The Sugar Quill
Sugar Quill Community
- S.P.E.W (SQ History)

Fan Fiction and Writing
- Ask Madam Pince
(Story Submissions)
- Floo Network (Links)

Forums

Administrative Links

Dumbledore's Army
Review(s): 19

Reviewer: dinaDate: 2008-03-27
Reviewid: 150670Chapter: 1
Jack! Please please PLEASE write more fanfics! The only reason I come to the website is to see if you've written something new... Your stories are hilarious, and really well-written... please write more!

Reviewer: GoldfishDate: 2007-02-18
Reviewid: 147236Chapter: 1
LMFAO. WONDERFUL ending to that.

It was cute, I really loved the whole thing. The ending just rocked.

Reviewer: NannyOgg1970Date: 2007-02-08
Reviewid: 147143Chapter: 1
Jack, I thought your intro was brilliant and no you may not be JKR but this would make a very nice ending to the series. I hope she doesn't kill Harry, but then there is always fan fic. Your idea about Harry writing letters to everyone to say goodbye, in my opinion is a very Harry thing. I also like your ending, it made me laugh.

Reviewer: ksellersDate: 2007-01-31
Reviewid: 147047Chapter: 1
Beautiful. Humorous, but beautiful. I don't think you should add anything... it's nearly perfect as it is.

Reviewer: LiadanDate: 2007-01-30
Reviewid: 147032Chapter: 1
No matter what you write, your sense of humour will draw me back to your work. Well done!

Reviewer: laceyrice56Date: 2007-01-18
Reviewid: 146911Chapter: 1
Jack, I always enjoy your stories. It's great to see you writing!

Reviewer: AryaDate: 2007-01-15
Reviewid: 146877Chapter: 1
I've never read a story that deserves quite such a big "Awwww!" I loved this. The idea of Harry writing letters to everyone in case he died, and then showing it to Ginny. It's sweet. I especially love the last line, because it's just like him. Thanks!

Reviewer: Author by NightDate: 2007-01-13
Reviewid: 146855Chapter: 1
I liked this... though have to admit, I would've liked more details. Was the ending after the war? Or had Harry just given up on the hunt?

Reviewer: mallaryroseDate: 2007-01-12
Reviewid: 146844Chapter: 1
How wonderful! It's mordbidly adorable, even if that's probably not a word. :)

Reviewer: simibeeDate: 2007-01-11
Reviewid: 146830Chapter: 1
wow... I almost started crying- or gigling, it was a toss-up- that was so sweet!

Reviewer: St. Row-a-CheckDate: 2007-01-10
Reviewid: 146828Chapter: 1
Ohyay! You exist and exist with a computer and are still managing to disobey Stumpy. With a computer. *fangirly extasy*

First reaction? I liked dress-without-sleeves's better.

Second reaction? Ohmigod whatt. Have I gone insane. It's Jack. How can he not be the best at whatever he touches. (except with lots more exclamation and/or question marks)

Third reaction: Ah, but dress-without-sleeves didn't write -this-, did she now? She wrote an in-case-YOU-die note from Ginny and a do-you-want-to-have-sweet-love-with-me-under-the-waxing-moon note from Harry, but this - it's different, becase, eh. Harries don't verbalise things like the possibility of dying.

Fourth reaction: Except they do if Jack makes them, and Jack somehow keeps them more in character than they would be in canon and overall finds the exact balance between humour and nothumour but it's the kind of balance which depends on the characters and situation much more than it does on Jack and hence Jack is brilliant.

Yeah, overall, Jack is the best at this, because he touched it and it's really a very slippery thing to touch because you DON'T want to go rampantly out of character, even if it would feel SO good to make Harry the smooth-tongued inkromancer of modern times.

Also, the working process was one of the best I've read. You should write a monodrama - Harry and His Writing Utensils. They had me giggling, but then, everything does.

And the speaker-vs-talker thing was great and true.

And Ginny's not-crying was also great and true.

And the vague fading into smut at the end. *applauds* Well, that was evil. But also good.

Could you be bribed into publicising the other letters? Especially Luna's? And by bribed, I mean "name your terms"...

((ALTHOUGH, to be COMPLETELY honest, it's briliantly complete as it is - "obscene amount of veil-related puns" Pffffft. That could not be any more perfect.))

Reviewer: meganDate: 2007-01-10
Reviewid: 146824Chapter: 1
Welcome back, Jack! It's been a while... I enjoyed this quirky little one-shot, as I enjoy all your stories, since they always have some small twists that make them fresh and original. I don't know what made you decide to write a basically angsty/fluffy story (was it a bet with Stumpy?), but you must have felt your teeth rotting from the sweetness very early on. :-) Thus phrases like "For a time he toyed with "Dearer-than-almost-everyone-especially-Cho Ginny," but dismissed it due to its awkward phrasing." or "After a moment, he laid his quill down, dug through his trunk, and pulled out an old pencil. He then returned to his desk and resumed tapping, this time with a much more satisfying noise." that made me laugh out loud.

Reviewer: Ada KensingtonDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146819Chapter: 1
I really didn't think anything could top off your author's notes for the sheer power of hilarity. Boy was I wrong. I snorted at these lines:

"He didn't bother looking at what it was he wrote for several seconds. After a few lines, though, he checked to make sure he was reasonably well lined up. He then sighed, traded his quill for one that wasn't made of sugar, and tried again."

My nose is still burning with fizz from the Pepsi I was drinking, but that's par for the course with your fics.

Glad you're back, Jack! :)

Reviewer: Genne-veraDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146818Chapter: 1
yyyyaaayyyy! you're back! your work has been greatly missed! and your wit, let's not forget that. ;) Nice one. Short and to the point letters are sometimes best. and this one worked. but dear GOD! I was already frowning thinking that he - he .... no, everytime you say that a fanfiction harry drops dead somewhere. Best not risk it being the real one.

Reviewer: CornedBeeDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146808Chapter: 1
It takes a special sort of talent to turn a story about an in-case-of-death letter into something hilarious.

It's so nice to read something from you again after so long. Thank you.

Reviewer: Reader 2Date: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146806Chapter: 1
Welcome back. Iíve missed reading your tales. Nice mush. Please get back to the humorous tales - where you are king.

Reviewer: birdsongDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146805Chapter: 1
Your story shows how hard it can be to write a letter to say "I love you." You did a good job describing Harry's thoughts. And he finally did tell her in a very Harry-like way!

Reviewer: SuzanneDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146804Chapter: 1
Rarely has such a short story touched me so deeply. I'm sitting here sobbing, literally, which I rarely do and I'm hoping my son doesn't wonder if his old mum has lost it completely. This was beautifully written in its brevity and simplicity and its "ambiguousness." The lack of details makes it better, somehow. And I don't think you should add another chapter to it at all. I think you should just leave it exactly as it is right this second. It's perfect just as is.

Reviewer: hp4-sauceDate: 2007-01-09
Reviewid: 146802Chapter: 1
In the end, Harry said what he needed to say very well. Nicely done.

The Sugar Quill was created by Zsenya and Arabella. For questions, please send us an Owl!

-- Powered by SQ3 : Coded by David : Design by James --