The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Air
Review(s): 75

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2007-06-05
Reviewid: 148204Chapter: 1
I started reading this at last! I love Oliver already and I found the contrasting relationships with his father and uncle so interesting. All the characters are distinct individuals and their different voices come across so clearly in the dialogue, I'm very impressed - and well and truly hooked!

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2007-02-02
Reviewid: 147061Chapter: 3
This chapter was fantastic! Three plot aspects-- struggles with father, struggles to make the team, and romance with Mary-- play in and out of each other seamlessly. I thought your transitions were excellent. One flowed together so smoothly, I had to glance back for it: “And then he swooped down and landed.” (Mary) & “It wasn’t until Oliver had jumped off his broom and raised it toward the sun that he saw the girl. Mary?” (Oliver)

Now, about this Mary… “‘Right. Tricky.’ She fingered her straight brown hair back from her eyes.” I’m thinking <i>she’s</i> tricky. You cleverly use the team staff to help show that. And how about where she’s watching him fly: “It was fascinating—and frightening.” If she sees it as frightening, I’m thinking she’s not going to understand. That’s my prediction. And I like how the kiss was somewhat born out of defiance of both their parents. Yet overall, there was a satisfying ease and playfulness and opening up in that scene.

Okay, that whole flying section was just superb!! Jets of grey water flying off his feet... I’d swear you rode that scene with him, you describe it so vividly. This stuff is vivid too: “Jonathon slammed his glass on his desk, the muscle in his jaw working.” Hmmm, Jonathon... You're shielding him from us.

Well, I’m interested to see what you make of it all.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-12-21
Reviewid: 146561Chapter: 2
I think I developed a crush on Oliver at the party, LOL. The way you set him up as underdog in this chapter is very sweet. First, no notice from the receptionist. The second hitch was my favorite, though:

Oliver had always worn number five at Hogwarts.

"I'd like number five please."

"I'm sorry. That number is already taken. Got another?"

"Um..." He hadn't anticipated that.

Third, the uniforms only come in L and XL; Oliver's a large.

You give a great characterisation of Coach Winston; I could totally picture him. And Will continued to shine as a substitute for a father's approval. The scene in the Den was heartwarming. And there were some choice descriptions too: "a slight wisp of a man with the flying ability of a hornet on attack."

I'm excited to read more chapters. Oh, and maybe this spurs me to get the lead out on my own fic. : )

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-12-14
Reviewid: 146449Chapter: 14
Professor Wood, mmmmmm, sounds like it would've been intersting. *drools at the thought* heheheh. Well, I'm finished... that is untill your next stroke of brilliance hits! I'm glad i followed through, even if i was a bit late(moonet: "chyah, ya think?") i know, i know. Thanks for making the time to put this up, I've enjoyed Oliver a lot. and the characters accomanying the fic were fantastic, kudos.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-12-14
Reviewid: 146448Chapter: 13
THAT'S the oliver i know and love!!! one fantastical, supercragafraglisticaxpalidoshus chapter left... i'm glad that i finally found the time to sit and enjoy this. it's really worth it.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-12-14
Reviewid: 146447Chapter: 12
:) that pretty much summs me up right about now...

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-12-14
Reviewid: 146446Chapter: 11
yes!!!!! things are going waaaaaayy better now! I want that cottage, the discription had me leaning forward, in hopes that if i leaned into the screen long enough, i'd be portkeyed there.. wow. I like Sara, she reminds me of Ginny a bit, i mean that in a very, very good way. but i like her discription too; soft, but to the point. I shudder to think what Umbridge would've done to her *shudders* and a Hufflepuff! yay! unexpected!

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-12-14
Reviewid: 146445Chapter: 10
oooooooooooooh! i KNEW i didnt like that girl! i knew it! i knew it! i knew it. I feel like jumping into the fic, slapping her around the head and leaving. *breaths* ok, i'm good now.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-12-14
Reviewid: 146444Chapter: 9
I practically invisioned the whole last part in my head. and now, i'm depressed... awwwesoommmee. Good God! 5 more chapters left still room for him to get better (most likly wishful thinking, but i'm sticking to it so there!). Dominic's part was the closest i've come to dislikeing Oliver and the stuff with his dad welll... I've been through VERY similar situations with my dad before and to be honest, when they start acting nice (no matter how honest their behaviour) it just makes you feel worse. we may not see eye to eye, me dad and me, but then again i think we've managed it a little better off than Oliver and Jon.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-12-14
Reviewid: 146443Chapter: 8
the next few days are going to be dedicated to Oliver. It's amazing how by reading just one chapter after so long i was easily sucked back into his part of the world. outstanding. The whole hospital scene nearly had me in tears... i actually got angry and about the lack of friends(mainly from hogwarts) comming to see him, then i had to remind my self... it's-a-fan-fic-tion. *smacks self* glad that i dont have to wait for the next chapter though!!

Reviewer: shimotsukiDate: 2006-12-09
Reviewid: 146410Chapter: 14
I'd been curious about this story when I saw it on the update list, but I hadn't had a chance to read it until now. I'm very glad I did. I am female, have never played a sport seriously, and have never fought my way back from serious injuries, so I may not have much basis for saying this (heh), but your story felt amazingly real to me -- both the characterizations, and also the small details: what it feels like to show up for your first practice with your new team, or to work with a supportive but no-nonsense physical therapist. Thank you for posting this.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-11-30
Reviewid: 146335Chapter: 14
Thanks for the last two chapters. They were (of course) good.
Good luck on your tests too.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-11-29
Reviewid: 146320Chapter: 14
Well here we are, darlin'...at the end.

*sniffles*

I cannot even begin to tell you what a joy it has been travelling along with Oliver on his journey into adulthood and a more kinder, gentler Oliver, too. The tragedy he has overcome was painful to watch at times as he fought with his family and his own demons...but I wouldn't change one heartbreaking minute of it. And the intricate nature and designs of family and their relationships...*sigh* Oliver has had so much to deal with during his coming-to-terms with his father and his cherished uncle, and he may not have always done so with grace...but he muddled through, bless his heart, and won out in the end.

I cannot wait to see little fluffy outtakes (you know I'm gonna be hauting you for them!)!!

*HUGS*

Great, great, great, great job, hon!

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2006-11-27
Reviewid: 146304Chapter: 14
What a beautiful chapter! The baby and the mobile are so cute! You've given Oliver a wonderful future. The problem with him getting back to the game was always that he could have another accident and be right back where he was before, but now with his other interests, you've shown his growth so that even another quidditch accident won't slow him down. I'd love to see Oliver and Sara run into Oliver's ex-girlfriend at a game or something. Great job on the series!

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2006-11-27
Reviewid: 146303Chapter: 14
This was a really lovely final chapter - I'm so glad we got to meet Douglas, and catch another glimpse of Sara. And I'm glad Oliver's going back to Quidditch. The world just wouldn't be the same without a Quidditch-playing Wood.

<i>isolated scenes of fluffiness over the next few month</i> Oh yes. Indeed. Definitely.

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2006-11-27
Reviewid: 146302Chapter: 14
I hate to see this story end (or pause for further developments) but you did a wonderful job of wrapping up the details. Oliver is wonderful. He has grown so much. Uncle Will and Catherine are the perfect parents for little Douglas. How about giving us more Dom in your next fluff?

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-11-27
Reviewid: 146301Chapter: 14
I've been meaning to read this for ages. I finally get round to it when you've finished. The good part is that I get to read it if not in one sitting at least over quite a short period. The bad thing is that I have only got round to reviewing on your last chapter. I enjoyed Oliver's journey. I'm sorry he lost his quidditch career, at least for now, but am pleased he came out the stronger and better man for it. I'm very pleased Mary dumped him! I found her a very unsaisfactory love interest when you first introduced her. Obviously, now I've read it all, that was deliberate on your part. Sarah is far better! Thanks for an enjoyable story.

TDU

P.S. I loved Uncle Will as well but I suppose I should really give credit for him to St Margarets, though you wrote him to great effect.

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-11-27
Reviewid: 146295Chapter: 1
I'm back from Thanksgiving break and I'm so glad to see that you have your final chapter up! It's wonderful to read it all in it's fluffy glory! A birth and a reconcilliation and a new love interest - what's not to love about this final chapter? I do like the last line "I met a girl . . ." Oh, the possiblities!

I think outtakes and one shots in this "universe" sound like a great idea! You've earned the right to play after the hard work of establishing these characters. Congratulations! You written a meaningful, uplifting story that can't be undone. Be proud.

Reviewer: nunduDate: 2006-11-13
Reviewid: 146165Chapter: 13
Oh dear, there is a formating problem that requires that I scroll sideways to read, but that's okay because a hard-to-read new chapter is still a new chapter!

Now, to the important stuff...
Oliver did do a lot of growing up in this chapter. He's finally facing life and it's ups and downs like a man rather than a petulant boy. I, for one, am glad to see Dom back in his life. Dom has been an anchor even when Oliver didn't realise it.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-11-13
Reviewid: 146164Chapter: 13
I don't think I've loved Dom and Will more than I do right at this very moment. Forgiving is just as hard as asking for forgiveness and these men keep doing it over and over with Oliver. Don't think I'm not proud of Oliver, I am. But wow, my dear, another lurvely lurvely lurvely chapter!!!

*hugs*

~Hez

Reviewer: Katehc2Date: 2006-11-12
Reviewid: 146158Chapter: 13
Moonette, The two chapters I read this morning are so strong and well written. I love your Oliver and Uncle Will and Catherine. Jonathan and Dom have much to teach all of us about living.

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2006-11-12
Reviewid: 146154Chapter: 13
Oh I see - I just assumed they'd actually had the baby in the last chapter.

I am glad he's made it up with Dom. I sympathise a lot with his daily putting it off until Will finally made him go.

Studying obligations? What nonsense! Keep writing - though the fluffy sequel would be my preference.

(I do have a couple of Britpicks with this chapter if you're interested?)

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-11-09
Reviewid: 146124Chapter: 12
Overall – A good story.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-11-06
Reviewid: 146099Chapter: 12
*SNIFFLES*

OMG, those poor men (and I must say...all of the Wood men in one room, if they weren't being all angsty, all of the women of the quill would be passing out from testosterone overload). Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful chapter, my dear!!!

*HUGS* and you keep up the good work!!!

~Hez

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-11-06
Reviewid: 146098Chapter: 2
I've just started this (my mistake for the delay) and it's great. Thanks.

Reviewer: KylaDate: 2006-11-05
Reviewid: 146073Chapter: 12
Wow. I just read through all 12 chapters in one day, which I think is more that any other fanfic I've read. :) I really like it! It's a good story and I love that it isn't about a main character and that there are completely new characters in it. It makes it so much more interesting and different. Anyway, great job and please write more soon!

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2006-11-04
Reviewid: 146067Chapter: 12
I *love* the seedy underworld of Quidditch - and am now filled with plotbunnies for my own Quidditch mafia...

And finally we found out what's going on with Oliver's dad.

But honestly - not to tell us if the baby's a boy or girl? You're just mean!!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 145993Chapter: 11
Another excellent chapter. I like the way you are showing Oliver's progress towards healing, both physically and mentally. And he certainly needs the "space" to do so, independently of his family.

I also appreciated the way that you have woven in the issues of his own friendship with Dom, and Dom's needs, which neatly counterpoint Oliver's. Because Oliver was so focused on living out his own dream *against* his own family, he failed to see that Dom's family were doing the reverse, and forcing Dom to live out family dreams and expectations against his own wishes. Neat!!

Oh yes - and I do like the fluffy possibilities for Sara! *winks*

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145992Chapter: 1
Hi orangesherbert! I usually thank reviewers by PM, but you don't appear to be active on the forum stuff, so I'll post something here. Of COURSE you'll soon find out more about Oliver and his dad! :) I would never tease my readers with Jonathan's bits of backstory without resolving things in at least a somewhat satisfying way. So there is definitely Jonathan stuff to come. I hope you enjoy it. And thanks again for commenting!

And LNLisa - there will definitely be more Dom - Oliver has to make things right! I think there is still one more chapter coming before Dom is back, though. I may have to send you a Dom drabble in the meantime...

Reviewer: orangesherbertDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145986Chapter: 11
Please write more!! how does oliver make up with his father? Does he?

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145984Chapter: 11
*sigh* Another lovely chapter. So it's Sara. I thought for a bit it might be Helen.

These don't come nearly fast enough, you know. I am such an impatient reader. I really ought to wait until the story is complete before beginning to read it.

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145983Chapter: 11
Sara is a girl with spunk, cool! I'm still wondering about Helen, and I can't wait to see Dom in the story again! :-D

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145973Chapter: 11
Oh, I'm so glad that fluff is out there for Oliver - I was pretty worried after what happened with Mary!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-10-26
Reviewid: 145947Chapter: 3
(*looks back at last review* Er... sorry about the typoes.)

Oh goodness, doesn't Oliver just make one laugh! "He still had some headaches, but no one had to know about that." And: "It had been torture". You can imagine Oliver just shaking off the Cruciatus Curse, with a measley shrug, if there was a Quidditch match at state. Ha! Call that torture, Mr Voldemort? Try having to take a day or two off from Quidditch training and then get back to me.

More seriously, you once again show a powerful understanding of the male psyche. I loved the description of Oliver getting the pain in his limbs to drown out the pain in his heart and of course the way you show his flying through Mary's eyes is really very powerful. Again, the very epitome of masculinity (this must be causing a great deal of swooning among female folk). Oliver is the angry, gusting wind and it becomes him.

It's interesting that he barely notices Mary until she associates herself with Quidditch. This makes me a bit uneasy. It makes me think he has some lessons to learn. Hm.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-10-26
Reviewid: 145946Chapter: 2
I'm such a stubborn soul. I'm just not going to like Catherine with Will. She should be with Remus. Sorry. *heckles*

Anyways, what I adore about this story is the way you capture Oliver's masculinity in your portrayal. The internal dialogue in Oliver's head is very true to him. I liked the "cold steel" comment and, of course, the way that intense pain and discomfort (during the game)is understated in his mind and made "manageable".

Also your description of Quidditch itself are absolutely superb. I think you are fabulous counterpoint to those who would stereotype or straitjacket "romance" writers. Your actions scenes are fantastically written and really capture the reader.

---Seconds later, a quick bolt of dark zoomed right at him. He jerked both his head and the handle of the broom back. Too late. A dizzying burst of pain hit the right side of his head as the Bludger glanced off it. Everything blurred.---

The combination of long and short sentences works really well here. I think the "too late" was particularly striking. The "Oliver filter" is a wonderful way to view the game and "too later" is such a wonderfully matter-of-fact way of describing such a key event.

Brilliant!

P.S. *heckles some more*

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-10-25
Reviewid: 145935Chapter: 6
why... does this seem like it's not going to turn out too good? I mean the result, not the story. Jon makes the end seem so.. sadly clear. and having to deal with situations like that is hard enough, the concequences can be even worse... sometimes.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-10-25
Reviewid: 145933Chapter: 5
*looks at you meekly* I know, I've been a very, very bad reader. I've been so (unwantedly) busy these past two monthes (and will probably continue on for the next two :(. but i'm going to try to catch up as fast as i can! this was a good 'un. Oliver should have a note plastered to his back saying 'oh so near and , yet so bloody far' jeez, i feel for him

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2006-10-23
Reviewid: 145885Chapter: 10
This is just lovely! I think you handled the scene with Mary leaving well. And Yay for Helen!

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2006-10-22
Reviewid: 145869Chapter: 10
This might sound odd, but in a way, Mary's reaction is unsurprising given her initial reason for snagging Oliver in the first place: she wanted a muse. Sure, she was all sympathetic and sweet, but after her initial introduction, I felt vaguely unsure of her level of commitment to Oliver the man, versus Oliver the muse. I was beginning to wonder whether that initial scene would have any bearing at all on her later behavior. Bravo for linking it in!

Meanwhile, Oliver sure is a acting horribly to Dom. I'll cut him some slack for the moment, being injured and all, but he owes Dom a huge apology. I look forward to (hopefully) reading that scene!

Great writing!

Reviewer: kinderjediDate: 2006-10-22
Reviewid: 145858Chapter: 10
"It wasn't supposed to happen like this. I had a plan. You were going to have a great career. I was going to write. It was all working out fine. Until this...This isn't part of it, Oliver. This can't be a part of it."

*picks jaw up off floor* I did NOT expect anything like that- and what impeccable timing she has. :( Poor Oliver. I really like Helen, though.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-10-22
Reviewid: 145854Chapter: 10
*sigh* I thought Mary had more depth and backbone than that.

Oops, another unclosed quote...
"So? What difference does that make now? He turned over in bed, away from his uncle, and faced the wall.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2006-10-22
Reviewid: 145850Chapter: 10
Wonderful!!

"No one had asked him what he needed. They had all just been telling him. He shook his head." Oh yes - everyone else knows best, when sometimes WE are the ones who know best, if only we will allow ourselves to admit it.

Bravo for Helen, actually having the understanding to allow Oliver to come to that himself, and to finally feel in control.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-10-19
Reviewid: 145810Chapter: 2
Ahhh-this is a well written, well thought out tale that makes those time out messages on the forum worthwhile. I adore Oliver and appreciate the time you took to create a solid, engaging tale for him.

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2006-10-16
Reviewid: 145763Chapter: 9
I felt so bad for Oliver, I had tears in my eyes. I hope that you can post the next chapter soon, because I am waiting quite anxiously for it!

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-10-16
Reviewid: 145759Chapter: 9
Another wonderful chapter, but like all, far too short. ;)

I like that you have made Oliver and his injuries real in this chapter. So many writers make it so one whoosh of the wand and all aches and pains disappear. I don't think it's that easy in JK's world. There is pain. There is blood and unhealable injuries. Magic can't cure everything.

I like that you have very accurately presented the denial, anger and difficulty of one having to come to the acceptance of invalidism and the long, slow, often seemingly unrewarding slog that is PT. Well done all around.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2006-10-15
Reviewid: 145746Chapter: 9
Oh NO! *gulps, then hugs Oliver*

Coping with major injury and sudden disability is always traumatic. I can only imagine what it must be like to be a dedicated, active sports person, who finds out that they can no longer play their sport, and indeed have a permanent crippling injury.

But I really, really want to kick his father for not actually TALKING to his son!!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-10-15
Reviewid: 145740Chapter: 9
*hugs*

You do not need to keep mentioning me, I'm only helping you so I can get sneak peeks. *winks*

But I owe you so many reviews, but I just wanted to drop you some Ollie love....I heart this story so much and cannot wait to see how Oliver works his way through all of this. He's such a fighter. And gods, don't we love those types?

*grins*

Keep it up, pal!

~Hez

Reviewer: girlyswotDate: 2006-10-15
Reviewid: 145739Chapter: 9
So, I'm trying to live up to my new resolution to review more!

I thought this was a great chapter. I'm not a sporty person at all and I've always thought it slightly foolish to put all your energy and time into something that you could lose just like that. But you manage to convey all that single-mindedness of the athlete (who can't comprehend anyone not wanting to spend their life playing sport) and all the fear and agony that Oliver feels at his injury while making me still pretty sympathetic to him!

And what is going on with his dad? Please tell me we find out soon!

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2006-10-12
Reviewid: 145687Chapter: 8
Aha! The plot thickens - *why* won't Uncle Will or Oliver's father talk to poor Oliver about what is really worrying them? And why was Uncle Will so adamant about moving forward at the end?

Great job - waiting for next instalment!

Reviewer: sugarthiefDate: 2006-10-11
Reviewid: 145666Chapter: 8
Love this story. I'm a sucker for Quidditch angst.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-10-01
Reviewid: 145572Chapter: 7
Another wonderful chapter! I am really enjoying this, but just like Fernwithy's stories, I wish I had waited till it was done to read it, as I cannot bear the wait between updates!

A couple of typo problems I found in this one:
'Oliver had done that against the *************,' Should a team name have been inserted here?

'"Oliver could hear Dominic's "Bloody hell." in the background.' An extra quote mark here at the beginning of the paragraph.

'"I will. Thanks, uncle.' Ah-ha! Here's where that quote mark belonged, at the end! :P

"But it is what you've wanted, isn't it? You've wanted your father to be in the stands, watching. And now he will be...for your biggest match.
And another missing quote.

Just minor glitches that didn't detract from the enjoyment of another fantastic chapter.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2006-09-27
Reviewid: 145505Chapter: 6
Excellent! I've had two chapters to catch up on, and I love the way you are handling the rift within the family, and that bunch of very stubborn and proud Woods.

It's interesting that even Eve apparently doesn't know what the real cause of Jonathon's opposition is. And now of course, that slender bridge built last chapter between Oliver and his father has been smashed - would like to be a fly on the wall in the Wood household after his departure this time!!

Look forward to more soon.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-09-26
Reviewid: 145488Chapter: 6
Well darlin' another stellar chapter.

*sigh*

I felt so much for Will and Oliver and Jonathan too.

These Wood men are not the most easy souls to live with. *sigh* We'll take 'em though, right?

*grins*

It was just wunnerfull, thanks for taking us along for the ride!

~Hez

Reviewer: kinderjediDate: 2006-09-23
Reviewid: 145462Chapter: 6
Those Wood men are a stubborn lot, aren't they? I'm looking forward to finding out just what Jonathan's problem with Quidditch is. Poor Oliver.

Excellent chapter.

Reviewer: kinderjediDate: 2006-09-20
Reviewid: 145428Chapter: 1
Sigh. I've just read all five chapters, and if I wasn't in love with Oliver before, I am now. I can't wait for the next update.

Reviewer: LNLisaDate: 2006-09-19
Reviewid: 145413Chapter: 1
Hez told me this was a good fic, and she was so right! I love that Oliver's uncle has him take the time and figure out what he wants. *hurrying off to read the next chapter*

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-09-14
Reviewid: 145339Chapter: 5
*sigh*

Can I say another lovely chapter?

Good.

Another lovely chapter. I have loved watching Oliver and Dom's friendship unfolding. Male bonding is a cool thing. And to see Will and Catherine again....*sigh*

and this line:

>>Sometimes hanging tough through adversity is just as admirable. <<

Yeah, that's kick hiney!

Another great chapter, mah dear!!!

~Hez

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-09-09
Reviewid: 145262Chapter: 4
Oliver has my support!!!! I'll go dress up like Doms dad and flaunt my support to the world!! lol. poor guy. This was a great one, I love Oliver. his reaction to losing... wow, I really am surprised that he DIDNT drown himself. :) The Chudley Canons thing killed me. I MIGHT have cracked a rib laughing. sooo good. Dont think I can make my mind up about Mary yet, to be honest, I'm still a little 'iffy' about her but... we'll see.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145243Chapter: 4
Enjoying I am and apologies for not reviewing regularly.

Reviewer: Pumpkin JuiceDate: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145237Chapter: 4
Another great chapter. I'm really lloking forward to seeing your brilliant writing handle the trials and tribulations to come.

The character of Mary really popped out this chapter, and I love how you're characterizing her. She is shy, but has gall at the same time. You're handling her reactions to Oliver's quick temper really well. In other author's hands she'd appear really weak (covering for some of the stuff she says, rather than sticking to it), but you're describing it really well.

Oh, and thanks for the PM. It really made me feel like my review counted for something.

^PJ^

Reviewer: kickballchangeDate: 2006-09-06
Reviewid: 145223Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed your story and I´d love to read the original story about St. Margaret´s William Wood, too! Would you send me the link? Thanks!

Reviewer: Pumpkin JuiceDate: 2006-09-01
Reviewid: 145132Chapter: 3
I've been meaning to leave a comment for a while, and I'm glad that this chapter can be my first review.

I love your characterization of Wood. Who knew under that militant mantle he covered himself in during Hogwarts there was a emotional, needy, fleshed-out person just bursting to get out? I love the variety of ways he treats his relationships with everyone in his life; his dad, his mom, Dominic, and now Mary.

There's improvement with every chapter, which his hard, considering how good it was to begin with.

Oh, and the Hydratorade...excellent.

^PJ^

Reviewer: tinabellDate: 2006-09-01
Reviewid: 145131Chapter: 3
I just discovered your story.
I'm a sucker for a good romance.
Oliver definitely fits the bill!
Love it so far!
Tinabell

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145123Chapter: 3
*SIGH*

This was completely worth the wait. I cannot highlight my favorite passages because the whole thing is just a wonderful pictoral of Oliver Wood's life, struggles, strife and victories.

*sigh*

So so so very good, M.

You da bomb.

~Hez

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145121Chapter: 3
The Snitch scene, spectacular. Oliver taking off his shirt, breathtaking. Mary, minx. The conferntation with his dad, I can relate. The part on the beach dazzling. And the end, a huge slap in the face. man do i feel for the guy.

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145119Chapter: 3
I love your descriptions, moonette. My favorite passage is this one of Oliver flying:
<<She saw him take a deep breath, filling himself, and then sigh - a great, big emptying sigh. And then he turned back to his broom and marched towards it, his strides purposeful and long, his jaw set with determination. He plucked the broom easily from the sand with one hand and tossed it into the air in front of him, taking a step and a half to leap fluidly onto its back and swoop up and out over the water. She had watched him fly before, in practice and in games, but never this fast and never this dangerously, his climbing and plunging and sharp turns all courting the edge of disaster. One second he was diving straight down towards the churning black surface of the lake...she cringed, waiting for the splash...and the next he was skimming just above the surface, his feet just deep enough to force jets of gray water out each side of his trail as he flew.>> So vivid. I felt like I was right there.

And then this line:
<<His voice was rich and deep and carried easily to her even above the din of the wind, and he raised both his hands off the broom in victory as he shouted, "This...makes...me...ALIVE!">> YES! You've captured Oliver in a line.

When Oliver succumbs to Mary's charms and actually kisses her, I wanted to shout warnings at my screen. Don't do it, Oliver. She's no good for you!

And the ending with the letter, What a heart-rending twist. Your characters are so wonderfully real, and raw, and flawed. Love it!

Reviewer: Eudora HawkinsDate: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145117Chapter: 1
So glad to see this up...and three chapters already! I'm SO enjoying this (especially since I know some of what you have in store for us. *grins*). I LOVE your take on the Wood men.

You had me from the start on Uncle Will...and then you do this:
<<I'm not lame, boy. And it's my house. There's a satisfaction in feeling the grain of the wood with my own hands, putting my own sweat into it. You'll see someday.>> *melts*

I love how you've set up the central conflict, contrasting Oliver's relationship with Uncle Will to his relationship with his dad. Just superb! A great beginning! I'm looking forward to reading (and rereading) the rest.

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-08-22
Reviewid: 144941Chapter: 1
This was a wonderful beginning.

I particularly enjoyed your depiction of the passion of Quidditch. This passage was perfect:

"That's where it is. Up there, above the pitch, with the wind in your ears and the blood pounding in your veins, calculating, anticipating, asking things of your body you never knew it could do. And responding to those commands instantly and easily. Playing right on the edge of pure instinct. And knowing you're playing with the best in the world. That's where it is."

It quite honestly made me want to get up and go for a run! You really capture the joy of pushing ones body to the edges and the amazing sensation of life that it can bring.

Excellent character creation and once again, a good setting of the scene in terms of the identification of key tensions.

Minor quibble: "There was no warmth like he'd felt looking into his uncle's eyes earlier in the week." I don't like this sentence structure. I'd have made it "...none of the warmth he'd felt...". But that's probably because "like" is often used in lazy and slang sentence structure in some parts of Britain, so it may have picked up connotations for me that are in no way relevant to your own work. So feel free to ignore this.

All in all, I am very eager to read the rest of this story. I can't wait to see you develop this plot!

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-08-21
Reviewid: 144925Chapter: 2
*sigh*

Go Oliver!

So is it sad that I wanna make myself a Number 32 quidditch jersey now?

*winks*

And Will and Catherine happy together *double sigh*

Another killer chapter that I was eagerly awaiting! I love Oliver and Will's relationship. And Will's gentle prodding for Oliver to make things right with his father. It's realisims like this that make your stories wonderful and truthful even though they take place inside of a fantastical world.

Once again, well done!

~Hez

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-19
Reviewid: 144895Chapter: 2
That was cool. Some of the discriptions are wonderfully subtle but intance. And i love Olivers attitude throughout it, very good. But admittidley I feel really sad about him and his newfound 'family', I'm just a little Gryffindor nerd who loved our origional team, ya know?
So Oliver finding a replacement is yes, much more realistic but still kind of a leaves a lonley abandoned feeling in me. yeah, you're that good.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-08-19
Reviewid: 144890Chapter: 1
What a great start! But I must say that I think you will make me cry before it ends. I was brimming when Oliver had to leave by Floo with only his mother's support and approval behind him. And that family dinner...loved it, but in a rain-on-Oliver's-parade sort of way. Oh, the frustration of being told by an older and wiser that you can't follow your dreams while your still young and passionate. I love the contrast between the warm, sentimental dinner at Uncle Will's and the formal, strained one at the Wood's. How sweet that his mum packed him a lunch to take with him. He's still young, isn't he? Without going into specifics, the little details - eyes, water goblets, corks, mirror reflections- made the story lush. I look forward to more.

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144852Chapter: 1
Woah... and i just realized that you're the same one who wrote the Tom Riddle fic, cool. I can tell i'm going to enjoy reading more of your work in the future. This was awesome, Will sounds so much like my father in law (physically and in personality). Whilst Olivers dad sounds a lot like mine...(he had me working on opening a spa at the age of 16, Honest to God). I can tell i'm going to enjoy this as the chapters come! Hell, with Sky High and this fic... i'm likely never to leave the screen again!

Reviewer: St. MargaretsDate: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144840Chapter: 1
It's here! I'm so exicited for you - and what's the first thing you do in your story? You talk about William Wood. LOL. You are a loyal fan girl for the Woods aren't you?

My favorite part of this chapter is when Will talks about loving Quidditch over the fame and fortune. Sigh. There's something so sexy about enthusiasm. ;)

Sorry this isn't a more coherent review! It's just fun to read it again, knowing what coming next.

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144832Chapter: 1
I'm going to write things that jump out at me or strike a chord as I go:

>>And now it struck Oliver again that it was appropriate that the two Woods who shared a passion for Quidditch would have eyes reminiscent of the earthy green of the Quidditch field.<<

*sigh*

Nice alliteration!

>>And it's my house. There's a satisfaction in feeling the grain of the wood with my own hands, putting my own sweat into it. You'll see someday<<

If I didn't love him before, I sure would now. *sigh*

>> want to feel proud of how I play. I want to leave it all out on the field."<<

Soooooo very Oliver!

>>He felt the coolness of his father's icy blue eyes steady on him, almost challenging him.<<

It's amazing the colour of people's eyes and their darkening or lightening reflecting on the moods or temperments a person has. I love how Will and Olivers are the warm earth tone and Jonathan's is steely ice blue.

You're creating quite the tale here!

>>No. They were nothing alike. And the next few minutes were not going to be pretty.<<

Heh! Understatement of the year. *winks*


>>Then he took a handful of Floo powder and said, the excitement clear in his voice, "Puddlemere United Headquarters."<<

And an adventure begins....

Thanks for bringing us along on the ride!

*HUGS*

~Hez

Reviewer: prplhez8Date: 2006-08-17
Reviewid: 144828Chapter: 1
AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

:partymoey!!!!!


1st review!!!!

I'm gonna go back and read but I wanted to be your number one stalker!!!

:wub:

~Hez

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --