The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Swan
Review(s): 10

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-10-14
Reviewid: 145729Chapter: 1
Great insight into Narcissa here, giving her a bit more bite than before. I definitely think HBP has done a lot for her character, just as it did a lot for Draco. The interaction with her mother was nicely done, I haven't seen Narcissa interact with her parents in fanfiction before so that was something original. The meditation on family (the difference between the Blacks and the Rosiers, mother's families and father's families) was also very interesting, and I could see how it fed in her decision to respond to Andromeda. I liked her letter, by the way, although I'm not sure how such a family managed to produce her!

The identity of the wand poker remains a mystery to me. Sirius, perhaps?

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Lady WhizbeeDate: 2006-10-14
Reviewid: 145724Chapter: 1
Well done!

I'm not usually interested in the Malfoys -- but this drew me right in. I love the image that you paint of a refined yet spirited Narcissa. I also really loved her mother as well -- you did such an excellent job of creating an unknown character and making us care about her. Bravo!

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145713Chapter: 1
Wow! ...Wow! Wow! What a classy dame you made Narcissa. I like this story and I especially like Mrs. Black's comment about the differences between the Rosier's and the Blacks. Too bad her nephew/cousin Rosier who murdered their cousins didn't agree...The bit with Bellatrix was great too. I think you've captured how everyone views Bella before Azkaban. Great Story--I hope you will change your mind and there will be stories about Narcissa and Draco before he attends Hogwarts.

Reviewer: Madaline FabrayDate: 2006-10-10
Reviewid: 145640Chapter: 1
Oh what an interesting and neat story! This is probably one of the most well-rounded and fascinating portrayals of Narcissa I've ever seen! I love how she stands up to Lucius and Bella. But I really like the conflicts between teaching her son to be a Malfoy, and yet also a Black, and how not all of the pureblood families think alike. There are hierarchies in hierarchies. The conversation between Narcissa and her mother was just brilliant in driving that point home. Well, well done!

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-10-06
Reviewid: 145614Chapter: 1
You've captured Narcissa very well here, showing her as much Black as Malfoy - I love her spirit in this, and her very Slytherin-ness came out beautifully. Your animal metaphors for Lucius and Bellatrix were brilliant, too. This seems to be a one-shot, but I'd love if you continued, or did a sequel! The ending was a little abrupt, with the sudden questioning by the man (for some reason, I'm thinking Sirius), because it leaves something unresolved. However, Narcissa's words about her loyalties weren't bad as a finale. They really summed up her character as a whole!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-05
Reviewid: 145612Chapter: 1
Quite excellent - except for the slightly weak ending.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2006-10-05
Reviewid: 145611Chapter: 1
Wow! This piece literally drew me in. I am not a Malfoy 'fan' and rarely read pieces centreing around them, but this one is amazing. Well done!

Reviewer: smokeyDate: 2006-10-05
Reviewid: 145602Chapter: 1
wow, good story

Reviewer: MarigoldDate: 2006-10-05
Reviewid: 145601Chapter: 1
My goodness! That was WONDERFUL! Narcissa is usually painted as a meek push-over. I love your edgey, feminist idea of her. It makes sense to me. This story has great momentum and is riveting. Which is great, because I usually don't go in for Malfoy stories....


Will you continue, or is this a vignette? Either is fine with me!

Reviewer: HlBrDate: 2006-10-04
Reviewid: 145597Chapter: 1
Hi!

What a weird ending! But it does suit the fic.

Going back to the fic, I realize that you have used a number of things to convey Narcissa's loyalty well before the last bit, and that seems to be what makes the end a logical end for the fic, unrelated it may appear at first glance.

You managed to paint Narcissa's character with precision for such a short story, and it does you credit that all the other characters are well and uniquely defined as well.

I don't know how canon the families' characteristics -Malfoy and Rosier, I mean- are, but it all fits with canon so well that it doesn't matter.

Anyway, I like it a lot and will be checking for more of your writing ;).

hele.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --