The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Banebrewer
Review(s): 103

Reviewer: marigoldDate: 2008-09-16
Reviewid: 151116Chapter: 21
Oh my goodness. The ends are tied. In a matter of weeks I have read your fine stories. I knew it would have to end this way, but it still got me. I hate Umbridge more than ever. But how beautiful your weaving! You've fleshed out every part of your world, yet made it fit seamlessly into Rowling's. Oh my. Oh my. You're my new favorite author, so I'm going to have to keep an eye on you. I look forward to reading everything else you ever post. I cannot tell you how much I admire your dedication! Do you write original works? You should.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-11-03
Reviewid: 146060Chapter: 21
Wow. Another great piece of your story. I couldn’t stop reading it. Thank you for the wonderful read.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-11-03
Reviewid: 146052Chapter: 21
Dear Grace
I'm sorry it's taken me so long to read and review, but part of the reason, of course, was that I have grown to enjoy your characters very much, and had no desire to witness their end. Tis done, however, and very well done at that. Since last I reviewed you made Ariadne a prison-breaker, made Wolfsbane legal in Britain, made Veleta to be free and a Fenwick (incidentally, have you ever read Stubefied's most excellent "Muggles of Ottery St Catchpole" series around Benjy?)and made Dolores Umbridge into the most perversely evil person on the planet! At least Voldemort thinks clearly enough to see that what he is doing cannot be labelled 'good' any more.
The final end of Remus' family was quietly horrific. You do not say it, and barely show it, but you write him as though he is completely numb in those final chapters. Only Harry's voice seems to open up a new crack of real life in him. The increasing number of hooks back to canon you've been dropping in over these last chapters make that final sequence very believable. I very much want to go get PoA now so that I can read about Remus' return to life! I can't be anything but sorry that this series (and, more particularly, this family!) has come to an end, but I'll certainly be looking oout for anything else you write.
Thank you very much for such fantastic writing - and thanks to your family who have obviously given you lots to write about with so much warmth, and have given us your time so generously.
Blessings always.

Reviewer: Sannali aka MorwenDate: 2006-10-31
Reviewid: 146023Chapter: 1
Chapters 19 and 20 were just heartbreaking. I mean, I knew that Remus had to be losing his family sometime in the very near future of the story, but I had no idea how you were going to accomplish it, and the way it happened was more terrible than my worst imaginings. Your Umbridge is so loathesome -- there are no words for how truly vile and awful she is. **shudder**

Now that I've had some time to think about it, though, I can't help but applaud how well you set it up, beginning with Umbridge being responsible for denying the patent application in a face-to-face meeting, right down to the encounter with the Dementor in the forest in Transylvania.

In this final chapter of the saga, I enjoyed watching the crowd at Platform 9.75 through Remus's eyes and sharing his thoughts about how he can help and teach them. I'm happy to see that even though he feels like he must give up the dream of family happiness, he still realizes that there are other people to love and other ways to give and receive it. I'm so glad that you ended the final chapter on a note of hope and of turning upwards, on a sense of *beginning*, rather than one of *ending*.

I'll miss reading about Adriadne and her friends. I've really enjoyed all the background you've developed for Hestia (poor Ivor, I knew he was doomed from the moment he and Hestia began to flirt) and for Kingsley, the family relationships between Adriane and the canon pureblood families (and also Cousin Severus), and your amazing original characters.

I hope that I shan't miss seeing updates from you on the SQ New Fic List for long, though, since you say you're working on something new and "completely different" now. Chances are it's as "completely different" from "The Moon Cursers" as this was from "Turning the Corner", but I'm sure it will be just as brilliant and I look forward to its debut!

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 146006Chapter: 21
That was beautiful.

It is interesting how you had Remus think of all the people that were connected to himself and Arianne.

You did it beautifully.

Thank you.

Sincerely,
Miriam

Reviewer: AureliaDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145990Chapter: 21
I have continued to read your Moon-Cursers stories, but I am sorry to say I have become a very lax reviewer. This final installment was heartbreaking, but the tone you ended chapter 21 on made me happy again for Remus, knowing that there is still a hopeful world ahead of him. I really liked seeing all the students through Remus's eyes (and ears) on the platform and on the train because it really wraps up the multitude of characters that flowed through the story.

One question--was the implication that Veleta and Joe were married or was this spelled out somewhere else that I missed?

I really enjoy your writing and I hope to see your Remus again!

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145978Chapter: 21
When I left my last review, I hadn't realised there would be an epilogue. This is a more satisfying ending to your story as it has a begining, of sorts, for Remus and definitely of our, and Harry's, acquaintance with him. It's been a facinating and, at times, heart-breaking, journey. Apart from Remus and Ariadne's love story, I think I have enjoyed all your characters the best, and that despite a wonderfully intricate plot. I think I liked everyone, or at least how you wrote them as I didn't really warm to McNair! I particularly liked how you fleshed out Hestia and Kingsley to explain how they were in the Order and why Kingsley and Remus seemed to be quite long-time friends in "The Advance Guard" (at least that was the impression I got whilst reading it).

Thanks once more and I will look forward to your next story.

TDU

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145975Chapter: 21
I just finished the last three chapters in one sitting and all I can say is wow. My stomach is in a knot, I'm crying, and you have done an amazing job. It hurt so badly to know that it was going to end soooo badly but that it must. I'm impressed. Thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145971Chapter: 21
What a roller coaster of emotions in these last two chapters! I'm glad you ended on a hopeful note after the despair of the previous chapter - life and love can go on after loss.
I'll be looking out for more stories from you.

Reviewer: chocaholicDate: 2006-10-28
Reviewid: 145967Chapter: 21
Ah, at last Remus will find some solace - even if only for the school year. Still, my heart just aches for him and for all he has lost. And it makes perfect sense why he looks so exhausted and bedraggled at the start of POA. Wonderful, but painful, story!

Reviewer: ceolmharDate: 2006-10-28
Reviewid: 145964Chapter: 20
This last chapter almost made me cry. Although Ariadne's and the children's deaths would bring this back into canon, it was so, so sad... I cannot possible imagine the pain that Remus must have gone through. The last four sentences were so impossibly sad - I can only hope that the next chapter will be at least a bit happier. Will this be the final enstallment in the Moon-Cursers?

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2006-10-25
Reviewid: 145930Chapter: 20
A thousand cheers for Joe, a thousand cheers for Remus's best line abotu baby-making ("It usually requires two of us.") But a thousand boos for Dolores Umbridge. And unfairness. And the stoopidest auror-logic ever. I have read the last two chapters as fast as humanly possible because they're so unhappy and unfair. How on earth did you write them and then have to read them slowly again and again for editing? It's just so awful, especially about the children. Mathew was such a nifty little boy. And then somehow Remus is blaming himself. I really hope things look up soon.

Reviewer: Deborah PetersDate: 2006-10-25
Reviewid: 145929Chapter: 20
Grace, I must confess my offense against you--I've been eagerly reading every chapter of this story as it has come out, yet I haven't reviewed it. It's wonderful, it's believable, it's well-characterized, it's well-planned...and this last chapter broke my heart. I knew something had to happen to bring Remus's life back to canon, but I never thought it would be this. It's wonderful.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-10-24
Reviewid: 145915Chapter: 20
If I wasn't at work, I would cry.

It makes so much sense. Poor Remus Lupin. I want to hug him and tell him it will be okay.

You have drawn all of your characters very well, and you have given a very plausible history to Remus.

You have done a brilliant job with this fiction. Thank you for sharing it.

Sincerely,
Miriam

Reviewer: Professor MDate: 2006-10-24
Reviewid: 145914Chapter: 20
Your writing skill is best measured today by the great sadness I feel having read this chapter. I’ve actually been anxious (for the Lupins) and furious (with Umbridge) since I read the last chapter and guessed what was coming. We all knew canon required this type of chapter….and you describe the events and heartbreak so well. Nonetheless, I grieve with Remus, Veleta, Kingsley, and Smethwyck. “He knew he must never again try to have a family” may just be the saddest line I have ever read.

From the first time Remus saw “Miss MacDougal”in her window seat I have enjoyed each detail and event you have described. Thank you for creating and sharing such a wonderful series. You have a special talent.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-10-24
Reviewid: 145911Chapter: 20
...*sob*...

Oh, please do have some sort of somehow more optimistic epilogue...I'm terribly depressed now. :(

I suppose now Ariadne's family will want to mourn and bury her. *sigh*

Reviewer: Antonia EastDate: 2006-10-24
Reviewid: 145909Chapter: 20
Oh no. I was terribly afraid that everything was running too close to canon, but reading the eventual death was awful. It must have been horrific for you to kill Ariadne and the children off - what a brave thing to do. Poor Remus, it ties in far too well with canon now. A wonderful explanation as to why he acts as he does with Tonks, although it's heartbreaking that Ariadne has to be dead and canonical rather than alive and AU.

Well done on creating such a brilliant character and plots. This is one of the most interesting, endearing and ultimately tragic series I have read.

It seems I have moved on from mourning fictional characters ... I shall now mourn fanfictional ones.

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-10-24
Reviewid: 145907Chapter: 20
That was sadder than any of the awful endings I've been imagining. I was hoping you would at least spare the children. I know you said earlier that you were giving Remus a happy period of life before PoA and after 1981 but the ending is so sad, I'd almost rather he'd stayed miserable! At least his attitude to Tonks in HBP has a very solid basis.

Congratulations on managing to write a interesting and enjoyable story with several, complicated plots, a totally believable OC and never going outside of what we know from canon.

TDU

Reviewer: buckbeakbabieDate: 2006-10-24
Reviewid: 145899Chapter: 20
Oh, I'm in tears. To have the hope of another baby and the to have them both taken away.

In a way, though, it is better that they are all dead now. Them being alive but empty of everything they used to be would have been far more painful for Remus in the long run.

And that last sentence -- sigh. You have tied it in so perfectly with canon. Poor, poor Remus.

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-10-24
Reviewid: 145894Chapter: 20
I'm crying. It's just so sad. I can't focus my mind enough to write you a proper review at the moment, but I just had to let you know that this chapter really hit hard, and it was horribly powerful and emotional.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-10-24
Reviewid: 145890Chapter: 20
*sob* Darn it, I knew it would be horrible, but this was even worse than I imagined. I mean, it was wonderfully written, of course, and explains Remus' reluctance to become involved with Tonks in the future, but... It's just so terribly sad!

Reviewer: CeolmharDate: 2006-10-21
Reviewid: 145847Chapter: 19
Oh I HATE Umbridge!!! What has happened to Ariadne? And the children?? I can't wait for the next chapter - this one ended on such a cliffhanger!

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-10-21
Reviewid: 145840Chapter: 19
You know, I'd really like Fenrir Greyback to bite Umbridge. It's sickening how she can have such strong views, and the warped reasoning to back it up. Of all the characters JKR created, I think she's really the most despicable of all! Now you've given us a whole new world of reasons for Remus to destest her, to hate her to the core.

The double-entendre in the title was really chilling. I'd imagined when I read it that it would be Remus and Ariadne's final time together, but I just never thought of the Dementor! And I was hoping that somehow Ariadne, Matthew, Elizabeth, and David might have escaped with wiped memories and been spirited away somewhere. But the Dementor feasted ... ohhhhh ... *bursts into tears*

Damn Dolores Umbridge and her sinister fondness for Dementors. It just reeks of the same callousness she used on Harry when she sent the Dementor after him, or set her horrid black quill during detentions. That foul, simpering ... I can't go on, for then this review wouldn't be within the PG or even R range!

I knew it was coming, but it doesn't stop me from being devastated when it did. Poor, poor Remus, when he returns and has to deal with the souless shells of his family! Is it any wonder that he can only produce a feeble Patronus on the Hogwarts Express now!

I'm glad their last moments together were at least happy ones. It would be too sad if he'd gone out after a quarrel or a silence. I hope he can still dwell on the happy memories of reading to his children and kissing Ariadne (though those dratted Dementors will probably suck it out of him when he goes to Hogwarts). I certainly had to go back to that bit after I finished the chapter and felt so depressed (and angry at Umbridge) and I needed a reminder of the good things that Remus and Ariadne had.

Reviewer: jeda_lawsonDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145838Chapter: 19
Nooooooooo! Not Remus, how is he so sane in PoA with this happening so soon before. How much heartbreak can one man survive. You'd think he would at the very least set up a club and attempt to teach everyone the Patronus charm, not just Harry.

Madam Umbridge reaches new levels of sadisticness and predjudice in this. The calm and casual way she views what is effectivly the murder of a mother and her three children is intensely chilling, 'already feasted' and 'plenty of employees spent longer than that on a coffee break'. This is thrilling writing, the happy, cosy homely scene at the beginning is in stark contrast to the coldness and dispassionate scheming later. I look forward to reading the remainder of this story and any others, do you only write fan fiction?

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145837Chapter: 19
The words "vile" and "evil" aren't strong enough for Umbridge. I always feared something bad would happen to Ariadne, but this just made me want to shout "No!" The part from Umbridge's point of view is such an awful contrast to the blissful domestic scene at the beginning of the chapter. I guess we'll see Remus' reaction in the next chapter; I'm sure it will reinforce his belief that he's not safe to be around.

Reviewer: buckbeakbabieDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145823Chapter: 19
Oh, no!

I had expected something like this to happen, but I can't believe it was Umbridge! And it happened all of a sudden! Poor Ariadne, and the children!

And the cold way that umbridge notes that they have been Kissed. I have tears in my eyes! Poor Remus, too, he has to deal with this. And then he has to live with this memory all through his time at Hogwarts. And I can see how it wouold make him determined to try to teach Harry the Patronus, even if he is very young.

Like I said before, I knew it was coming but that doesn't make it any less sad.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145818Chapter: 19
:-( I knew it had to happen. I never thought it would happen that way. But it makes as much sense as any other.

It was a logical way to end this. Now Remus has to come home...

Dolorus Umbridge is a horrible human character, and you have worked out another way she could be as horrible as her character actually is.

Good job.

Sincerely,
Miriam

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145816Chapter: 19
*gasp*

*sob*

NOOOOOOO...

Okay. I'll get back to you on this chapter once I've...uh...oh dear, that was what the title meant...

Umbridge, I mean really, I...

And Remus will come home to...

So when he teaches Harry that Patronus Charm, does he know that he's teaching him the charm that could have possibly saved his family?

Oh, Ariadne...oh no...oh NO...

I don't suppose you couldn't have just shipped her and the kids off to America under a false name or something...

Oh no. Oh no. Oh no. The babies too. Oh dear.

*sniffles and mourns entirely fictional characters that are not at all actually real, I suppose*

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145813Chapter: 19
Oh, noooo.....noooo....noooo....

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-10-18
Reviewid: 145788Chapter: 18
I love the tale you have spun.

Unfortunately, it means that it is almost at an end. It will have to be an unhappy end to match canon.

I enjoy the writing. I dread the next chapter or two, but I know what has to happen.

I look forward to reading it, in any event.

Sincerely,
Miriam

Reviewer: Professor MDate: 2006-10-17
Reviewid: 145769Chapter: 18
You continue to provide us a well-woven story, with developed characters, creative situations, descriptive narrative, and references to canon (the timing and content of Snape’s question to Mrs. MacDougal made me smile). You allow your characters to develop and mature over long periods of time, mixing individual story lines of love, loyalty, friendship, danger, evil, justice, education, science, and even languages. Thank you for continuing to share your wonderful talent and compelling story with us.

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-10-15
Reviewid: 145752Chapter: 18
Oh dear! I've just added "death during pregnancy/childbirth" to my list of possible ways for you to kill off Ariadne - as if I haven't already imagined several traumatic ways you're going to do it. Is this the end of Harry's first or second year? I think it's the first but I lost track of time when they were in Europe (Hannah was a useful time guide as well as interesting in her own right). I'm so glad Joe got Valeeta out of the castle. Even Remus and Ariadne overlooked Joe so it's no wonder the McNairs did.

TDU

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-10-15
Reviewid: 145741Chapter: 18
How lovely! I'm so glad that Veleta's back and her children are safe, but I don't for a minute believe that the Macnairs are done! *sigh* It would have been so lovely if Remus and the family could have come to Hogwarts...

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145702Chapter: 16
Trumpets! The years of endless struggle are finally coming to fruition! I actually said out loud, "Wha ha ha," after reading the article about Fudge. Yay, yay, yay. I also laughed at Jigger addressing Ariadne as Mrs. Flowers, although I worry that her reply to his request will "complicate" things just as much as burning it woudl have.
And we finally know the mystery of Mrs. Patil, at long and anticlimactic last.
Of course, the ending is a bit worrisome until we remember that of course Remus will turn up safely and that he probably just got to be very heroic for a bit, stretching his legs after all that Charm work. Isn't Ariadne lucky she has a future Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher to roam the woods with her? Little Matthew is going to have Such stories to tell...

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145698Chapter: 17
Oh the suspense! Great chapter--I love the twist that gossip helped get approval of the Wolfsbane Potion. The hypocritical Daily Prophet article was so typical of them. I'm guessing we know what Joe went to do...and hopefully he was indeed successful...

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145690Chapter: 17
That was an immensely satisfying conclusion to the Wolfsbane Potion! Finally the Ministry sees sense! I'm glad we're back to Veleta now, though. The tension mounting in the last part of the chapter was incredible, my heart was beating so fast with anxiety for Veleta!

Joe is the obvious answer, and I'm surprised none of Veleta's friends have ever attempted to bring up that possibility. It seems certain that Joe has gone off on the rescue mission, now. Is that Veleta and her children landing back in the lounge?

What's going to happen? I know we're getting close to the end, since the dates are approaching 1993 ... by which time Ariadne and the children will probably be gone. This is only making me more worried for them!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145685Chapter: 17
Hooray! They're home! I'm pleased to see that, but it only reminds me that things still will not be well. And what is Joe up to?

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-10-10
Reviewid: 145644Chapter: 16
Oh dear...I trust Ariadne's instincts more than anything. I'm very glad you cleared up the mystery about the potion that Manjula Patil got from the Jiggers in the last story! I'm really enjoying Ariadne and Remus's adventures in Europe--I love how action-packed your stories are--and I'm holding my breath waiting to see what happens with Veleta in particular. She can, presumably, Locospect and see what's going on with the Lupins, I hope? Anyhow...hopefully Remus is alright...I know he lives, but still...and those Fudges better get their act together and get Wolfsbane Potion approved! Fast!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-10-10
Reviewid: 145637Chapter: 16
Alone? Alone? No Remus? I have a bad feeling about this...

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-10-10
Reviewid: 145631Chapter: 16
This chapter left me with so many mixed feelings (all are compliments to your writing, of course!) I read the news article regarding Rufus Fudge and thought, 'Yes! Finally, pressure on the British Ministry to accept the Wolfsbane Potion!' It seemed that Ariadne was finally getting somewhere!

I can imagine Remus and Ariadne being troubled by their frugal living style, and Ariadne's worry for her children's health was touching. However, I rather envied them, because despite their troubles, they are a happy family, and it's obvious how much love there is to go around the five of them. Their life in Transylvania is really adventurous - I enjoyed the Boggart scenes, with that little nod to canon with the half-slug! :) I was also very pleased with Remus when he managed to protect his family both from the Boggart and the Dementor. I'd wondered where his experience in the field had come from - and where he'd managed to get a hold of all those creatures for his lessons. Everything before this story pointed to him being a theoretical expert when it comes to Dark creatures (werewolves being an exception of course), and I did wonder how he got all his practical experience. Now it makes sense to me, with this story. Not only does Ariadne get to spread her Wolfsbane Potion; Remus also gets hands-on experience with Dark creatures and makes friends in far-off lands who could have provided the magical creatures for his use when he taught at Hogwarts!

And then, there's the quick updates on our friends back home, though I wish we'd heard more from them. How is Hestia doing? What's Kingsley up to? Does Sarah miss her magical life at all? Mrs Patil's story was very touching - it's a sad fact that boys are so heavily regarded over girls in Asia. Mrs Patil's tale made me think of baby girls in China being abandoned because of the one-child policy there allowing only one baby per family ... and of course parents wanted boys only. Anyway, now the mystery about Mrs Patil's bottle with the ribbon has been cleared up ... and Ariadne was right all along! Mrs Patil does no harm. Professor Jigger, though ... what can he be up to? I'm very curious!

I hadn't realised that Matthew was so old already! (Seems I haven't been paying as much attention to the dates as I should have.) He's such a precocious child, and his aptitude for languages certainly greater than any normal little boy. I imagine he'd be wonderful at Runes, as Ariadne was, and a brave Gryffindor like his father ... but I worry that he, Elizabeth, and David will never make it to school, however - otherwise we'd have heard about the Lupin children in canon. That makes me so very worried for them.

I'm worried for Remus, too, for his absence at the end of the chapter. Something tells me Greyback has something to do with this ... and though I know Remus will be all right, Ariadne's fear is catching.

What will happen now? I do hope SQ won't go down in the next few days, because I don't really want to wait another week for the next chapter!

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-10-05
Reviewid: 145605Chapter: 15
I'm glad you have them all back together again. Poor Ariadne! I'm not surprised she was rushing to feed the baby, she must have been very uncomfortable. Thank you for another enthralling episode!

TDU

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-10-05
Reviewid: 145600Chapter: 15
Well, that's a relief! Everyone's back together and happy (at least, as happy as they can be under the circumstances). Interesting to think that werewolfism (?) came about from a flower!

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145560Chapter: 14
Oh, wow! I was reading slowly for bedtime relaxation, and enjoying it very much. And then, all of a sudden, things got very exciting again and I had to read straight through!

Yes, so it's gotten very compelling. All the interesting people they meet and Matthew's language adventures have been fun, too. They're all real characters, instead of just boring names that get us from point A to point B. And now I can't help but believe Hannah Abbott must have been quietly thrilled to see Mr. Lupin at Hogwarts her third year. Oh, and cheers to Ariadne for finally being able to take care of herself instead of having to have Remus rescue her! And I have to go now, but I'm looking forward to what happens next!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145559Chapter: 14
Good chapter...very detailed escape plan...I liked the integration of the werewolf information, didn't seem too contrived. One question--why has Ariadne's charm work deteriorated so much? I can understand her not knowing a lot of defensive spells, but wouldn't she still be using charms a fair amount?

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145549Chapter: 14
Another wonderful chapter! I enjoyed the little tidbits about Transylvanian history, and Ariadne's escape from prison made me laugh because it seems so absurd to imagine her as the heroine of a prison break! I liked how she had to work around her problems, such as her flaws in Charms, when thinking of how to get out. While many authors would go for the simplest solution, you've made your scene more realistic and interesting by creating a real problem-solving case for Ariadne!

In Crina's tale, the moon flowers stood out to me. It seems they may have some importance later ... possibly an improvement to the Wolfsbane Potion, putting Ariadne on the right track to curing lycanthropy once and for all? However that hasn't happened in canon, so even if the flowers were the answer, something would go wrong somewhere ...

Thanks for putting in all the thought-provoking tidbits in this chapter!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145532Chapter: 14
Wow! Poor Ariadne and Elizabeth - at least they're out of the prison, though. I feel badly for Remus, who's been worrying all this time; I'm sure they'll be heading for Vlad's, and I hope they'll be able to have a more uneventful time of it.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-09-27
Reviewid: 145498Chapter: 13
Oh, they're in deep trouble now! Nothing worse than being arrested in a foreign country... Your use of the various languages was great, although it seems like it would be even harder to write the German-accented English!

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-09-26
Reviewid: 145494Chapter: 13
Lovely! A few chapters to read at one go. Hooray for quick updates! :)

Now I know why this part of the story took a while to complete - you must have had to do a lot of research on all the countries that Ariadne and Remus are visiting! I love how Matthew and Elizabeth are picking up the languages so quickly, the way only children can. As usual, the wealth of detail present is amazing, and I think it's wonderful how each country they've been to so far has a different way of facing their werewolf 'problem'.

I also wanted to mention that Sarah's decision to leave the wizarding world surprised me initially, but on second thought, seemed very logical. I've always read about Muggle-borns who can't imagine going back to life in the Muggle world, but obviously there would be those who think the opposite way, especially when the magical world is all war-torn. Thank you for giving Sarah this unique choice. I will miss her, however, when she walks off screen!

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-09-26
Reviewid: 145493Chapter: 13
Detained by immigration! Poor Ariadne - being accused of being English and of course one of the children would be sick on her shoulder at exactly that point. I know this really isn't funny but I still giggled, just a little. It's one of those things that I'm just glad it isn't me! I'm looking forward to seeing how you get the Lupins out of this one.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-09-26
Reviewid: 145492Chapter: 12
CornedBee is a good friend - the chapter was excellent. I'm delighted that Hannah has been given letters of introduction in true Remus style, and it's lovely to have the family back together - and you're quite right; babies take up very little room in a bed. And unless you're drugged or drunk unconscious, it's practically impossible to roll on one! So good on you for putting into fiction what people barely dare whisper in public over here.
Very intrigued by Remus' and Ariadne's werewolf hunting methods - and hanging out to find out what happens next!
Joe, meanwhile, catches my attention like a little hook in a juicy steak. He fits in the story just fine, but his presence is such a sharp one that he stands out out of all proportion to his number of lines.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-09-25
Reviewid: 145478Chapter: 12
Excellent job as always! Thanks for sharing!

~OSUSprinks

Reviewer: Professor MDate: 2006-09-24
Reviewid: 145469Chapter: 12
After the continuing hardships and heartaches the Lupins and their friends have suffered, this chapter offered a respite and bit of hope. Remus was able to follow his conscience and address Jacqueline’s bullying. Hannah received her letter and we know she will find friends and support in Hufflepuff. Remus reunited with Ariadne and their children and they have a small savings for their immediate needs. Remus was even able to find German werewolves and extend his hand in introduction.
Well done. You continue to make your characters totally believable. We care about them and want good things for them. As others have commented, I am concerned where a nod to cannon may leave the Lupins, but I am satisfied that at least for today, they are together.

Reviewer: chocaholicDate: 2006-09-24
Reviewid: 145466Chapter: 12
I'm so glad that Remus and Ariadne are finally reunited, lapful of children and all. I really loved this chapter - all the different venues, changes of pace. And little Jacqueline... were she magical, she would definitely be headed for Slytherin. And I'm so glad that Hannah got her letter!

Reviewer: buckbeakbabieDate: 2006-09-23
Reviewid: 145463Chapter: 12
I honestly didn't expect Sarah's decision, but it makes perfect sense that she would become dissatisfied with the magical community. I don't blame her in the least. I would feel the exact same way.

Remus and Ariadne's reunion was quite muted, but nice nonetheless. I love Matthew, he is such a sweetie. Why should you care about babies when there's Nigel the Knight Bus? LOL.

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-09-20
Reviewid: 145419Chapter: 11
I expected the French to legalise the potion, afterall it's legal in Britain by the time Remus is teaching at Hogwarts, but I was still cheering that not all Ministries are as blinkered and corrupt as the British one. Your original characters (and those in canon, such as Hestia, about whom we know next to nothing) are all so believable, both as real people and as members of JKR's world. I still feel that this story isn't going to have a happy ending!

TDU

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-09-19
Reviewid: 145402Chapter: 11
There was a big sigh of relief there when I got to the end of the chapter and Remus was still in England and nothing awful had hapened to Ariadne. Those closing lines felt like they were building up to something truly dreadful; do you mean to tease?
Appreciated the statement of Ariadne's grief and needing to be at Ivor's funeral, and the pain of being unable.
Your handling of the tragedy of the French werewolves was spot-on; the master's grief and Ariadne's sensitivity to it, and the dreadful cause were all described simply and clearly. Your writing provides the matrix within which my own imagination is impelled to create the story - a fine skill.
The halting English of the apothecary was completely convincing too.
See you at the end of the next chapter!

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-09-19
Reviewid: 145398Chapter: 11
Wonderful chapter...is "Bisclavret" a nod to the lay by Marie de France?

I liked the depiction of the all-werewolf community--and that Ariadne at last triumphed in getting one country's official approval for the Wolfsbane Potion. Although Ivor's death seems more real and permanent now that I've gotten Ariadne's reaction:

"She had always expected Ivor and Hestia to walk into their sunset years hand in hand. If ever a couple had seemed destined to celebrate their hundredth wedding anniversary surrounded by a tribe of adoring great-grandchildren, it was the Joneses, who had belonged to each other so completely ever since they were eleven. The idea of Hestia moving into the future alone was unthinkable."

*sniff*

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-09-19
Reviewid: 145393Chapter: 11
How sad that Remus and Ariadne couldn't be together for David's birth! At least, though, she is safe for the time being. And great job with the French... I've given it up, probably by popular demand from a few of my quite particular readers. Maybe, if I have to send a character to another country at some point, I'll send them to Australia...;O)

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-09-18
Reviewid: 145392Chapter: 11
I suppose I am in denial that this will end with canon. I just love your characters too much. I'm glad the potion was patented in France. I'm looking forward to your next update.

OSUSprinks

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-09-17
Reviewid: 145372Chapter: 10
Excellent writing as usual.
Liked the passage of time in those farewells.
Appreciated the irony of Remus' being bullied.
Poor Ivor! Poor Hestia!!

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-09-16
Reviewid: 145360Chapter: 10
Ok I really didn't see that coming! I can't believe Ivor is dead.

I love that you are including actual events in the story. I can't believe we are so close to Harry and the gang's first year. I just don't see how it can end well, but I keep hoping.

Thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-09-16
Reviewid: 145355Chapter: 10
Ivor's dead? Oh, no! Things are going to get really ugly now, aren't they? Really excellent chapter, and I'm happy for Hannah, but I'm really worried about Ariadne and the kids now.

Reviewer: buckbeakbabieDate: 2006-09-15
Reviewid: 145346Chapter: 10
Poor, poor Ivor! And Hestia. Its just so infuriating that the MacNairs are getting away with it and that Veleta still hasn't escaped.

Yay for the quick update! I love this story.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-15
Reviewid: 145345Chapter: 1
The Werewolf’s Bride - OUTSTANDING..
Thank you for continuing with this fanfic.
Please keep my e-mail address and let me know when you have more fanfics and any paid stories you get published.

Reviewer: buckbeakbabieDate: 2006-09-13
Reviewid: 145327Chapter: 9
What a horrible place for me to discover I've caught up with the story!

I was on the edge of my seat throughout this whole story. I really can't wait for more.

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-09-13
Reviewid: 145321Chapter: 9
The pace of the story has increased most satisfyingly, and I'm so eager to know what comes next! I'm most anxious for Veleta and her children now - thank you for giving their names, by the way, it's made them more real to me now - and I'm hoping they will get away soon!

I especially enjoyed reading the bits about blood magic and wizarding genetics. In a previous chapter, I imagined that what you said about Locospection being a recessive gene would mean that Veleta could never produce Locospectors - and then Mary turned out to be a Locospector, and that confused me, but you cleared it up very well with the Squib gene theory. I shall have to go reread The Werewolf's Bride to remind myself which Macnair might be Mary's father, the one who passed on the Squib gene.

You've also got me wondering about Regelinda. Her Muggle-born boyfriend was an interesting twist, which ties in with the earlier bit about her growing up to 'do the thing her ancestors always dreaded' (sorry if I misquoted that), and I'm interested in knowing who she'll end up marrying (when or if she does) and whether it will be someone we're familiar with in canon!

Congratulations on the superb writing for the last couple of chapters! I shall be eagerly waiting for the next (especially with that cliffhanger you just left us!)

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-09-13
Reviewid: 145317Chapter: 9
No! No no no no no no!!! To be so close and...ARGH!!!

That being said, excellent update! I've really enjoyed all your stories and I'm glad you decided to continue this! Thanks so much for sharing!

OSUSprinks

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-09-12
Reviewid: 145306Chapter: 9
Oh Remus!!
Loved the way they worried at each other's specialities.
Intensly tense chapter!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-09-12
Reviewid: 145300Chapter: 9
Just when they were doing so well... Rats. This does not look goo at all.:o(

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-09-10
Reviewid: 145272Chapter: 8
Poor Adrienne - er - Annabel - er - Arianna - that is, Ariadne and Rufus - er Remus... A dinner party like that is enough to induce indigestion. And Sarah should get a medal for bravery and endurance! How about a sledge hammer for the vial???

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-09-09
Reviewid: 145268Chapter: 8
You have so many threads to this story and they are all absolutley fascinating. I'm glad you haven't forgotten about poor Hannah! As ever, I enjoyed reading the chapter.

TDU

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-09-09
Reviewid: 145263Chapter: 7
This continues to be a very enjoyable story, but I'm afraid that it will end in tragedy for Ariadne and the kids, especially now that Greyback is apparently stalking them. At any rate, I'm always glad to see this on the update list.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-09-07
Reviewid: 145231Chapter: 7
Another great chapter.
Seriously sinister magic - and an almost alarming degree of inventiveness on your part.
Near hilarious Lockheart.
Hope for Veleta - yay!
But the very best part was learning that Matthew learned to tie his laces and Elizabeth to walk.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-09-07
Reviewid: 145227Chapter: 7
Lockhart! What a wonderful portrayal of the self-absorbed ego with legs. And Ariadne's pregnant again? Oh, dear, now I've got one more Lupin to worry about. As for Macnair's spell, what a hideous idea you've come up with!

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145108Chapter: 6
The genetics was interesting to see translated into wizard-speak.

You have a very creative imagination. I'm sorry that I don't have something more clever to say this time, but I do enjoy your fiction very much.

Please write again soon.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: Sannali aka MorwenDate: 2006-08-30
Reviewid: 145086Chapter: 6
<I>(it wasn’t as if Liber Alley was the bastion of wizarding conservatism)</i>
da;sj df;lajs ;ljdf;laj lgkfad

And <i>Nigel the Knight Bus</i>! Brilliant! Also, I adore Matthew's distain of "not Nigel, nor anyfink with wheels"--and the canon touch-base with Lockhart is perfect. I wonder what Adriadne and Remus will think of Lockhart's book.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-08-30
Reviewid: 145074Chapter: 6
'Liber Alley'... Loved it, as well as the Mendellian nightmare. Poor Ariadne - having to put up with Lockhart on top of everything else!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-08-21
Reviewid: 144918Chapter: 5
I really like the fact that the characters, with the same information I have, can draw the same conclusions I do - that you don't artificially keep them from thinking the obvious thing. The situation is clear enough - but what can be done about it? I know that the resolution is unlikely to be nice, given Remus's single state in just three years time, but I'm looking forward to more tight plotting and wonderfully warm characters while we've still got them.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144835Chapter: 5
I've been following this story for a while now, and it is intriguing. It is complex, but you have painted all of your characters so beautifully and fully.

I'm enjoying your fiction very much. I look forward to your next installment.

-----Miriam

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144830Chapter: 5
Egyptians playing the organ... Maybe next we'll have the Phantom of the Pyramid? Loved the chapter, but I just know the other shoe is about to drop. Heavily.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-08-16
Reviewid: 144820Chapter: 4
Well executed court-room scene, with everyone in their places. Interesting that Dolores has so soon ocupied her spot in Fudge's shadow. Rita continues to betray herself nicely.
Remus' anxiety for others and his guilt for not being in their place mark him for the loyal friend we know and love - though one who can't seem to excuse himself for surviving?
Looking forward to the next.

Reviewer: Professor MDate: 2006-08-16
Reviewid: 144816Chapter: 4
Your words continue to draw us into each event. We feel the tension of those in the Wizengamot courtroom: Remus’s concern and anxiety, Smethwyck’s resolve and control, Latona Wildclaw’s courage addressing the court while refusing to name names (she must have been a Griffindor), Fudge’s outbursts, Umbridge’s sputterings, Wiggleworth’s efforts to present the positive side of the story, and more. Well done.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-08-16
Reviewid: 144815Chapter: 4
Interesting courtroom scene--good playing out of the different sides of the case. Even the prosecution's points are made logically, and I can see why they would fear Wolfsbane. Latona Wildclaw is quite a sympathetic character! I do want to know, however, whether or not it's mere coincidence that Ariadne wound up working as an "assistant" on the Wolfsbane Potion. Is it really even Belby's invention? Hm...

Reviewer: chocaholicDate: 2006-08-16
Reviewid: 144813Chapter: 4
Oh, no, twenty years? Justice can be an ugly thing sometimes. And I know that Ariadne isn't out of the woods yet...

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-08-14
Reviewid: 144798Chapter: 3
I'm currently overseas now and haven't been able to keep up closely with every update as I've got limited internet access. So I haven't actually read chapters 2 and 3 yet, but I'm saving them onto my computer so I can read offline. I just wanted to leave a review to say that I'm sure I'll love both!

Reviewer: ceriDate: 2006-08-14
Reviewid: 144796Chapter: 3
aahhh I just love finding a new author (to me) that writes the way I like to read , and then finding out
she has lots of new stories for me to read . this will make my week - thanks

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-08-13
Reviewid: 144789Chapter: 3
Nice chapter, though a little depressing. I liked how you worked out the way that Azkaban keeps the not-yet-convicted criminals, and the nod to Sirius. Smethwyck is one noble man. I do hope he can get out of Azkaban before long.

Kingsley rocks. :) Also I love the fact that after all, Rita wasn't in any danger--if he were a werewolf, she could just transform into a beetle and fly away.

Reviewer: StubefiedDate: 2006-08-13
Reviewid: 144787Chapter: 3
I think I've always loved your Kingsley, haven't I? Today I love him more.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading all of Rita's articles. Those must have been delicious to write.

I'm relieved that we meet a free Smethwyck in canon, but very worried for Matthew and Elizabeth. I have another hypothesis now about the Patil potion. I had a few about that werewolf, although most don't work with all the details. He did seem very much like Greyback even before Ariadne said so. At first I thought it was a complicated manipulation by the Aurors trying to get him killed, although now I am convinced that the death was indeed coincidence and mistake. I'm thinking he could have found out and decided to try to do what everyone feared, but what does that do for the plot? More likely, it's somehow connected to Walden MacNair. And is there a traitor among the good wolves? I thought both Sirius Black and Rita's ability to count the wovles were nice touches. And is Carlton the school where Hannah Abbot was? Why else would Ariadne like that one?

Looking forward to more!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-08-12
Reviewid: 144776Chapter: 3
Oh Rita! I suppose this is quite early in her working life. But doesn't this mean that all anyone has to do is look at the werewolf registry, discover the surname "Lupin" there and make the connection?
Smethwyk is coming across very much as you intended - not as a plaster cast saint, but as a mature man of integrity and humanity. Interesting, is it not, that we consider his deceptions part of his integrity while Rita's are merely self-serving, potentially destructive puffery.
The interview was hilarious. Azkaban was chilling. Chapter three was very interesting as a whole and I'm looking forward to Chapter four! Are you always going to post so quickly?

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-08-11
Reviewid: 144768Chapter: 3
Two chapters to read at once! (I've put off number 2 until I had enough time to sit down to read it properly and by then number 3 was posted).

I enjoyed the details about Ariadne's grandmother. After all the awful relations she has it is nice to think there was some decent ones in ther somewhere. Did she actually get to know her? Her mother was wonderfully written. As usual, she believed herself to be thinking only of the best for her daughter but was completely wrong as to what that best was. After all that time of living with Ariadne and exploiting her, you'd think she would have known her better than that!

Rita's articles were brilliant. They were so florid they were almost unreadable. If that's an example of the "Prophet" I think I'll subscribe to "The Quibbler".

Thanks, TDU

Reviewer: chocaholicDate: 2006-08-11
Reviewid: 144760Chapter: 3
What a fabulous depiction of Azkaban! And Charon and the ride over, too - very creepy. Nice that you tossed in the bit about Sirius, too. Now, if only all those faked papers would work!

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-08-11
Reviewid: 144754Chapter: 2
Your 'Mamma' is all too believable! "Her mother was deaf to everything except the voices in her own head." This is almost like a hardening of the character you've built up over the series into the hard point of every-day evil; where ordinary character defects are persisted in to the point at which they become actively harmful.
Rita Skeeter reads beautifully - although the purple prose of the 'Werewolves of London' article was actually too well-written, the venom of the writing just drips off the screen.
Smethwyk's a real credit to the profession, Borage just a weed, and poor Kingsley's in trouble.
Wither now for Remus and Ariadne?

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-08-10
Reviewid: 144719Chapter: 2
Great chapter--LOVED the twist where Shacklebolt is accused. My heart goes out to Ariadne; clearly her mother hasn't changed but Ariadne has gotten better about dealing with it at least. Nice nod to GoF with the whole Rita Skeeter thing. I'll be interested to see how the Wolfsbane Potion becomes accepted and legal. *crosses fingers for Ariadne*

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-08-10
Reviewid: 144718Chapter: 2
Mothers - can't live with them, can't live without them. Of course, now I'm worried about Remus and his job situation. However, my dog, Linus, was pleased to see that his name made it into HP fanfiction!

Reviewer: Sannali aka MorwenDate: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144698Chapter: 1
Yay for another story from one of my favourite writers!

I'm both delighted to have more of Remus and Adriadne's story and half-afraid to see what's coming next. I'm glad to see that Remus and Adriadne have gotten past the rocky patch their marriage was going through at the end of Book III. Remus as a father is such a lovely image. It's going to be heartbreaking to watch how his life changes from this happiness to the sad and lonely man we meet for the first time on the train in POA.

Reviewer: kickballchangeDate: 2006-08-08
Reviewid: 144688Chapter: 1
It´s great to see we will be reading another wonderful story on Remus and Ariadne!! (helps waiting for book 7, too) I´m so happy to see, they DO have children!
What about the time inbetween Forrest Honeymoon (is that part III, or did I miss something?) and this story? When or or after what event did they decide to start a family? It´s wonderful to know, they do, though. What happened with Veleta? I was hoping to see the mistery solved and maybe Ariadne have her friend back and justice done to the Macnairs?
Well, update soon!! I´m really looking forward to it :-)

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-08-07
Reviewid: 144660Chapter: 1
I was very excited to receive the PM alerting me that the final book of The Moon Cursers is up! You're off to a fine beginning, although it's a little frightening, with a murder in the first chapter. I'm sad for Lycaonia; I was rather amused by her in the previous book. I found myself relieved that Con was fine, though, because I grew quite attached to him after you introduced him in The Werewolf's Bride. You can give yourself a pat on the back for creating such a endearing character!

Anyway, this is a most promising start, and I can't wait for more!

Reviewer: Lady WhizbeeDate: 2006-08-06
Reviewid: 144658Chapter: 1
Very engaging first chapter, you did a wonderful job of pulling us right into the story. Your characters are wonderful, and it's so lovely to see them return. Although, I'm incredibly fearful for Ariadne and her children...

Remus waking up to a bed full of *family* was wonderful. Such an enduring image...

Well done!

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-08-06
Reviewid: 144657Chapter: 1
So we've missed several years of happy family life and you are returning us just when things start to get nasty! That really isn't fair. The trouble with your story is that the unhappy ending is already implicit in canon. I do like the idea of Remus not spending 12 years moping and not talking to anyone. I know you must have finished this story (more or less, at any rate) so I can rest assured of regular updates.

Thank you for letting us see this,
TDU

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-08-06
Reviewid: 144655Chapter: 1
Welcome back Ariadne and Remus! But, oh! What a return!
Umbridge is the worst kind of evil. Pure malice hidden behind that girlish accent. It even comes through in a newspaper report!
Fenrir (if it was he) is beautifully painted; all intimidating aggression and insecurity.
Con is as endearing as ever - interpreting his speech is a delightful puzzle. None of the words are recognizable until I read them aloud.
But the best bit was Remus waking up in a bed full of children. That is an image to hold on to.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --