The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Bitter Glass
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144385Chapter: 1
I think this is a brilliant piece. You captured Snape's bitterness, and Harry's love, and sense of fair play. The phoenix song was wonderful, even if I'm not sure I understand it. But Hermione looked it up. I love how useful she is as a repository of information!

I'm glad that Harry forgave Snape. "It's the right thing to do. It's what Dumbledore would have wanted. It is what Fawks wanted." Beautiful.

Brilliant job. Thank you for such a good piece.

Reviewer: Stellar HawkDate: 2006-07-21
Reviewid: 144327Chapter: 1
This is such a neat story, April. I love the idea of the mirror, and Voldemort using Snape as bait. And Harry letting Snape go not because it's what he wants but because it's what Dumbledore would have wanted--how he's grown up! And the return of Fawkes--yay!! Symbolically, visually, this one's very imaginative. Your stories get better with each installment.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-13
Reviewid: 144141Chapter: 1
Take all the liberties you like.
Just keep writing wonderful tales.

Reviewer: WindscionDate: 2006-07-12
Reviewid: 144133Chapter: 1
Nice to see something original.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-11
Reviewid: 144108Chapter: 1
The scar-as-horcrux theory is fairly common territory, but I like whaat you did with it here, having Voldemort seal his death by summoning it to himself. Smart thinking. lovely to see Fawkes again too.

Reviewer: TarsieSDate: 2006-07-10
Reviewid: 144100Chapter: 1
I truly like this story. The mirror showing Snapes anger at everything in his life was wonderful. Good imagery as well.
Thank you for an enjoyable read.

Reviewer: LeiselilyDate: 2006-07-10
Reviewid: 144090Chapter: 1
Really enjoyed this story, I think you write Snape very well. Hope he enjoys South America.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2006-07-10
Reviewid: 144084Chapter: 1
Great! This story was great! I especially liked the mirror and your explanation of how it worked, how it used anger against you - very good! And Snape felt lighter than he ever had.... Great!

Reviewer: ceriDate: 2006-07-10
Reviewid: 144082Chapter: 1
wow - that was very good --thanks

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-07-10
Reviewid: 144079Chapter: 1
Really good for a one-shot...one of the better final confrontation-scenarios I've read. Excellent characterizations. Your writing has gotten very tight and economical. Thumbs up! :)

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-07-10
Reviewid: 144078Chapter: 1
Lately a lot of Snape-fics haven't really been catching my interest ... but I'm thrilled to find that yours has proven that there are still good ones around! I thoroughly enjoyed this!
You've used legend in a very apt manner to forward your storyline, and the interaction between Harry and Severus was very believable. I liked how neither actually cast the killing curse, but got rid of Voldemort with a (I assume) less Dark spell. The action in the story was also intense and attention-grabbing.
Well done!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --