The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Come and Get Me
Review(s): 38

Reviewer: DebbieODate: 2007-08-25
Reviewid: 149013Chapter: 1
This is wonderful. I'd love to read more. Who cares how A/U it is. More Ginny and Harry is always better. I adore Test of Time (I've read it several times) and would love to read more of your work.

Reviewer: riddleDate: 2007-08-23
Reviewid: 148997Chapter: 1
so so so good. i cried a little.

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2007-05-31
Reviewid: 148158Chapter: 1
Thanks guys!

Reviewer: DebbieODate: 2007-05-31
Reviewid: 148156Chapter: 1
This is great. I hope you continue the story regardless. I like AU stories almost as much as canon, and you are a terrific writer.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2007-05-28
Reviewid: 148114Chapter: 1
I'm sure I've commented on this one before! Loved the simple, straight-forward question from Harry, and the plain honest truth in the air - yep, there are times when it comes down to simply needing the other. The McGonagall / Snape byplay was great too.
The reality being better than the imaginary Harry kept in her bed - that would have been a LoL line if it weren't for the sheer drama of the thing, even when you contrast the reality with the historicised version.
Great stuff.

Reviewer: ivy & GracieDate: 2007-02-15
Reviewid: 147215Chapter: 1
Ahhhh... We KNEW Snape was "one of us." We knew it! This was lovely.

We signed on today in a fit of "Test of Time" nostalgia, and found that you've written a couple of new things! Merry Christmas to us!
It would be wonderful if all of that "much longer story" might one day see the light. We'd love to read it. You do H&G beautifully.

Reviewer: The Morning StarrDate: 2006-09-04
Reviewid: 145190Chapter: 1
Loving every chapter of this. I love how there is a certain consistency of style between each chapter, and yet you still manage to give each narrator her own voice. I also love that we're getting bits and pieces of different parts of Harry's story from so many sources. Fantastic idea.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-08-10
Reviewid: 144723Chapter: 1
I would love to read your story whether it is AU at that point or not. I was very impressed with your writing in this one-shot. I loved how much story and emotion you packed into it. Thank you for sharing!

OSUSprinks :)

Reviewer: adri278Date: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144684Chapter: 1
I'm so glad to see that you are still writing Harry Potter! This was great...I can't wait to read more.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2006-08-04
Reviewid: 144633Chapter: 1
Oh Alchamilla, It is so good to read you again.
I survived the years of The Test of Time, so am sure I can wait patiently.

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144483Chapter: 1
Ok, I'm usually so coherent, like, as a person...but I love this too much to do anything but just squeel and shout. FANTASTIC job, wonderful Ginny characterization. I want to see this amazing story in the offing; if it's anything like this, it's going to absolutely ROX my face off.

Reviewer: gryffindorgirl72000Date: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144448Chapter: 1
Hi Alchemilla - just read your post about the rest of the story and now I want it EVEN MORE! What? Harry/Padma? Surely Ginny gets him back in the end? Please! :)

I hope you write/post the rest of the story - I am preparing myself to wait patiently for the updates! :)

Caroline

Reviewer: AutumnHeartDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144432Chapter: 1
Oh, but this is fantastic - pleasepleaseplease post the rest - if not here then elsewhere?

I'd almost rather read post-Hogwarts fic at the moment than another Horcrux hunt (with the exception of book seven, of course): and I have no problems with AU at all :)

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-07-21
Reviewid: 144325Chapter: 1
Good one-shot! I'd go ahead and post the story, who cares if it's AU? The bit about the powder made me crack up. I'd be interested in hearing more of your Snape-as-good-guy theory and all the rest of it, what happens next now that Mr. Weasley's dead, etc, how Ginny and Harry recover. Hardly fair to tell us there's more and then leave us hanging! ;)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-21
Reviewid: 144321Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2006-07-20
Reviewid: 144310Chapter: 1
Thanks everyone, for your enthusiasm! It's so nice to be exchanging with the fandom again. About the rest of the story...well, it's months from being finished. It has gaping plot holes. Some of it is Harry/Padma and so probably cannot be posted here on SQ. Some of it has strong R scenes that will have to be posted on a less family-oriented site. It is tempting to give up and just post the occasional chapter that can stand alone! Writing HP is supposed to be my warm-up when I want to write original fiction, so both tend to go very slowly. Oh and yeah, I am working now. I am sorry. I will try to leap my largest plot hole and get back on it. Thanks, alchemilla

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-07-20
Reviewid: 144305Chapter: 1
of course after i realized that you were the author of "the test of time" which is one of the stories i go back and read once or twice every year, i just had to read this. and it has such a passionate title too! i enjoyed this take on the ending, ginny's voice is very clear and i especially like the descriptions of the history books. and the end-"We're meant to be, didn't you know??" that's just perfect. although somehow i feel like harry would have pulled another "victory kiss," like in the sixth book. i mean, that was only for quidditch, this is for saving the world!

i definitely would love to see another novel length fic by you, if it is anywhere near as good as the other then it is sure to be spectacular. please post the chapters here! perhaps i will draw some pictures for it?

Reviewer: aurora330Date: 2006-07-20
Reviewid: 144301Chapter: 1
well i hope to god that JK's story ends that nicley cause well i dont know what ill do if she ends it on a said note after killing off Sirius which im still bent about and then killing Dumbledore. You did a fanstastic job hope to read more of your stories cause i loved Test of Time to

Reviewer: July31Date: 2006-07-20
Reviewid: 144287Chapter: 1
This was absolutely brilliant!! You captured Ginny perfectly, and the ending made my heart absolutely melt. Please please please please post more, post-Hogwarts stories are my absolute favorite!!

Awesome job<br>
-July31

Reviewer: seastones88Date: 2006-07-18
Reviewid: 144262Chapter: 1
Wow, what great imagery! It leaves the reader with an almost giddy feeling, like the color, emotion and taste are all jumping out at us.

Great job, I can't wait for more!

Lover of Literature,
SS

Reviewer: MadHatterLovesGinnyDate: 2006-07-18
Reviewid: 144247Chapter: 1
Can I cry now? That was beautiful! I felt so bad for Ginny, but I also felt like I was there, was her. I followed and read The Test of Time. It was the first fanfiction I've ever read, and it was awesome, as was this! Anyway, I would be very glad to read your "post-Hogwarts years" story, even if it will be AU by the time JK Rowling publishes the seventh book. I loved this story, and I hope you write many more!
Mad Hatter

Reviewer: KariDate: 2006-07-17
Reviewid: 144234Chapter: 1
I have to admit, when I saw your name come up, I jumped and squealed and behaved in a generally undignified manner. Test of Time is one of my all-time favorites, so much so that I would read pretty much anything with your name attached to it... fluff, angst, doesn't matter!

What a wonderful touch, Harry telling Ginny he needed her was more meaningful to her than anything else he could have said. Very in character for both of them, I thought.

Please do let us know if you post the entire story, whether it's here or elsewhere. I'd read it in a heartbeat, AU or not.

Reviewer: Pink SunflowerDate: 2006-07-17
Reviewid: 144232Chapter: 1
What a wonderful story. Well written and emotive, a really lovely one-shot.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-17
Reviewid: 144230Chapter: 1
"unlike the imaginary Harry that I kept in my bed at night, this one was so solid and so here."
What a line! What fantastic writing! We've missed your stories, Alchemilla. This is great. I loved the contrast in Ginny's recollections between the myths and the realities. Creevey Characterisations were spot-on one-liners. McGonagall convincingly herself. And oh those poor bludgers....

Reviewer: J62442Date: 2006-07-17
Reviewid: 144228Chapter: 1
You're Back! I loved this story. You write these characters so very well. I can't wait to see what you have in store for Ginny and Harry this time! Looking foward to your posts!

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-07-17
Reviewid: 144227Chapter: 1
Awesome...!! Thanks for this great one-shot. I almost passed this one by because I'm not crazy about shipping especially when it eclipses story. You gave the relationship between Harry and Ginny a very real flavor - more adult than book 6 - which makes sense due to the environment they're in.

And you included Snape --- as a good guy!!! Loved the fact they both came in together, both coated with white powder. Loved McGonagall's reaction, loved the reason for the white powder.

Excellent one-shot, I'll look for more of yours as they come up.

Reviewer: ReesieDate: 2006-07-17
Reviewid: 144226Chapter: 1
Awesome...!! Thanks for this great one-shot. I almost passed this one by because I'm not crazy about shipping especially when it eclipses story. You gave the relationship between Harry and Ginny a very real flavor - more adult than book 6 - which makes sense due to the environment they're in.

And you included Snape --- as a good guy!!! Loved the fact they both came in together, both coated with white powder. Loved McGonagall's reaction, loved the reason for the white powder.

Excellent one-shot, I'll look for more of yours as they come up.

Reviewer: Pangalactic_WhamDate: 2006-07-17
Reviewid: 144224Chapter: 1
Yay! I was so thrilled to see a new post from you! I LOVED LOVED LOVED "The Test of Time," and I jumped for joy reading this! Amazing as usual!

Reviewer: Te ArohaDate: 2006-07-17
Reviewid: 144223Chapter: 1
Well, ALchemilla, I really don't care how AU or how long your story is so long as we get to read it! (The test of time was very AU when I read it last year)
This was awesome! I liked how the press got everything wrong as usual and also how Harry told Ginny that he needed her, rather than loved her. But the loose threads are so tantalising - what about the plot on Ginny's family? Will they be safe now that Voldemort is dead?

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-07-17
Reviewid: 144222Chapter: 1
Thank you, thank you, thank you so much for this! I'm a big fan of 'The Test of Time' (it's one of my favourite fics of all time, up there with 'After the End', and that's saying a LOT), and I was so excited to see that you've written a new story!
I didn't mind the lack of fluff here. You presented Ginny's emotions beautifully, and your generally assessment of the situation at Hogwarts during that last year of war was dead accurate. You set up a wonderfully dark mood, making it even more exhilarating when Harry walked through the door. And redeemed!Snape - well, I'm still on the fence with this once, but I loved how you did it. Just walking in, still his same grouchy self, no fanfare.
I also enjoyed that even with the dark overall tone of the whole story, you still managed to inject some humour into it! Ginny as a Beater ...

" I unceremoniously usurped the position of Beater from Jimmy Peakes , and every crack of the bat against the Bludger was an imagined crack of a Death Eater's skull (though occasionally it was Harry's, Ron's or Hermione's). My viciousness made up for lack of strength and those Bludgers insured us more than one victory, though I can't say I enjoyed them. "

That made me grin!
And for some reason, I found the 'uninteresting reason' for why Harry was covered in powder hilarious! (Maybe I'm just weird).

Anyway, the point of this whole long review is to tell you that once again, you've done a BRILLIANT job, and I hope you keep writing and posting, because I simply love your work! I would certainly love it if you'd post that whole 'longer story that extends well into the post-Hogwarts years'. Even if the whole thing's A/U, I'd still read it and I'm sure I'd love the whole thing, canon-balled or not!
~shiiki

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144221Chapter: 1
What a fabulous start! I can just see things unfolding just as you've written. Keep it up!

Reviewer: HexnutDate: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144219Chapter: 1
Very nice. I haven't been seeing so much good new H/G lately so this hits the spot. And I like all the detail you included about other attacks, plaster, etc. Hope to see more pieces of this story soon.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144218Chapter: 1
This was a very moving and believable account of Ginny's last year. I can very well see Ginny being sullen and hostile towards the world; I loved Neville's role of being her rock and Luna's role as her refuge from the world, both characterisations made a lot of sense. Even the ending rang true; the interaction between Harry and Ginny was appropriately intense and happy. The idea of him sending his Patronus to see her each night was lovely.

I look forward to more excerpts from you.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: leiselilyDate: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144217Chapter: 1
I thoroughly enjoyed this, and I can't wait to read more. I really like your writing style and the way you write Ginny's POV is great. At last, someone writing Intelligent Ginny!

Reviewer: gryffindorgirl72000Date: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144215Chapter: 1
Yeah Alchemilla- you're back! :) I gasped when I saw your name! Loved the one shot - very upset about Mr. Weasley though! I'd love more!!!!!

Caroline

Reviewer: lanaDate: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144214Chapter: 1
I was so excited to see a story from you. But apparently all Ginny did in her sixth year is waiting for Harry to return? How disappointing and out of character!

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144208Chapter: 1
It's good to see another story from you & I hope you do post the continuation. This bit just leaves me wanting more!

Reviewer: MilayaDate: 2006-07-16
Reviewid: 144206Chapter: 1
Oh, this was lovely! I've been looking for good post-Hogwarts fics that were written after HBP, and I haven't been able to find any, but this one was just fantastic! Ginny's character is very well-drawn; her impatience and wish to be with Harry et al is very realistic and in-character. The ending is a bit dramatic, but it fits well with the rest of the story.

I would love to read the longer story, despite the future AU-ness of it. Are you planning to post it on any fanfiction site? If so, please let me know, because I do really want to read it!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --