The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Minerva Moves On
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-12-20
Reviewid: 146548Chapter: 1
*grins*

Wonderful story! I'm smiling a great deal! Just perfect.

Reviewer: kleioDate: 2006-09-11
Reviewid: 145284Chapter: 1
I'm very new to fanfiction so I have read very few stories. I'm a McGonagell fan and I wanted to let you know that I found this story engrossing. I was bothered by Minerva's mindset at first yet I found it quite believable. Also, believable was the reawakening of her spirit at the sight of Scrimgeour and his cronies invading Dumbledore's office. I really found myself believing Hogwarts may survive afterall. Thanks and I look forward to reading your other stories.

Reviewer: ArimalkaDate: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145249Chapter: 1
No one, and I mean no one, (well, except JK. hehe) understands Minerva like you do.

Do you really think that Voldemort would volunteer Tom’s personal information so quickly?

“but she still felt it like a stray pin in the folds of her clothing, pricking her at odd times, and, on occasion, drawing blood.” Nice. This is such a great line.

At first I was reading too quickly and I thought she lit the office itself on fire. haha

At the end of this I was thinking, “GO MINERVA!” hehe.

Reviewer: OSUSprinksDate: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145247Chapter: 1
I loved your take on this. I'm an AD/MM shipper so I've thought a lot about this since HBP. I do think it would take making her really angry to get Minerva to move on, and Scrimgeour certainly did that!

Thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145246Chapter: 1
Excellent, of course.

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145239Chapter: 1
Poor Minerva! Wallowing in grief and guilt, and then regrouping when faced with Scrimgeour and his motley crew. She will make a formidable headmistress. It boggles the mind that Dumbledore doesn't seem to have included her in his confidence where Harry and Voldemort are concerned, but this story shows that she is well-suited for the challenge, regardless. Love your command of the language and the character. Nice job, m.e.

Reviewer: ZallahDate: 2006-09-07
Reviewid: 145235Chapter: 1
An almost mind-bogglingly depressing begining - the all-pervadingness of her 'impotency' and Minerva's reflection on her past sins. (Probably what it would be like if Admiral Hornblower had reflected on the possibility of his positive influence on a certain event during his time as a Lieutenant.) Looking at that middle portion of her life is a little weird now: we've seen it in retrospect, but it's yet to come in your young Minerva trilogy.

That aside, even as this story progresses to the depths of Minerva's self-condemnation, she happens to find something to focus her energy outside herself. I like her evaluation of the relative effects of Harry, the Ministry and Dumbledore's legacy, and how they provide the jolt she needs to get moving again. Great metaphor, by the way, 'the last Bundimum in the rafters of her desperation.' It's a real relief to see her . . . alive again. Not merely coping, but actually as she says, 'resurrected.'

It had been so distressing to think of her wearing out at such a relatively young age, as far as the Magicosm is concerned. But then, thinking back to chapter 32 of Childhood's End, she's probably about the age Dumbledore is then (or a little younger, I don't really know exactly what the ages are reckoned as). This piece really develops the perspective Dumbledore must have had then when he contrasts the lives of wizards and Muggles.

And finally, thanks for NOT finding a note from Dumbledore; that device is becoming a too-predicatable deus ex machina.

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2006-09-07
Reviewid: 145229Chapter: 1
Oh, it's so cool to read your Minerva in present-day! I loved reading about her remembering past, and wondering where that little girl went. I can see it here and there, the rash little girl who loved Quidditch still comes out sometimes. You've written this piece extremely well. I'm a bit shocked that you told us about Minerva's involvement in Hagrid's leaving Hogwarts...will you not be going that far with the Minerva series? If so, that's sad. I'd hoped to see her all through Hogwarts. And I want to know more about it, because from what I know now, I'm sort of doubting that she would get involved with Tom. But I don't know much about Tom yet, just what I learned in book six and what you've told us in Three Orphans so far. I'm assuming that he grows at least a bit more likable in the next few years, enough so that she's willing to talk to him. Or maybe he just fascinates her...I guess I'll have to wait and see!

Wow, this has been a really long review. But great fic, please write more of older!Minerva! :)

Reviewer: Wolf's ScreamDate: 2006-09-06
Reviewid: 145221Chapter: 1
Well written, and a plausible back-story (well, I haven't checked dates, but it seems plausible).

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-09-06
Reviewid: 145219Chapter: 1
Great, mary ellis!
From the title I didn't expect you to describe an older Minerva after Dumbledore's death. But really it's very convincing, the way she feels and doubts and regrets ... and acts, finally. And with everything which these past time memories hinted I am very looking forward to the progress of your Three Orphan series! Thanks for concentrating on Minerva's POV again,
Sara

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2006-09-06
Reviewid: 145218Chapter: 1
A very interesting and perceptive view of the woman 'behind' the mask of control and efficiency, with all her inner fears and doubts and self-blame. I like how it was the actions of Scrimgeour and his minions that brought out the 'true' Minerva, and set her on the path which she knew, in her Gryffindor heart, that she had to follow.

Reviewer: PygmyPuffDate: 2006-09-06
Reviewid: 145217Chapter: 1
Whoo-hoo! Go 'Nerva! Really intersting monologue, I like your interpretation of her thoughts, as well as the integration of backstory from your other story about Minerva as a girl. Good to see the Gryffindor come out in her. :)

Reviewer: JKMcGonagallDate: 2006-09-06
Reviewid: 145216Chapter: 1
Thank goodness Minerva finally came to her senses. When the story started out, I was thinking how unlike Minerva she was. But once she confronted Scrimgeour, I wanted to cheer out loud. That's the Minerva we all know and love. More power to her. She will make a great headmistress.

Kay

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2006-09-06
Reviewid: 145214Chapter: 1
I really liked this story

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --