The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 36

Reviewer: DavidBrookesDate: 2007-06-17
Reviewid: 148276Chapter: 1
Love the story - could be interesting.

Reviewer: acciobrainDate: 2007-02-05
Reviewid: 147104Chapter: 1
This story is so touching and heartbreaking. I have read your other stories on your website listed above and wait eagerly for the rest of them. Please post them even if they are after July 21st. They are worth reading!

Reviewer: Blibbering HumdingerDate: 2006-10-10
Reviewid: 145654Chapter: 1
Oh my. What a sad, yet addictive, little one-shot!

The other reviewers have already mentioned the most touching and poignant parts of this story, so I'll resist the urge to be repetitive, and just trust that you know I enjoyed those very same parts, LOL.

Funnily enough, I'm VERY curious about the allusion to Ginny's business robes. For the life of me, I can't imagine Ginny in any kind of corporate, paper-pushing desk job, so I'm dying to know what her career is! I get the impression that she's changed in many ways since her relationship with Harry ended -- not just in her outward appearance, and not necessarily for the best. She seems to have lost that freedom of spirit, that fearless exuberance for life that characterizes teenage!Ginny. Is this due to her disappointment & heartache over her failed love affair with Harry, or due to the influence of Leo's presence in her life, or due to something else? (I know, I know, I'm making a lot of assumptions and asking too many spoilery questions that you'll probably refuse to answer, but I just can't stop myself!)

Oh, and for what it's worth, I really like that you have Ginny marrying an OC. I agree with one of the previous reviewers that the man who could convince a canon-like Ginny to leave Harry for him would have to be really special & extraordinary (loathe though we may be to admit it)... and frankly, we haven't met a character in canon yet who even comes close to being THAT genuinely charming and persuasive. So yes, I think you made the right choice in creating Leo from scratch, rather than using a pre-existing canon character.

You've done just a wonderful job overall, and I can't wait to read more of this universe you've created. I'm hoping against hope that Harry and Ginny fall in love again and get back together by the end of the story, but I'll prepare myself for disappointment. I have to admit that things aren't looking too good for them right now. :)

Reviewer: imeldaDate: 2006-09-28
Reviewid: 145518Chapter: 1
Ow-oww-ouch!!! Poor Harry.

What a brilliantly written piece, though. Highly plausible, according to the characters. Although I was disappointed by Ginny marrying an OC, when you have so many people to choose from in canon!

Reviewer: MadHatterLovesGinnyDate: 2006-09-27
Reviewid: 145503Chapter: 1
That was terrible. Oh, no, not the story. The story was fantastic! Just, everything. I feel so bad; for Harry, Ginny, everyone. It's kind of good, though, that Fred and George got Harry to stir that potion. Or maybe not. Anyway, fantastic story, as always! I'll check out the longer one. Keep writing!

Reviewer: DalfDate: 2006-09-09
Reviewid: 145260Chapter: 1
Wow! How did you find this little plot bunny? What an amazingly clever scene! I really like this series. It's fun and wonderful together but they each stand alone so the fact that you said you are not going to update a lot does not matter as much.

Reviewer: amulderDate: 2006-09-05
Reviewid: 145207Chapter: 1
Wow. Found this after finding your stuff on LJ. Wow, isn't that just sucky. What a mess this relationship is.

But, Ginny marrying an a "wanky italian"? oh, dear author, what are you putting your poor characters through!?

thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: HexnutDate: 2006-09-01
Reviewid: 145134Chapter: 1
This is heartbreaking. I'm heading for your website to read more, although I suspect I'm doomed to frustration, because I don't want to see Harry left in such a state but I get the impression that the rest of what you've written is from other times and places not so close to this one.

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2006-08-31
Reviewid: 145110Chapter: 1
Constructive crit is *always* welcome! I confess that all the chapters of this fic are full of self-indulgent verbosity that doesn't advance the plot at all. I originally wrote them as a warm-up exercise, before I'd work on my original fiction. I had fun just trying to write different POV's, and then I eventually inserted a few plot threads to link them. So, yeah. Expect more plotless ramblings. Thanks!

Reviewer: Meucci WarlockDate: 2006-08-30
Reviewid: 145070Chapter: 1
I have to read the rest of this. When the browser loads.

Wonderful job capturing the characters. You made Harry sound sloppy without being over the top (thanks to F&G), and have set up a sequence of events that truly make me intrigued. The writing flows very well and your usage of first person is quite good.

I always try to find one negative thing to put in a review (or I feel like my comments have less weight). Firstly (and it's hardly your shortcoming), I have no earthly idea what "sozzled" means, although it's fairly obvious from context.

But the only thing I can really think of that I felt was a little lacking was Fred's appearance. I sort of have an expectation for a little bit of good humor and one of those can't-help-myself-but-grin moments whenever one (or both) of the twins appear(s). I felt like Fred really didn't do much here except explain why Harry was high (something that sort of seems evident after Ginny tells him he isn't supposed to be teetering over the cauldron like that). Unless the Truth or Dare thing is really important to subsequent chapters, I'm not sure the little explanation was necessary.

Wonderful story, and I think my browser's loaded now. :)

Thanks.

Reviewer: IsoldeDate: 2006-08-29
Reviewid: 145057Chapter: 1
Ah, so there's not going to be any Ginny/Leo *at all*? I'll confess that I too was kind of looking forward to that. Not that I was relishing the idea of Ginny falling for another guy and breaking Harry's heart. But, I mean, wanking Italian Lion or not, Leo's got to have *something* going for him if he managed to steal Ginny away, right? XD I guess I'm just a glutton for punishment, but... I kind of wanted to read a firsthand account of exactly how it happened...

Disappointment at the lack of G/L aside, I'm really loving this fic. I don't normally do angst at all, but you write so beautifully, and make us care so much about what will happen to the characters, that I'm willing to endure the misery. I believe you when you say that both Harry and Ginny find happiness in the end, but at this point I'm very apprehensive that they'll never end up getting back together... indeed, it seems impossible after this chapter, since Ginny appears to be over Harry and in love with Leo, and Harry is willing to do whatever it takes to make himself give up on her. But I so, so, so, so want them to be together again at the end. :(

Either way, I'm committed to reading this fic through to the end. Your writing is just too good to resist.

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2006-08-28
Reviewid: 145056Chapter: 1
Thanks, kari, antosha and you other marvelous reviewing persons! Yes, Ginny/Leo could be a good story, and I have a job ahead of me to convince the reader that a canon-like Ginny would actually leave Harry! Still working on that, *ponders the challenge*. There will not be a solely Ginny/Leo-centric chapter, however interesting it might be. Kimkikim, the link is http://www.geocities.com/alchemillalady You'll have to cut and paste, perhaps. Thanks, antosha, and yes, Come and Get Me is part of this story. Glad you liked Test of Time. I like Bludger myself and have to be careful that I don't make Padma start to resemble Bludger!

Reviewer: KariDate: 2006-08-28
Reviewid: 145054Chapter: 1
I've already left you a brief review for this chapter over in your LJ (I'm pennylane_4 on LJ), but I just read this chapter again, and I have to tell you it's just as powerful (and tear-jerking) as it was the first time around. The impact of that last line is just brilliant.

You've warned us a couple of times that some of this fic is Harry/Padma, but I notice you haven't said anything about Leo/Ginny. Can I take that to mean that we won't be learning much about that relationship? I'm not sure why, but I think I'm even more curious about Leo/Ginny than the Harry/Padma part of the story; I would think that Leonzio would have to be the most charming man in the world if he was able to lure Ginny away from Harry (even an absent, neglectful Harry), so I'm *really* curious to meet him! ;)

(And I totally agree with Antosha here. Bludger/Anne from ToT is one of the Best. OCs. Ever.)

Reviewer: kim kikimDate: 2006-08-28
Reviewid: 145049Chapter: 1
What's this I hear? You posted a SECOND CHAPTER!!!??? What's the name of your website!? "Cliodna" said you posted a second chapter on your website!!!! Please tell me what it is!!!

Reviewer: SeasprayDate: 2006-08-26
Reviewid: 145028Chapter: 1
Oh no! This is so heart breaking. And wonderful. Beautifully written and characterised and... I have to go read all your other stuff now. NOW, I tell you! (and I thought I had gone off fanfic.)

Reviewer: antoshaDate: 2006-08-26
Reviewid: 145024Chapter: 1
Oh, wow.

We're in for a bumpy ride, aren't we?

I read the other chapters that you posted to--I find it interesting that you HAVEN'T posted this chapter... I love the voices you're finding for each of the women, wonderfully distinct. And the out-of-order telling is wonderfully disturbing. What happened to Hermione, and how did Harry end up with her kids? Where's Ron or Padma--or, more to the point, WHERE'S GINNY that Harry is off, some years after this painful (and wonderful) scene, raising Hermione's kids alone in the US? Is "Come and Get Me" part of this sequence? (I'm guessing not.) If not... What happened to Harry and Ginny after the war?

I also went and read The Test of Time, which somehow I totally missed, having come into fandom just after you'd finished posting. It's still a wonderfully told, lovely story, even two books AU. You have a knack for combining character and amazing plotting--not a combination one finds often, whether in fic or in published work. It was a real can't-put-it-down pleasure. And Anne/Bludger is now my favorite OC ever. :-)

And of course, you tortured the heck out of poor Harry (and Ginny) there too! I look forward to more sweet torture...

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145014Chapter: 1
Harry should get stoned more often. =P

I just read the two chapters on your site, and I'm completely hooked. I absolutely adored The Test of Time, and now you've written more to keep me obsessed with your writing! hehe

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-08-25
Reviewid: 145006Chapter: 1
*sniff*...must...not...cry...over...keyboard.

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2006-08-24
Reviewid: 144998Chapter: 1
Cliodna, man, now you're making *me* sad. The only reason not to get emotionally into the fic is that it is UNFINISHED, and that real life is far busier than when I wrote Test of Time. I was converted to exclusive H/G when I first read After the End. But I am very occasionally persuaded by a well-written Harry/OC story. Ginny will always be his one true love, I agree. I promise you they'll both find happiness by the end of my fic. There's just some misery in between! I appreciate your willingness to read it despite some Harry/other -- that's a real compliment coming from a 'scary, militant' shipper. Thanks.

Reviewer: CliodnaDate: 2006-08-24
Reviewid: 144994Chapter: 1
I have such mixed feelings about this fic so far (including the two chapters you have posted on your own site), and I mean that in a good way.

On one hand, your writing is addictive, and I'm already dying to know the details behind so many things: the H/G breakup, Harry's stay in the Turkish prison, the loss of his thumb, Ginny's relationship with Leonzio, Harry's with Padma, and other things which I won't mention here so as not to spoil anything for those who haven't read the other two chapters on your site.

But on the other hand... I'm really not sure I want to get emotionally invested in a fic in which it seems highly possible that Harry and Ginny won't ultimately reconcile and get back together. Yes, I'm one of THOSE people, those scary, militant shippers. ;) I don't mind seeing them with other people along the way, as long as they end up back together in the end. And the problem is that if I continue reading, I know that I WILL get emotionally invested in spite of myself, because you're the kind of writer who can really draw the reader into the emotions of the characters. In this chapter, I hurt so much for both Harry and Ginny.

Ah, who am I kidding? As long as you keep writing, I'll keep reading, and if I end up having my heart broken at the end, well, so be it. :)

Reviewer: alchemillaDate: 2006-08-24
Reviewid: 144993Chapter: 1
Aw thanks everyone for reviewing. Shiiki, you'll have to copy and paste the link.

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-08-24
Reviewid: 144992Chapter: 1
SQUEE!!! New fic. Oh, I so want to read that larger story, but I can't seem to access the link :(

Anyway, this was brilliant ... Harry's raw emotions really touched me. Your writing is fantastic, and I'd be so happy if you'd post the rest of your fic here, too.

Thank you for sharing this!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144987Chapter: 1
Ahhh! That was wonderfully dark and slightly funny at the same time. What an alternative and upsetting version of a later Harry. Very creative.

Poor Ginny... what an awful thing to hear before your wedding. Well done!

Reviewer: KateHC2Date: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144986Chapter: 1
Oh, this is so sad, with so much going on. Padma does not have a chance.

Reviewer: queeniorekDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144985Chapter: 1
Now I am very depressed. Too depressed to write a proper review. (although, you can probably infer that your writing was good because I'm so depressed. if that makes sense.)

-queeniorek

Reviewer: gryffindorgirl72000Date: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144981Chapter: 1
AAAAAHHHHHH! I LOVED IT! But now, so many questions, such a cliffhanger - Ginny can't marry anyone but Harry! What happenend? She seems over him! How can that be?

Please write more! You are my FAVORITE fan fiction author and I will definitely bookmark your link. Thanks! Caroline

Reviewer: AutumnHeartDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144978Chapter: 1
Oh - you break my heart as well as Harry's :(
_Really_ wanting to see the backstory, should you be so inclined - this and the oneshots you have up at the geocities site are really intriguing.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144977Chapter: 1
This was most excellent.
I will be reading the rest; just not immediately as I have many others on my list.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144976Chapter: 1
This is most excellent. It will be later, but I will read the rest.

Reviewer: DenaliDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144974Chapter: 1
Wow. Very chilling... I can relate. Its funny how it isn't just a figure of speech; it really does feel like someone is ripping your heart in two.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144964Chapter: 1
Aaaaarrrrghhhhh! That's the first time I've seen Harry so out of it and you pull it off wonderfully. High and confessional indeed! So now what? I'm going to have to read the whole thing now aren't I, that's now what. May your keyboard and your fingers have a long and fruitful union.

Reviewer: leiselilyDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144957Chapter: 1
Oh! This has brought a tear to my eye. I have to know what happens next! Very very good, thanks.

Reviewer: Pangalactic_WhamDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144956Chapter: 1
Wow, what an amazingly melancholic story! Pleeeeease write more! I was obssed with Test of Time.....this isn't fair! You writing is too good!

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144955Chapter: 1
Awww...why does it have to be only one-shot? Pleaaaseeeeee make more chapters? *pouts* Pretty pretty please?

Right. Back to the story. Very sad and....intriguing. But I liked it. *hint* I'll like it MORE if you make MORE chapters...... *winky wink*

Reviewer: EricaVeeDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144954Chapter: 1
NOOOOOO!!! WHY?!?! You're mean!!!

*cough*

What I meant was, very well done and utterly heart-wrenching! You did a really good job giving us enough glimpses into the past to know what's going on without tedious explanation.

*sniffle*WHY?!?!

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-08-23
Reviewid: 144952Chapter: 1
That is the saddest Harry/Ginny fic I have ever read. I think it made it worse that he didn't even know what he was saying. I want to read the larger fic now! Thanks for sharing!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --