The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Peppermint Princess
Review(s): 15

Reviewer: OldoverholtDate: 2006-11-17
Reviewid: 146215Chapter: 1
A very sweet story... I like the way you brought out Ginny's insecurities and how you had the other girls help her to enjoy one of the sure to be most remembered moments in her life... well done...

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2006-10-25
Reviewid: 145931Chapter: 1
well, it definitly gives you a whole new prespective about that practicaly hanius dress they used (better than Hermiones in any case though). it makes me sad thinking about poor Neville though, :'( poor guy.

Reviewer: AirriDate: 2006-10-20
Reviewid: 145836Chapter: 1
Adorable. :wub:

My favorite line: I already have six of those.

heehee.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-10-15
Reviewid: 145750Chapter: 1
So sweet! I love all the girls working together to help Ginny, and Neville is such a dear.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-10-15
Reviewid: 145748Chapter: 1
That was adorable! Loved McGonagall here, I can see her playing mother hen a bit. Neville is dear, and so sweet. Made me grin!

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2006-10-10
Reviewid: 145638Chapter: 1
Brilliant! I loved this! You did such a great job of describing how the evening might have gone for Ginny and Neville. I especially liked how you used peppermint icecream: Ginny's dress, Neville's favorite, available for only a short time, how special Ginny is. Good job!

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2006-10-02
Reviewid: 145576Chapter: 1
Awww! I really enjoyed this, what a unique idea. I loved Minerva's participation in Ginny's getting ready. It was clever and very sweet. We all know Professor McGonagall is a softie at heart. :)

Neville was very sweet as well. Thank you very much for a wonderful little story.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145556Chapter: 1
This was a fun story that moved along quite nicely. Your imagery impressed me very much. These lines:
~She'd seen Cho waft by earlier looking like a swan.~
~cloistered in the Burrow with her mother's home cooking and boxes of candy~
~spelled satin that gradually changed from rose to indigo as she moved across the room~
~(Padma and Pavarti) looking like a pair of disgruntled and slightly wilted orchids~

A couple sticking points:
I was surprised to see such a warm, approachable McGonogall (those she's far from heartless, I'll admit) and similarly, to see Ginny pine openly for Harry. I tend to think she kept it to herself or shared with close friends like Hermione only. Just my two cents there.

Otherwise, as I said, an enjoyable read. Thank you. And I enjoyed courteous Neville and the ongoing peppermint theme quite a bit too!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145554Chapter: 1
Cute.

Reviewer: queeniorekDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145553Chapter: 1
That is the sweetest Ginny/Neville moment I have ever read! I don't know whether it was supposed to be Ginny/Neville or just a moment between friends, but it works beautifully either way. I think you really captured Ginny's feelings and fleshed her out a bit more than she was in that book. And you did a marvelous job with Neville, whom I absolutely adore. He's such a gentleman, and personally, I'd much rather go to the ball with a neville than a harry.

Reviewer: MyKarmaRanOverMyDogmaDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145552Chapter: 1
oh i loved this! especially the part where all the older gryffindor gals (including mcgonagall, lol) gathere to help out.

shiiki and Author by Night -
i think this story is supposed to be taking place in the movie (e.g. Ginny's dress, hair...)

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145551Chapter: 1
A very sweet story, with beautiful Ginny and Neville interaction. It was wonderful seeing the other Gryffindor girls (and Prof McGonagall! Though that seemed to be stretching it a bit) bond over helping Ginny. I did wonder how she'd managed to dress up for the ball, with her parents' limited funds.

Neville's reasoning for asking Hermione made sense, too, and falls right into my image of how sweet and loyal and gentlemanly he is. Thank you!

Small issue, though - Fred's mime is a movie thing, isn't it?

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145546Chapter: 1
Oh, I loved that. :) So sweet. Neville was terrific, as was Ginny, and I love the concept of Peppermint Ice Cream!

One thing - Fred asking Angelina to the Yule Ball Mime-style never happened in the book.

Reviewer: MirldaDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145537Chapter: 1
Very refreshing and fun. Plus, I like the idea of the girls of Gryffindor gossipping with Professor McGonagall and having her help Ginny. Great job!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-09-30
Reviewid: 145533Chapter: 1
What a lovely little story! I truly enjoyed it. Keep up the good work.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --