The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 193

Reviewer: blackheartzDate: 2007-05-31
Reviewid: 148140Chapter: 1
i absolutly loved this! i have also read s kind and caring frined and am about to read merry and bright. u r an amazin author

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142634Chapter: 8
A disquieting, yet satisfying ending. A very skilful change to the tone and look forward to the changes in Abby's life which are going to happen. A marvellous conclusion.

Great work!

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142633Chapter: 7
Yes, I admit I did see that from, weell, not 20 miles away, but maybe from 5. You're building them up to romance wonderfully, and this was a lovely, fulfilling chapter in that she finally got to share her secret. :-)

I also loved this line: "Regrettably, there was a significant absence of Hungarian Horntails in the neighborhood."

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142632Chapter: 6
Oh, you write Lucius so well. He makes me sick too, so I totally sympathise with poor Abby. I really love Taffeta and the descriptions of how much fun she was having in France. The playful banter with Hollister was wonderful too. And her moping at the loss of Sirius without realising what it means ... wonderful, as is her shock at Dumbledore's revelation.

Lovely.

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: JK AShavahDate: 2006-05-07
Reviewid: 142629Chapter: 5
The description of Abby's grief was both beautiful and sad and it was typical of Sirius to accidentally push just a little too far. I loved the insightful Dumbledore in this chapter. :-)

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2005-09-26
Reviewid: 133254Chapter: 8
I don't know if I have ever commented on your story before but I wanted to let you know that I have just stayed up most of the night reading it again for what has to be the fifth time. This is a truly amazing story. I am very impressed with your characters and plot lines. Most of all I am just in love with Sirius and wishing I were Abby! ;) Thank you for sharing your talent with us and for allowing Padfoot to live on in the Interwoven Universe.

Best line: “Do not forsake all hope, my dear,” Dumbledore replied, stroking his beard. “You may yet be surprised. I would never have imagined that Honeydukes would put strawberry mousse into their Chocoballs – they were really quite dull with just empty air inside – but they did, and I have been delighted ever since.”

Reviewer: AccentDate: 2005-08-01
Reviewid: 128413Chapter: 1
that was perfect!Well done!`

Reviewer: HannahDate: 2005-07-27
Reviewid: 127986Chapter: 8
Oh, my God. This was amazing. The line of work you chose for Abby made her, if possible, even more endearing than she already was. I liked that she wasn't a very forceful presence; many of the love interests in the books are quite assertive, and I found Abby a refreshing change. I loved the developments in her relationship with Snuffles/Padfoot/Sirius.

Reviewer: RandomReviewerDate: 2005-07-04
Reviewid: 126007Chapter: 8
Oh my! This piece is an absolute blast. You captured the world of Harry Potter perfectly; I forgot that this was a fanfic. I loved that you did have some muggle references, but that they were not too much. Abby is delightful, though I wish you would have given her an extra flaw or two. And like you said at the end of the seventh chapter, you could see Abby giving the cloak to Sirius. Maybe if you ever rework this, you could add an extra character (or enhance one already in the piece) that she might also consider giving the cloak to, just to keep the audience on in suspense. Also, I would think Abby's reaction would be a little more extreme to seeing Sirius the first time. Maybe a little more strained in the beginning of their relationship as well. Still, this is totally fun piece and well written. Can't wait to read something else of yours. :)

Reviewer: KATINKA TO EOWYNDate: 2005-05-02
Reviewid: 121254Chapter: 1
Thank you for reading! To answer your question, there's not a proper "sequel" to "Interwoven", but there are several ficlets that immediately follow it, as well as a few that concern Sirius and Abby's far-off future. I'd recommend you start at the bottom of my fic listings and read up. :)

Reviewer: EowynDate: 2005-04-30
Reviewid: 121039Chapter: 8
Could you write a sequel? Have you already? If so could you please put the name of it at the end of Interwoven. I really like your story!!!

Reviewer: MercuryBlueDate: 2005-04-21
Reviewid: 120245Chapter: 8
My compliments. It never occurred to me to wonder about how Invisibility Cloaks were made till now, but I think you've got the process down perfectly. Padfoot getting a bath was hilarious. Love the epilogue.

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-02-13
Reviewid: 113821Chapter: 4
I love Abby's reaction to Sirius. It's really funny, yet scared ... as befits the sitaution, which is both threatening and absurd from Abby's point of view. Her reactions continue throughout the chapter to be wry and scared both, like: "Should I hunt down whatever’s left of Voldemort and ask him if he’d like a spot of breakfast, too?" It's lovely. It really suits Abby's character.

I loved the scene in the middle of the night. It's the sort of thing I imagine Azkaban doing to a person.

There's also a lovely use of Sirius's sense of humour in the way he teases Abby. And Snape's appearance at Gladrags is wonderful, especially in the way it affects certain rosebushes. ;-)

I still love this!

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-02-03
Reviewid: 112828Chapter: 3
Great celebrity-seeking from the third-years! And Abby was wonderful with them. I love her so much!

Good work with Lucius!

EEEEEEE!!! It's Sirius!

YYYYAAAAAYYYY!!!!

(That scene with the raisins was hilarious!!!)

Yours,

JK

Reviewer: Amalynne O'haraDate: 2005-02-01
Reviewid: 112676Chapter: 1
I luv this story, it's ever so creative and light hearted, thanx for making my afternoon enjoyable. :) -Ama

Reviewer: JK AshavahDate: 2005-01-07
Reviewid: 110090Chapter: 2
The steps Abby takes in adopting Snuffles ring very true. I've adopted a stray once, and it started in a similar way; leaving out water, then feeding her, then she stayed. Abby's interactions with Snuffles are beautiful.

Love the way you have the characters int he shop as minor canon characters. It reinforces the universe and gives some great insights into charaacters. Shopping can being out the worst in people. ;-) I also love the way that Abby uses sales techniques to manipulate information out of people. She's a really interesting character, and she's really smart and engaging.

You put lovely touches into your writing which add to the universe you "weave", like the Zonko's window turning your hand blue and the system of favours in Hogsmeade, which fits with the mediaeval feel of the Wizarding community.

I also love the way you scatter Abby's memories throughout the chapter, both about the cloak and about sadder things, like the McKinnons.

It mgith be good to mark out flashbacks, liek teh one of Abby's last visit to Hogwarts, more clearly. The pluperfect tense was effective for a few sentences, but then it got confusing as to whether it was the past or present visit being described.

Oh, evil cliffhanger! ;-)

Lovely work. Very truthful, engaging writing.

Reviewer: MelissaDate: 2004-12-26
Reviewid: 108640Chapter: 8
WOAH!!!Im am so in awe of you that was the best and i mean the best fan fic i have ever read !!!! Before ur story i was reducing myself to reading just your average ships with hardly any Sirius what so ever. What's a Sirius lover to do? Find your story!!! It was so good!! And im not sure if the sequal is out already coz im positive im reaing this late!!! Oh please keep wriitng if you havnt already!I loved it. A SUBERB (i think i spelt that wrong) AND WONDERFUL JOB ! Bows and gives a huge box of sugar quills (the strawberry-mango kind).

Reviewer: cileagDate: 2004-09-21
Reviewid: 98885Chapter: 8
I like the bits and pieces that you've polished up. I came to reread this wonderful story again and was delighted you'd taken another look at it. The only thing I object to is your altering my favorite line, "Sirius, you sad, sad sod." I loved that! Replacing sod with man just isn't the same!

Reviewer: BrytniDate: 2004-08-10
Reviewid: 96563Chapter: 8
Wow. Just wow. I absolutely love this fic. I love Abby, she's such a sweet, believeable OC. And I've found I Sirius ship that I finally like! *points to Sirius/Abby pin* Am really looking forward to reading the following fics! Keep writing, it's wonderful!

Reviewer: MegDate: 2004-08-02
Reviewid: 95329Chapter: 1
Oh the name things clever didn't get it til just good book Sense and Sensibility is !I like your story can't wait for more

Reviewer: HeatherKDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94754Chapter: 7
"For more on Remus being the quiet jokester at Hogwarts, and for some good Remus love all around, I heartily recommend Alkari’s “A Most Unusual Student”."

Hear, hear! Wonderful story!

Well, as I've read the last story in this series, I thought it might be prudent to see where all the little puns come from that the boys are throwing out. I love it! It's such a cute story, and the idea of the Weaver is wonderful. Of course Dumbledore knew! Poor Abby, but I must say, though I think a bit far fetched, the idea of the Whisper Weave is amazing. Due props to Abby for that brilliant idea!

Reviewer: AngharadDate: 2004-07-30
Reviewid: 94686Chapter: 1
Hahaha, "Sense and Sensiblity," interesting thus far....

Reviewer: KatiaDate: 2004-07-29
Reviewid: 94526Chapter: 8
You know, I'm just about to read chapter eight right now, and all I want to say is that after spending all day worrying and trying to get things done...getting to read a chapter of Interwoven is so welcoming and relaxing... I need things like that, and I don't think I'm the only one.

Thank you.

Reviewer: RikaDate: 2004-07-27
Reviewid: 94109Chapter: 8
I don't know if I've ever reviewed this or not, but since I just finished it, I thought I'd go ahead and do it again.
I've really truly enjoyed this story both times I've read it. I love the way you've woven this story together, making me fall in love with Sirius and Abby. I like the small details, and the point of view of a Hogsmeade resident during the period of the fourth book.
This definitly ranks among my favorite fanfics that I've ever read, and since I have been reading for a long time, it has a lot of competition to go up against.
Thank you for sharing this with us, and I now I'm on to read more!

Reviewer: KatiaDate: 2004-07-26
Reviewid: 94043Chapter: 5
This is absolutely charming. It's well-written, sweet, entertaining...a little sweet, a little dark in some parts, and it's absolutely lovely. Abby Loomis is a lovely OC and completely believable. I like to think that she and I would be friends if she actually existed, you know? THAT is the sort of character you've created.Your entire way of portraying Hogsmeade is absolutely believable as well.

I've only read to chapter five, btw. I'm off to read through to the end...

Reviewer: ChrisDate: 2004-07-12
Reviewid: 91989Chapter: 8
Sigh...just finished re-reading this wonderful story. I didn't think there was any way to make it better, but you have. Abby is such a wonderful character. I am looking forward to reading more about her in the delightful Alternate Universe she now inhabits.

I think a real strength of this story is the dialogue, which has a very natural and real flow to it. You are such a gifted writer and I'm so happy that you have shared that gift with us.

Reviewer: LidaroseDate: 2004-06-29
Reviewid: 89404Chapter: 1
This fic made me think of a poem by Walt Whitman: "Weave in, Weave in, My Hardy Life"

Weave in! weave in, my hardy life!
Weave yet a soldier strong and full, for great campaigns to come;
Weave in red blood! weave sinews in, like ropes! the senses, weave in!
Weave lasting sure! weave day an night the weft, the warp, incessant weave! tire not!
(We know not what the use, O life! nor know the aim, the end-nor really aught we know;
But know the work, the need goes on, and shall go on-the death-envelop'd march of peace as well as war goes on;)
For great campaigns of peace the same, the wiry threads to weave;
We know not why or what, yet weave, forever weave.

I feel like it's a kind of cheating to use someone else's words for a review- but this poem says it all! Abby shows a side of wizard life that isn't always clebrated in Rowling's books; the vast majority of wizard kind who show courage by living their lives in spite of Voldemort, not by deeds of blood and war.

Reviewer: Violet AzureDate: 2004-06-26
Reviewid: 88953Chapter: 1
[Lockhart had left the shop none the wiser, but from that day on, his robes began to shrink half a centimetre with each self-serving remark he made. The effects had been quite amusing, until Abby realized that the charm only sent him back to Gladrags for more alterations.]

Too funny! And very clever! Poor Abby, having that charm backfire on her! For some reason that just makes her all the more endearing.

Loved Draco in the beginning and Abby's smiling-on-the-outside-homicidal-on-the-inside attitude. Very funny and very true for anyone who's ever worked in service jobs. It's a miracle she didn't hex the little twit; I would have.

[Will had a talent for, erm, Heating Spells] *snert* I bet he did. I still sigh every time you write about love. With all the smut that other sites have the poor HP characters do, it's to see a little innocense and sweetness around first loves that feels real, that gets you dizzy and giggly as a reader. So many other writers, when they try to convey first love, still have too much of that swoony "Wuthering Heights" feel.

[She had toyed with quill nibbling as a youngster, but a colleague of her father’s had put a quick end to that habit by Transfiguring the quill into a live, squawking chicken the moment the it had entered her mouth.] Hehehe. Wish I could get his help to help me stop biting my nails!

[The gossip escalated, acting like a weed pushing its way between two cobblestones.] Wow! What an excellent image! Effective and unique.

[Abby herself still wondered if Walter and Rose Sooker, the proprietors of Honeydukes, were part of Dumbledore’s network.] You know, that's an excellent point. Makes you wonder about that tunnel that goes to their basement.

I still love how you worked in where Snuffles got his name. Too cute! And I liked how you worked in Abby's clumbsiness with the toe stubbing without calling a huge amount of attnetion to it. The way you sprinkle those details throughout the fic make it so authentic.

I just adore Abby. She's the perfect example of how to create an OFC that has all the outward signs of being a Mary-Sue but through good writing becomes a living, breathing character and a true heroine.

Excellent writing, very smooth. It comes across as seamless (pardon the pun) and sleek. Great pacing, dialogue, and characterization and I love how you immerse us in a real world that is also part of the wizarding world. I've always loved Abby and I bet if JKR had read your story, OotP would have ended a lot differently! Great to see the updates!

Reviewer: QueenieDate: 2004-06-16
Reviewid: 87412Chapter: 8
Oh, my, god... I've just finished rereading it, and let me tell you, I think it's brilliant. The new additions are great (but the "They could all rest" line did give a peek of a veil) and the epilogue... I'm still laughing. Now, can we hope for rewrites to the other two stories?
Woof --
~Q

Reviewer: SreyaDate: 2004-06-14
Reviewid: 87116Chapter: 8
Brava! I had so much fun re-reading the story and finding the new bits and pieces. I think your story has come together much more tightly, and it's even more enjoyable than before.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-06-11
Reviewid: 86701Chapter: 8
What a wonderfully concise epilogue! And... *sniffles* You jinx... Sirius would not want to rest. He'd want to keep busy even when he's considred a respectable, law-abiding chap. Just so long as he hasn't got Aurors breathing down his neck... not resting no where... he probably hates that people on message boards have started having "R.I.P. Padfoot" or the like in their signatures... perish the thought of just being DEAD and "resting"! *bursts into tears* Okay, I'm fine now. And you've taught me something. Mary-Sues are just the obnoxious, beautiful, half-Veela-or-whatever OC's.

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-06-09
Reviewid: 86609Chapter: 6
Ugh, Lucius has one-upped poor Abby, hasn't he? He's put some spying bug thing in her hair! Well, anyway, “Do you ever just want to just bag it all and run off with a Muggle?” is an EXCELLENT line! It's like you could relate if you were a witch like Abby.

Reviewer: Mcily NochiDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86131Chapter: 8
I just finished this all in the course of two days. How beautiful and original! I will avidly keep up with everything else you've written! This is one of the best fanfics I've read.

Reviewer: NOTE FROM KATINKADate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86111Chapter: 1
To Gyakutenno and others:

I don't know if any of you will see this, but if you're just starting out the story, there is a much better version of it filed in my Yahoo Group (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/interwoupies/). I'm not quite finished with the revision yet, but the first seven chapters can be read there.

Thanks!

~Katinka

Reviewer: GyakutennoDate: 2004-06-06
Reviewid: 86093Chapter: 1
*grin* He's taken his own name, eh? Anyhow, I like how in-character Draco is- a terrible git who has what could be redeeming qualities.

Reviewer: louisaDate: 2004-06-05
Reviewid: 86028Chapter: 8
This is a lovely, lovely, teasing nuaghty story and I love it! Abby is delightful, and the cosy celler and firelight revelations.. oooohh!

Reviewer: AllisonDate: 2004-06-04
Reviewid: 85897Chapter: 8
Wow. Wow, wow, wow. I feel like such a dork to have heard about this story for so long and never gotten around to reading it. It's fabulous! Abby is spectacular, and your other canon characterizations are absolutely spot on. There are so many small nuances I wanted to specifically mention, but after having read the whole story all in one sitting, I think I probably forgot them all... I love that Abby and Sirius didn't kiss -- as much as I really, really wanted them to, at the same time, the ending that you wrote seemed to fit so much better.

I love it. It's fabulous. Excellent job!

Reviewer: KitaDate: 2004-05-17
Reviewid: 83023Chapter: 1
I LOVE this story!! I'm so glad there a few short follow-up stories to go with it - I was so sad when it was over! Sirius is my favourite character and you did a great job with him. He was perfect. The whole story was perfect. Any chance of you writing a sequel?

Reviewer: GraceDate: 2004-05-16
Reviewid: 82868Chapter: 8
Great Story!! You really really need to write a sequel!! I love the fact that there was such a strong understood bond between Abbey and sirius!!!

Reviewer: AnonymousDate: 2004-04-17
Reviewid: 79232Chapter: 8
WOW. I really wish you made a sequal...please do if you ever find time and have the inclination to do so.

Reviewer: claireDate: 2004-04-15
Reviewid: 78959Chapter: 8
Happening upon your story was a lucky break.
I've really enjoyed this and have read on and on.
I'm keen to follow up on your Abby /Sirius stories
and the others you've mentioned.

I found Abby's character and the ideas of the Weavers very compelling.
Hogsmeade and Rosmerta/ Three Broomsticks are very vivid. The characters come across as I imagine from the books.

Thanks, it was great.

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-20
Reviewid: 75331Chapter: 8
A very enjoyable story indeed – it just bursts at the seams with intriguing and creative ideas and details, and the way they blend in perfectly with JKR’s canon is amazing.

The whole concept of people only being “entitled” to an Invisibility Cloak when they’ve saved someone’s life is particularly great. They’re so rare, it’s nice to think that it’s not determined by mere coincidence who owns one.

I continue to like the way Sirius’ and Abby’s relationship works and develops. It’s very intense, and somehow very real, and the fact that “nothing” really happens is not only very tactful and respectful towards the characters, it’s a very important aspect of the relationship on the whole. I like how it all takes time.

The only thing I’m still struggling with is the fact that Abby never really learns the whole story about Sirius – or does she? 10.000 apologies if she does and I've missed it. :o But simply “I never believed it” doesn’t strike me as a satisfactory explanation for Abby’s absolute immunity to the whole wizarding world’s opinion of Sirius, if that’s really all she knows. I’d have liked to see Albus Dumbledore (who is, all along, very well written and In Character) explain to her what really happened.


Lots of unanswered questions still… will the Whisper Weave work? Would it be safe to assume that Abby is definitely a candidate for membership in the Order of the Phoenix?

Gotta check out the outtakes and sequels! :)

Jolie


P.S. I LOVE the epilogue. I’ve always loved ginger biscuits, but I think I love them even more now. ;-)

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-17
Reviewid: 74989Chapter: 4
I really like the flippancy in Abby and Sirius’ conversations – at first I thought her reaction to finding herself in the house with a convicted murderer was fairly unlikely, to keep a clear head like that. But then, maybe her reaction wasn’t all as rational as it seems – it’s more like she doesn’t want to acknowledge the absurdity of the situation, and *that* is certainly a plausible reaction to a shock like this. I also marvelled at the degree to which Sirius seems to trust her, without knowing her at all. But now I really like the familiarity between them, how they don’t discuss Azkaban and Voldemort but Hippogriffs and Quidditch, how they’re both trying to cling to a sort of normality, and how they resort to acting like they would have at school if they’d known each other there. But I still wonder how Abby can (in spite of affection for Snuffles, life-saving, and fairly obvious attraction to Sirius) overlook the fact that for all she knows he’s a cold blooded murderer and a Death Eater – I hope she’ll find out the truth soon.

Jolie

P.S. Oh, and Snape’s pain at having to buy a set of dress robes was delightfully real. ;-)

Reviewer: JolieDate: 2004-03-15
Reviewid: 74776Chapter: 3
Oh, I just had to read up to this point all in one go – the moment Snuffles first turned up, I wanted to know when and how Abby would find out the truth about him!

I really like how this story blends so well with canon… very beautifully “interwoven” indeed! The amount of detail you put into it is amazing and really does JKR’s world justice. Nice to learn a bit more about Hogsmeade and the wizarding population there!

And the concept of the Weavers is very intriguing, well thought out. We only know terribly little about the Invisibility Cloaks, but you elaborate on the little we know very creatively. I particularly like the detail that Weavers can actually see the cloaks! I’m not clear which cloak it is Abby is currently working on, whether it will have a significance later on, but maybe I’ll find out in later chapters (which I’m very much looking forward to reading!).

Jolie

Reviewer: orlaDate: 2004-02-21
Reviewid: 71774Chapter: 8
This is one of the best storys that i have read on the quill and i just want to say that you are a EXCELLENT, SUPERB writer and that i think you wrote Sirius VERY well. Thank you for the story it was great

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-02-13
Reviewid: 70508Chapter: 8
Because I just realised I forgot to say before...

Will's DEAD?! :O

I'd totally forgotten when I read Chance and the Alphabet. :P And now that I know again, I'm torn between utter love for you for writing these stories, and utter contempt for killing Will. :P

*glares*

-Jules, heheheh... xxx

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2004-02-13
Reviewid: 70507Chapter: 8
Me again! ;)

I was reading through some of Circe's stories the other day, and was distracted by her Abby/Sirius outtake. Needless to say, afterwards I had the biggest urge to re-read Interwoven, and here I am. :P

Just to say, that it was ten times better the second time around, and that's saying something considering how much I enjoyed it the first. I never really appreciated the way Sirius smiles with the right side of his mouth curving up first, and have now *completely* fallen in love with the guy. Every time I think I'm getting over his death, I always read a piece of Remus, or something exactly like this with Sirius alive, and I go to pieces again. More than once, a huge lump rose to my throat in reading this. This story also makes me appreciate Dumbledore that much more, and increases my frequent urge to give him a shower of socks. ;)

So... yeah. I love this story, so much. The warmth and magic you feel when reading it is incredible, and the feeling that you know exactly what's happening. I can picture Abby's cottage perfectly in my mind - every nook and cranny - which is something I usually find hard to do. Your writing style is one I love more and more every time I read, and... *stops gushing*

What're the chances of writing something similar, for OotP? *puppy dog eyes (no pun intended ;)* If you ever find the inspiration for it, I beg you not to ignore it, put it that way.

Thanks buddy :D *goes off to read some outtakes*

-Jules. xxx

Reviewer: margoDate: 2004-02-13
Reviewid: 70496Chapter: 1
the best story in the world!!! wicked and moving.

Reviewer: Artemisia BristolDate: 2004-01-06
Reviewid: 66003Chapter: 8
Just wanted to drop another to say that you've gained another admirer. Though much has been said (all of it deserved praise) I just wanted to let you know how impressed I was that the story never stoops to cliches. Never. Though it takes a tried and tested plot and several situations that have been used by others, it interjects real emotions into them. Real situations played out by two very seemingly real people.

Abby is just lovely! And your Sirius never stops into melodrama as he is prone to do. The situation with his Azkaban prison garb and her brand-spanking-new robes brought a little hiccup in my heart. Nice to see adults acting like adults!

Would write something more gushing but I have to go run to read the rest of your works!

Reviewer: EstherDate: 2003-12-26
Reviewid: 64835Chapter: 8
Oh wow I so enjoyed this story! I'm an Abby/Sirius shipper now! Look what you've done!

Seriously, Abby was one of my favorite OC's ever. What a charming, flawed, and real character you created with an intricate backstory and original quirks. Ginger cookies.

I also must say the incantation for the pain relief spell sounds a lot like my favorite pain medication. ;)

Awesome job Katinka :D

Reviewer: IhlanyaDate: 2003-12-12
Reviewid: 63062Chapter: 1
I'm not one for flattery generally, but this took my breath away. You're brilliant - please don't stop.

Reviewer: GryffinMiraurDate: 2003-12-02
Reviewid: 61546Chapter: 8
I decided to read this story based on the numerous mentions I've seen in the forums about this being an exemplary fic. Now I understand why and I too will be a mentioner. Abby is a wonderful OC and I love her normality. She seems as though she is a genuinely real person that you could meet on the street which is a quality that is sometimes lacking in OCs. I think I'd like to have her for a friend (especially with her knowledge of things like Invisi-pins). I also enjoyed that there wasn't any kissing but yet the romantic tension continued to build. It reminded me of when I used to watch the X-Files and glare at Mulder and Scully every time they missed a kiss opportunity. Thank you for writing this. It is one of the cases wherein I believe fan fiction ought to be published not just on SQ but out in bookshops (ideally, tiny little London bookshops that I'm convinced have entrances to Diagon Alley in the back)

Reviewer: CheesekakkeDate: 2003-11-17
Reviewid: 60429Chapter: 8
So you're the original creator of Abagail Loomis? Wow. That's really cool. So that makes... Oh I can't stand this boring-ness. Abby's so cool!!! And you did Sirius real well to. He died just when we were finding out about his past. That pissed me off! But some stories, like yours, make him come to life again and some stories, like yours, show us the coy, cute, charming and capturing side of him. KEEP WRITING!!! I LOVE your Sirius. KEEP IT COMEING!!! Forever loyal to telling to the truth---Cheesekakke ( who is wishing right now that she could write like you!)

Reviewer: KellieDate: 2003-09-21
Reviewid: 53780Chapter: 4
Look who's finally reading this!!!!!!111ONE

I can't review much right now, as I'm working on the Top Secret Project involving a certain Seven. But I was killing time waiting for the finished touches from Silver Patronus, and reading this.

And by Merlin!

This. Is. Damn. Good.

I mean... I knew everyone like this story, but this story has captured me the way Catherine's do, or Axelle's. I was all ready to do the Review Challenge this week and read a chapter or two from several different stories, but this has me hooked and I can see me finishing this before I start anything else.

But damn. I am loving this story. And of course, it's bittersweet, knowing his fate. And so I cry at parts that probably would not have made me cry Pre-OotP. But I'm glad that some where in the universe, he's alive and well.

Well, Silver Patronus has finished the Birthday Fic, and as it's midnight, I'm heading to bed.

Great writing!

--Kellie

Reviewer: Katinka to NarumiDate: 2003-09-18
Reviewid: 53329Chapter: 8
Narumi,

Hello, fellow Alchemilla fan! Thank you for your kind review. :) The stories that follow "Interwoven" are, in order:

*Character Development
*A Kind and Caring Friend
*Merry and Bright
*In the Kitchen
*Chance and the Alphabet (a little of Will Lowby's story)
*Beautiful Morning (only posted at ff.net for now, as it's more than a little AU. ;) http://www.fanfiction.net/profile.php?userid=197906)

Thanks again for reading!

Best,

Katinka

Reviewer: NarumiDate: 2003-09-17
Reviewid: 53121Chapter: 8
Simply. Fabulous. Is there any way you can post a list of stories that are followups to this? I was absolutely delighted when I stumbled upon it- I've been avidly following Alchemilla's "The Test of Time" for a while and have been going positively bonkers trying to figure out who on earth the ginger-biscuit seamstress was. Thank you so much for this wonderful and enchanting tale! Two last notes- As I read the end I couldn't stop myself from exclaiming rather loudly (much to my roommate's dismay) "His CHEEK?!?!" That was just sneaky and cruel and TEASING, that was. And finally- I LOVE the epilogue. It's perfect.

Reviewer: BrookeDate: 2003-08-20
Reviewid: 47938Chapter: 8
My dear, this is a fantastic story! And all the talk about ginger biscuits made me think of ginger snaps, so I had to go to the store and buy some (I'm too lazy to bake right now). So, here I sit, munching away absolutely adoring our Padfoot. Thank you for such a splendid story! I hope that you continue with another story because I really want to know what happens next!
Cheers!

Reviewer: BeakerDate: 2003-08-13
Reviewid: 46935Chapter: 8
Thanks so much for a very well-woven story. Abby is a very real character. I disagree with Newbia--I think it is believeable that Abby would be so sensitive and "take things wrong" after living alone, and living a lie and with a secret, for so many years. Sirius is cracking her shell, and she is very vulnerable. Given time, she would trust him emotionally as much as she does otherwise. But alas! That can no longer be. She is an excellent match for him, however--both have been imprisoned in some way for much of their adult lives. I will confess right here that I have never been able to subscribe to The One True Way. There just isn't anything I can see in canon to support it.

And while I'm at it, here's an even bigger heresy: I actually have a better sense of who Sirius is from this story than I do from JKR's books, and your story has made me more of a Sirius fan. JKR does a lot of "telling" when it comes to Sirius' relationship with Harry, and not enough "showing." You "show" us how Sirius feels, how much he thinks about Abby, and his consideration for her, by the things he says and does. But neither is he the perfect house guest, and the balance of thoughtfulness and inconsideration really rings true, and makes the relationship very believable.

I also appreciate the restraint this pair shows. Having Sirius change into Padfoot when being invited to share her bed shows what a gentleman he is, and the embarrassment she feels when realizing she bathed a grown wizard--! This story could have taken the easy, wish-fulfillment route to romance, and still been effective if handled carefully--but it's much stronger, and a much better story, to leave things as they are: unrequited, undeclared, unconsummated. It also suits the characters much better. Neither can risk a commitment at this point in their lives. Well, Abby could once the first cloak is done, but she hasn't been ready yet, emotionally.

All in all, a great read. I look forward to hunting down more stories about Abby. What a treat that they are already written!

Reviewer: Andra MalfoyDate: 2003-08-04
Reviewid: 45345Chapter: 8
This was so good! I was a bit disapointed about the 'NO KISSING' but I liked it. I can't wait for more on them!

Reviewer: Madame LupinDate: 2003-07-26
Reviewid: 43981Chapter: 8
Just like the twist in Abby's heart, your story was bittersweet. I actually think that the absence of kissing makes it even more beautiful. Please don't ask me why; I can't explain it. Muahaha, your epilogue is just corking.

Reviewer: JenniferDate: 2003-07-19
Reviewid: 42849Chapter: 8
I know that this review will be of no real use to you, seeing that you've finished this story, but I enjoyed Interwoven so much that I really wanted to comment on it.
This is such a sweet story. I enjoyed your intricately, interwoven plot that focused on other plot lines besides romance. ^_^ I'm glad that you had Abby and Sirius take things slowly and not be all over each other by, say, the end of chapter 3. They're both sweet, decent people, not the kind of people that say, "Hey babe, I don't know you, but wanna get in bed with me?" ^_^ Sirius was pretty sweet, and that was very touching. (Okay, enough use of the word "sweet"!) It's also kind of a nice change not to read an angsty-Remus/Sirius fanfic, you know, a fanfic where it's a bit more lighthearted and Sirius is straight. I love your portrayle (argh, that spelling can't be right, but it is 12 AM) of Moody. "That'll teach you a lesson, lassie!" Sounds just like Moody!
The only criticism that I have is your portrayal of Dumbledore. I thought that it was a bit OOC that he should refer to Abby as "dear." It seems patronizing of him to refer to Abby as that, but I understand that it's really more to show how much of a father figure, or a close friend, or however you want to say it, he is towards Abby. (Although half the time Abby wanted to curse Dumbledore into oblivion! ^_^)
Well, I must say that it's very saddening to have to see Abby go. It's especially WAY TOO SAD that Sirius can't have a happy ending with Abby in light of recent, canonical events. ::sob::
Thank you for such a wondeful story!
(Wow, my first review! I'm so proud of myself! ^_^)
~Jennifer

Reviewer: SnitchnipperDate: 2003-07-01
Reviewid: 39378Chapter: 1
This was, and always be, my favorite Sirius Black romance fanfic. After recent events, <cough>, I felt the need to finally comment on this fic... I know I should've done it sooner. I look forward to any future writings!

Reviewer: KristinaDate: 2003-06-28
Reviewid: 38793Chapter: 8
What will we do with what happened in OotP?!?!?!?!? N e ideas? I have a few...

Reviewer: IsolaDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37186Chapter: 8
*Makes a small, squeaky noise* Katinka! Katinka, how could you? Before I read this, I had made this resolution - "No matter how wonderful this story is, not OC shall disrupt the One True Way." But... I just love Sirius/Abby! I found myself wanting them to kiss! Oh, how could you do this to me?

Okay, enough of my melodramatics. This was *gorgeous*. I love Abigail. I'll never insult the OFC species again, ever. The warm'n'fuzzies in this story were blissful, and the section in the Three Broomsticks where everyone was following the third task gave me goosebumps. Marvellous.

*Off to read more*

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2003-06-16
Reviewid: 37116Chapter: 1
Eeeep!! Sorry - I said about a week ago that I'd finish writing my review the next day, but I totally forgot about it, then got a bit busy... *stops gabbling and gets on with it* But sorry. :)

But still. I absoloutely loved this story; so much so that it's come to the point that on my re-read of GoF, I'm looking for hints that Abby really does exist in Hogsmeade. Every time I see a mention of Sirius, I just start grinning insanely. ^_^ She seems to just blend in so *perfectly* with my idea of Hogsmeade - the community, Madame Rosmerta, her little cottage... I just can't see how I never knew she existed before.

The little things that make Abby Abby really do make her unique, and she has to be one of the most believable OCs I've ever read. Right from the beginning, when we were given a flashback of her years at Hogwarts, I was totally hooked. That little flashback was probably the thing that got me to know Abby as well as I do, as well as being the thing that really drew me into the story. I remember the thought process of "Ooooh, background! Loving it." - it's something that really *makes* the character, so to have read it so early on really gets her into my brain. Not sure if I've explained myself too well there, but... get what I mean? :/ Her relationship with Draco and everybody was also good; the amount of times I just wanted to slap him there and then, but Abby still kept her cool. Except for that one time, but - *shudders at the thought of Abby/Lucius* - I think she had every right to flip then. ;)

The raisins epsiode was absoloutely hysterical; especially when Snuffles (loved the linkage to canon there :D) reveals himself to be Sirius... it was such a turn-around of emotions, and something I'd been waiting for to happen. And the BATH! *giggles* Her shame afterwards made me laugh no end. ^_^

The explanations you've given to Weaving was also lovely; the way that she didn't know what to do for the Finishing, and things like that, were really good. I loved it how it was seen as an 'art', rather than just plain weaving.

The ending was PERFECT - it just really rounded the story off. It flowed with the canon, was emotional, and IIRC there was no kiss? That was just brilliant; really left me hanging. And the scene where they both slide down the door... it was just so emotional, I was crying. Or at least damned close to it.

The only thing I didn't like so much about the story was how easily Abby seemed to trust Sirius from the start; I understand that she probably trusted him because she knew Dumbledore did, and she still sees him from her school PoV, but I think that from there her visions would go to James and Lily, and she'd be reminded of how he 'betrayed' them. But as soon as I read over that obstacle, I was completely hooked into their relationship once more. :)

But yeah, wonderful story. :) A pretty daring thing to make an OC involved with a canon book so closely (added to that, GoF, IMO one of the most complex of the series so far), but you pulled it off fantastically. Really enjoyable, and I'll certainly be returning to your author page soon. :)

Have fun with OotP! *five days - EEEE!!* :)

-Jules. xxx

Reviewer: KristinaDate: 2003-06-14
Reviewid: 36785Chapter: 8
I all around LOVED it! It was such a good fic! It's now one of my favorites, probably the best handeled Sirius romance I've ever read. (And probably WILL ever read) It was very well written for an OC, not shaky at all. The humor in this fic was also marvelous, the "bath" killed me ;)
I can't wait to read the outakes, and other related fics, I hope you do one of these after OotP comes out, that'd be awesome! I can't wait for more, you are truly a talented writer, yours always,

~Kristina

P.S. Keep writing! :)

Reviewer: CaliDate: 2003-06-08
Reviewid: 35899Chapter: 8
I loved this story. Unbelievably good... I'm afraid I can't read canon now without trying to find hints about Abby. LOL, excellent writing! :D

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-07
Reviewid: 35820Chapter: 8
What do you mean,no kissing?<< Before he could turn further, she rose up and pressed her mouth against his cheek.>>That counts,doesn't it?
Anyway,pro and con time!

Pro:
Some parts are VERY funny indeed,and you wrote this wonderfully.
Con:
Abby takes things wrong,which annoys me,like Sirius leaving and stuff.
Pro/Con:
Kudos for being the closet to origanal fiction in this whole site!

-Newbia

PS-The Epilogue is great.Took me a while to get,but other then that it ROX.

Reviewer: JulesDate: 2003-06-05
Reviewid: 35545Chapter: 8
I can't really say much in this review, because it's late and I should have been in bed 45 minutes ago. ;) However, I was completely hooked by your story and couldn't bring myself to be pulled away until I'd finished. :D Therefore, I'll write a bit of a summarised review now while everything's fresh in my mind, and a more in-depth one later. :)

Overall, this story was just simply awesome. I loved how Abby had so much of a background, especially with Will, and how it all linked in to making her the person she was. The constant thing of her never finishing Hogwarts hanging around her, and how we as readers were so often reminded of it by her cursing the Apparition people (which really made me grin, incidentally :D), or by the words she knew were spoken of her in Hogsmeade, just really added to her past. All those dark parts of her past, and the dark secret she had to keep ... well, secret ;), were just wonderful to make up the character that she is. She is honestly one of the best original characters I've ever had the pleasure to meet.

I really wanted to write more, but I have to go!! But thank you SO much for writing such a beautfiul story, Katinka!! I really loved it, and can't wait to move on to your outtakes. :)

-Jules. xxx

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35304Chapter: 5
Ok,going to bed now,but first of course I must give me review of this chapter. It's really good-Abigail and Sirious were beginning to be Mary and Gary Sue-ish,but not anymore-and I like the meeting with Dumbledore. However,I am *very* sad that Sirius has been gone for so long,but will wait until tomorrow to read the next chapter.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35302Chapter: 4
Small problem-Abigail has taken the fact that Snuffles is really Serious Black rather well. TOO well. But,exellent writing all the same.

Reviewer: Newbia the ElfDate: 2003-06-04
Reviewid: 35301Chapter: 3
Sirius is very,very stupid. I would mourn for him if I didn't know already he didn't get caught.

Reviewer: FroethDate: 2003-05-30
Reviewid: 34567Chapter: 8
Oh, lovely. I adored it, I really did!

Reviewer: CarrotDate: 2003-05-30
Reviewid: 34365Chapter: 8
Oh... oh my, this was quite beautiful. *sniff* I was browsing the Forums, for I had happened upon them by accident, and I came upon your letter to Abby, and it made me want to read the series more...

Now, I'm quite sad that I'm at the end, for I, much like the people who replied to your letter, have become quite attached to Abby, and I think that Sirius needs an Abagail Loomis...

For designer puppies are adorable. *melt*

Reviewer: NM(NarcissaMalfoy)Date: 2003-05-29
Reviewid: 34309Chapter: 8
I read this last chapter a while ago, and being under quite a bit of stress recently, hadn't got around to reviewing it till now. I was crying about Cedric Diggory, if you want to know what my emotional response was. Crying for Cedric, and for Harry, and for the wizarding world. And especially for Abby and Sirius, who will now be parted, even though I now know that they need to get together, and starting raising that family of little weavers. :-)

Dumbledore's characterization is this chapter was one of the stand-out points for me. I love how you weave - no pun intended - his candy obsession into the fabric - all right, I guess I am punning now - of the story. Candy takes on an almost symbolic quality here, thinks the English major and lover of candy.

NM

Reviewer: nessieDate: 2003-05-18
Reviewid: 32610Chapter: 8
Hee hee i love the epilogue!!!!

"You're tearing apart my kitchen, man! What in Merlin's name are you trying to do?"

"Just shut up, Moony, and show me where you keep the spices."

Histerical.

Need more Sirius and Abby!

Reviewer: CrookshanksDate: 2003-05-17
Reviewid: 32520Chapter: 8
This is really one of the best fics I've ever read! I'm going to cut this review short now, so I can read the sequel. I love the ending, by the way:)

Reviewer: Jenny SpencerDate: 2003-05-16
Reviewid: 32350Chapter: 8
Oh Wow! I loved this story!
I love Sirius anyway but after this you really feel bad for him. He's so busy taking care of Harry and Buckbeak, He really needs someone to take care of him.
This was just so sweet.
I can't wait to read more!

Reviewer: AristyarDate: 2003-05-10
Reviewid: 31421Chapter: 8
Hello, I know that many people have reviewed already, but I really MUST review as well because this story is simply awesome.

Your prose is wonderful, for one thing, and your Sirius is everything I thought he'd turn out to be. Abby is a great OC; you certainly gave her a vibrant and likeable personality!

Never stop writing! :P

~A.

Reviewer: Anna HattersleyDate: 2003-05-06
Reviewid: 31042Chapter: 8
That was by far the best piece of HP based fiction I have ever read. Thank you for writing it! Seriously, I was crying towards the end. I love the way it's so faithful to the previous Harry Potter books, rarely do you find that in many stories. The best part is, this could have really happened in JKR'S world, I truly believe it would wortk. You are a terrific writer, and once again I thank you. I want to start “Gifts for the Master” right away. Brilliant stuff.

Lots of love, and thanks again from a very impressed British source

(Christ, I really am gushing now:D)

Reviewer: AthenaDate: 2003-04-25
Reviewid: 29509Chapter: 8
WONDERFUL! Katinka, you are BRILLIANT! This story was sweet...and the relationship between Abby and Sirius was inspiringly innocent. I love it! It's the kind of story you can read and reread. Thank you for writing it!

Reviewer: Tangwystl QuidditchDate: 2003-04-24
Reviewid: 29378Chapter: 8
I love it, especially Snape in the shop and the comments on the Malfoys. I can so see the scene in the epilogue, Sirius covered in flour and Lupin's Kitchen in complete disarary LOL

Reviewer: finite_incantatemDate: 2003-04-21
Reviewid: 28859Chapter: 8
This is one of the best Sirius fics I have ever read. Also, I love the portrayal of Abby.

Really, you HAVE to write some sort of sequel to this. I've already read Merry and Bright, and found myself wanting more.

:)

Reviewer: NM(NarcissaMalfoy)Date: 2003-04-09
Reviewid: 27248Chapter: 7
"A/N – You all probably saw the “Sirius gets the cloak” thing coming from 20 miles away, didn’t you? ;)"

No, I didn't! I was too caught up in appreciating Sirius and Abby's characters to even think about the
plot. Now that the twist has been revealed, I must congratulate you. It's absolutely perfect.
I love the entwinings of choice and fate which the HP series exemplifies, and this carries on.

Sirius's dogged (no pun intended) resolution to have the truth from Abby was particularly
moving. It contrasted vividly with all the other people in Abby's life who don't care to know
anything more about her, who treat her as an archetype. Sirius is worthy of Abby because he
wants to find out.

NM

Reviewer: LauraWeasleyDate: 2003-04-05
Reviewid: 26579Chapter: 8
I really loved your story. Sirius was written very well as well as Dumbledore. They are both such complex characters and I think you captured them beautifully, but with your own twist. Thanks!

Reviewer: NM(NarcissaMalfoy)Date: 2003-04-02
Reviewid: 26000Chapter: 6
"Please, please let that have been an accident."

My gut is with Abby, but from a dramatic point of view, this twist is perfect. Completely out of the blue, I must say. My jaw dropped, and I just sat there feeling very, very sorry for Abby.

Hollister Loomis was absolutely delightful. Especially straightening his cravat. I think I'm going to add him to my list of crushable characters. :-)

Feeling manipulated by Dumbledore is a real downer. I've often wondered if Harry's ever going to have to deal with that feeling. I found in very in-character that Dumbledore would not try to argue with Abby. She has to sort things out for herself. He may manipulate to some extent but he does believe in free choice.

I'm going to have to find out more about Errol Klarion. Everyone seems to know him but me. <pout>

NM

Reviewer: ConnieDate: 2003-03-29
Reviewid: 25598Chapter: 1
This is a wonderful story. One of the best I've read. Anymore of Abby and Sirius on the horizon? PLEASE, PLEASE,
PLEASE!!!

Reviewer: NM(NarcissaMalfoy)Date: 2003-03-26
Reviewid: 25365Chapter: 5
Damnit! Why don't I have a Sirius Black in my life? I want one. Where do you get them?

It struck me throughout this chapter that Sirius Black is really the last person a younger Abby Loomis would have chosen, and Abby Loomis is really the last person a younger Sirius Black would have chosen. If it hadn't been for all their sufferings, they never would have made such a wonderful pair. And, fwiw, they may not have been such wonderful people.

On the other hand, I wouldn't wish what happened to them on anyone. I would have loved to see Abby happily married to Will, and Sirius with his best friends alive. The bittersweet tension between what could have been and what is beginning to happen, exemplified by Abby's mixed feelings toward Sirius, is the highlight of this chapter.

Well, other than Sirius's candy habit.

NM

Reviewer: ReeDate: 2003-03-21
Reviewid: 24809Chapter: 8
Oh...wow. Katinka, this story's absolutely amazing. I must admit that I put off reading it, despite all the praise, because I didn't think I could get that into a Sirius fic. But I was so wrong--this is LOVELY. I adored Abby, and I really loved how you strung canon throughout the story. It was really, really a fun read, and I thank you.

Reviewer: HollyDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24580Chapter: 8
I've been meaning to read this fic for forever. I finally got to it, and I'm not disappointed. I loved it, and I'm looking forward to "Gifts for the Master."

Reviewer: RichardDate: 2003-03-19
Reviewid: 24558Chapter: 8
Wow...

Reviewer: JKDate: 2003-03-17
Reviewid: 24339Chapter: 2
Katinka,

I couldn't wait any longer to read this chapter, despite the fact that I meant to read the fic over a few weeks. It's too good! Abby is still an engaging, marvellously drawn character. I can understand why everyone was so dismayed when you finished the fic!

You use facts from canon marvellously in this fic; I lvoe the way you integrate little things like Sirius stealign teh newspapaers and parchment:

"As crafty as he might think himself to be, she knew he was the one nicking her newspapers."

Just as in the last chapter, I adore the light use of humour. You make me smile without detracting from the story by overdoing things. I adore such lines as:

"Between him and Gilderoy, I’m not sure who’s more attached to his blooming robes…"

"Rosmerta managed to squelch that talk rather quickly by cutting off Mr. Boorman’s Firewhisky supply."
I also like the way you integrate Abby's pasty into the fic, like her trip to Hufflepuff Turret and her pain at remembering the McKinnons. Also during Abby's visist to Hogwarts, I enjoyed the easy way you work little details into your writing, to make the world of the fic feel more canon-esque, such as the statue of the goblin (and also such details as the magic used in Gladrags.)

Your description and concept of Weaving is fascinating. I also love the way that Abby's gift is not without its downsides, and the way you mention the problems invovled in Weaving. You also cleverly (if you will excuse the pun) weave of Abby's espionage task into her everyday life. Her meeting with Dumbledore and the interactions between the two characters were simply charming!

But that was a rotten cliffhanger at the end! ;-)

I can understand why this fic is so popular and why Abby is so well-loved. You are a marvellous writer, Katinka!

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: JKDate: 2003-03-16
Reviewid: 24188Chapter: 1
Wow! I finally made the time to start this, as I've heard so much about it and I respect you so much. Wow! What a marvellous start.

I love Abby. She is thoroughly real. Being pretty and having special talents doesn't make you a Mary Sue, and Abby is proof of that. I know someone a bit like her, not in the Invisibility Cloak way, but someone who's gorgeous but hates peopel drawing attention to the fact. In Abby, you haev created a cahracter with whom we as readers can identify. Who who is interested in intellectual pursuits would not feel the same dismay Abby felt at being asked to put aside her wider learning? Who would not feel her pain at abandoning hteir first boyfriend and the world they know?

Abby is a compelling, articulate, and above all real character. She forgets things. She shows up late. She gets doggy messes on her shoes.

And she dislikes Draco. That is a good thing. Her thoughts reagrding him in Gladrags were marvellous anda fantastic introduction to her. The light humour you use works really well with what you've got going here. :-)

I loved these lines:

"She raised her eyebrows, nodding her head as if to acknowledge the great goodness of Professor Snape and the profundity of Draco’s words, yet wondering if a swift elbow would be sufficient to knock him off the pedestal."

"Her previous urge to elbow him had passed, becoming now a desire to administer a purposeful kick to the shin."

I can see why everyone loves Abby so much. :-)

Yours in fanfiction,

JK

Reviewer: NM(NarcissaMalfoy)Date: 2003-03-07
Reviewid: 23193Chapter: 4
I fell very seriously ill while I was reading this, and the last month has been devoted (aside from rehabilitation) to getting back to reading and reviewing my favourite fics. I'm very glad I'm back here again. In fact, I think I enjoy this chapter more now than I would have then, since I've since began reading R.J. Anderson's "Darkness and Light" trilogy. Can she ever write Snape, and yes, you do complete justice to her guy.

The one thing that makes me a little uneasy about this chapter is the ease with which Abby decides not to turn Sirius in, murderer and servant of Voldemort though he is. I don't find that at all sympathetic.

This is not, of course, to say this is a flaw in the story. In fact, it strengthens it, imho. Uneasiness with good, likeable characters is a hallmark of good fiction. The fact that I think she made the wrong decision here makes a stronger, more interesting character. I look forward to reading the rest.

NM

Reviewer: lucysnoweDate: 2003-02-16
Reviewid: 20542Chapter: 8
This is one of my favorite stories. Abby is such a lovely character. I admire her for giving up her education to persue her career as a weaver, and I think you've portrayed that struggle very well. It must be so hard to have the rest of Hogmeade look down on her.

And Sirius...what can I say. He's so wonderful, and I love his interaction with Abby. He really has done more for her than he thinks. =)

The balance between seriousness (haha.) and humor is perfect. The raisins *snicker*. I can't wait to see more from you.

Reviewer: Harry4meDate: 2003-02-14
Reviewid: 20199Chapter: 6
Abby is a fantastic character! This is a great fanfic, I laughed so much when she was bathing Sirius - uh, Snuffles! hehehe, this is very good!

Reviewer: Mrs. HobbesDate: 2003-02-12
Reviewid: 19996Chapter: 8
Thank you so much for a wonderful story! I got this off one of the threads...to think such a gem has been under my nose all this time!
I love your Sirius...he isn't so *serious*... and his lively sense of humor and depth are very touching to see. I like Abby, and how the whole story moves along (can I saw it's very Mrs. Dalloway-ish? The whole ordinariness [but not, actually] of it all). And nothing can beat your epilogue ^___^

I look forward to reading more about this couple--you write so well, and we can't leave the weaver and her lovable stray hanging! :)

Reviewer: DorothyDate: 2003-01-27
Reviewid: 18059Chapter: 8
I keep forgetting whether or not I commented on this piece of fiction but let's pretend not so that I can praise you again. This was really wonderful and easy to read. I read this all in one sitting because I couldn't tear myself away. And partly because one of this quizzes at quizilla told me I was most like Abby which I can't be any more happy about. Thanks for just writing :)

Reviewer: DivineArtemisDate: 2003-01-12
Reviewid: 15951Chapter: 8
Absolutelt amazing fic. The A/S fluff is so cute and the plot, although a bit weak, was turned into a masterpiece. fantastic job.

div

Reviewer: StarlilyDate: 2003-01-04
Reviewid: 15167Chapter: 8
I absolutely loved this. Dumbledore... perfect(though perhaps a little bit too all knowing, but hey, it works.) Sirius was amazing. Abby - Abby is possibly my favourite original character of all time. Oh, I desperately want a sequel!!! (I hope there is one... I'm about to go check *crosses fingers for luck*)
FABULOUS! BRILLIANT! (Next time have them kiss dammit!) :)

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --