The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Locket
Review(s): 57

Reviewer: HermnyDate: 2007-12-31
Reviewid: 150281Chapter: 5
How did you know about HOrcruxes if the 7th book hadnt been written yet?

Reviewer: Cybele AdamDate: 2007-01-11
Reviewid: 146833Chapter: 6
I guess the last chapter has been there for a long time... Sorry I didn't think of coming to check before.
It was very interesting. ^_^ I just wish they could manage to send the book back to the shop because...well, they stole it. Which was the only thing to do (and they had the best reasons in the world, of course) but I can't imagine them keeping a stolen book and not even feel a little guilty about it.
The part in Fred and George's shop was funny again. Pink paint... lol I really like the way you write them and their funny ideas. ^^ (Well, I like everything you write, anyway.)
In short, I liked this chapter as much as the previous ones and, of course, I'll read the next story too, so "see" you soon.
Cybčle

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-12-11
Reviewid: 146425Chapter: 6
I really like the way you're developing this story, with an equal mixture of romance, drama and suspense. My favourite part was the bookshop: they still have a lot to learn, don't they?

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2006-11-12
Reviewid: 146157Chapter: 6
Feeling the Horcrux transfer through Harry was a great climax to the story. It also was nice to see the teenagers forget that magical businesses have magical alarms. It would have been much simpler just to pay for it. Incredible how people let their pride do foolish complications at times.

All in all, a wonderful final chapter to a wonderful story. It's also a testament of your skills that you can maintain the lowkey flavour of the fic quite consistently and believably. Congratulations!

The Highwayman

Reviewer: dunsirnDate: 2006-11-03
Reviewid: 146057Chapter: 6
Very good. This was an entertaining hunt and find for the destruction method for Horcruxes

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-11-02
Reviewid: 146036Chapter: 6
An excellent little tale. Thanks.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-11-01
Reviewid: 146030Chapter: 6
What a great final, full of action! Besides my favourite Fred and George's cloaks, which really are an ingenious invention and truly imaginable, I liked the burglar spell you put on the bookshop door AND the way the trio got out of it. What I like most is that the three of them are doing the hunt together, it's not like in many other fics where Harry is just accompagnied by Ron and Hermione as mere by-standers most of the time. Involving them, showing their strenghts and interaction - thanks for that, it makes me crossing my fingers you'll update soon with the third part.
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-11-01
Reviewid: 146026Chapter: 6
Wow, that was unexpected ... simple, but an elegant solution! I enjoyed their foray into Knockturn Alley - the whole world around me kind of just fell away when I was reading that, I got so absorbed, so it was a shock to reach the end and realise I was still in my Business Law class. Oops. :)

Anyway, thanks for a great chapter!

"Hands off my wife" -- *sighs happily*

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-10-23
Reviewid: 145887Chapter: 5
"He didn’t know how to explain it, but the locket had triggered a feeling in him that reminded him of his second year at Hogwarts, when he had had the diary in his possession. It felt strangely familiar, as if the locket was an old toy he had lost a long time ago and had now finally recovered."

I really, really like this, mainly because it's something I would never have thought of. If it were me writing, I would have dashed off something sinister, but in a way, this is even more unnerving. It's so harmless. It's just a thing, though one that feels familiar, like something from his past that he doesn't quite know what to do with. Good start, and a nice take on the Horcrux.

I like that Harry was surprised by his ability when he conjured the hammer from thin air. It's just like him. Good characterisation. ^_^
I also like Hermione's dialogue here: “Maybe Salazar Slytherin put some spell on it ... or one of his ancestors, they must all have been powerful ... or maybe Voldemort himself – it doesn’t matter, we just can’t break it. But there must be another way, some spell to extract the bit of soul, move it to another object perhaps...” It reflects the swiftness of her mind, her thought process leaping gracefully from one potential useful line of enquiry to another and then another. Very good yet again.

But Fred and George's invention! It's brilliant! *grin* I could be doing with one of those cloaks myself. I'd never have to worry about what I'm going to wear in the morning, or whether I was appropriately dressed or not. I wonder how much they are...?

Reviewer: Cybele AdamDate: 2006-10-23
Reviewid: 145883Chapter: 5
Oh, I knew it, this chapter is great too! And you imagined very amusing items for the twins' shop. ^^
Now I'll have to wait for the next part, like the other readers... Would you mind sending me a message to tell me when chapter 6 is here?
Keep up the good work - I know you will! Tot ziens. (Still can't say anything else in Dutch. ^_~)
Cybčle

Reviewer: Cybele AdamDate: 2006-10-23
Reviewid: 145882Chapter: 4
You really did a good job with this story (well, you do with every story, anyway). I liked this chapter as much as the previous ones and I'm sure the next one is very good too, so I'm going to read it without waiting more.

Reviewer: Cybele AdamDate: 2006-10-23
Reviewid: 145881Chapter: 3
I definitely love this story. So interesting, and plausible, and nicely written, too.
You managed to make Regulus sound not too good and not too bad, wich is perfect in this situation. Very good chapter indeed. ^_^
Going to read chapter 4 right now, of course...

Reviewer: Cybele AdamDate: 2006-10-23
Reviewid: 145880Chapter: 2
Oh, I should have known I wouldn't be able to stop reading after two chapters! I've got e-mails to write and a chapter of fic to revise but there's no way to stop reading now! I'm too curious. ^^
But, before going to see what happens in chapter 3, I want to tell you I love the way you write, and also that, in this chapter, I particularly like the part when Hermione is offended because Harry managed to open the wall with a simple spell after she tried a lot of complicated ones, because it sounds so...real. I mean, it's exactly the kind of things one would expect to find in the books. And it's amusing! ^^

Reviewer: Cybele AdamDate: 2006-10-23
Reviewid: 145879Chapter: 1
Dag! ^^
It's been a long time, but I didn't forget you had intention to write more about the horcruxes and I'm here to read at last.
So you're one of the numerous people who think that RAB is probably Sirius' brother... I like the idea, too. It's better than if it was someone we never heard about, and it's more logical, since J.K. Rowling is known to put clues everywhere in her books. Well, we'll see next year, I suppose. In the meantime, reading your version of the story is nice. ^_^
I'm going to read chapter 2 now.

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-10-18
Reviewid: 145793Chapter: 5
I loved Fred and George's products! Seems like a very well-crafted Disillusion Charm on those cloaks. Thanks for showing the twins' ingenuity!

The plot gets thicker and thicker. Of course the Horcrux is proving resistant to break! I don't really understand why Harry can feel the Horcrux, though I expect that'll be explained in due time. Could he feel the diary as well?

I'm glad you're going to be focusing on just the breaking of the Horcruxes; I'm not really too keen on reading seventh-year stories, myself!

Reviewer: dunsirnDate: 2006-10-17
Reviewid: 145787Chapter: 5
This is getting good. Can't wait for the return to Knockturn Alley

Reviewer: AirriDate: 2006-10-17
Reviewid: 145783Chapter: 5
*chuckles* Great story -- I'm liking it much better than I liked The Wand, to tell the truth.

Oh dran. I just swallowed my gum. Oh well.

Anyway... Brilliant Fred and George characterization, as well as ingenious joke shop items ideas.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-10-16
Reviewid: 145762Chapter: 5
I love Fred and George! Those cloaks of their sound genius, and definately helpful. This is beginning to sound like their trip to Knockturn Alley will be similar to Harry and Ron's trip to the Slytheriin Common Room second year. Only an hour. Should be interesting! Great chapter!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-10-16
Reviewid: 145756Chapter: 5
Well, you having said this ... this was a really cool chapter for/with the trio. And I'm satisfied they couldn't destroy the locket immediately :-) and therefore will have to do some research and thinking! I hope your update follows soon,
Sara

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2006-09-24
Reviewid: 145465Chapter: 4
Your Aberforth is exactly how I think he is.

I don't know if they would get the locket that easily, so if this isn't getting toward the end, I'd say that something important happens after getting the locket, and that may be just as important as the getting the locket. Or not, and I've just made myself into an idiot.

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-09-20
Reviewid: 145436Chapter: 4
Wow! I didn't think Aberforth would give it to him! (=

Reviewer: karaeleDate: 2006-09-20
Reviewid: 145431Chapter: 4
great story! can't wait to see more!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-09-20
Reviewid: 145426Chapter: 4
Thanks for sharing this well-written chapter - it's nice they could get hold of the locket so easily. In my opinion, however, this went too smoothly again: First, because I don't think everyone can just show up in Azkaban. Second, it doesn't fit that Harry got his answers straight away by blunt questions without Mundungus bargaining a bit. Third, the same goes for Aberforth: Maybe he could offer them more useful information since he seems to be well informed etc. But then, I understand pretty well, you would have to stretch out much more ... So, please, just continue writing your story, it's a very good one!
Sara

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2006-09-20
Reviewid: 145425Chapter: 4
Aberforth definitely comes off as an old bastard --a definite second hand lion. Well done on Aberforth's character, it's both Canon and he's fully fleshed out in your hand. Your --I mean-- *Her* main characters are not as fleshed out as they should be. You have a generic Harry, Hermione, and Ron; though I admit that Hermione suggesting to purchase the Locket in the final scene gave more substance to her character.

Your plot to the story flows well, I hope to see the conclusion of it.

The Highwayman.

PS: I do have one question (albeit not related to the work at hand): Will you be writing "The Godfather: Part Three" any time soon? Those tales are very sweet coming of age stories.

Reviewer: curlz87Date: 2006-09-20
Reviewid: 145424Chapter: 4
oh my!

What happens next?? Tell me!!

Pretty Please?

I love this story. It's fantastic!

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-09-20
Reviewid: 145422Chapter: 4
Aberforth, you old goat! (sorry) I like the idea that while Aberforth seems much less remarkable than his brother, they are similar in that they know their priorities. He may be a mysterious barman, but you've made him a wise one. However, I'm sure Dumbledore was much more fastidious with his laundering habits than his brother . . . particularly concerning cleaning rags . . . but hey! And poor Mundungus . . . makes me almost feel sorry for him. Eek! Nice creepy images. Good job!

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-09-20
Reviewid: 145418Chapter: 4
This chapter is short, sweet, and to the point. It gets the job done.

Nice job. Please write again soon.

---Miriam

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-09-19
Reviewid: 145417Chapter: 4
Wow... Your description of Azkaban was dark and scary and just generally full of horrible, unpleasant creepiness. I LOVED IT!! :) Especially the mention of the fact that the prisoners no longer even care there are creatures feasting on them while they are locked in their own private torment. Now that is scary. I take my hat off to you!

"Harry saw Hermione pull a disgusted face and shudder, and he knew they were wondering the same thing: whether that rag had been washed at all during the past two years."

It SO hasn't... *snigger*

And the ending is rather nice, I must say. I like Aberforth's casual and off-hand way of handing over the locket to Harry & co. It'd be just like him, I should think. :)

Can't wait until the next installment. Particularly to see how you're going to have them destroy the bloody thing. From what happened to Dumbledore both times he tried, I don't think it's going to be easy...

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-09-19
Reviewid: 145416Chapter: 3
"Sure, I knew that the Death Eaters killed people – it’s in the newspaper every day, it’s rather hard to miss – but I thought that was necessary. If the Mudbloods would just leave the wizarding world and go back to where they belong, I’d be happy. But they don’t, so they have to be killed. They don’t get the point otherwise. I don’t like killing, but as I said, I’m prepared to do anything in order to reach our goal, a world with only pure-blood wizards. If Mudbloods and blood traitors need to be killed in order to achieve that goal, so be it. I thought that was the way the Dark Lord worked. I didn’t know that the killing was just for fun."

This whole paragraph, I feel, might just sum up Regulus Black's attitude towards the whole Death Eater malarky perfectly. I just have this feeling that he was a nasty bit of work, in that he subscribed totally and utterly to the Pureblood mania of the Black family and others like them, but felt that the more psychotic Death Eater activities such as torturing people for the hell of it was all rather disgusting and beneath him (not to mention conflicts with his own skewed sense of morality). I think you've hit the nail on the head with this one, Birgit. Though Regulus was very lucky to have been able to follow the Dark Lord without him noticing... :)

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-09-19
Reviewid: 145415Chapter: 2
“Let’s try Regulus’ bedroom first,” Harry said, as they were standing in the hallway. “Do either of you know which one was his?”

It's a pity they couldn't ask Sirius... *sniff*

"Mundungus had even raided this smelly cupboard."

I don't know why, but this made me crack a smile. Dung really is hardcore, isn't he? *giggle*

I really liked the exchange between Harry and Moody. The question Harry asked the old Auror was inspired - as was Moody's rather cheeky retort. Very well characterised, there! :) And I cracked up at Harry's well-placed Reductor curse. It is true, Hermione. If you beat it, then just blow the bloody thing up, is what I say! :P But... *gasp*

“You’ve got to see this,” he said, a mixture of awe and disgust in his voice. “This is Regulus’ journal.”

Must... read... on!

Great chapter, Birgit. :)

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-09-10
Reviewid: 145283Chapter: 3
Hey Birgit!

Just finished these latest two chapters. :) I'm still reading when I can and I wanted to leave you a comment, albeit briefer than I'd like.

You really do write brilliantly and plan out your stories with exact detail. It must have felt creepy getting inside Rugulus' mind, but at least you only had to do it after his revelation about Voldemort!

I like the spell names, very creative. :) And I love that Harry used the obvious one that Hermione wouldn't have thought of. Just proves how well the three of them work as a team.

Most interesting is that now Harry knows that Kreacher has information about the Horcrux.

As always, you write suspense so well, and I can't wait to see what the next chapter holds.

Great work!

:wub:,

Jules

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145240Chapter: 3
Genius. Writing from Regulus' POV in a journal. And so very well interpreted too, just like an idealistic younger brother, with more of Sirius' bravado in him than he would let on. Point well made that Voldemort isn't in it for the "noble cause" anymore, and may never have been. I'm anxious to see if you include an explanation as to how Regulus meets his demise. Good stuff!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-09-04
Reviewid: 145177Chapter: 3
Actually, finding the diary was a lucky thing for the Trio - but then all the information they need within a few pages ... To my opinion this was too straightforward to be really convincing. Looks like they just have to ask Kreacher and the Black's library now ...
Though, the diary seems to be written in a great rush, which is just the emotional state I can imagine Regulus to have been in. But again, watching Voldemort's activities and gaining the locket went too easy. Wouldn't the Dark Lord have sensed the presence of another mind, for instance?

Reviewer: MadHatterLovesGinnyDate: 2006-09-02
Reviewid: 145138Chapter: 3
Wowzers. So that's why Kreacher's a loon. This was a mighty excellent chapter! Keep writing!

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-08-29
Reviewid: 145067Chapter: 3
Wow...that's all I can say....wow........that's exactly how i imagined regulus to be....

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2006-08-22
Reviewid: 144937Chapter: 2
I haven't read one of your stories in so long that I forgot how well you tell them! I'm really enjoying this and I'm glad you turned your talents to telling about R.A.B.

Reviewer: GufaDate: 2006-08-15
Reviewid: 144809Chapter: 2
No! I was just getting into it and you finished the chapter...I hope you'll be updating soon! :-) In other words, I'm really enjoying this search for the Horcruxes. I like the way you have Harry, Ron and Hermione complement each other to (eventually, I assume) reach their goal. Good job!

Reviewer: dunsirnDate: 2006-08-09
Reviewid: 144708Chapter: 2
You have certainly astered the art of the cliffhanger. I'll be interested to read this journal.

Reviewer: Baron Von KroggDate: 2006-08-09
Reviewid: 144707Chapter: 2
A very enjoyable fic so far. Now that Harry and Ron
and Hermione have looked over the whole Residence
the most important item is the Journal. What secrets
are in there. I guess a good wait will be very important as the next chapter is written.Very good write indeed.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144682Chapter: 2
Ooh, this is going to get interesting! I've been wanting to know more about Regulus. I like the secret rooms, though it's sad they tore apart that whole wall for nothing. Can't wait for the next chapter, I'm sure it will be great!

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144677Chapter: 2
this is a really good idea

Reviewer: MadHatterLovesGinnyDate: 2006-08-07
Reviewid: 144674Chapter: 2
His journal?! Are you serious?! I liked the idea of asking Moody for help. Seriously, though, his journal?! Awesome chapter! Keep writing!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-08-07
Reviewid: 144672Chapter: 2
A short chapter, but full of amusing moments. I particularly liked the exchange between Moody and Harry and Ron's comment on Hermione trying all these complicated spells. You keep the tension high as they go through all the obvious places and then find not what they wanted, but what they need.

Looking forward to finding out what's in Regulus's journal.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: fab4mumDate: 2006-08-04
Reviewid: 144632Chapter: 1
Hmm . . . something tells me Snape will be in here somewhere . . . nice start!

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-08-02
Reviewid: 144605Chapter: 1
I rarely read stories that have to do with Horcrux hunts, or that are next-book stories...but this is sounding like it could be a good story. I'll definately read more!

I liked the boys' reactions to Hermione's exclaimation that books won't help. My thoughts exactly!

Reviewer: DalfDate: 2006-07-31
Reviewid: 144576Chapter: 1
Ahhh I like this. I do hope when the time comes to destroy it, that you think of Dumbledores hand and do not overlook that Bill Wealsey is a professional Curse breaker. I have been waiting for someone to write a scene trying to get Bill to teachthem how to dispose of somethign really dangerious without telling him what it is. You know professional ethics, combined with knowing your youngest siblings are planning on messing with somethign very nasty. I am shocked that no one has written it yet.

Reviewer: magicaljulesDate: 2006-07-29
Reviewid: 144535Chapter: 1
Oooh, Birgit, this is a great start! :)

I got chills moving towards the end, even though I knew what it was gonna be, it was still really cool the way you had Hermione off looking and very natural to have Harry remember it that way.

You do the trio very well. It was also perfect for Ron to be just casually mentioning some wizarding thing that Harry and even Hermione weren't aware of, but Ron wasn't aware of the significance.

Wonderful job!

Can't wait to read more!

*hugs*

Jules

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-07-29
Reviewid: 144534Chapter: 1
A sequel to The Wand! Thank you, Birgit! I enjoyed that, and this certainly looks promising! You brought Regulus into the picture without making it feel clichéd, which was lovely!

Looking forward to more,
shiiki :)

Reviewer: InFabulaDate: 2006-07-29
Reviewid: 144533Chapter: 1
An excellent start. I love Harry and Ron's double-take at Hermione's comment "Books aren't going to help".

And Regulus's middle name is spot on. Look forward to the updates!

Reviewer: MadHatterLovesGinnyDate: 2006-07-29
Reviewid: 144529Chapter: 1
After I finished the sixth book, and was thinking about it, I thought of Regulus Black as a possibility! Good series. I can't wait to read more. Keep writing!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-07-29
Reviewid: 144527Chapter: 1
A very interesting beginning. I always like watching Harry work things out; Ron and Hermione were both in character here, Ron giving out little nuggets of information while Hermione came up with the ideas. Great stuff.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144502Chapter: 1
This looks interesting. I like how you have captured the trio.

I am interested to see where you go with this. Thank you for creating a piece that intrigues me so much.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144500Chapter: 1
YES! Finally a fanfic who shares my suspicions that RAB is Regulus Black! PLEEAASSSEEE post again!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144497Chapter: 1
I need to begin by saying that I think this is a very difficult realisation to write, because every fan who is even remotely connected to fandom has heard and has probably been convinced by the Regulus Black is R.A.B. theory. And therefore almost every single book 7 or Horcrux fic has this moment of realisation written into it (at least that I've read).

So that is part of the reason why I am so impressed by this chapter. It was a breath of fresh air, using elegant simplicity and some really lovely plot devices. I greatly enjoyed Ron's knowing about the Registry of names and Harry and Hermione and not doing. I loved the subtle nod to Harry in a Dumbledore role (people not being able to make decisions without him) and I absolutely adore the fact that it was Harry's empathy that triggered the realisation.

I just hope that JKR writes it as well! Looking forward to the rest of the story!

Reviewer: dunsirnDate: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144496Chapter: 1
Nifty I like where this is heading thus far.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144491Chapter: 1
Hah! Now you know how I feel when one little idea gets way out of hand and turns into a series! :-P

This is amazing as always, Birgit. I really, really liked "The Wand" and I think that, if R.A.B is Regulus Black (which I think is true) then this will be pretty close to how Jo will write Harry realising it. I'm guessing Harry will be going after Mundungus and the Slytherin locket first?

Can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-07-27
Reviewid: 144487Chapter: 1
This was a very well-written chapter, you kept the right tone and I got hooked from the first line on - I hope this Horxcrux hunt will develop in a long, long story!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --