The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 10

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-02-02
Reviewid: 147062Chapter: 1
Mmmm...nice. You captured Petunia's pain at losing her child very well, as well as the sibling jealousy. It is quite reasonable to assume that Harry would not turn out like Dudley since he would not have the rivalry of another child in the house or the example of his father and mother tormenting that rival. (Also, I have always felt that JKR was too heavy-handed in her limning of the Dursleys.)

I like the ironic touch at the end. This generated a plot bunny for me too. I remember how Dumbledore used as his excuse for giving Harry up to the Dursleys (in the not-AU world) that being brought up knowing he was so might spoil him. What if being brought up by Petunia made him not the normal child you portray him as, but a nasty bully like Dudley? At Hogwarts, he might end up in Slytherin. but I can see him finding out about his parents and being turned gradually back to the right side.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-10-14
Reviewid: 145727Chapter: 1
Oh, very interesting indeed. I like this view of Petunia because I think it's very plausible. I can definitely see her putting all of her frustrated maternal instincts into caring for Harry. It's also quite sad, because she's still trying to score points against Lily through Harry and she just can't win. There are a lot of clues that despite his happier childhood, Harry is still very much the same boy in some ways: his interest in forbidden things, his love of the wind in his hair, his increasingly independent personality... I wonder if Petunia would just end up pushing him away as he got older.

Intelligent and thought-provoking.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2006-10-14
Reviewid: 145725Chapter: 1
I just wish that were true!

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145722Chapter: 1
You've managed to make Petunia a kind, loving mother to Harry and yet still totally in character as Petunia. She's still making some of the mistakes she made with Dudley (letting Harry have his own way so he doesn't get angry and show magical traits) but not to the same damaging extent. Well done!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145716Chapter: 1
Interesting.

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145715Chapter: 1
Wow. Interesting. I wish you'd gone a bit further though - how did being a Dursley impact who Harry was? How will Petunia relate to some of the harsher truths of who her son really is?

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145714Chapter: 1
The End? The End?!!! You can't can't be serious? You can't do this to us! There must be more to this tale. This is a wonderful AU, too wonderful to end here. Come on--give us a couple of more chapters--like How does Mummy Petunia react to the SS/PS incidents?

Reviewer: Hpgirl42095Date: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145710Chapter: 1
Ooooh, this is the BEST alternate universe I have ever read! This is AWESOME!

Reviewer: shiikiDate: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145708Chapter: 1
Oh dear, you're starting to make me wish that Dudley had died at the beginning, if this was the kind of childhood Harry would get. It's lovely to see Petunia being motherly, while still retaining her grudges against Dumbledore and the magical world, and Lily.

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2006-10-13
Reviewid: 145707Chapter: 1
This was a fun take on what might have been - Petunia lavishing her indulgent-mother act on Harry instead of Dudley! I actually felt sorry for Petunia when she realised that Marge (revolting woman) was right and blood had won.

Would you consider writing a longer version of this story, perhaps around 5,000 words? I think you have quite a lot of mileage to show more episodes from Harry's Alternative Childhood. What you've written already makes me quite curious about the nature of his relationship with Vernon, about how he reacted to the news that he was adopted, and about the details of his school life.

Definitely a story to make the reader think!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --