The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: The Rookie
Review(s): 14

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149309Chapter: 1
I just wanted to say, besides always loving your stories, I love that your author's notes always include what remus will do if you leave a review. :) So clever

Reviewer: A_Wash1979Date: 2006-12-31
Reviewid: 146683Chapter: 1
Here's my review. Make sure you tell Remus to put me on the "Kiss List"! ;-)

Another wonderful fic! I liked learning about how Tonks "collects" colors, and Remus's way of adding to the collection was swoon-worthy. I also loved Tonks's reaction as she learned that the two of them had supporters in Kingsley and Dumbledore and that it wasn't just her and Remus against the world. You are the go-to author for quality Remus/Tonks fics. Can't wait to read your next piece!

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2006-12-14
Reviewid: 146450Chapter: 1
I really enjoyed this story. You did an excellent job showing how they eventually came to trust one another - and cross that invisible line. I hope to see more R/T from you!

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2006-12-14
Reviewid: 146442Chapter: 1
I love you. This makes so much sense that I wonder why I didn't think of it sooner. You build the liking and tension between them so carefully from the first meeting. Watching the friendship grow despite everything was marvellous, especially considering Tonks's inner conflict about falling in love with a suspect. The underlying theme of investigating Sirius's case and the revelations about Scrimgeour and Fudge filled in the missing gaps of Remus's life perfectly. I loved the little conversation between Kingsley and Tonks right at the end. You make Kingsley older than my own image but it works.

“He’s a good man. You could do a lot worse than him. But you’re timing is shit.” - Brilliant, perfect illustration of Kingsley's character. Shame about the confusion between 'your' and "you're", though. ;) I'm sure it was just a typo.

It was a wonderful touch to have Remus admit that he wanted to kiss her from the first moment he saw her, it tied in so neatly with Tonks's immediate attraction as well. You made the relationship inevitable yet exciting, which is a big achievement.

Thank you for writing this.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: US HP FanDate: 2006-12-12
Reviewid: 146437Chapter: 1
Wonderful story. Very sweet. I hope you write a sequel.

Reviewer: lilypDate: 2006-12-10
Reviewid: 146417Chapter: 1
After almost two years of reading fanfics here,I've registered just to tell you how much I've liked this story. YOu are the best Remus/Tonks writer, even if Fernwithy is your competitor. But your characterization of them is just spot on.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-09
Reviewid: 146408Chapter: 1
A most delightful tale.

Reviewer: ceriDate: 2006-12-09
Reviewid: 146407Chapter: 1
this was very nice - thanks

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2006-12-07
Reviewid: 146391Chapter: 1
Btw, you should write the interrogation scene so we can see Fudge’s flustered frustration, Scrimgeour's cool politician’s edge, Kingsley coming around to the truth, Lupin’s charming lack of inhibitions under verritaserum, and Dumbledore being hilarious and omnipotent, as always.

Actually, it doesn’t matter what, just please post something. I have a serious crush on your writing style.

~Kathleen

Reviewer: philotic_netDate: 2006-12-07
Reviewid: 146390Chapter: 1
So enjoyable.
What an unexpected back story. I had never even thought of the possibility that the ministry would bother Lupin about Sirius' escape. It all makes so much sense.
I liked the way you portrayed the aurors, almost like a muggle police department was warrants and interrogations.
Tonks was a refreshing take on the character. I liked her being the nervous rookie.
Thrilling.

Also, I am in love with the Remus you write. :) *sigh* I wish I were Tonks

Reviewer: shimotsukiDate: 2006-12-05
Reviewid: 146375Chapter: 1
I enjoyed this very much! Especially the conversations between Lupin and Tonks, which start out as fencing matches but turn into friendly teasing and more. The month-by-month structure works well for this story, giving us a sense of how things develop over time. The dramatic tension is nicely sustained, and you really made me empathize with Tonks.

The one thing that makes me wonder: the Lupin that we see in HBP is resisting a relationship with Tonks so hard it's practically making him ill (and Tonks too, of course). Granted, the events of OotP and HBP were difficult for him. But even before that, did he have the kind of personality that would let him actively flirt with someone? Or was being "too dangerous" something he'd always believed about himself?

Reviewer: StereoMDate: 2006-12-05
Reviewid: 146374Chapter: 1
Aww! Lovely! And this is coming from someone who's been a hardcore R/S shipper since, well, forever, and hasn't really dared to read much Remus/Tonks. But this? Very much worth the read. :)

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2006-12-05
Reviewid: 146362Chapter: 1
Wow, oh wow! You certainly know how to coax a reader to review, don't you? Seriously, this was fabulous. I normally don't care for stories written in this tense, but it was absolutely wonderful.

Reviewer: TalynDate: 2006-12-05
Reviewid: 146361Chapter: 1
What a great story! I actually read this over at ff.net, I'm glad it migrated over to my favorite fan fiction site. I particularly like the little bit with Sirius at the end.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --