The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Mars Bar
Review(s): 11

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-09-14
Reviewid: 145340Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. What I liked most about it was that you achieved the perfect balance between fluff and pathos. The end was sad, yes, but because we know what we know from the books, there is a strange, repressed kind of hope wedged in there too, which I also liked. Actually, when I think about it, this story wasn't really fluffy at all. Harry was tossed a few scraps and was grateful for them only because he has never had anything; he had to hastily spend his money and hide his prize in case Dudley decided to take what happiness the scraps tossed had granted him, leaving him with nothing again; and his happiness was fleeting, replaced by a sense of hopelessness of ever again finding anything that could make him as happy.

*blinks*

Yes. I can see more pathos than fluff here, but like I said. There is hope. It's just that Harry can't see it at the moment. =)

This one-shot makes me so glad that Harry found out he was a wizard.

Reviewer: ArloDate: 2006-09-12
Reviewid: 145295Chapter: 1
A very nice, albeit sad story and well done.However, I could not get past the Americanisms- "Vacation""trick or treating" my beta would have let me have it!!!;)

Reviewer: inthestars0318Date: 2006-09-10
Reviewid: 145274Chapter: 1
That was beautiful. I especially liked this part:

As they left the store, Dudley glared at Harry. “What are you so happy about?” he said, and he shoved Harry into the wall.

Harry didn’t care though, because he had a Mars Bar in his pocket.


You perfectly captured the way a kid thinks. I'm not sure if you remember this, but in the first book, when Harry sees the candy cart on the Hogwarts Express, his first thought is that he wants to buy Mars Bars. Is that the reason why you chose to write about Mars Bars?
If that was unintentional, then that's a pretty cool coincidence!

Reviewer: YouLickBumsDate: 2006-09-09
Reviewid: 145267Chapter: 1
mmmm
maaars baar
*drools buckets*

Reviewer: Angelina WeasleyDate: 2006-09-09
Reviewid: 145264Chapter: 1
Aw. Poor Harry. Y'know, you never really think about Harry's little chilhood alot. At least, I don't .

And everyone's forgotten about Harry's Mars Bars. Good on your dad for buying you one!!

Love from,

Angie

Reviewer: mallaryroseDate: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145248Chapter: 1
How cute. But rather sad in the end, too. I like how you really captured the voice of a single-digit child.

And now I really want some chocolate.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145244Chapter: 1
Nice.

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145241Chapter: 1
must . . . have . . . Mars . . . Bar! Nice one-shot. Great descriptions, sad and poignant and delicious too!

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145238Chapter: 1
What a melancholy story. To think that Harry was forced to spend his money quickly and then hide his prize just goes straight to my heart. Recently, I began giving my own son an allowence and he's really proud of the few coins he gets for doing his chores; Petunia did Harry a big disservice by not allowing him to handle money as he got older. I suppose this slight is just one of many Harry experienced before he turned eleven and it makes me mad that she acted this way toward her own nephew. That said, you've done a brilliant job on this story to make me think so much into it. Well done.

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2006-09-08
Reviewid: 145236Chapter: 1
I guess it takes a little wizard to teach you about the joy of life's simple pleasures. :)

Reviewer: MyKarmaRanOverMyDogmaDate: 2006-09-07
Reviewid: 145234Chapter: 1
This was awesome! Poor Harry, never getting another one.... *sighs* I remember my first chocolate bar.... ;D

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --