The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 20

Reviewer: Fab4MumDate: 2007-02-07
Reviewid: 147117Chapter: 1
Very, very fun to read. I only wish I had found it before Christmas! I love this: "Blue eyes twinkled and then, “How so?” Santa spoke, Reminding Snape of another bearded bloke." Dumbledore/Santa - coincidence? Hmm . . . Snape wondering (with the rest of us) whether he is naughty or nice (and Santa wondering too), the weighing of his good/bad deeds, the thought that Snape has never received anything from Santa for Christmas and eats the cheese left for the mice - it all fits perfectly. Snape Ethics. Sounds like a self-help manual for business administrators. (To be read in conjunction with "Who Moved/Ate My Cheese", perhaps?) Awesome job.

Reviewer: knovakDate: 2007-01-22
Reviewid: 146961Chapter: 1
Thank you, Suburban House Elf!! This was so much fun, almost as fun as last year's. I enjoy your writing so much.

Reviewer: Aura Black ChanDate: 2007-01-07
Reviewid: 146780Chapter: 1
I LOVED this! Snape confronting St. Nick about weather or not he's naughty or nice is PRICELESS!

Reviewer: moonetteDate: 2007-01-06
Reviewid: 146772Chapter: 1
Oh, I've been meaning to review this piece for over a week now! So sorry it took so long! And I'm so very GLAD to see your wonderful humor and cleverness back on the Quill. It's been much too long, you know!

Things that I loved: How you could not only stay perfectly in character for Snape, but could include such perfect descriptions of him as well - AND CONTINUE TO RHYME! How do you do that?? :)

"Snape sullenly slumped in a sitting room chair,
And his bony hands tore at his lank, greasy hair."

Perfect!

And the way Snape defended killing Dumbledore! It was so Snape-like, LOL.

If I put all of the clever phrases down that I loved (and smiled at and laughed out loud at) I'd be cutting and pasting all day! No one gets into Snape's head with the amazing combination of snippety and clever humor along with his canon personality like you do, SHE. And the ending! Ha. This was just EXCELLENT! Just perfect for the season! Now, how about some Valentine's Day Snape, LOL! Thanks for this.

Reviewer: Zia MontroseDate: 2007-01-05
Reviewid: 146760Chapter: 1
Absolutely loved it! I dare say JKR herself would be amused.

He then cried with joy as his sleigh rose to heaven,
"HAPPY CHRISTMAS TO ALL THOSE WHO WAIT FOR BOOK SEVEN!"

Wait indeed... Thank you!

Reviewer: wendelin_the_weirdDate: 2007-01-04
Reviewid: 146743Chapter: 1
w00t!!

That was AWESOME! Brilliant! Ingenious! Oddment! Tweak!

Reviewer: LizzardPhobiaDate: 2007-01-04
Reviewid: 146735Chapter: 1
That is so witty! A clever cliffhanger.

Reviewer: AstridDate: 2006-12-26
Reviewid: 146615Chapter: 1
Hahaha, very nice.

Reviewer: PotioncatDate: 2006-12-25
Reviewid: 146608Chapter: 1
Since some of my other favorite lines have already been mentioned, I'll add these, which reflect a constant source of discussion at HPfGU:

What was I to do? You’re a model of vice!

Even if you are good, you will never be nice.”

Wonderful Christmas present!!

Reviewer: VerinDate: 2006-12-24
Reviewid: 146598Chapter: 1
"Snape sighed. Then he ate all the cheese for the mice,
‘Cause, though he might be good, he will never be nice."

So very well put. A very lovely poem.

Reviewer: stubefiedDate: 2006-12-24
Reviewid: 146595Chapter: 1
Brilliant, brilliant, and funny, too! I, not being a Snapefan (*ducks*), could have done without the recounting of his deeds in the entire series, but the rest was very clever and had me chuckling out loud in spite of myself. What a wonderful Christmas gift to us all!

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146587Chapter: 1
That was utterly, utterly brilliant.

Except for a typo near the beginning that I can't find again.

Reviewer: i-just-get-these-headachesDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146586Chapter: 1
Genius!

Reviewer: joew111Date: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146585Chapter: 1
Very Enjoyable! And I love that Snape ate the cheese.

Reviewer: dogstarDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146584Chapter: 1
Totally and utterly brilliant.

"Or at least, we all thought so, and there’s no disputin’
That Black once attempted to feed me to Lupin."

was my favourite couplet but SO many others just as good!

A wonderful Christmas present for those of us awaiting book 7 - thank you :D. I can tell I'm going to come back and read it several more times and force it on my family too.

One tiny nitpick - was the second 'were' in the last line of the first stanza meant to be 'where'?

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146580Chapter: 1
Now that I'm safe and secure in my knowledge that it's really you this time *cough*, I'd just like to say that I am in complete agreement with your father. Snape is the key to all the mysteries of the series - and if the All-Knowing Santa Claus can't figure him out, then what hope is there for the rest of us mortals?

"No cross or tick stood next to Snape’s appellation,
There was no mark of censure, yet no commendation.
Instead, next to Snape’s name three stark words were shown.
He read, “Severus Snape has status unknown.” "

I must say that those lines were utter genius; and these two made me laugh out loud:

"Which had partnered Wormtail to a Dark Rodents’ Knees-up,
And sat wearily eating the rest of the cheese up."

And I can also add to that the priceless image of Snape crouching in the shadows with his wand at the ready, waiting to ambush poor, unsuspecting Saint Nick.

Great follow-up to "The Snape Who (Almost) Stole Christmas". You aren't, by any chance, entering this in for Leaky's Christmas Filks competition?

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146577Chapter: 1
Nost most excellent. Thanks.

Reviewer: ArnelDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146573Chapter: 1
Very creative! Poor Severus..."status unknown"...how very appropriate for those awaiting Book 7. Thanks for sharing this with us.

Reviewer: AlkariDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146570Chapter: 1
"Snape sighed. Then he ate all the cheese for the mice,
‘Cause, though he might be good, he will never be nice."

ROTFL - what fun! Cleverly done, and a great Christmas read!

Reviewer: TDUDate: 2006-12-22
Reviewid: 146568Chapter: 1
Poor Severus! Even Father Christmas doesn't know. Brilliant!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --