The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: tangerineDate: 2007-07-19
Reviewid: 148606Chapter: 1
I know this is an older story, but I seriously love it. It's incredibly sweet without being saccharine and you capture the characters perfectly. I really want to read Ron the Builder so I hope you haven't given it up!

Reviewer: XxLxXDate: 2006-12-06
Reviewid: 146387Chapter: 1
realy cool wish i could write like that but i'm fussy and don't like 1st person, that was great.

Reviewer: Kaity PotterDate: 2006-11-18
Reviewid: 146227Chapter: 1
wow it was really good i liked the story !

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-09-05
Reviewid: 145212Chapter: 1
The first-person POV gives this an almost melancholy atmosphere but in a good way. Hermione mourning her past and welcoming the future. I loved this perfect R/Hr moment:

~"Do you want to catch the bouquet or not?"
This seems like an important question. "Hmm. Maybe next year," I say vaguely.
He laughs. "I'll hide you then."

Another favourite bit was the conversation between Harry and Hermione. You captured their relationship beautifully - Harry's slight impatience but needing Hermione's blessing nevertheless, the touching way he looks up to and relies on her as a kind of 'big sister' - spot-on. The only thing missing was Ron :(. I completely understood Hermione's impatience!

Then the perfect low-key entrance:
~"So am I," says a familiar voice.
*melts*

Reviewer: h2oDate: 2006-09-05
Reviewid: 145202Chapter: 1
Lovely prequel.. what else can one say? It's beautiful really, and I mean that in the best rugged fluffer type of way. Right. So.. I hope this WIP "Ron the Builder" is on its way cus' if this is an inkling of what it's gonna be like I can't wait :D Great read, as always! Keep it up St. Margarets, your fics always make me happy :)

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144975Chapter: 1
St. Margaret's,

*sigh*

How is it you can take the most canon characters and weave these lovely tales around them? I mean these are usually characters that I would not touch with a ten foot pole, but you do such a lovely lovely lovely job with them.

Wow.

Just...wow.

~Hez

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-08-16
Reviewid: 144822Chapter: 1
So nicely told - what a pity you couldn't take part in the challenge.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2006-08-15
Reviewid: 144810Chapter: 1
Oh, how I enjoyed this. It went from making me laugh to making me (almost!) cry in the space of a paragraph or so. It was strange at the beginning to read from a first-person point of view, but unexpectedly effective. I really like the way all your characters interact.
Thanks so much for sharing!
Best wishes,
Gufa

Reviewer: RevellynDate: 2006-08-12
Reviewid: 144775Chapter: 1
It strikes me as true that you have managed to pinpoint the exact strength and power of the Weasley family - their allencompassing love for one another, and incorporate it into this brilliant prequel of a story that I'm looking forward to read.

Reviewer: fitzetteDate: 2006-08-07
Reviewid: 144665Chapter: 1
*sniffle*

I had absolutely no idea that you wrote such a brilliant Hermione. Not suprising of course. This is the perfect portrait of the Weasley family; tender, loving, funny, together. Really really wonderful.

Reviewer: SongbirdDate: 2006-08-04
Reviewid: 144631Chapter: 1
Fabulous. All I need to say. Hermione's voice is SO pitch-perfect and you manage to keep the "dramatic events" drama-free, down-to-earth and lovely. Just like the Weasleys. Thank you.

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-07-31
Reviewid: 144585Chapter: 1
Oh, I liked this VERY much, St Margarets. I loved how all three major events happened on the same day. And:
'"We name him Philippe after my father," Fleur explains. "And William for his second name."

"Phil's a brilliant name," Fred says.

"His name is Philippe," Fleur says severely.

Bill raises his eyebrows.'

Very well written, I especially liked Bridezilla!Ginny and Fertility-Godess!Fleur. Good one,

Angelina W

Reviewer: chocolatequeenDate: 2006-07-31
Reviewid: 144584Chapter: 1
*bows* This was amazing. I'm assuming this is also sort of more backstory for Ron the Builder? Anyway... I loved the way you developed Hermione through the story. At the beginning, she's unsure about this whole grown-up thing, and getting married seems so rash... Then she starts to understand why they want to get married, realizes fully how much she missed Ron, she's just... letting herself feel all the things she ignored the year she was gone.

The end just cinches the whole story up though. She finally gets it, and now that she does, she's ready. *sigh* Beautiful.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-07-31
Reviewid: 144582Chapter: 1
I rather liked it.

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144556Chapter: 1
Aww, that was lovely. You captured Hermione's voice here beautifully, and I liked how you wrote her feelings of disturbance at her friends being married so young, even though it was right for them. You portray the family dynamics here very subtly, with Hermione's parents making her take a gap year (they are obviously aware of their daughters tendenc to over-do it), to the tensions between Molly and Fleur, the twins teasing Charlie about dragons (my favourite bit. *Love* how you write Charlie, and the twins) to Bill keeping the twins in line. You create a rich tapestry of interconnecting relatinships and the characters all seem warm and real - and canonical which is always good :).

I loved how you portrayed the R/Hr relationship - Hermione's description of Ron's hug was just lovely, and tipsy!Hermione was so sweet. I love how you portray romance without romantisizing it too much - 'Bridezilla', lol. I am definitely looking forward to Ron the Builder!

Reviewer: Mr Flying FingersDate: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144547Chapter: 1
Nicely done! A lot going on here, but you wove it in and out with aplomb and fineese.

Reviewer: ViperXIVDate: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144482Chapter: 1
Great story. I havn't read many in Hermione's PoV, but I really liked it. I thought it fit really well.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144477Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed reading this, it was definitely Hermione's voice without her getting too emotional or negative, because she's matured. I also like the fact Ron had left things out of his letters, partly because he wouldn't think of it, partly because even when he did... how do you tell someone those things in a letter? It just isn't good enough. I also liked the cameos from the other characters, seen through Hermione's eyes.

Bridezilla, the Fertility Goddess, the Mother-in-Law - that made me laugh a lot.

I'm looking forward to "Ron the Builder" even more than before!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: TarsieSDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144476Chapter: 1
St Margaret, as always I like your stories. This one was very sweet in how it portrays Hermione finally coming to terms with her feelings.

Brava!

Tarsie

Reviewer: cranstonDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144472Chapter: 1
As always, I love your use of the delicious subtlety of ordinary speech.

"Do you want to catch the bouquet or not?"
This seems like an important question. "Hmm. Maybe next year," I say vaguely.
He laughs. "I'll hide you then."

And so they speak volumes about their relation.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144470Chapter: 1
So you got back too? :D. Anyways, this was a great one-shot! reminds me a lot of my sisters wedding... the outdoors, the tent (the ringbarrer throwing up all over one of the bridesmaids...). everything went together very nicley, and i'm glad percy was there. the ending was lovely! and i hope you win the challange! your stories are always winners in my book! one thing though... Charlie wasnt married, :( poor charlie! He needs somthing special! (other than a dragon bahahaa)

Reviewer: springdoveDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144466Chapter: 1
It's really a shame this story was disqualified b/c it is fabulous! I love the way you've used POV, and the feelings that someone has when their friends start getting married (which I keenly identify with) are right on. This is a beautiful little fic; thanks for sharing it!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144461Chapter: 1
That's our St. Margarets. A challenge with the choice of three dramatic events - and you use all three. Quite excellently, I might add, and with a lot of humour to lighten the mood. Also a very good use of first person.

A real pity it was disqualified.

Reviewer: Sinopa2Date: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144454Chapter: 1
I couldn't help myself saying "Oh yay!" out loud when I saw you'd posted - and this doesn't disappoint! Brilliant stuff, and very funny. Keep it up! (please!)

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144453Chapter: 1
Fantastically, typically, most intensely enjoyably St. Margarets. Thank you.

Reviewer: MadHatterLovesGinnyDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144451Chapter: 1
That was a very good story. I love how you put most of it in Hermione's point of view. The fact that you used all three dramatic events was very touching, as was Aunt Muriel dying, because my grandmother passed away in her sleep a month ago. Anywho, I liked this story, and I will enjoy reading the sequal. Keep writing!

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144450Chapter: 1
Lovely! Thanks for not killing off any of the Weasleys - I really don't think they'll all survive but it's far nicer to believe that they will. I liked that you had such an unsentimental Bridezilla of a Ginny, I really can't see her having a personality transplant just because it's her wedding day. Fleur was spot on as well. She is still getting on people's nerves but still seeing things very clearly, ie "'e is lucky - my son - since love runs strong in dis family" - just as she did in HBP.

Thanks again, TDU.

Reviewer: outofthecupboardDate: 2006-07-26
Reviewid: 144449Chapter: 1
Fantastic!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --