The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: An Innocent Tea
Review(s): 12

Reviewer: tapestryDate: 2007-05-26
Reviewid: 148091Chapter: 1
This is an excellent one-shot and very plausible. I love your imagery and word choice, the descriptions really bring the piece to life and the dialogue is spot on. Wonderful job!

Reviewer: A_Wash1979Date: 2007-01-02
Reviewid: 146710Chapter: 1
This was short, but potent. I especially admire the way you've tapped into how charming Tom was; how he was able to fool nearly all of the very competent and capable professors of his day. Instead of being suspicious about Tom's questions, Merrythought actually felt sorry for him. Even though we only heard about her in passing, your Professor Merrythought is exactly the way I imagined her to be. Well done!

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2006-11-21
Reviewid: 146238Chapter: 1
Very, very nice. This is a beautiful little piece. I really enjoy your writing. You make it appear effortless (which is a gift) and you manage to say so much in each sentence. Really well done how you portrayed Riddle gleaning the information he wanted from her, and making her want to give it without the slightest awareness of his ruthless manipulatiing. I'm sorry I didn't notice this sooner.

Reviewer: outofthecupboardDate: 2006-11-10
Reviewid: 146129Chapter: 1
Captivating! The "dread word!" Not a very "merry thought!" I loved how you started the story! I loved how you ended it!

Reviewer: Grace has VictoryDate: 2006-11-01
Reviewid: 146031Chapter: 1
This was so sad ... the teacher most concerned with the Dark forces remaining so naive ... Your ability to show how Tom Riddle misled her so completely was chilling.

Reviewer: ZallahDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 146008Chapter: 1
Aie! Creepy. It's certainly perfectly in character for Riddle to have come across the word that way, and thence ask Slughorn about it. Very potent piece.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 146004Chapter: 1
Cool scenario - how can you come up with so many different ones? And again, this little scene was wonderfully depicted, I could feel the atmosphere within a few sentences. Are you planning to write a whole series about the different teachers at Hogwarts, whom Tom might ask until he gets the answer by Slughorn? How did he originally find out about them, actually? :-) That would be nice and you could bring many characters to life!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 146000Chapter: 1
Nice

Reviewer: Doctor CorneliusDate: 2006-10-30
Reviewid: 145994Chapter: 1
Ooh-- a short one, but very nice (especially the final twist). And Tom was very well in character. (Is the idea perhaps that he was already enough of a Legilimens to know that she was thinking of the word "Horcrux," leading him to ask a certain other faculty member about that topic?)

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145991Chapter: 1
This is a very clever story, Mary. I like it very much. Professor Merrythought is a very good character, extremely reminiscent of some academics that I have known myself! Tom's use of legilmency in this piece is painfully obvious, if you are paying attention, but wonderfully subtle all the same. The way he finds the Professor's softest spot and then guides her along. And, of course, the assumption that he gleans the word from her mind, too. Wonderful description, as ever. A very strong story!

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-10-29
Reviewid: 145979Chapter: 1
Please repost.

Reviewer: razzledazzleDate: 2006-10-28
Reviewid: 145968Chapter: 1
I enjoyed what I read, but I think you may have a bit of a formatting problem?!

razz

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --