The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 28

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2008-02-24
Reviewid: 150562Chapter: 26
I'm glad you had Hermione plant the seed of brotherly love back in Percy's head. (He does figure it out by the end of Book 7, so it isn't too much of a reach.)

Good job.

---Miriam

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2007-11-04
Reviewid: 149815Chapter: 24
This was an interesting twist.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2007-10-24
Reviewid: 149708Chapter: 22
That was interesting. Good job on keeping with the iambic pentameter! It isn't the easiest form to keep with, but you did a brilliant job with it.

It never dawned on me that Merope would be as anti-Muggle as her father.

I'll have to think about this more to have something more useful, but this bit was lovely, and mostly in the form of a short epic poem.

Keep up the good work!

-----Miriam

Reviewer: RowanRoseDate: 2007-10-22
Reviewid: 149688Chapter: 22
Oh, this is lovely! Well Done!

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-07-30
Reviewid: 148655Chapter: 1
I am, most definitely, but I wanted to see how DH turned out, before continuing. I was happy to discover that Death was personified in the book, in the story of the three brothers. It has given me some new ideas...
Also, I have to fix some major new flints in 3 0s. Only a few more chapters to go there.
Thanks for your kind words. I hope you can be patient.

Reviewer: purpleturtle26Date: 2007-07-09
Reviewid: 148489Chapter: 1
Mary Ellis,
I just want to say that I am very impressed with all your works. I was wondering if you plan to add any more chapters to the Randsom of Albus Dumbledore? I enjoy Three Orphans, but to be honest the Randsom of Albus Dumbledore is my favorite.

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2007-06-03
Reviewid: 148188Chapter: 17
I've been enjoying this fiction, but you have a major flint. It's nothing that can't be fixed, however.

The dementor episode happened in the summer before Harry's fifth year. Now it is the summer before Harry's seventh year.

You've lost a year. It won't take too many adjustments to fix this. But it needs to be repaired.

Besides that, keep up the good work!

---Miriam

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2007-04-30
Reviewid: 147879Chapter: 15
The chapter was brilliant.

The temple is a lovely gilded cage. Hermione would have no problem with this situation, between missions.

It took me a while to realize that McFustian's place was outside of the wonderland of Death's realm. I suggest you work on your transitions.

The adventure at McFustian's was interesting. I'm curious, though. Why would a confirmed Death Eater (or whatever he is) confide in a Muggleborn? I thought that this was the type of witch or wizard that Voldemort can't stand?

Otherwise, it worked well as a plausable device. Nicely done.

I'm looking forward to your next installment!

Sincerely,
Miriam

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2007-04-20
Reviewid: 147827Chapter: 14
This is an interesting twist. The Prewitts and Weasleys want to reform Hermione. And they want James and Lily to judge and otherwise assist in this.

Wow, that was a loop I never would have anticipated! But it was fun to read.

And it is interesting that all of the religions have the truth when it comes down to what exists in the afterworld. Nice touch.

Death must be a fun character to write. He's a lot of fun to read. He reminds me a bit of DEATH in Terry Pratchet's Discworld.

I'm curious what you will have next. But I'm glad you gave us a clue for the next task ahead.

It just dawned on me that the weird limbo that Hermione will be in will take care of time, or anything else you have planned between stops. She'll be in a place where she can't be touched by influences in the Magicosm, or anyone else. And you won't have to worry about the money she'll need, or lodgings, or anything else of that nature. Brilliant!

This is an interesting ride, and I look forward to your next installment!

Sincerely,
Miriam

Reviewer: slytherinatheartDate: 2007-04-14
Reviewid: 147762Chapter: 13
I wondered how Hermione would get out of this situation, and Stacey using magic on that terrible man was a great ending. I can imagine her hating him and that hate building and rising until it- exploded!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-03-25
Reviewid: 147599Chapter: 8
I have to say that I thought the opening paragraph of description was marvellous. It's wonderful description, speaking both to the posibilities of existence and to Sirius' vitalistic recognition of them! He longs to explore and to live the life in life (or even death!). I loved the "dogleg" description, too!

And you cracked me up with the suggestion that Death reminds Sirius of Remus at his most niaive. That's fantastic! Anyway, good creepy depiction of why Dumbledore is where he is.

And Reginald looks like an amusing character!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-03-25
Reviewid: 147598Chapter: 7
Great character dynamics. Aberforth's grief was palpable and Hermione's intense appreciation of it does a great credit to her character.

I like Aberforth's character and I found the idea of Dumbledore's message particularly haunting. Thank goodness Hermione and Sirius are on the job!

Reviewer: Norwegian BlueDate: 2007-03-19
Reviewid: 147529Chapter: 10
Excellent story-telling. I love that the aunt who is a bit funny in the head is called "Gaga." I loved hearing about all the people that Hermione was meeting in this chapter, and momentarily hoped that we would hear more about them, but then realized that Hermione had a bunch of other things to do, so there wouldn't be time. However, the fact that there is going to be more to this story does more than console me.

Excellent story and so far it has gone in a complete different direction than my expectations.

Reviewer: NunduDate: 2007-03-18
Reviewid: 147517Chapter: 10
I have been remiss in leaving a review for this. As always, your stories are a delight. You create a world that sucks the reader in and doesn't let go. I look forward to future (and hopefully quick!) updates!

PS-I am puzzled by the phrase in two earlier chapters stating Hermione was 'with child' about something. Does this mean anxious? I've never heard that phrase before.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-03-12
Reviewid: 147430Chapter: 9
Siruis as a poodle? That's hysterical! Certainly James and Remus would never let him live it down. And I'm really curious just how Hermione will get those people to trust her. More soon!

Reviewer: xMarauderxDate: 2007-02-28
Reviewid: 147325Chapter: 8
Ha ha...a very very interesting view of Lord Death and his assistants. The Death Poet was extremely hilarious and I loved your exlanation for the Afterlife among other things.
However, there were two things I didn't like...I don't think that Sirius...however his relation with Hermione might be, would not have described her as a wench. It seems uncharacteristic for him.
Also, I didn't think that Sirius would be so calm about Dumbledore's death. I didn't get the feeling that he was utterly shocked(which he should be, he was just casually surprised.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-02-26
Reviewid: 147296Chapter: 8
What a unique, delightful chapter! Very, very good!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-02-25
Reviewid: 147295Chapter: 6
Oh dear, Rufus has certainly fallen still lower. Personally, I don't think of him as an intrinsically bad man, in canon. I don't think he'd ever say "mudblood", for example. But I can certainly accept there is room to take him in the direction you have done, where he actually begins to enjoy abusing his power, rather than just doing it because he's ruthlessly efficient and believes it to be his job.

Hm.

Some nice touches in this chapter again. I enjoyed Hermione's defence of Ron and I loved the depiction of America as lawless. Ha!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-02-25
Reviewid: 147294Chapter: 5
Nice linking chapter. Fascinating depiction of Rufus as a kind of distorted Father Christmas. Bit shudder-worthy, really.

It's a touching moment between McGonagall and Hermione. Very sweet. And I thought Hermione resisting the urge to go "Ta-daaaa!" was priceless.

And I liked the way Scrimgeour probed Hermione, although I'm disappointed McGonagall allowed Hermione to walk him to the date. Surely she knows little good will come of that!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-02-12
Reviewid: 147188Chapter: 6
Whoa! Now I REALLY don't like old Rufus! Sad thing is, I can actually see this happening. As if Harry doesn't have problems enough... I do like the word 'magicosm'. And the 'Truth, justice, and the Wizarding Way': priceless! More, soon!

Reviewer: HarmoniousDate: 2007-01-22
Reviewid: 146949Chapter: 4
You called this chapter "an information dump." I rather enjoyed it, as I can see how the rules in your universe are going to work.

When you mess with the real rules of life in a fiction, it doesn't matter how you bend or break them, as long as you remain consistant.

I have so many thoughts about this fiction that it is hard to write them all at one shot. I may write another review for this chapter later.

I'm very much looking forward to your next chapter.

Sincerely,
Miriam

The whole concept of an estate for "Lord Death" is interesting.

I like how you depicted Sirius in his year in Grimmauld Place as an example of "the living dead."

Reviewer: chocaholicDate: 2007-01-21
Reviewid: 146947Chapter: 4
This is a really intriguing story! The plot reminds me of a direction that JKR herself would take Harry's story. I'll certainly be looking forward to more updates. (And I do like the 'spelling out his name in rat pellets' bit!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-01-21
Reviewid: 146946Chapter: 4
Thank you for your kind words and the dedication. I am very touched.

I have to say it was very flattering to have such a wonderful chapter associated with me in the slightest way at all.

I once again loved the portrayal of Hermione's weakness; her susceptibility to flattery and her pride. Oh and this passage sums Hermione up wonderfully:

--"Oh, that. Well, sometimes you have been rather...stand-offish." And brooding and unsympathetuc, petulant, uncooperative, self-centered, out of control... She forced a note of cheeriness into her voice. "Never mind. We have the same goal here. I'm sure we'll work together just fine. But...there is one other thing."--

Perfect Hermione! Your characterisation is perfect and seems effortless throughout. I also liked the change to Sirius, the way he has grown more sober, and the manner in which Hermione observes and reacts to it. It adds a lovely sense of depth to the story.

Nice work with Hermione's empathy and sympathy for Sirius' desire to pass-over, too. It's very touching.

And an absolutely fabulous blending of established HP story parts with your Lord Death. I thought that was a really believable interpretation of the problematic prophecy and I just found the idea of Lord Death holding a grudge against Lord Voldie wonderful.

Hermione's line had me laughing out loud:

-- "Well, I guess I can understand how—erm—how Death feels…" --

All in all, a brilliant chapter and I eagerly await the next installment.

Reviewer: xMarauderxDate: 2007-01-21
Reviewid: 146941Chapter: 4
Hey...this is a really intriguing and cute fanfic. I like the Sirius-Hermione interactions a lot. I also liked all the explanations you gave in this chapter. Please try to update soon! Hoping to read more!

Reviewer: J ForiasDate: 2007-01-14
Reviewid: 146864Chapter: 3
Excellent.

I remember wanting to write about Dumbledore's experience in the cave, but couldn't find any way to make it work. This is very good and I love the tie to Hermione's Inferno. It's very cleverly done.

You've also resurrected the learning, emerging aspect of the challenge, with Hermione being self-critical and ready to learn.

I do find myself wishing that we could see Ginny or Ron helping Hermione, but I understand that it's in the nature of the story that she goes it alone.

This is a great story with so much potential. I hope you continue it. I will certainly be eagerly awaiting the coninutation. Your ideas are absolutely wonderful and I adore the way you blend the two genres together. It makes for a very satisfying tale.

And I quite look forward to more on this Pratchettesque Death. I definitely saw his influence in Chapter 2 and was glad to see the credit for it in your author's note.

Please keep posting this story!

Reviewer: reesieDate: 2007-01-01
Reviewid: 146703Chapter: 2
Just as brilliant as ever, Mary Ellis. I look forward to reading more of this storyline. The style so far feels different than your other writing - seems more vivid than life and very tongue in cheek. Very humorous in a couple of layers. Love the new magic you have created here.

Reviewer: chocaholicDate: 2006-12-28
Reviewid: 146648Chapter: 1
Very promising start! I'll be looking for updates. Keep up the good work.

Reviewer: monkeygirl29Date: 2006-12-28
Reviewid: 146643Chapter: 1
oh my this is verry good. not at all what i was expecting thoe. and i dont no if i shoud trust serous or not,tres confusing! please more soon and more about ron?

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --