The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 29

Reviewer: Mistress of PotionsDate: 2008-05-08
Reviewid: 150835Chapter: 6
Your "Godfather" stories are the first things I've read on Sugar Quill. Thank you for an excellent introduction to an interesting site. Too bad you didn't make the valentine a kissing or singing one. Maybe something by the American group Air Supply?

Reviewer: Ellie PotterDate: 2008-03-25
Reviewid: 150661Chapter: 6
You should create a whole series along these storylines. They're terrific!!! You could even take it to the last JK book, but don't you dare kill Remus, Tonks, Fred or Sirius. That was one of her downfalls. Keep writing!!!

Reviewer: jimbocousDate: 2008-02-24
Reviewid: 150561Chapter: 6
Interesting series of stories so far. Hope you'll be continuing

Reviewer: Amelie de LorraineDate: 2008-01-08
Reviewid: 150353Chapter: 6
I really loved this chapter. Please update soon.

Reviewer: HermnyDate: 2008-01-02
Reviewid: 150298Chapter: 6
You know- i could sue you for not updating

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2007-12-30
Reviewid: 150270Chapter: 6
Fabulous, as always, Birgit, and well worth the wait.

Reviewer: Dark PrincessDate: 2007-12-24
Reviewid: 150202Chapter: 6
A very nice chapter.

Reviewer: Amelie de LorraineDate: 2007-08-25
Reviewid: 149012Chapter: 1
I really liked this story. I love how Sirius and Harry are together. Please keep updating. Merci.
Amelie

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2007-07-07
Reviewid: 148464Chapter: 1
And knowing Hagrid, Fluffy is a cute, gullible, cuddly kitten --mmpff >>guffaw!<< Hah, ha, ha, ha ha!

I love your re-hash of Book 1, Birgit. It's very well-executed and believable. Keep it up! --Book 7 not withstanding.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2007-07-06
Reviewid: 148460Chapter: 5
There was a single, unmoving dot labelled Fluffy.

Oh dear... Sounds exciting, and if I haven't said it before your story is amazing. I hope the next chapter gets here before the seventh book.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-07-06
Reviewid: 148459Chapter: 5
It's great to read this again. I am constantly amazed at how you change and adapt the familiar story without ever losing the feel or the exuberance of this new yet old Harry. The only thing I miss is the presence of Ron and Hermione, but I know that will probably change as the story goes on. I adore chatterbox Neville and the various other canon characters who move through the background. However, adding the Marauder's Map now was particularly inspired and I loved the interaction between the twins and Harry.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-07-06
Reviewid: 148452Chapter: 5
Great turn in the end, your chapter had me grinning all along! Although I've said this repeatedly already, I've to do so again: It's wonderful to see the "real" dialogues woven into your story, nevertheless bringing up many surprising twists. And finally the Philosopher's Stone comes into play - I hope you won't be distracted from this story too long by DH and you'll update soon.
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: Jim McGuffinDate: 2007-06-27
Reviewid: 148384Chapter: 4
I know, it's been a while since I reviewed your fics. Actually, I've been away from the Quill for a long time, but now that Book Seven is almost here, I decided to go back and catch up on some of the stories I've missed. In particular, since I read Parts I and II of this fic, here I am for Part III.

So anyway, I see that Harry's 11 now and ready to go to Hogwarts. Of course, since he's at school now, his life there is similar to his first year in canon -- at least so far. You took out Neville's Remembrall and replace it with a fight with Malfoy over Lucius being sent to prison in Part II. It's funny how McGonagall offers Harry biscuits in her office, just like she does in OotP canon.

Although I don't expect Harry's first year to be that much different from canon, I can't wait to see how subsequent years will turn out. Indeed, with Lucius in prison, he won't be able to give Ginny the diary, and so CoS never happens. And of course, another reviewer already mentioned that Sirius won't escape from Azkaban, so no PoA either.

I look forward to reading more of this story. I assume that, because it is AU, it won't be affected by the release of DH very significantly at all.

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2007-06-07
Reviewid: 148208Chapter: 4
Oh, I love it, especially Harry as the Quidditch stable boy angle. Well done. Can't wait until we get more.

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-05-29
Reviewid: 148123Chapter: 4
Nice go, birgit! I hadn't realized how many small details you have to change, but nevertheless, everything in this alternate-happy-beginning-story fits quite well. It's a pleasure to recognize the original parts and how well they match your own (or vice versa, of course)!
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2007-02-12
Reviewid: 147177Chapter: 3
What else was in that pink valentine heart? I can understand the jarring contrast between it and Snape, but what actually provoked the prolonged laughter? There had to be another ingredient. Looking forward to more of your story. I like this Happy Confident Harry Potter. Maybe the, um, "real" one should meet him when parallel universes overlap.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-02-08
Reviewid: 147136Chapter: 3
Oh, I love this. I'm always fond of stories written in epitolatory form and you do it so well (I'm not that good at it myself). It's a great way to tell of Harry's first few weeks at Hogwarts and I like that Sirius comes down on him for poking his nose into things. It shows just how much he needed that sort of guidance. I also have to say that I loved Harry getting his own back on Snape!

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2007-02-07
Reviewid: 147129Chapter: 3
Dear Harry:

You sent Severus Snape a valentine. Brilliant.

I loved this chapter and the letters, although hopefully Lupin will advise Sirius to tell Harry to back off Snape --the best advice was to keep his head down and do well at potions and hope he goes away...

Can't wait to see how you deal with the Troll in the dugeon. (Wouldn't Sirius pen a note to Dumbledore about Harry's scar seeming to react to "Snape'?)

Reviewer: saraDate: 2007-02-06
Reviewid: 147113Chapter: 3
Wonderful, I love reading Harry's and Sirius' letters!
Sorry about this short review (what to say about a perfect chapter?), I hope you'll update soon, Sara

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2007-01-19
Reviewid: 146914Chapter: 2
Marvelous job as always. I love how you managed to work in Harry's generous nature holding true even though he was loved and well nutured. Your portrayal of Neville as right in with Ron and Harry was fun to read. I look forward to the next chapter.

Reviewer: GenesseDate: 2007-01-15
Reviewid: 146872Chapter: 2
So I've just realized that you're posting this! I'm really liking it, so far. It's nice to see Sirius be so older brother/father-like to Harry. And Neville! I never thought his to be so talkative, but that could be attributed to his lack of confidence and constant comparing to his father by his grandmother.

I especially enjoyed this bit: >>Even though Uncle Remus favoured Paddy enormously, awarding huge amounts of points to him for things like ‘sitting straight on his broomstick’ or ‘being tall’, Harry easily won.<< Hee hee!

I was a little sad at the end when Harry first sees Hagrid to remember that he would have no cause to know Hagrid. :( But I'm glad that Harry knew right away that he could trust him.

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2007-01-13
Reviewid: 146850Chapter: 2
Thank-you for a much more cheerful start to First Year than it was in the original Book. I'm sure you had great fun writing it.

Looking forward to more.

The Highwayman

Reviewer: Cybele AdamDate: 2007-01-12
Reviewid: 146846Chapter: 2
Part III of "The godfather"! ^___^ That's a very pleasant surprise! I'm very happy to enter your alternate universe again, and those first two chapters were very nice. I love to see what's the same and what's different. You did a very good job (as usual ^^).
I wonder why Harry met Neville instead of Draco in Diagon Alley... Well, of course, it's better for him! ^^

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-01-11
Reviewid: 146838Chapter: 2
Ah, wonderful stuff. I love the interaction between Harry and Paddy, as always, especially Padfoot leaping on Harry and washing his face. ;D Exactly the sort of thing a family dog would do. I'm also wondering if Uncle Remus deliberately gave Paddy loads of points because he knew Harry would win.

I think the best part of this is the way you've changed the train journey so that Neville makes friends with Ron and Harry instead of searching anxiously for Trevor. It makes a great deal of difference, especially in the Quidditch. Of course, Hermione hasn't changed at all, which makes the whole thing even funnier. I love how Neville is indifferent about where Trevor's gone now that he's got people to talk to. And I did love Ron having one up on the twins, even though I suspect they're going to make him pay for it.

So when is Harry going to meet Draco Malfoy?

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2007-01-11
Reviewid: 146836Chapter: 2
How nice to be back in Hogwarts without any dangerous incidents :-) It's fun to watch out for the "original" parts from the book, since you stay so closely. So, will they form a quartet later on instead of the Trio or will Hermione be left out? Would be a pity, though ...
Yours, Sara

Reviewer: highwaymanDate: 2007-01-04
Reviewid: 146738Chapter: 1
Aaaahhhh, this Sirius is almost unrecognizable from the Sirius of Canon; he's become the Responsible Parent with all the edge-dulling it entails. :) Well done on this first chapter!

Reviewer: Madame V. HunterDate: 2006-12-29
Reviewid: 146661Chapter: 1
It's about time we've had an update to this marvelous story. Sirius as a strict parent is just to precious, and it's wonderful that Harry meets Neville instead of Draco at the robe shop. Marvelous stuff, like the best chocolate after a hard days work. Thank you, thank you Birget for updating...

Reviewer: SaraDate: 2006-12-19
Reviewid: 146541Chapter: 1
Cool you're back with a wonderful beginning, I hope Harry will have an interesting year. I liked the changes you made to canon, Harry meeting a happy and beloved Neville, for example. But moreover it shouldn't be a problem throughout the first two years, I just wonder for book 3, I might know a villain there :-) ! Thanks again,
Sara

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2006-12-19
Reviewid: 146536Chapter: 1
This is the delightful beginning of a delightful fiction. I just read the first two stories of your series, and I absolutely love it!


I have nothing useful to say this time around. I do enjoy this. :-)

I look forward to the next chapter.

Sincerely,
Miriam

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --