The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 9

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-18
Reviewid: 146491Chapter: 1
More Please.

Reviewer: mullvaneyDate: 2006-08-10
Reviewid: 144736Chapter: 1
Very interesting! I haven't really thought too much about Lily and Petunia's relationship. Little Petunia doesn't seem to mind being second-best, but to be completely excluded was just the end, wasn't it?

Nicely written, can't wait to see where you take this!

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-08-03
Reviewid: 144622Chapter: 1
Thank you for making Lily a "real" older sister and not the ever understanding Saint Lily. I thought this was a very charming start to a story that we all know had less than a charming ending.

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2006-08-01
Reviewid: 144593Chapter: 1
I always thought Petunia was older than Lily. For one, Lily was quite young when she died, only 23 or so. Dudley is a month older than Harry. James and Lily may have leapt straight from Hogwarts to wedding rings to having a baby with barely a pause for breath in between, but that doesn't sound like Petunia at all. For two, if Petunia had spent however long after Lily got her letter anticipating a letter of her own, wanting to be a witch, I don't think she'd be so contemptuous of magic now.

If Petunia is older than Lily, that solves both those problems. Petunia at thirteen or fourteen would know as soon as Lily got her letter that there was no way Petunia would be getting one, which is a recipe for jealousy. This also gives Petunia plenty of time to get out of school and meet Vernon and court and marry and give him time to establish himself in Grunnings before Dudley comes along.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144569Chapter: 1
Wow. This is a VERY interesting view of why Petunia hates all things magical - she was rejected and therefore had a fit of sour grapes.

Good job. I like what you have done.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144558Chapter: 1
Aw, this was really good. I can see Petunia's sadness turning into hate, for sure.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-07-30
Reviewid: 144555Chapter: 1
Sorry! For some reason, I thought Suburban House Elf wrote this fic...

Very odd.

I think I might be going insane...

Good fic, though, queeniorek. I liked it muchly! ^_^

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-07-29
Reviewid: 144540Chapter: 1
That was lovely, SHE. Just lovely. You've captured the Evans family dynamic and nailed it completely and utterly. I don't have anything to say by way of criticism, so I'll just list the parts that stood out for me.

I really liked that you made Lily the older sister: used to being the best, being irritated by her little sister always hounding her for her attention, being a bossy little know-it-all. It was perfect for Lily, exactly how I would imagine her.

"And next year, when you come to Hogwarts, you can bring her with you!"

Congratulations! You just made me feel for Petunia from the bottom of my heart. I don't think Lily ever really understood how much Petunia was hurt by not having the priviledge of going to Hogwarts, I really don't.

Great start, SHE! (I'm assuming there's more to come, because the fic is labelled "Chapter 1: Petunia")

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-07-29
Reviewid: 144539Chapter: 1
One word: Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.......

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --