore's mind, so "well ordered", but there is something slightly worrying about the way which he puts even his worst times into boxes, to keep them out of the way.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-10-01
Reviewid: 149455Chapter: 59
Quite interesting. I hope that everything works out with Minerva and her mother, and that they can start a relationship again. I'm glad that Dug is improving. Thanks for the update.

Reviewer: purpleturtle26Date: 2007-09-27
Reviewid: 149427Chapter: 57
Mary,
I see your statement that you are finished with this book and that it is 62 chapters, I have read the 57 that are posted ending with Vengeance, are the other 5 chapters going to be uploaded soon? You work is wonderful. You have a very creative mind and an excellent style of expressing that creativity.

Reviewer: SpellBoundDate: 2007-09-25
Reviewid: 149402Chapter: 57
Great story, can't get enough of it, but I'm so glad an end is in sight! Keep up the great work!

sherellyn

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-09-24
Reviewid: 149386Chapter: 57
Oh no. I hope that Dug will recover soon. I wonder if Dumbledore will figure out that Riddle is behind all these very nasty 'accidents'. I also hope that Minerva does well at her NEWTs, schoolwork always seem to creep up on you, doesn't it? Keep writing, and I look forward to the conclusion of the story.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-09-21
Reviewid: 149355Chapter: 56
Ooh, creepy. Using Legilmancy on Minerva is something that I can see Riddle doing. I'm glad that Gig will divorce Barty, and I hope for her that she finds some happiness. Thanks for the update.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-09-18
Reviewid: 149326Chapter: 55
I hope that Gig is safe at Hogwarts and that the Aurors take care of Barty. It's interesting that you mention this domestic abuse, because I get the sense that wizards are married for life, and you rarely hear of problems with married couples, though they would of course exist. This trial will be interesting, and I think Riddle has something to prove. I hope Dug makes it through all right. Keep writing.

Reviewer: Sannali aka MorwenDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149322Chapter: 55
Oh, my heart aches for poor Gig. But even this will not bring Barty to his senses, will it?

And things with Riddle just keep going from bad to worse. I'm on the edge of my seat to see how this plays out, and hoping that it won't come off <i>too</i> badly for Minerva.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-09-13
Reviewid: 149268Chapter: 54
I like the description of Riddle and the people who later become his Death Eaters. I'm scared for Dug though, I don't think that he's as good as Riddle is when it comes to nasty spells. I hope that Gig's all right. Good job.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-09-07
Reviewid: 149187Chapter: 53
Very interesting, and I feel bad for Hilda. Thanks for updating so soon, and I look forward to what is happening to the Professor.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-09-05
Reviewid: 149171Chapter: 52
Thanks for the update. I hope Minerva has fun teaching Charms. I liked the staffroom scene, with names both familiar and not.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-08-31
Reviewid: 149111Chapter: 51
It doesn't surprise me that Minerva is head girl. I hope her last year goes well, and I look forward to how she makes up with Hagrid. Great chapter.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-08-28
Reviewid: 149066Chapter: 50
Thanks for updating so soon. I really liked how Minerva allowed Aragog to escape, that answers the question of how he got into the Forest. I also like Tom calling Hogwarts a zoo, and how his lying and prejudice ends their friendship. I feel bad for Hagrid, and I hope he'll be all right.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-08-27
Reviewid: 149033Chapter: 49
I find it interesting that Dippet considers Minerva Tom's only friend. I really don't think he really has friends, merely people that he knows and uses for his own purposes. I suspect that Minerva might well defend Hagrid, but probably due to his giant blood, no one else will support him. I wonder if this will cause tension between Minerva and Dug. Thanks for the update, and I look forward to how you continue.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-08-24
Reviewid: 149006Chapter: 47
Thanks for the update. I really liked Minerva's musings on Dumbledore and Grindewald, that part of DH was great. I also like Moody as a Beater, it suits him. You mention that Minerva isn't sure that Dug trusts her. I think he does, but maybe he is somewhat taken aback by her independence and her stuborness.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-07-19
Reviewid: 148607Chapter: 46
I really liked how you portrayed the distance that Tom keeps from Hagrid, which is probably instrumental in what happens with the Chamber. I also really liked how you have Minerva protecting Gillian from Barty. He seems like someone who would abuse her, unfortunately. I hope that her spell works. Good work, and I always look forward to updates.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-07-17
Reviewid: 148591Chapter: 46
Thanks for these joyful chapters, mary ellis.
It's a sign of how deep Minerva's friendship with Gig is that she tries to protect her so badly, threefold actually, with the last one being such an open incantation she suffered from herself - I hope Barty won't forbid Gig any contact with Minerva because of this!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: Sannali aka MorwenDate: 2007-07-16
Reviewid: 148582Chapter: 46
Beelza... she's Countess Zabini, eventually, isn't she? Fascinating!

All this with Gig and Barty is quite disturbing -- but then, I'm sure that's what you're intending. Even if being Geased herself was something Minerva despised, I'm glad she remembered it to use it to protect her friend.

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2007-07-15
Reviewid: 148564Chapter: 46
Well now. I have been waiting quite a good while to find out what became of how Barty treated Gillian, whom he clearly loves and also abuses. Interesting plot twist. And yet, at the same time, what an act of hypocrisy for Minerva, in the sense that she was outraged and infuriated that the Geas had been placed upon her those years back.

Eagerly awaiting the morning after chapter...

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-07-10
Reviewid: 148511Chapter: 44
We don't know much about Hagrid's mother, but this certainly seems in character. I also had forgotten Hagrid as well. I wonder if the pet that Macnair gave him was Aragog? If so, that would be interesting. Good job, and keep writing.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-07-06
Reviewid: 148453Chapter: 44
Thank you for updating so quickly with another well-written chapter including most of my favourite characters! I wonder if it's how you'll get Hagrid the acromantula Aragog, as a cheer-up present from Walden?
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-07-04
Reviewid: 148441Chapter: 43
Very interesting development indeed! I wouldn't have expected Animagery being so complicated but your attitude about it makes a lot of sense, the girls have to understand both parts of themselves. No wonder, the spider inside Beelza is afraid of Tom, it will be interesting to see her reaction to the basilisk! Thanks for your rapid updates, which I hope will continue despite the HP7 hype!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AaragogDate: 2007-07-03
Reviewid: 148427Chapter: 43
Forty-three chapters. Girl, you sure are taking the scenic route getting to the point.

Not that I'm complaining. The quality of the writing has been strong throughout, and you're still pounding away at it.

If I'm concerned about anything, it's that interest in reading HP fan fiction --even fics covering events Before Harry-- will fall off a cliff once the last book in the series is out.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-07-02
Reviewid: 148403Chapter: 43
I'm glad that Dug understands how demanding this Animagus training will be, and I think he'll make a good Auror. Beelza is an intersting character, and the friendship between her and Minerva is great. I also loved the description of Minerva by the Slytherins; quite right. By foreshadowing that Riddle is a Parselmouth, are you planning on doing anything more with that? Keep writing, and thanks for the quick updates.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-06-25
Reviewid: 148368Chapter: 42
What a pleasant interlude indeed! Thanks for two wonderful chapters, please continue soon!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-06-25
Reviewid: 148365Chapter: 41
Ooooooh … (=very happy and relieved sigh)!
:-), Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-06-24
Reviewid: 148336Chapter: 41
I'm glad that Minerva and Dug made up and that he understands why she didn't contact him during the summer. I agree that she can be stubborn and somewhat reckless, but I think Dug likes that occasionally, as long as he knows what is going on. Thanks for the quick update, and keep writing.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-06-22
Reviewid: 148311Chapter: 40
Oh no. I know it's not Minerva, but could it be Riddle who altered her memory and then placed the bucket of acid where he knew a house elf would be? He seems powerful enough to have done it. Whoever it is, I hope you don't keep us waiting too long to find out, especially why it was the Head Boy and Girl. I'm glad that you brought back Dug, and I look forward to what will probably be a challenging conversation next chapter. Keep writing.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-06-21
Reviewid: 148308Chapter: 40
Wow, I can't really say "it was a wonderful chapter" without a bad feeling - this was a horrible prank and certainly, Tom wanted to hit Dumbledore and had plotted this for a long time. I'm glad Dug doesn't blame the house-elves but this rift between him and Minerva worries me. And I'm afraid they'll never find out her memory was changed … By the way, I just got the idea: Is Dug jealous, because of Petey maybe?
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-06-12
Reviewid: 148246Chapter: 39
Oh it's great to see Dumbledore back in Hogwarts and Minerva freed from that Portkey Bracelet. The way you let DD deal with Cuthbert was wonderful and so much in character! It will be interesting to have DD teach Minerva, I'm very much looking forward to that. And I'm afraid Tom's oblivition spell won't be detected … Keep writing,
Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-06-12
Reviewid: 148245Chapter: 39
I'm glad that Minerva is now free, and I laughed at the old softie line. Dumbledore training Minerva is great, and I'm looking forward to how that will go, since I think he's a great teacher. Thanks for the quick update.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-06-07
Reviewid: 148214Chapter: 37
I liked Hilda here, because you get the sense that only Hermione is interested in The History of Magic that she eventually writes. Then again, Hermione will probably read almost anything. :)
The backstory and history of Grindelwald is very interesting, especially the stuff about him traveling and witnessing Muggle conflict. Him and Napoleon would have been a chilling combination. Though I also liked how you mention he doesn't like water, giving him a weakness and adding some depth to someone who otherwise is only just a evil stereotype.
Keep writing.

Reviewer: GwenuDate: 2007-06-07
Reviewid: 148212Chapter: 31
Well done! I caught up on three chapters tonight, and will tuck into the rest tomorrow. I especially enjoyed Escape and Capture - the developments well justified its length. The second capture quite took me - I was just winding down and expecting a happy, albeit hectic, ending, when you knocked it off the path and left it a cliffhanger.

Gwenu (Welsh for Smile)

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-06-05
Reviewid: 148200Chapter: 37
What an intriguing chapter! A pity that all those Muggle conflicts offered so many battlefields to Grindelwald, who doesn't even have to show great magical powers …
Looking forward to your next installment,
Sara

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-06-01
Reviewid: 148159Chapter: 36
I was a little bit worried about your delayed update, even more I now have to apologize for my delayed review!
So, after reading this chapter for the second time, there is still a question bothering me: Why does Minerva call Dug her erstwhile (= former, isn't it?) boyfriend? I wasn't sure if I'd missed something in the earlier chapter, so I went back to check on this. Well, they drifted apart a little over his secret studies with Gig in the library but I thought they'd made up after a while? And otherwise? Does Minerva think Auror in spe!Dug doesn't want to have anything to do with her after her rule-breaking? As we've seen he's very keen on obeying to the law and seeing justice done. However, she hasn't had the chance to talk to him properly yet. I imagine Minerva will be quite busy writing letters while confined to her dormitory …
Apropos, I really liked Poppy's outright intervention, it's so much like the matron we know from the infirmary!
By the way, thanks for the nice focus on the Black Forest since it's close to where I'm living. I'm sure you'll do an excellent job on that part of the story.
Keep writing, Sara

Reviewer: HedwigDate: 2007-05-27
Reviewid: 148101Chapter: 36
I like your story very much.

I haven't got something constructive to say at the moment, just wanted to let you know that you have another reader who shouts "Hurray" if your story is on the update site!

Keep on writing fast!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-05-10
Reviewid: 147984Chapter: 35
I wondered if Grubbly-Plank was a prefect and Gryffindor, and you answered both my questions in this chapter. I look forward to how Minerva's friends and Dug will react to her punishment. Cuthbert is so chilling, and that Portkey sounds horrible. Keep writing.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-05-10
Reviewid: 147978Chapter: 35
Oh no, did you really have to bring Cuthbert back? This stupid git (unfortunately I can't write down better expressions to describe him, since I don't have enough money to put in the swear box) is afloat again - just for the moment hopefully … Poor Minerva will have to make the best of it. But wait, there's a solution: As the portkey bracelet was designed by Cuthbert it's prone to show some flaws, it must be possible to outsmart it/him! Maybe they find a loophole, still Minerva has to talk to Dumbledore. I'm curious about Dug's reaction to those events, on the one hand he seems to have a high sense of justice, on the other hand he's of the right sort. Hmmm, could you update so soon again?
Maybe that's what you meant with "visceral"? But really, you write so well that it's not difficult to empathize with the characters (except Cuthbert, I'm quite mad at him now)! Thank you so much for the dedication, Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-05-09
Reviewid: 147968Chapter: 34
Thanks so much for answering my questions, Mary. It's a pleasure to review a great story like this and to know you think about my reviews. :)
So onto the review of this chapter:
The line about ignorance of the law is no excuse was good and seems to be universal in both the magical and Muggle worlds.
I wonder if the Metamorphmagus Brown was refering to was related to Tonks. It wouldn't surprise me if the ability was genetic, which means another member of the Black family would have had it. The ability in that case would probably be well documented, and it makes sense they would be registered like Animagus.
The WAWAW sounds like an early version of the Order, and it doesn't surprise me that Minerva doesn't trust Auror Brown. I look forward to what she is going to say both to Dumbledore and her friends, and to the trial. We know that Minerva doesn't lose her wand or get expelled, so it will be interesting to see what happens to her for breaking the Statute.
Oh, and finally, the Macbeth allusion was great. Toil and trouble, indeed. Keep writing.

Reviewer: Sannali aka MorwenDate: 2007-05-09
Reviewid: 147965Chapter: 34
"Gus" Caesar? :D

I know I don't review very often, but I enjoy every chapter of this story. I've been looking forward to when Minerva would finally figure out that she's an Animagus.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-05-09
Reviewid: 147961Chapter: 34
I'm glad Minerva didn't get caught by Grindelwald's side like Lili Pinkstone. So far she's been very lucky, I feared the worst when I read the chapter title!
And I'd never expected she'd learn about her Animagus abilities in such a matter-of-fact manner :-) - she'll be curious to explore it, won't she? I hope she'll tell Dumbledore what happened so he knows Grindelwald's operating on the island impersonating different characters. With all these war activities and other adventures I often forget that Minerva's actually just sixteen, still very young, but on the other hand so brave and upright - good of you to remind me of that!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-04-30
Reviewid: 147891Chapter: 33
I admire Minerva's courage,and like how you mention that controlling the transformation takes time. The fake lieutenant is probably a German. I hope that Minerva is all right, and gets back to Hogwarts safely. Keep writing.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-04-30
Reviewid: 147882Chapter: 33
Oh no, I'm so worried, what's going on there? A pity Minerva couldn't contact Dumbledore, I hope she'll be fine though ... and you'll update soon to "explain" this chapter!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-04-23
Reviewid: 147837Chapter: 32
What a wonderful chapter again! It must be a great experience for Minerva to take the trip to school on the Hogwarts express - and the boats, later on (and together with Dug ;-) ). Minerva's grown up still more over the summer: Her reaction at being prefect compared to her thoughts at the beginning of the holidays ... After all her war experiences I expected her to be back in her "peaceful" world but Nell Wadrig = Grindelwald, how horrible!
Looking forward to your next update,
Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-04-21
Reviewid: 147828Chapter: 32
I always thought that Minerva would have been prefect, since she seems to like obeying the rules. Scrimageour as a Slytherin doesn't surprise me. Is this Vector the Professor Vector we know, and is this Vance and Trelawney related to those in the books? It would be interesting to know their relationship to the women we see in the book. Oww, Grindelwald is creepy,and both him and Voldemort like to rearrange their names for some reason. Using Red Caps as a way to spread terror and depression sounds like the use of the Dementors. Keep writing.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-04-17
Reviewid: 147797Chapter: 31
Minerva and Petey? I'm glad that's not true. It will be interesting to see how Minerva thinks of Hogwarts now that she has fought in the war. I hope that Lili will be all right. The man that took her was probably the one that was following Minerva and Petey, right? Keep writing.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-04-17
Reviewid: 147790Chapter: 31
Whoops, what's going on? I sort of expected the adventure to be over now for a while … and I hope Carlotta's mother will be fine and wasn't captured by the wrong side, but nevertheless I'm afraid she was … So we're up to the Spy&Double-Spy game now? It's wonderful, by the way, how you hide small details to be of later importance - and how well you write, Minerva's talking to Carlotta's mother made me smile all over :-).
Please update soon, mary ellis, to take this load of uncertainty of my mind!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-04-11
Reviewid: 147736Chapter: 30
Oh, what a horrible experience. I'm glad that Petey and Minerva escaped, and I hope they can track down Nell. What happened to Dug? We haven't heard from him in a while, and I'd love to know what he thinks of Minerva being in the war effort and hanging out with handsome Muggle soldiers. I loved the folk songs as well, even if the dialect was hard to understand. Keep writing this wonderful story.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-04-11
Reviewid: 147728Chapter: 30
Phew, this was terrifying - and terrific at the same time! Wonderfully written as always, I've just a little correction for you, because it should read "verdammt" instead of "verdammen" in the end.
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AirriDate: 2007-04-09
Reviewid: 147716Chapter: 29
Oh, dear! I'm worried for Petey--the rest, I know, will live, but Petey's the uncertain element here. *worries*

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-04-02
Reviewid: 147655Chapter: 29
Oh poor Minerva, and all the others - I hope they'll all get through it. But it's nice that you also allow them some leisure time at the pub to mix with the local folk :-) Although I was surprised as Poppy pointed out the many differences between wizards and muggles (anatomy or what's poisonous to them) - I always thought wizards are like normal people plus being able to do magic and live longer … And thanks for making me learn so many new things about WW II's history! I had to look up "Adlertag" at wikipedia and found out a lot, and really, you keep very close to real history! It's a pity wizards can't do more to protect the island …
Yours truly, Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-04-02
Reviewid: 147648Chapter: 29
You do a great job describing both the defiance, and the courage of Minerva and her friends as they fight in the war. The sense of fighting to the end is really well conveyed here. I liked how you also mentioned hanging out in the pub, and Poppy refusing boys because of their lack of hygiene made me laugh. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-03-19
Reviewid: 147538Chapter: 28
I admire her courage and steadfastness in attacking the Pogrebin. I also like how you foreshadow her Animagus changes, and I wonder if she is going to talk to Dumbledore about them. I'd also like to see how he defeats Grindelwald. Wonderful as usual, and please keep writing.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-03-19
Reviewid: 147536Chapter: 28
Great chapter, as always! And so unexpected, puh, I am glad Minerva could keep her senses to fight that evil creature. Now, I think, she might feel the urge to help the Muggles even more than before. And I am looking forward to the moment she realizes her being a metamorphmagus!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AirriDate: 2007-03-15
Reviewid: 147483Chapter: 27
Eeee! Petey! *cries in delight* Keep him safe?

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-03-14
Reviewid: 147465Chapter: 27
I really like your comparisons between flying and Quidditch, very apt. I also like how you convey Minerva's sense of duty, and the pilots love of what they are doing. Keep writing.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-03-13
Reviewid: 147454Chapter: 27
Wonderfully written as always and good to see Petey in good shape again!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AirriDate: 2007-03-05
Reviewid: 147374Chapter: 26
Eeeeeee! Petey's back! Will he be totally changed? Will it be uncomfortable? What will happen?!

Interesting take on the cigarettes, I noticed. It must be fun to come up with all these different outlooks on such everyday things for us. Hee!

But, Petey! Yay!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-03-05
Reviewid: 147362Chapter: 26
No offence taken :-) Interesting chapter, I've learned a lot about Radar and stuff - so you don't have to research only Magicosm but also the Muggle world, do you?
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AirriDate: 2007-02-28
Reviewid: 147322Chapter: 25
Yay, I was mentioned! I feel special :p

But anyway. I love that you correlate Muggles and the Wizarding kin in this chapter, it's not something that happens in both the books and fanfic often, and probably should happen more. They are all humans, anyway.

Another part I really liked was Minerva's reaction to the movie...something that we take as everyday life, the witch thinks is, well...magic! Muggle magic. It's something I've thought of often.

A review over the past couple of chapters: We're getting more characters! Or, at least, more already-characters who develop more character than just, Poppy is good at healing and we know this because she's Hogwarts Healer later on, and Brussel (Sprout) is good at plants and Herbology and we know this because she is the Herbology teacher later on! Now they are people with their own rights and voices and I really enjoy that.

Keep the chapters coming!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-02-26
Reviewid: 147301Chapter: 25
Finally caught up again … Straightforward chapter, after all - it's always fun to read how wizarding folks react to muggle inventions and commodities so Minerva reaching for her wand or thinking of related spells in that cinema made me smile. I hope she doesn't give up her plan to find Petey - but with the radar service there might be a good chance to spot him.
I'm impressed about the thoughts and feelings Minerva had during the show when first in contact with the Nazis, her impression of the swastika as "a Muggle Catherine wheel, an instrument of torture, cruel and destructive", and nicknaming Hitler as Hitter. I'm a bit sad, though, that you describe the German language so cruelly as "clipped and harsh with many more growlings and hard throat-clearing sounds" since that's not my daily perception of my mother-tongue - I hope Minerva's sense is biased due to the circumstances :-).
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-02-26
Reviewid: 147300Chapter: 24
There's not much to say besides the usual praise :-) just: more Poppy and Brussel! It's clearly visible where their mutual understanding and friendship comes from & Brussel's strategic talent is admirable. But I think I've missed another side character at least so far: Is Brock of any importance? Nevertheless, the girls' trio might have an eventful summer, loads to tell, loads to read!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-02-26
Reviewid: 147299Chapter: 23
As much as I enjoyed the confrontation between Carlotta and Cat!Minerva I was shocked about the former's excuses for Barty. Well, unfortunately it's a common and known pattern that victims of violent abuse often share - but in her case where Carlotta even joined forces to protect muggles she didn't show any responsibility since she wasn't able or willing to protect other witches from Barty's "temper". This and her trifling with Minerva's concerns about Petey don't cast a positive light on her … And final note: I liked that Minerva's first choice in any need is Hogwarts :-) whomever she might run into!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-02-23
Reviewid: 147284Chapter: 25
This is another wonderful chapter, as usual. I really like the sense of companionship and solidarity that Minerva has with the other Muggle women. Standing up for people that can't defend themselves seems extremely in character. The oath was interesting, I would have thought they would have sworn to the Prime Minister instead of the king. I loved Hitler being called Hitter, and how ridiculous the salute seemed to Minerva. I wonder what will happen when everyone else finds out what they have done. Keep writing.

Reviewer: saraDate: 2007-02-21
Reviewid: 147261Chapter: 22
This conversation between Minerva and her aunt was wonderful, including the hint about the red-haired Keeper - some things in history are worth repeating :-) Btw, have I already mentioned how happy I am about the comeback of Minerva's POV? Having said this, I'm really curious about Dug's and Petey's fate. Although my hopes aren't the best since they aren't Canon (or are they and I did miss them somehow? Better knock on wood then). I'm not sure whether Minerva as authorative & decided she might appear will be able to change Petey's mind - he seems to be too fond of adventures & his country and too reckless.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-02-21
Reviewid: 147258Chapter: 21
Mary Ellis, I'm sorry for my delated posts but I didn't have time to read your updates properly and even less time to review faithfully. So from way behind ... it's a pity, even more because this chapter is one of the most important (maybe the central one?)!
Not only that the eponym 3 orphans meet for the first time but they also show their views on the world - and you anticipate why and where they might clash. You don't need much to present the core of each character, it's amazing. Unfortunately you can't use sudden plot twists, as your omniscient "readers from the future" can't be fooled - it's a little bit sad for Tom as a character: I might have liked him better, he appears as a nice and intelligent boy, but now I regard him much more critical with my already prejudiced eyes :-) As an example: he repeatedly refers to the dragon incident from the previous year and the heroic behaviour of the Slytherins - to me it just sounds as if they'd planned this to play the heroes …
Besides, I love how you make Hagrid unintentionally play with foreign words - the carpatians (I guess so) and "Ant-eyes" made me laugh. And the ending made me smile, I think his schoolmates' acceptance is what means most to Hagrid.
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-02-18
Reviewid: 147232Chapter: 24
I like that Minerva is friends with Poppy and Brussel (which is a great name, by the way). The idea of the three of them volunteering for the war effort is interesting. Keep up the excellent work.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-02-12
Reviewid: 147187Chapter: 23
Yes, Barty Crouch is very nasty. I hope she leaves him before she gets injured even more. I admire Minerva's determination to protect Petey, but I wonder if Carlotta is right. Maybe the high risk of death will convince him not to fight. I also agree with you about OWL's. Keep writing.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-02-08
Reviewid: 147140Chapter: 22
Minerva has a very good sense of what people will eventually become, and I hope she does become a prefect. I worry about Petey as well, and hopefully she can talk some sense into him. Keep writing.

Reviewer: AirriDate: 2007-01-17
Reviewid: 146906Chapter: 21
Ahh, so we finally learn the reason for this title. Hmm. Makes me think even more. :) Great story, as it has always been--watching Tom grow up is fascinating!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-01-15
Reviewid: 146885Chapter: 21
Minerva is certainly a good judge of character when it comes to Barty, though I wonder when she will see that Tom is becoming more and more involved in the Dark Arts. I do like that you mention his obsession with pure blood, and I imagine that many of his Slytherin housemates become the first Death Eaters. I also like to think that Hagrid would be good at Herbology and Defense. I wondered how Hagrid and Tom knew each other, and I hope that you develop their relationship in such a way that we fully understand why Tom picked Hagrid for the opening of the Chamber next year. Keep writing.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-01-13
Reviewid: 146853Chapter: 20
Oops, sorry, I had composed this first in text then truncated the 'copy'. Here arethe rest of my comments:

Sara (ctd.)

Good question about Tom's aunt. Dumbledore and Dippet, of course, know Tom's antecedents, but the students will only know what Tom chooses to tell them. Naturally he won't want the Slytherins to know of his dubious ancestry--especially with the way Slughorn keeps bringing up the importance of being pureblooded. So he makes up an elderly aunt. (And BTW, for the puzzleers among you, his place of residence "Hinsterly" is an anagram.)

AmandaB:

Another lover of Minerva. And historian--yea! Keep me on my toes, lady! Yes, it is Chamberlain that Dumbledore is talking about. (I had to read a lot of Muggle history to come up with this scene, and the next bunch of chapters will require even more, as Minerva gets involved in the war. That's why I miss my chief beta, Ewan. He's an expert. I hope you all will call me on the carpet if I make any mistakes.

We'll see quite a bit more of Barty and Gig--major plot point for a time.

You're right about Minerva's independent nature. She will be torn between her very natural affections and that drive to go-it-alone.

Tom is planning a major foray, as you see in chapter 19, one that cements the loyalty of his band of Slytherins and makes them believe he can do anything. also, I think he can stand less and less to be with the wholesome Minerva, who is also his equal in intelligence, but a shade naive at this point.


Aaragog

Thanks for your comments on the ravishing of Augusta.

Tom may have originally intended to assert his power over Augusta and humiliate her in some way to avenge Minerva, and your idea that he simply lost his nerve or was uncomfortable with the idea of being out of control is very believable given both his youth and his pride. I think your assertion

"[Tom] couldn't deal with how ambiguous and ever shafting [sic] the power relationships in sex can be; a child of his proclivities would loath[e] any arrangement like that. One could even imagine him giving up on sex entirely from that point forward because it is too unreliable as a path to power

is tantalizing and a fantastic jumping-off point for a one-shot sketch on his character.


But in my picture of him, he was by this time well on his way to becoming a classic sociopath, completely cut off from his own soul but curious about it in a warped, clinical way. In chapter 15, I wanted to catch him in some deliberately evil act that would crystallize for readers the lengths he would go to and the callousness he would exhibit in teasing apart the fibers of human emotions. Simple physical torture has been overused in ficdom. Tapping into the raging hormones of a proud young woman and exposing her vulnerability would be not only a change but also a plausible and fulfilling choice for a young man in the throes of puberty. He has by this time witnessed many stages and forms of lust and cruelty in both the orphanage bullies and his Slytherin claque (and experimented with physical cruelty and intimidation himself) and has already begun to develop his Legilimentic powers vis-เ-vis Minerva and his House mates. I imagined him using these powers to observe what sexual deprivation could do to a person (a little like Dr. Mengele experimenting with hapless prisoners in the German death camps.)

You've caught my take on Augusta Fairfax very well, and expanded it beautifully. We see her in later years as an old woman clinging to memories of her son's brilliance; I've made this an offshoot of her regrets over her husband's [Jack's] tragic disability. To me, her old-lady bitterness and disdain for weakness are the decayed residue of strength and loyalty and passion.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-01-13
Reviewid: 146852Chapter: 20
I'm sorry it has been so long since I replied to any of your reviews. For the most part, I've been helping other writers launch their own projects. But I'm back now in my favorite site, SQ, and real-world work is slow...

For Verin:

I am intrigued--and a mite flattered--by your comparison of Gig and Barty's relationship to that of David Copperfield and Dora. 'Our dear little invalid' is definitely a Dickensian turn of phrase, and I thank you for pointing it out.

I cannot at this time answer your reasonable objections to my take on Barty's abusive persona. I hope that future chapters will resolve to everyone's satisfaction the apparent contradiction between his current behavior and his later devotion to his wife. All I can say right now without revealing any plot twists (I'm loath to even intimate that they exist--but you've forced my hand rather neatly, haven't you?) is that over fifty years stand between his school days and the events of GoF. In my 'second childhood', I often have occasion to reflect on how much my peers and I have changed over a much shorter period of time. I am grateful for Jo Rowling's postulation of a much longer age for mages than for Muggles. It covers a multitude of my writing sins--but also allows for intriguing possibilities of maturation and redemption (and degradation too) in the wizarding community.

You're right about the problem with Minerva 'not remembering' in a later chapter that Gig was going around with Berty. I could explain it away saying that she was so taken up with schoolwork, and Dugald's obsessions that she might have forgotten--or even brushed it off as not to be believed. But I really should have had her recall some of Gig's and Barty's previous entanglements and perhaps come to judge Gig as a greedy dog-in-the-manger, oscillating from Barty to Dug and back again. But underneath it all, Minerva is most hurt by the fact that Gig is not paying attention to *her* any more.

Re Rube much earlier: I did mess up on the date of his Hogwarts letter. I meant to say that the letter was an assurance to his father that Rube was eligible for Hogwarts, despite his half-blood status, and that the invitation would follow in due time.

Sara:

My so-faithful reviewer. You keep me going with your concise and cogent insights. Thanks so much.

Regarding the idea that students of different Houses mixing with each other is antithetical to Hogwarts tradition, I'll just point out that the Rowling books are written from Harry's very narrow POV. Given all the things he has to worry about, it's not surprising that he would miss cross-socialization going on under his own nose. (And of course I do have to explain how Gig gets to be with Barty, and Minerva and Poppy's friendship with Hufflepuff Pomona Sprout.) Hogwarts has a long history--rivalries rise and fall. I don't even see Slytherin House as the archenemy of Gryffindor at this point in time. You'll notice that the only criticism Minerva has of the Snakes is that they are, for the most part, terminally stupid. It takes voldemort to cause the real rift.

You're right, the journal was a vehicle for getting through a not too important year in a very short time, and give a lot of background at the same time. Hope the info dump wasn't too dreary. But we have to get the third orphan (Hagrid) to Hogwarts ASAP.

Dug's perception of the underlying nastiness of the pranks at school may seem unusual only because we expect Minerva to be the one with all the answers. And I'm sorry, but, as we know, Tom will have to seem lily-pure until he leaves Hogwarts--to the staff at least (even though Dumbledore will have his suspicions.)

Thanks to everyone for your reviews. They are life's blood to all us writers as you know, though, as my bud, GraceHasVictory is wont to say: we write because we can't help it, loving it so, and would probably continue even if there were no reviews and few readers.

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2007-01-12
Reviewid: 146842Chapter: 20
Thanks for all the updates on Gig and Barty. This may sound bizarre, and it's only an analogy, but your description of their relationship reminds of me of Charles Dickens' David Copperfield and Dora (?), the 'child wife', who David loves and marries in large part because she so resembles his sweet, innocent, yet tragically fragile mother. Seems the case here, where you Barty's father referring to Barty's mother as their 'dear little invalid'. Gig isn't an invalid, but she's vulnerable, and we know from GoF that she dies fairly young of a terminal disease (not that Azkaban helped much, mind you).

Still, I'd like to pose a few questions for you: we know from the veritaserum chapter that Barty loved his wife, and even went back on all his principles to smuggle Barty Jr. out of prison for her. So, I never saw him as being physically abusive towards her. But if he's not beating up Gig, who is? Sounds like you've written him into somewhat of a control freak boyfriend. I shall wait and see. Second question/thought: I think there's a bit of a continuity problem in this chapter (20). Previous chapters already described how Barty and Gig were spending lots of time together, going around Hogsmeade (the wrench arm, after which he showered her with gifts), and there are nasty rumors swirling that Gig has 'set herself up' (to use your words) as Barty's new girlfriend now that Carlotta's collar bone was broken. Yet in this chapter, Minerva is still somehow surprised at how taken Gig is with Barty, and how odd it is that they are together. Why is she still surprised, when only a short time ago he was showering Gig with so much attention that she 'looked like Cinderella'?

Great story!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-01-11
Reviewid: 146835Chapter: 20
It's great that you mix the wizarding life with Muggle history, I like how you keep all those strands thight up and together. But I wonder that pupils then seemed to interact more than in Harry's time. Being invited to other houses common rooms, sitting at other tables and so on - will this change within your story or have you just taken some freedoms in writing? However, I hope your creative & productive phase will continue!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-01-11
Reviewid: 146831Chapter: 20
I wonder if Gig really does like Barty, I can see the appeal somewhat. I loved the line about doing something, and lighting a fire under Chamberlain (if I remember my British history). Will you be using Winston Churchill in this story? Keep writing, and thanks for the quick updates.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146815Chapter: 19
Hmm, I always thought Minerva was independent. I will watch with interest how her relationship with Dug goes. It seems that Slytherin boys always play pranks, and I loved Flitwick beating them all. I also wonder how Tom Riddle will figure into the coming war. Keep writing.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146810Chapter: 19
Two nice long chapters to enjoy, thanks for that. Having Minerva writing a diary is a clever method to get through the school year (especially since she doesn't dwell on her feelings and love life to much :-) ) - although it's a little bit unsettling to read and detect all those little signs/hints with the knowledge from the "future". I'm impressed by Dug's foresight into the scheme, however. I hope there might be someone to at least suspect the true culprit behind it.
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2007-01-05
Reviewid: 146745Chapter: 18
I like that you mentioned Minerva's connection to the school, and how that seems to grow the more time she spends there. Is Tom spending less time in tutoring because he is joining the Slytherin pranks, or is he behind this more recent stretch of more dangerous and harmful actions? I laughed at your description of Binns, because that seems quite characteristic. It doesn't surprise me that Scrimegeour is a Slytherin, he seems quite cunning. I am also glad to see that Minerva is happy with Dug, and he with her.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-01-03
Reviewid: 146732Chapter: 17
Very nice correspondence, I like the ingenious way you make Hagrid write. The only thing I didn't understand: Why is cheeky-sneaky!Tom talking about being with his aunt? Don't they know he's an orphan? However, if he's never told anybody ... I'm really looking forward to the day Minerva will see right through him :-}
I hope (not only for your sake, to be honest) you've already found a competent substitute as beta-reader and that you'll update soon,
Sara

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-12-28
Reviewid: 146642Chapter: 17
It is somewhat interesting and unsettling to think of Minerva and Tom as friends, though I really think she would accept Hagrid for who he is. He certainly is a Gryffindor, and I think your description of the house characteristics is spot on. Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-11-27
Reviewid: 146306Chapter: 16
It makes sense for Filch to be a Squib if his parentage is not entirely from wizarding background. That was a plausible explanation, and I laughed at him being in the circus. I wonder how he goes from that to Hogwarts. Minerva as sly, courageous, and curious was quite in character, especially in this setting. I really liked Dugald, and his deepening feelings for Minerva. Lovebirds indeed! I hope their relationship works out.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-11-27
Reviewid: 146298Chapter: 16
Thanks for this well-written chapter, at least some justice was done to everybody :-) I liked the way you explained the wizarding heritage, sounds profound.
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: AaragogDate: 2006-11-25
Reviewid: 146275Chapter: 15
I really liked this chapter. There is no shortage of fanfic that goes stampeding into sex, but there is scarsely any that does so with psychological complexity. Mostly what we get is cheap thrills. You've given us an entirely plausible picture of Neville's grandmother as a one time brilliant young lass who could barely keep a lid on her raging hormones, who couldn't make much use of the advice she got from her elders on The Facts Of Life because it didn't jibe with her real desires, and whose common sense didn't always prevail in matters of the heart.

That last is demonstrated when "Jack Longbottom" comes to her as whole and capable as ever, and she doesn't question whether such a thing could be possible despite having recently seen him in a shrunken, debilitated state. She wants to believe it.

The real character revelation, though, comes from Tom Riddle (I assume that's who polyjuiced himself to look like Jack). He goes into the whole sexual encounter with Augusta intent on asserting power, and is so completely thrown off by how things develop he basically runs away. Unless I've failed to grasp your intent, Tom either couldn't deal with the fact that a girl might be willing to do what he wanted, or couldn't deal with how ambiguous and ever shafting the power relationships in sex can be; a child of his proclivities would loath any arrangement like that. One could even imagine him giving up on sex entirely from that point forward because it is too unreliable as a path to power.

Finally, it is altogether in line with human nature that Augusta would come out of the incident deciding the OWL subject, not her own judgment, was soft.

Reviewer: AmandaBDate: 2006-11-23
Reviewid: 146266Chapter: 15
I've always wondered why Augusta failed her Charms OWL, and you give a very good reason for it. The Longbottoms never seem to have very good lives, do they (except maybe for Neville). I also liked how Augusta dislikes Minerva because she's from the Highlands. Is that particular part of Scotland known to be less refined or something? Keep writing.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-11-22
Reviewid: 146252Chapter: 15
Awesome chapter, as always! Tom's really playing dirty now, I guess. I wonder if those mysterious events will ever be solved? Probably Dumbledore and those involved might know, but didn't they say somewhere in the books that there were some nasty incidents that could never traced back to Riddle's gang?
Yours,
Sara

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-11-22
Reviewid: 146251Chapter: 15
That. Was. Gross. Randy Tom Riddle. Could he be more hurtful? This is a stunning plot curve, and an entirely appropriate exploration of the development of sexuality in an evil madman, but definitely not one I'll be letting my younger kids read.
Loved the Rube of the previous chapter too. Especially the interplay between he and his father.

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2006-11-14
Reviewid: 146178Chapter: 14
Alas for flying fingers. I meant to say "I don't see her as such a catty witch."

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --