The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Reviews for: Holiday
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: NeanaDate: 2007-09-17
Reviewid: 149316Chapter: 9
Oh, you are fantastic - right up there with Arabella. This was an amazing read - so incredibly in character on every end. Each chapter was entered with a very original angle and each member of the trio was spot on - with their thoughts, words and behavior - you filled the gaps in perfectly. I'll definitely be reading everything else you've written. Mindblowing.

Reviewer: IcelaineDate: 2007-06-26
Reviewid: 148382Chapter: 9
naah! you're really good at this!!

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-06-24
Reviewid: 148341Chapter: 9
Ridiculously good. I have loved reading this story since its inception. You did a wonderful behind-the-scenes look at Ron and Hermione's relationship; I only hope that when Deathly Hallows comes out, some of this wonderful stuff you came up with turns out to be true.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-06-21
Reviewid: 148305Chapter: 9
Very nice! I'd like to think that Ron and Hermione could really have a heart to heart talk like this. Great job.

Reviewer: Pseudonymous11Date: 2007-06-13
Reviewid: 148251Chapter: 8
I liked the way you examined Hermione's feelings at this moment in HBP. "Wrong, stupid, and useless" describes it perfectly.

Also, Mr Weasley's attack in OotP was probably the most "personal." You forgot that one. Still loved the chapter, though. Can't wait for the rest.

Reviewer: LumosDate: 2007-05-25
Reviewid: 148084Chapter: 6
"Well," Ron retorted, "if you got a bit more ex–"
"Don’t say it!" Harry half-bellowed, and Ron, mercifully, didn’t.

GOODNESS that had me laughing at least five minutes.

"Ron's a Keeper", "my lesson"--gosh you are just so clever. Thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated, thank you.

Reviewer: outofthecupboardDate: 2007-05-25
Reviewid: 148076Chapter: 6
Wonderful chapter! "Ron's a Keeper" -- hee hee hee!! I really liked how you brought up how Hermione described Ron's gift of perfume as "unusual," and how Hermione realized she needed to be more encouraging. That was a good interpretation. I would like to see Hermione make it up to Ron for all the unpleasant things she said, like she did at the end of this chapter. "She broke off as ten fingers sunk into the sore muscles..." was a great sentence. I like how you focused on Hermione's shoulders and Ron's fingers, and the feeling of soreness, and soothing pressure. It was a "warm" chapter! I really enjoyed it.

Reviewer: madame enDate: 2007-05-23
Reviewid: 148072Chapter: 6
I haven't really been reading any HBP fic, so this was a nice one to start with. The characters are all nicely drawn, and the situations seem to feel right alongside canon. I love "missing moments" fics, and the switching between viewpoints gives the reader a nice idea of the confusion all three felt during this book.

I hope to see more, but with my limited knowledge on the subject, I can't think of any more holidays before Midsummer-will you take it that far?

~en

Reviewer: Miss GypsyDate: 2007-05-17
Reviewid: 148024Chapter: 5
I absolutely love this! Poor Hermione, poor Ron. And, I suppose, if I'm being entirely honest, poor Lavender too. I'm excited to read more, keep it up!

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-04-03
Reviewid: 147657Chapter: 5
Very cute! But rabbit ears? Surely even Lavender couldn't be that cruel, could she? *hopping away to await the next chapter*

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-03-28
Reviewid: 147616Chapter: 4
Now I'm feeling terrible for poor Neville! He does deserve a good woman, doesn't he? Preferably one with potting soil under her fingernails.

Reviewer: LumosDate: 2007-02-19
Reviewid: 147240Chapter: 3
MAN. This is good stuff. The switch in points of view--well, it wasn't at all confusing, it was very clear that it was Hermione's, but maybe some sort of transition would have made it more seamless. I suppose that's it: it was abrupt.

It's all very in character, though, and terribly well-written.

Reviewer: Lorelei LynnDate: 2007-02-17
Reviewid: 147224Chapter: 3
Intriguing look at some missing moments. I especially liked angry Hermione help Harry with chess in part 2. I'm curious to see what will change after Ron's poisoning.

Reviewer: Ardie BeaDate: 2007-02-06
Reviewid: 147111Chapter: 2
Loved the idea of Hermione taking voice lessons from Snape!
I'm really enjoying your Ron. He feels very canon and it's easy to be sympathetic - even though he really has been such a huge prat. The flashes of the Ginny / Harry thing beginning are good too.

Reviewer: mary ellisDate: 2007-02-04
Reviewid: 147085Chapter: 1
Finally a Harry-Ron talk that sounds both realistic and depthful. How I do love Harry's many small meditations on Ron, Hermione, Lavender, Krum, Ginny...like so many little gold nuggets for an impoverished reader's purse.

And I never thought about all the other things that would have depressed Harry that Christmas, besides the 'pep talk' from Scrimgeour--Ginny's face, Ron's ranting, Ginny's hair, Hermione's absence, Ginny's boyfriend...

Ooh, and maybe Auntie Ephasia is a combo of aphasia *and* evasion, n'est-ce pas?

Thanks awfully for a grand read.

Reviewer: StarseaDate: 2007-01-17
Reviewid: 146903Chapter: 1
This looks like it's going to be a very interesting story, even though I can't see Ron being that dense about his family. Still, I definitely feel for Harry, caught not only between Hermione and Ron, but between Ron and Ginny, metaphorically speaking. You definitely capture his discomfort and the awful situation. And trust Ron to want to start speaking at bedtime.

Favourite Lines:

~The question slashed through Harry’s fatigue like a lightning bolt. - an excellent simile made even more powerful by the reference to Harry's scar.

~A bat could see what Ron needed to do: dump Lavender and hope for the best from Hermione. - classic. XD

Is it Aphasia or Ephasia? There seems to be some confusion.

Looking forward to the next chapter.

xxx~Starsea~xxx

Reviewer: HeadGirlInTrainingDate: 2007-01-16
Reviewid: 146900Chapter: 1
This is fantastic, and Ron especially is wonderful. Please write more!

Reviewer: hp4-sauceDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146800Chapter: 1
That was good. Harry's private thoughts on the subject of Ron and Hermione and Ginny were pretty funny. Well written.

Reviewer: ChocaholicDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146796Chapter: 1
Very intriguing start. Poor Harry-in-the-Middle... I'll be looking forward to more!

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --