The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Revelation I:I
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: SnowyowlDate: 2007-03-07
Reviewid: 147396Chapter: 1
This was written so beautifully,and you are right,it is very strange but in a good way.I look for ward to reading more of your works.

Reviewer: WhimsyDate: 2006-10-25
Reviewid: 145937Chapter: 1
This is an amazing little story! So atmospheric and so very evocative. You make that glade sound old, *very* old, and certain phrases really stood out, like "It made you feel like even your thoughts would be overheard; like your hopes, your fears, your deepest desires and ambitions would be taken forever and absorbed into the infinite silence." Brilliant description, really; it conjures up such a rich image without having to go into too much detail, just as you do when describing Death himself, with his misty hair and bleak, empty eyes. What I really liked about him, though, was the contradictions in him: he looks young, yet he is old; his body is white, yet his eyes are black; he makes a grass chain like a child would, yet he is anything but a child. And he seems so calm and harmless at the same time as being so utterly dangerous and threatening.

I really enjoy the way you've described Harry here, too; he's drawn to the silence of the glade, feeling as though it holds some meaning for him if only he can divine its secrets. He's suffered more than most from death, after all. And I like how he reacts to the sudden appearance of the stranger, initially with shock and then with an odd kind of acceptance, a sort of instinctive knowledge. And him giving the stranger the blade of grass was a very nice touch indeed. I think perhaps his sudden outburst about his parents and Sirius and Dumbledore dying was a little much, but I do like how the stranger says that none of them are special in the end, and that they all come to him the same. Death is the great equaliser, I suppose.

It's interesting that much of what passes between them goes unsaid, but it's there nonetheless; there's no instance of the word "death" at all after the initial quotations, but it's obvious to both Harry and the reader that that's what it's all about, and it's as if the very glade itself reflects that - silent, still, dead. Perhaps frozen in the moment of its demise, preserved like a mosquito trapped in amber, but dead nonetheless. That's why it feels like sacred ground, why it felt so daring to break the surface of the still waters of the lake.

Harry is the exception, of course - burning with life, with emotions and fears and questions. I really like how he asks about his parents and Sirius, and how he accepts what the stranger tells him; it hurts, yes, but it also soothes somehow, and of course it helps emphasise that he's still alive to feel those sensations.

I hope that garland was for Voldemort, though, and not Harry! :-)

Reviewer: queeniorekDate: 2006-07-31
Reviewid: 144583Chapter: 1
Very chilling, Ada. I quite like your depiction of Death. He was very eerie and aloof. I really liked the whole 'no one is special' thing. Most excellent.

-queeniorek
(p.s. You're not going insane. I accidently posted my story under my beta's name (SHE) and then got it switched to my author page. Sorry for the confusion.)

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-07-31
Reviewid: 144577Chapter: 1
I'm not quite sure what to say, but this fic is very beautifully written. I can tell that it means a lot to you, and I felt like I was tiptoing into a secret place while reading it. Your description of the place was very vivid; I could see it quite clearly in my head.

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144548Chapter: 1
Eeeenteresting. I like it.

I think that grass really isn't that surprising at all. Psalm 90:4-6 (NIV):

" 4 For a thousand years in your sight
are like a day that has just gone by,
or like a watch in the night.

5 You sweep men away in the sleep of death;
they are like the new grass of the morning-

6 though in the morning it springs up new,
by evening it is dry and withered."

Had a nice laugh at the end. "Bummer of a job, though, eh?" That was followed, of course, by a sobering thought. "You think so, Harry Potter?" Somehow, just being so completely named really reminds us that death, of course, visits us all.

Reviewer: HinkypunkmumDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144413Chapter: 1
Well! Finally, Harry actually 'meets' Death. Personally. And though afraid, he remains unafraid and opens the lines of communication first with his offer of a blade of grass.

I liked this very much Ada. Very much. Although, like Harry I am curious...who was that chain for? *shudders a little*

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-07-22
Reviewid: 144363Chapter: 1
I wondered where this story was going, but then I suddenly understood it. I thought Harry's encounter with the Reaper was atmospheric and thought provoking. It also reminded me of that biblical phrase "all flesh is grass". Harry's lack of fear was understandable, given how many times he has come close to meeting this boy, as was Ron and Hermione's reaction to the place. Is there meant to be something in the fact it's Ravenclaw's resting place?

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-07-22
Reviewid: 144344Chapter: 1
Oops, I meant this one. I found this interesting and ambitious. It's very well-written and I like it more on second reading. I wasn't sure about Harry's characterisation at times. A few of his phrases "two knuts short of a sickle" and "bummer of a job" for example, seemed for Ron-ish to me for some reason! I really liked the bit where he remarks bitterly that everyone thinks he's special. I actually think you could have made more of Harry's anger at that point and his sensation of the words being pulled out of him against his will ...

Overall, I found this story eerily haunting and a definite hook to make me want to read more of your writing!

Hope you don't mind the concrit *gnaws* - and that you can take it as the compliment it's meant as :)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-21
Reviewid: 144322Chapter: 1
Most Excellent The Reaper.

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-07-20
Reviewid: 144306Chapter: 1
"there was no life here - at least, no life that passed in the way life should," -well put. i like your willingness to write characters that are strange and interesting, and not always easy to understand. i don't think i care for harry's characterization in this fic though, as i don't believe that he would be so easily emotional about the deaths of his friends, he doesn't get personal with just anybody. death however was quite lovely, he set a sort of placid blanket over the whole story.

Reviewer: Falling DampsDate: 2006-07-20
Reviewid: 144302Chapter: 1
Wow, you weren't kidding when you said this was a unique story! I think you're right... I've certainly never seen anything like it in the HP fandom! I liked this very much, partly because I think you hit the nail right on the head when it comes to Harry here. If he ever were to run into Death, I could very easily imagine that he would respond exactly as you depict it, from his uneasiness to his curiosity to his slightly irreverent comment at the end. Great characterization!

I see what you mean about it being up for personal interpretation... if I might ask, how do YOU interpret it?

You also had some very vivid descriptions in here - I could easily picture the creepy young man, sitting on the ground, making his garlands out of grass... *shivers* I especially liked this line:
<i>he stayed and didn't move from his spot even when the young man rose with an unsettling grace and began to walk towards him across the water, his unsullied feet making not a ripple upon its black surface.</i>

Excellent little story, Ada! It's off the beaten track, but certainly well worth it.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-07-20
Reviewid: 144296Chapter: 1
Fab4Mum: Oh! I should have made that a little more clear. It's not that personal to me (I'm fortunate enough not to have suffered any deaths of those close to me - though I have been to a fair few funerals). I hope that revelation doesn't detract from the piece. :) I really meant that I thought most people would have their own, personal interpretation of it, depending on how they see the series panning out, on how they see the characters themselves, and - as you so rightly pointed out - that the series is chock full of wonderful symbolism.

Thanks for the review. It was a good'un. :)

Rugi: You utter, utter genuis! This version of Death appears in a lot of my original one-shots, and I have no idea where the grass came from (it goes right back to the first one I ever wrote with him in it). Thanks for the referece! *squirrels it away for future use*

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-07-20
Reviewid: 144289Chapter: 1
Wow! I really like this, but I'm not sure what to say. I wish I knew why it was personal to you, although it's none of my beeswax. I wrote a story that was personal to me after my mom passed away. Anyway, this feels like an homage to the fact that the HP series, in my opinion, is rich with powerful symbolism. Absolutely beautiful and haunting.

Reviewer: RugiDate: 2006-07-19
Reviewid: 144271Chapter: 1
Hmmmm... An such a beautiful and lyrical encounter with Death. I love the little touches, the primal fear Harry feels (how human!), combined with the knowledge that he should not fear too much (or he'd be Voldemort). I also loved the point which was made that no one is special - all men die.

When I read that Death was weaving grass chains I thought of this bit in Psalm 103:15-16:

"As for man, his days are like grass;
As a flower of the field, so he flourishes
For the wind passes over it, and it is gone,
And its place remembers it no more."

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --