The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Win
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145821Chapter: 1
Of course not!

I loved this. I can cope with a Tom Riddle who lusts after a girl, and even a Tom Riddle who enjoys discussing things with a girl, but not a Tom Riddle who succumbs to the temptation to behave empathically to a girl. He would resist most sternly.

And a girl who can redeem him by the power of her infatuation? What rubbish!

I think your story gives it straight to anyone who might dare to believe otherwise.

Reviewer: lemondrops8Date: 2006-08-30
Reviewid: 145075Chapter: 1
ulgh! voldemort fluff... *shiver*. the writing was done extremely well. Halfway through i wanted to stop, totally creeped out but i think it portrayed voldemort like he would probably be.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145007Chapter: 1
Haha, excellent.

Reviewer: hollynicityDate: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144851Chapter: 1
Ok if any kind of fluff was possible about Tom, THIS WAS IT! Way to go! He's so sinister, I love it!!

Reviewer: Suburban House ElfDate: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144686Chapter: 1
"'Interesting' , he thought...'how things change in the shadows.' He gripped his quill more tightly. He preferred the black."

Re-reading this very, very clever ficlet, I was struck by how neatly that one sentence sums up your characterisation of Tom. Here's the proof that, even if Lord Voldemort doesn't have the capacity to love, he at least was once *curious* about the way that love can soften our perceptions. Unfortunately, because your characterisation is ultimately so true to canon, Tom decides that his newfound knowledge is best ignored :-D.

I love the way you create suspense. When you tell us about Tom drawing in a quick breath, or tearing his eyes away from Elizabeth, you give your readers hope that Tom might be capable of tender feelings. I actually found myself wishing for this, even though I knew that your fic's ending is the only possible one.

Thanks for writing this, moonette!

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144546Chapter: 1
“He raised his eyebrows, just a bit. She nodded back, almost imperceptibly. It was done.”

That was neat. I like it.

“Interesting , he thought...how things change in the shadows. He gripped his quill more tightly. He preferred the black.

Another neat line. I like that one, too.

Oh, man, EXCELLENT ending. I loved that. A choice. Throughout I was thinking, “No, no, Tom! You’re a sociopath, don’t do it, don’t fall in love!” and then…blam, there it is. I can rest easy in the knowledge that Tom Riddle is who he is. Nicely done.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144545Chapter: 1
Nice.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-07-29
Reviewid: 144542Chapter: 1
"Is it possible to write Tom Riddle fluff? --------- Of course not! ;)"

I agree with you wholeheartedly, Moonette, but this is a great effort nonetheless. Despite the fact that I can't imagine Tom ever having normal teenage urges, this one-shot was extraordinarily well-written. You craft very vivid images - I could see the fire in the Common Room flickering and dancing before my mind's eye, I could smell Powell's perfume, I could feel Riddle's discomfort.

Fabulously written, as I said.

My favourite bits?

"He raised his eyebrows, just a bit. She nodded back, almost imperceptibly. It was done."

"He watched the flames in the hearth for a moment, then followed the play of light to her hair. The yellow of the firelight softened the black sheen of it into a deep chocolate. She tilted her head away from the fire, lost in concentration, and her hair turned black again."

Brilliantly done!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144471Chapter: 1
I love the rich sensuous detail of your writing. The reactions of the characters and their surroundings really come alive. I really loved the description, near the beginning, of Riddle's eyes "grazing" over the class. I had this image of Riddle's sharp gaze almost tearing at the outer layer of the people present, looking inside them. Of course, I suppose "graze" has other meanings, but that's what it evoked for me!

And then added to this you have Riddle's inner voice, which you capture in perfect tone. Your great use of italics really hammers this home.

The concept is great, too. Your ending is perfect. The warm, fluffy, happy feelings which Tom feels at the thought of others falling beneath him, is eerily presented and very evocative. Great story!

(Random asides: I read "The Magic Bean" again yesterday. It's still my favourite oneshot. I just love it to bits.

And, when I mentioned you had a new story out, Hez nearly throttled me eagerly with a great shout of "OLIVER!!!". I think she's a mite eager. Not to put the pressure on or anything! *wink*)

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144467Chapter: 1
*shudders*

I remember reading this the first time 'round and it gave me shivers then. Its a testament to your writing abilities to have someone as evil as Tom Riddle come off with feelings and urges the same as someone his age.

Great great Job

~Hez

P.S. WHERE IS OLIVER?

*winks*

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144447Chapter: 1
Moonette, I was happy to see this posted. I hope you know this fic is exquisite, rich as dark chocolate. It's the imagery that makes it. Just some things that stuck out: his eyes following the crumpled parchment in morbid curiosity, the cool eyebrows and nods of partnership, the springs of the couch (I felt like I was sitting there), and the play of firelight on her hair. But the fact that her touch burned (the closest to love he'll propably ever get) is a nice tie with canon. Well done!

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144446Chapter: 1
This is funny. Riddle struggles against the concept of love! It is beautiful.

You have done a lovely job. Thank you for this piece.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: CharleyDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144436Chapter: 1
I've been abusing you throughout reading the fic, wondering, isn't it the entire point of the entire book that there is NO Tom Riddle fluff? Wouldn't Harry be completely screwed if there was? That would suck for him, wouldn't it?!
And then there was the end. Pfew!
Back to loving your fics again, squee!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2006-07-25
Reviewid: 144419Chapter: 1
Ooooh, well done, moonette. You have captured young Tom Riddle's character perfectly -- the arrogance, the gamesmanship. And the ending fits him so well. ~~She might want nothing to do with him. But he would have won.~~ NICELY DONE!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144410Chapter: 1
I love the title! So perfect and so chilling since we know that Tom will win like this many times. *shudder* LOL on your author's note. Tom and fluff do not mix, that's for sure. A wonderful, creepy "missing moment."

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144408Chapter: 1
wow. my mouth is dry. that was amazing, I giggled a few times invisioning Christen Coulsen in some parts... wicked. I loved it, and the ending was..Perfect! and Mary read through this, always a good thing. :)

Reviewer: aurora330Date: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144404Chapter: 1
somtimes i wonder though of some persistent beautiful pure blood girl had shown him attention and didnt let him get away with being a jerk and showed him affection if he would have turned out different

Reviewer: corvidaeDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144397Chapter: 1
oh what a perfect ending! that's exactly what would give tom a real warm feeling: winning. tom riddle fluff is certainly a difficult task isn't it? i think someone would have to skew their ideas of what is acceptably mushy, for example the mushy twisted feelings he could get when hurting someone. for HIM that would be fluff.

Reviewer: cranstonDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144395Chapter: 1
Didn't somebody once say that it is our choices that make us what we are? Lovely study of how Riddle gets through that awkward period of his life and keeps himself on the path to becoming what he will become.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-24
Reviewid: 144390Chapter: 1
Interesting...
Reminds me of a bible verse re the incarnation of Christ; "who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin." You've described a sort of anti-incarnation, one who "in every respect has been made as we are, yet without love." You've shown wonderfully well how Riddle refuses human warmth for the sake of his cold desires, contrasting the arousal of feeling in him with the cold malice of his mind.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --